$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

3 stars
View map of Londres 130 Col Juarez, Mexico City, 06600

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
78 reviews
Amazing Place

Everything about this place was beyond wonderful. The staff, facilities, location, food and overall... See full review

  • Stephen S.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Excellent hotel !

An excellent stay for a long weekend. Metro is very close and plenty of shops nearby . Very... See full review

  • Dhanya
  • Jan 23, 2015
Old-World glamour at historic Mexico City hotel
Luxuriate in classic European-style architecture and landmark history in Mexico City at the lovely Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico. Since opening in 1907, the hotel has hosted presidents, business tycoons and celebrities. Hotel Geneve still retains the architecture and elegance of bygone eras, right down to hand-carved wood guest-room furniture complemented by modern amenities that include Wi-Fi, air conditioning and cable TV. The hotel also features a full business center, meeting rooms, a spa and a fitness center, plus free guest parking.
Highlights
  • Experience turn-of-the-century elegance against cutting-edge style at this historic landmark hotel in the Zona Rosa area
  • Enjoy a massage at Hotel Geneve's spa for a more relaxing stay
  • Book a business or social event -- the hotel offers a variety of settings for a gathering
Location
Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico is located in Mexico City's legendary Zona Rosa neighborhood, near the city's historic center. The hotel is within walking distance from both the U.S. and British embassies, and a short distance from attractions such as Museo de Arte Moderno, Cristobal Colon Monument, Castillo de Chapultepec and JardÌn Botanico. 
Rooms
Choose from immaculate standard guest rooms and suites at Hotel Geneve, each featuring elegant hand-carved furnishings, wall-to-wall carpeting and contemporary nature-hued decor. All rooms include air conditioning, cable TV, a radio alarm clock, phone with voicemail, a coffee-maker and mini bar, ironing board, work desk, hairdryer and a safe. Suites also include a sofa bed and living room.
Features
In classical European style architecture, Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico features a unique decor based primarily in antiques and pieces of art that have become part of this history. From the lobby to the rooms, guests will find it hard not be distracted and delighted at the same time by the hotel's many interesting fixtures. Hotel Geneve also offers dining and cocktails onsite, with settings ranging from a hidden outdoor patio at La Terraza to the hotel's lounge scene, the London-inspired Bar Phone. Spa services, a fitness center and room service are also available to guests at the hotel. 
Transportation
  • Aeropuerto Internacional de la Ciudad de Mexico (Benito Juarez) (10.5 mi/16.9 km)
Attractions
  • U.S. Embassy (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Museo Nacional de AntropologÌa (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Bosque de Chapultepec (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Palacio Nacional (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Mercado de Xochimilco (20.9 mi/33.7 km)
Business
  • Full business center
  • Meeting space
  • Wi-Fi access
Policies and fees
  • Business Center open from 07:00 -11:00 Monday through Friday, from 09:00 -- 17:00 Saturday to Sunday, with assistant services fax, and internet on rent.
  • Wireless Internet fee is $15 USD

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico Rooms

Standard Room
Room with two double or one king bed includes air-conditioning, cable TV, wireless internet, bath tub, radio alarm clock, telephone with voice mail, safety box, coffee maker, hair dryer, mini bar and ironing board, room service, laundry and dry cleaning.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 0.4 mi
  • El Ángel: 0.5 mi
  • Parque España: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1 mi
  • Parque México: 1.1 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 1.6 mi
  • IPADE: 1.7 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 1.9 mi
  • El Zocalo: 2.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 2.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 2.3 mi
  • Campo Marte: 2.3 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 2.5 mi
  • Chapultepec: 2.5 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 0.4 mi
  • El Ángel: 0.5 mi
  • Parque España: 0.5 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1 mi
  • Parque México: 1.1 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 1.6 mi
  • IPADE: 1.7 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 1.9 mi
  • El Zocalo: 2.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 2.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 2.3 mi
  • Campo Marte: 2.3 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 2.5 mi
  • Chapultepec: 2.5 mi
  • Plaza México: 3.3 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 4.3 mi
  • Foro Sol: 4.6 mi
  • Universidad Panamericana: 5.4 mi
  • Film University: 6.1 mi
  • Universidad Iberoamericana: 7.3 mi
  • Estadio Azteca: 8.7 mi
  • Cuicuilco: 8.7 mi
  • Perisur: 8.8 mi
  • Six Flags México: 9.2 mi
  • Universidad del Valle de México: 9.2 mi
  • Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana: 9.5 mi
  • Universidad Intercontinental: 10.1 mi

Dining

Restaurant
At the renowned Sanborns restaurants, will enjoy a vast menu that includes Mexican cookery, regional specialties and international cuisine. And favorite snacks and drinks and cocktails at the Lobb Bar with live entertainment.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bob3737
Business
Oakland, CA
Sep 17, 2013

Great place

I have made several trips to Mexico City over the past year and stayed in several different hotels. This is by far the best. It is clean, beautiful, historic and the staff is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edith sisters
Business
Miami- Colombia
Apr 1, 2013

Great time

Need improve the service room the Taxis service too expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
huchy mama
Business
new york
Apr 1, 2013

good location

the hotel is near everything you can think of, my room was never vacuum, the lounge is very small, and the restaurant is very unclean, they have big cages on the side of the walls with birds in them, the bird's droppings get all over the tables, it is disgusting, the consierge was very helpful and so was the rest of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is near this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy winter traveller
Business
Durham, CT
Feb 23, 2013

History, Beauty, Comfort

We have stayed at the Geneve many times since our first visit in 1975. For us, it is all that a grand hotel should be. The staff is gracious, helpful and professional.The history of the storied hotel is displayed everywhere. The neighborhood now includes many chain restaurants and a modern shopping center but still abounds with good restaurants, shopping and a theatre. The hotel is in easy walking distance to the subway and to the Turibus stop, where you can board and spend the day visiting the major tourism attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The venerable Fonda El Refugio is hands down the best Mexican restaurant anywhere. It should be part of any Mexico City itinerary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
discountforreview
Business
miami
Jan 28, 2013

well past its prime

I had high hopes for this famous hotel. Having spent most of the last 10 years of my time in the DF in an apartment or with family, this was the first time I stayed in a hotel in Mexico City in several years and this is a storied one. Pretty disappointing. Yes, the bed was ok; yes, the staff was nice. But for the kind of prices they are charging, I would expect MUCH better. Frankly, I have stayed in nicer hoteles de paso than this. Booked as a "non-smoking" room, I must have been the only person in the entire hotel NOT smoking. I thought the DF had a ban on smoking indoors...And what can one say about the shady neighborhood? I stayed because it was close to the Insurgentes metro, but yikes! Don't waste your money on this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gallupian
Business
Gallup, New Mexico
Nov 26, 2012

Great home base in Mexico City

My wife and I had a wonderful 5 days here recently. To address concerns raised in other reviews first - our room was very quiet, even on Friday and Saturday night; sure there are some gay bars in the neighborhood but the overall feel is simply of a lively, happening part of town, we loved all the foot traffic, it helped us feel very safe walking a few blocks home at 11pm after a few glasses of wine. The staff was helpful when needed, everybody we encountered was comfortable in English, and there is even a full drug store in the lobby if someone doesn't feel well. Car service is available 24 hours at the front door but the 2 block walk to the metro is so busy and safe that after the first day we went that route. But the key is that you cannot find a hotel with more character (without being stuff or over the hill) anywhere. Sure you could stay at a well-known upscale chain hotel for similar money, but if you like history and charm this should be your home base to explore Mexico City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overnight in Mexico City
Business
Springfield, VA
Aug 9, 2012

A good stay

The staff was welcoming. The bellman showed us to our room and then told us about the trips the hotel offers. It was a comfortable stay for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacinta1
Business
Clayton, North Carolina
Jul 27, 2012

One night get away

I flew in from North Carolina and wanted somewhere nice and safet to stay in Mexico CIty until we got to our final destination in Toluca Mexico...I met my wife at the Airport and I told her that I had booked a rooom for us to spend the night in Mexico City..It was fabulous...The building and the lobby and dining areas were a designer's delight...We were blown away with everything and were shock as to what we had discover for the small amount of money we spent there..I was within walking distance of historic Mexico ....the rooms were very nice...It located near a police station which was perfect...We only regret that we did not have more tiime to stay longer...It will be on my list for one of my many visit to Mexico City...we were not disappointed...4 and half stars....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Overnight in Mexico City
Business
Springfield, VA
Jul 27, 2012

Mexico City Stay

I had no issues checking in early. The bell man brought our bags up to our room. He then gave us a brochure explaining the tours that are available. The lobby is set up as a museum and was inviting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We found the best money exchange to be around the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Geneve Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
graycloud
Business
San Francisco
Jun 6, 2012

Awesome hotel and history

The area is busy, and the hotel can be noisy depending on your room. however rooms facing the inner courtyard are quiet. i found the rooms comfortable and clean, the staff very attentive and the history of the museum fascinating. yes, the hotel is old, and some might find it outdated, but the rooms have been remodeled, the hallways, however are still a bit narrow and finding the elevator the first time can be a challenge without help. i, however, will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rafaello's restaurant just a short walk away is a very good destination.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top