$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

3 stars
View map of Calle 5 de Febrero, No. 24 Centro H, Mexico City, 06060

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.7

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexico City Travelers
Business
Oakland, California
Jun 26, 2013

Good for the price

The staff is very helpful, very friendly, and will really try to make your stay comfortable. We stayed for ten days. At first, we were put in a very dark room. It had a window but no light came in, which was not ideal. We asked to change rooms and the new room was much better. The breakfast is a Costco breakfast. It is okay. Some other guests seemed to have liked it more. The smell of breakfast permeates the hotel, which can be irritating first thing in the morning, the smell of frying oil is not particularly welcoming as you wake up. The central atrium is beautiful. The location is good. The bathrooms have very poor ventilation. Overall, for the price, it was pretty good. I think that I would rather stay in a smaller, homier place next time, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mayra S.
Business
Chula Vista, California
May 20, 2013

Great location, great value

this was a great hotel to stay in. it was close enough to the zocalo to access, but not too close. It was centrally located.in addition, there was complimentary breakfast that was a plus and a restaurant that we didn't get a chance to enjoy. The view from our room was o.k. but i really enjoyed the interior view from the lobby look up at the skylight. The only downfall i would say is that i took a shower at night and found that the water was not properly labeled and i took the coldest shower ever. It took a while to get the hot water on as my aunt found that the water was mislabeled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Zocalo is on the same street same side as hotel, you can't get lost, from there you can pick up the tour buses. it really is convenient and a money saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soniafabulous
Business
Azusa, Ca.
Mar 7, 2013

Perfect Stay

The hotel was perfect! No complaints at all except that the room was a bit small for 3 people but that was my personal choice. Its located in the center of all major attractions; to the Basilica about a 20 min taxi drive, walking distance to the Zocalo, Metropolitan Cathedral and great restaurants. The breakfast buffet was good, the staff was exceptionally friendly always assisting its guests without hesitation. Thank you Hampton Inn & Suites for an amazing stay. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "tacos de canasta" across the street from the hotel are the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snowscout
Business
Utah, USA
Feb 26, 2012

FAMILY TRIP TO MEXICO CITY

CONGRATULATIONS Hampton Inn Mexico City Centro Historico!!! This trip to Mexico was going to be different, no beach resorts or "enclosed villas". We went to this city to learn a little bit more about the amazing history and culture of Mexico. This hotel was perfectly located (2 blocks) near the Zocalo...we walked to at least 10 museums, cultural centers,art galleries, old churches,many restaurants,stores, etc... The staff at this hotel went the extra mile every day offering their help and cooperation answering our questions about places in the city to visit and explore. Your staff was not only friendly and attentive but very professional. Thank you for a wonderful visit to your beautiful and vibrant country ! p.s. tasty hot breakfast with "robust" coffee included every day ! " REPORT CARD staff: A+ (thank you Rhode, Martin, others) location: A, breakfast: A, room: B, value: A- thank you! The Munoz Family (Arizona and Utah)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Banamex Latin Crafts Museum is a place not no be missed....amazing crafts from different countries from Latin America. An easy ten minute walk from the hotel on the pedestrian only avenue. Free entrance with guards everywhere ready to remind you to stay behind the white line. Ride the city bus to the Museum of Anthropology for $5 pesos instead of $170 cab fare from the Zocalo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mexican American Momma
Business
Vermont, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Wonderful for young and old

We were so comfortable and happy at this hotel. The location is literally two blocks from the most important sites in the historic downtown: Cobblestone streets, pedestrian walkways, the major National Palace with Rivera murals, the Aztec Templo Mayor. Within a ten minute walk, you reach the Alameda, with Palacio de Bellas Artes, and the blue tiled Sanborns. We stayed for four nights with our two children, who slept once in the extra queen bed in our room and the rest of the nights on the sofa bed in the separate living room. Great way to spend quality time with both our kids, just seeing the sights, and with my husband. We felt extremely cared for. The concierge was fabulous. They got us safe taxis, gave us coupons for museums, threw map after map at us, gave great restaurant recommendations, and even had delicious tacos delieverd to us when it was too late to go out with the kids. The included breakfasts were delicious and offered a huge variety of healthy yogurts, oatmeal, cereal, toast, fresh fruits, local food (Mexican eggs, frijoles, chilaquiles, local pastries), and a waffle station. The lobby was gorgeous, with sleek but comfortable modern furniture. You can do your own laundry in their machines for just the cost of detergent, or have them wash it for you for extra charge. They had no pool, which was the only reason I didn't give 5 starts for ammenities. But they did have a little play room and a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ben F
Business
London
Jan 4, 2012

not bad

I would not recommend this location. However, if you need to be in this location, this hotel is comfortable enough - just don't get a room next to the ice/coke machine. In our room, not only was this noise an issue, but the window didn't open, so there is only aircon and no fresh air (not that there is fresh air in Mexico City). The staff were helpful, but the services didn't seem to be joined up in any way. For example - there was one small bottle of drinking water on arrival, which was not replaced, so we had to buy water (forget drinking from tap in Mexico).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Tacuba for authentic Mexican food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDing
Business
Durham, NC
Dec 9, 2011

family tour trip

very good location, helpful staff, and good breakfast. One issue is that the hotel did not provide complimentary bottled water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABJFarah
Business
Mérida, YUC, México
Nov 2, 2011

Excelent pesonal and superb location

Very business, very hampton inn. Free hot breakfast, Excellent Bed confort and linen. Try the fishers restaurant for a really good seafood. Be aware of rate in hampton homepage and Orbitz, many times you get it lower or same. Walking distance to Catedral, President palace, National Museum, Shoping street market (corrreo mayor and carmen).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the fishers restaurant for a really good seafood. Really tall drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sleepytraveller
Business
toronto
Jul 31, 2011

nice hotel. good location.

This was just what you'd expect from a Hampton Inn. Breakfast was included- the usual eggs and make-your-own waffles. Location was great. Old colonial building just off the zocalo. The staff at the desk were helpful and helped me to arrange tickets and tours that I'd asked about. There is a self-service laundry on site (useful if you've been traveling for a while!) and a small gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mexico City - Centro Historico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vivian Hairston
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 21, 2011

"Fantastic vacation at a good location."

The Hampton Inn in Mexico City is an excellent place to stay. It is centrally located in a safe neighborhood. There are at least three policemen on every street corner. I was able to walk a different 3 mile radius from the hotel each day and nobody bothered me. I was able to find many sales and bargains daily because this hotel is truly located in the center of priciple shopping district. I was also able to walk to many musuems and points of interest from the hotel. Service at the Hampton Inn is very good. The staff is attentive and helpful. The breakfast buffet is more than adequate. It has a wide variety of breafast foods and fresh fruit. The hotel is spotless and the entire staff is willing to assist you with your needs. The hotel also has free washers and dryers that you can use to laundry your clothing. In short, my 14 days of vacation in Mexico City was excellent and my hotel stay at the Hampton Inn was 95% of the reason that my vacation was such a rewarding experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The further that walk away from the hotel will be the places where you will find the better sales and bargains.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top