$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

3 stars
Avenida 16 de Septiembre no. 82, Mexico City, 06000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
50 reviews
Gran Hotel is Great (location, style and safe)

I visited Mexico City (MC) for the first time (11/26 to 11/29/2013) and stayed at Gran Hotel Ciudad... See full review

  • RJHChicago
  • Nov 30, 2013
Wonderful time

We had a wonderful time with our stay. There were a couple small issues with the room and they sent... See full review

  • DF Lover
  • Nov 12, 2013
Historic hotel on Plaza de la Constitución in the Mexican capital

Step into a bygone era of luxury and elegance at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. Art Nouveau architecture, a Tiffany stained glass ceiling, ornate chandeliers, and intricately carved furniture combine with modern amenities to offer guests luxury with a contemporary twist. This five-star hotel boasts four restaurants, 24-hour business and fitness centers, 60 guest rooms, including 24 suites, and one of the most spectacular panoramic views to the city's Historic Center.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
Rooms

Accommodations include 36 deluxe double bed and deluxe queen bed rooms, and 12 master suites and 12 junior suites with a king-size bed. All rooms offer flat screen satellite television with cable, complimentary Wi-Fi access, a desk, safe, and mini-bar. Marble bathrooms, equipped with a hairdryer, bath products, bathrobes, and slippers, feature a shower/tub combination.

Features

This architecturally beautiful 19th century hotel offers a blend of the old and the new in one elegant package. A Tiffany stained glass ceiling dating from 1908, panoramic elevators, marble lobby, and Old World charm set the stage for a memorable stay. Located in the heart of Mexico City on the Plaza de la Constitución -- also known as the Zócalo -- it is only steps from where this city's history began.

 

Dining options are varied. Mexico City Café serves breakfast and a la carte international cuisine, while Restaurante Major Plaza features Mexican fare, an extensive wine list, first class service, and overlooks the Zócalo and National Palace from its fourth-floor setting. Terraza Restaurante and Bar, on the hotel's fifth floor, offers views of the Zócalo, Mexican and international cuisine, and Sunday brunch. The Piano Bar provides cocktails, snacks -- including sushi, and live piano music Wednesday through Saturday evenings.

Transportation
  • Benito Juárez International Airport (4.0 mi/6.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic Center (0.1 mi/220 m)
  • Palace of Bellas Artes (0.5 mi/850 m)
  • Anthropology Museum (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Basilica of Guadalupe (3.8 km/6.1 km)
  • Chapultepec Castle (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pyramids of Teotihuacan (26.1mi/42 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with PCs, Internet access, printers, and telephones
  • 12 fully equipped meeting rooms

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico Rooms

Double
Rooms with 2 queen beds include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.
Single
Rooms with queen bed include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Hotel Map

19.4321 -99.1348
Area served
Mexico City
Nearby airports
MEX-Mexico City Airport
Area description
Across the street of Mexico Citys main square or Zocalo.

Nearby points of interest

  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • Campo Marte: 4.3 mi
  • Chapultepec: 4.5 mi
  • Plaza México: 4.7 mi
  • Universidad Panamericana: 5.9 mi
  • Film University: 7.3 mi
  • Estadio Azteca: 9.2 mi
  • Universidad Iberoamericana: 9.2 mi
  • Cuicuilco: 9.6 mi
  • Perisur: 9.8 mi
  • Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana: 9.8 mi
  • Six Flags México: 10.4 mi
  • Universidad Intercontinental: 10.8 mi
  • Universidad del Valle de México: 11.2 mi

Dining

Cafe Ciudad de Mexico
Located on the lobby level-traditional Mexican menu. Open from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm, offers a la carte menu of the option of buffet for breakfast and lunch. In the evening you have the opportunity to try the traditional Mexican hot chocolate with -churros or torrejas.
Plaza Mayor Restaurant
Located on the fourth floor with a magnificent vew of Mexico Citys main square, also known as Zocalo. Feature a mexican gourmet menu, where you will find some recipes from the 1920s.
Terra Plaza Mayor
A terrace for 120 people, dominates the best view of the cathedral, presidential offices and its surroundings. Weekends brunch from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 50
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ququi
Rockville, MD, USA
May 14, 2014

Great, plan to stay again

The hotel experience was wonderful, especially the staff. My wife and I are seniors, and we enjoyed our stay. This was our first time to Mexico City, and hopefully we will visit again and we plan to stay at your hotel. We very much enjoyed our breakfasts, and the service of Estafen, a most gracious waiter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No more that one mile

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
COLM
Dublin, Ireland
Apr 1, 2014

Most friendly Mexico City

GHCM was most welcoming to us and we stayed 5 nights. Staff were helpful and had humour. We were greeted like friends each time we returned. Our room was comfortable and very clean. The only thing which disappointed was dinner buffet in Roof top restaurant - only worth it for the view of the Zocalo. Mexico city is the most amazingly friendly big city we have ever visited. Metro is cheap and efficient. Traditional restaurants are excellent. Museums are amazing. Love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sandborns Casa Azuelegas (House of Tiles); Hosteria Santo Domingho

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DF Lover
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 12, 2013

Wonderful time

We had a wonderful time with our stay. There were a couple small issues with the room and they sent someone right away to correct it. The staff was friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamamabear
seattle, washington
Nov 3, 2013

great hotel

lovely hotel, great location, pleasant staff. could have lived without the hurdy gurdy player on the street, but i'm chalking that noise up to atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mtrock
Tucson, AZ, USA
Jun 9, 2013

Excellent stay in Mexico City

This was a beautiful hotel and we had a wonderful stay in Mexico City. The hotel's location couldn't been better, the staff was very accommodating and the room was just wonderful. I would highly recommend this classic hotel to anyone staying in Mexico city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a walking tour with Alejandro thru Hostel Amigo

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BA and KA
Whitefish Montana
Jan 1, 2013

Perfect Location, Great place to stay

Right on the Zocalo, perfect location to get that true Mexico City feel.The hotel lobby gives you that 5 star feel......standard room was standard, but very clean, modern.......easily rate as a 3.5/4 in the US. The staff was awesome, they helped us with all of our needs and questions. Just remember you are in Mexico......if you are needy or feel self-important try a 5 star hotel or another country. I've been around the world.......this place hits the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within a mile in any direction of amazing museums and historical sites.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gustavoooooo
san francisco , California
Aug 9, 2012

location location location

great location, every person that work there was super attentive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenda F
Dubai, UAE
Aug 1, 2012

Great vintage hotel!

Loved the ambiance! Our room was small but comfy. Bathroom was lovely. Hotel lobby is spectacular. Overall great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value place to eat very close to hotel open 24 hours. Ask staff for El Popular. Once you exit hotel to the right, first right, walk 2 blocks, then left.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Timetravel
Westport, NY 12993, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Great hotel!

We stayed two nights over the Easter weekend and then booked another night the next weekend before we flew back to the States. The rooms are beautiful and the staff is excellent. The location could not be better for exploring the Centro Historica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jean and Alex
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Elegant hotel on the Zocalo!

We stayed two nights and ate most meals at the hotel's restaurant and cafe, and were very happy with the accommodations and the food. The decor of the interior includes Art Deco elevators, bird cages, and most spectacularly, a Tiffany-glass type atrium ceiling. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, a very pleasant stay for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top