$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2015 Check-out: Sep 25, 2015

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

4 stars
View map of Avenida 16 de Septiembre no. 82, Mexico City, 06000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
41 reviews
Mexico City for a Week

I was extremely happy with our stay here. First, for the entire week we experienced world-class... See full review

  • Couple from Brooklyn
  • May 19, 2015
Excellent family trip

Very comfortable and large room, posh bathroom, beautiful and upscale interior, superb location... See full review

  • Ocean lover Westchester
  • Apr 6, 2015

Step into a bygone era of luxury and elegance at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. Art Nouveau architecture, a Tiffany stained glass ceiling, ornate chandeliers, and intricately carved furniture combine with modern amenities to offer guests luxury with a contemporary twist. This five-star hotel boasts four restaurants, 24-hour business and fitness centers, 60 guest rooms, including 24 suites, and one of the most spectacular panoramic views to the city's Historic Center.

Rooms

Accommodations include 36 deluxe double bed and deluxe queen bed rooms, and 12 master suites and 12 junior suites with a king-size bed. All rooms offer flat screen satellite television with cable, complimentary Wi-Fi access, a desk, safe, and mini-bar. Marble bathrooms, equipped with a hairdryer, bath products, bathrobes, and slippers, feature a shower/tub combination.

Property features

This architecturally beautiful 19th century hotel offers a blend of the old and the new in one elegant package. A Tiffany stained glass ceiling dating from 1908, panoramic elevators, marble lobby, and Old World charm set the stage for a memorable stay. Located in the heart of Mexico City on the Plaza de la Constitución -- also known as the Zócalo -- it is only steps from where this city's history began.

 

Dining options are varied. Mexico City Café serves breakfast and a la carte international cuisine, while Restaurante Major Plaza features Mexican fare, an extensive wine list, first class service, and overlooks the Zócalo and National Palace from its fourth-floor setting. Terraza Restaurante and Bar, on the hotel's fifth floor, offers views of the Zócalo, Mexican and international cuisine, and Sunday brunch. The Piano Bar provides cocktails, snacks -- including sushi, and live piano music Wednesday through Saturday evenings.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
Nearby attractions
  • Historic Center (0.1 mi/220 m)
  • Palace of Bellas Artes (0.5 mi/850 m)
  • Anthropology Museum (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Basilica of Guadalupe (3.8 km/6.1 km)
  • Chapultepec Castle (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pyramids of Teotihuacan (26.1mi/42 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with PCs, Internet access, printers, and telephones
  • 12 fully equipped meeting rooms
Transportation
  • Benito Juárez International Airport (4.0 mi/6.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico also booked these hotels.

★★★
$50
3.5 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$64
4.0 / 5 3 reviews
★★★★
$147
4.2 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.4 / 5 33 reviews
★★★
$60
2.5 / 5 2 reviews
★★★
$62
3.8 / 5 14 reviews
★★★
$79
4.7 / 5 9 reviews
★★★
$38
3.9 / 5 35 reviews

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico Rooms

Double
Rooms with 2 queen beds include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.
Single
Rooms with queen bed include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Church of San Francisco: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro de la Ciudad: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Church of San Francisco: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro de la Ciudad: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • Campo Marte: 4.3 mi
  • Chapultepec: 4.5 mi
  • Plaza México: 4.7 mi
  • UAM Azcapotzalco: 5.9 mi
  • Film University: 7.3 mi
  • Estadio Azteca: 9.2 mi
  • Universidad Iberoamericana: 9.2 mi
  • Cuicuilco: 9.6 mi
  • Perisur: 9.8 mi
  • Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana: 9.8 mi
  • Six Flags México: 10.4 mi
  • Universidad Intercontinental: 10.8 mi
  • Universidad del Valle de México: 11.2 mi

Dining

Cafe Ciudad de Mexico
Located on the lobby level-traditional Mexican menu. Open from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm, offers a la carte menu of the option of buffet for breakfast and lunch. In the evening you have the opportunity to try the traditional Mexican hot chocolate with -churros or torrejas.
Plaza Mayor Restaurant
Located on the fourth floor with a magnificent vew of Mexico Citys main square, also known as Zocalo. Feature a mexican gourmet menu, where you will find some recipes from the 1920s.
Terra Plaza Mayor
A terrace for 120 people, dominates the best view of the cathedral, presidential offices and its surroundings. Weekends brunch from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 41
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.3

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ObeeDovee
Family
Baldwin Park
Jun 3, 2015

Beautiful historical hotel in need of sewage upgrades

This is a beautiful historical hotel located right in center of Mexico city. The staff was welcoming and friendly, Wi-Fi was excellent. Downside, the hotel is from the 1800s....that being said...plumbing needs upgrades, there is a distinct sewage smell that permeates the room. Our room had a window we were told had a view to a garden this garden turned out to be a fake wall mounted paper mural of trees. This stay was disappointing for my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ocean lover Westchester
Family
Croton on Hudson
Apr 6, 2015

Excellent family trip

Very comfortable and large room, posh bathroom, beautiful and upscale interior, superb location (right next to zocalo). No swimming pool though. We did not try the food. Excellent price for the room and lower than nearby American chain hotels. They were also very relaxed about having two children in the room, which was not a trivial requirement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gareth W.
Family
Surrey
Dec 16, 2014

Like living in a big mansion

One word — WOW! Everything about this hotel was grand! I was first swooned by the ceiling. If you've seen some photos, you'll get what I mean but once you're under it, it's just spectacular. The birds in the lobby also add to the ambiance. Once I got into my room (two queens), My jaw just dropped! It was massive! The bathroom was nice too, with fancy curtains and a phone by the toilet (convenient). They also left me a sweet treat on my bed every day. The hotel itself has a great location. It's right at the Zocalo (where you can find Templo Mayor, the Cathedral, etc.) and super close to the metro. Shopping and food around the area is pretty good too! If you're looking for good real Mexican food, head over to Sanborns Azul. Lots of shoe stores around here as well. The staff are amazing! Really friendly security and bell boys. The receptionists are always very helpful and know a lot of English. Jessica, one of the receptionists, was super helpful when I left my mobile phone in one of the tour vans. I got it back because of all her help. They also change US$ to MXN which is awesome! Will definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prufrock
Family
Chicago area
Apr 2, 2014

Grand Hotel & Great Location

The Gran Hotel was recommended by a friend because of its history and proximity to the Zocalo. Within a few minutes, my family was able to walk to the magnificent Mexico City Cathedral, the archeological site & museum at Templo Mayor, & the murals of Diego Rivera at the National Palace. The staff at the hotel was exceedingly helpful, especially Roberto, who patiently answered all of our questions and provided sage advice. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking view of the Zocalo and surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Without a doubt, after a day of sightseeing, when coming back to the hotel, it was a nice respite to take the elevator to the top floor and dine at the terrace restaurant. If you give just a short notice, a reservation can be made at the front desk, ensuring a table overlooking the Zocalo.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islandtime84
Family
Atlanta
Jul 12, 2013

Awesome

Second time staying at this hotel. Love it!!! I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The turibus is in the zocalo. Great tour for the money.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robtag
Family
Cambridge MA
Aug 28, 2012

Bed bugs?

The hotel is lovely and very well located. It is a lovely art nouveau building, with an extraordinary ceiling. The food is fine, but not great. The rooms are nice and sufficiently large. However, there were two problems with our room, the shower valve handle was broken, and the bathroom door did not close properly. There is also an issue with their WiFi. It does not support the SMTP protocol. I could receive email, but not send it. The speed of service at breakfast was very slow. We were traveling with another family and it looked to me as if their children had been bitten by bed bugs while staying at the hotel. We did not have a problem, nor did the parents who were staying in another room. At any rate, I would not want bugs or whatever they were in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

The roof terrace is lovey with a nice view.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Vero Beach FL
Jul 1, 2011

Fantastic family gataway

walk around visit the zocalo, Palacio de Bellas Artes. I wish I had more time to spend in this great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
michoacán
Sep 13, 2010

good hotel, great location few food

The location and facilites are excellent. The restaurant "La terraza" is beatifull, its panoramic and has a great view(Centro Histórico). Our complainment was that the restaurants and room services are time limited, so if you need something too early or late, you need to get food from outside, its not 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Cardenal. Great mexican breakfast, just at two blocks fron the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top