$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

4 stars
View map of Avenida 16 de Septiembre no. 82, Mexico City, 06000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
41 reviews
Mexico City for a Week

I was extremely happy with our stay here. First, for the entire week we experienced world-class... See full review

  • Couple from Brooklyn
  • May 19, 2015
Excellent family trip

Very comfortable and large room, posh bathroom, beautiful and upscale interior, superb location... See full review

  • Ocean lover Westchester
  • Apr 6, 2015

Step into a bygone era of luxury and elegance at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. Art Nouveau architecture, a Tiffany stained glass ceiling, ornate chandeliers, and intricately carved furniture combine with modern amenities to offer guests luxury with a contemporary twist. This five-star hotel boasts four restaurants, 24-hour business and fitness centers, 60 guest rooms, including 24 suites, and one of the most spectacular panoramic views to the city's Historic Center.

Rooms

Accommodations include 36 deluxe double bed and deluxe queen bed rooms, and 12 master suites and 12 junior suites with a king-size bed. All rooms offer flat screen satellite television with cable, complimentary Wi-Fi access, a desk, safe, and mini-bar. Marble bathrooms, equipped with a hairdryer, bath products, bathrobes, and slippers, feature a shower/tub combination.

Property features

This architecturally beautiful 19th century hotel offers a blend of the old and the new in one elegant package. A Tiffany stained glass ceiling dating from 1908, panoramic elevators, marble lobby, and Old World charm set the stage for a memorable stay. Located in the heart of Mexico City on the Plaza de la Constitución -- also known as the Zócalo -- it is only steps from where this city's history began.

 

Dining options are varied. Mexico City Café serves breakfast and a la carte international cuisine, while Restaurante Major Plaza features Mexican fare, an extensive wine list, first class service, and overlooks the Zócalo and National Palace from its fourth-floor setting. Terraza Restaurante and Bar, on the hotel's fifth floor, offers views of the Zócalo, Mexican and international cuisine, and Sunday brunch. The Piano Bar provides cocktails, snacks -- including sushi, and live piano music Wednesday through Saturday evenings.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
Nearby attractions
  • Historic Center (0.1 mi/220 m)
  • Palace of Bellas Artes (0.5 mi/850 m)
  • Anthropology Museum (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Basilica of Guadalupe (3.8 km/6.1 km)
  • Chapultepec Castle (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pyramids of Teotihuacan (26.1mi/42 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with PCs, Internet access, printers, and telephones
  • 12 fully equipped meeting rooms
Transportation
  • Benito Juárez International Airport (4.0 mi/6.5 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico also booked these hotels.

★★★
$50
3.5 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$64
4.0 / 5 3 reviews
★★★★
$147
4.2 / 5 6 reviews
★★★★
$119
4.4 / 5 33 reviews
★★★
$60
2.5 / 5 2 reviews
★★★
$62
3.8 / 5 14 reviews
★★★
$79
4.7 / 5 9 reviews
★★★
$38
3.9 / 5 35 reviews

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico Rooms

Double
Rooms with 2 queen beds include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.
Single
Rooms with queen bed include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Church of San Francisco: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro de la Ciudad: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Church of San Francisco: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro de la Ciudad: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • Campo Marte: 4.3 mi
  • Chapultepec: 4.5 mi
  • Plaza México: 4.7 mi
  • UAM Azcapotzalco: 5.9 mi
  • Film University: 7.3 mi
  • Estadio Azteca: 9.2 mi
  • Universidad Iberoamericana: 9.2 mi
  • Cuicuilco: 9.6 mi
  • Perisur: 9.8 mi
  • Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana: 9.8 mi
  • Six Flags México: 10.4 mi
  • Universidad Intercontinental: 10.8 mi
  • Universidad del Valle de México: 11.2 mi

Dining

Cafe Ciudad de Mexico
Located on the lobby level-traditional Mexican menu. Open from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm, offers a la carte menu of the option of buffet for breakfast and lunch. In the evening you have the opportunity to try the traditional Mexican hot chocolate with -churros or torrejas.
Plaza Mayor Restaurant
Located on the fourth floor with a magnificent vew of Mexico Citys main square, also known as Zocalo. Feature a mexican gourmet menu, where you will find some recipes from the 1920s.
Terra Plaza Mayor
A terrace for 120 people, dominates the best view of the cathedral, presidential offices and its surroundings. Weekends brunch from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 41
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple from Brooklyn
Couples
N/A
May 19, 2015

Mexico City for a Week

I was extremely happy with our stay here. First, for the entire week we experienced world-class customer service. The staff couldn't be nicer. Very helpful, friendly, and caring. It helped that most were bi-lingual (since my Spanish isn't very good). The terrace restaurant afforded a 5-star view and we found the food and bar pretty good, and again, that wonderful view of the Zocalo. This great view cannot be highlighted enough! The room was comfortable, very clean, and well-maintained. Also, the lobby is spectacular. Even on day seven, I found myself staring up at the fantastic Tiffany stained glass ceiling. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leslie
Couples
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Superb Hotel

The hotel met every expectation and then more. It is a beautiful place in a wonderful location. Every one, from front desk to waiter, were kind and accommodating. The bathroom, while charming, could use updating and the terrace dining would benefit from a bit more light in the evening. Overall, however, my wife and I were delighted with our choice of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia R.
Couples
San Antonio
Mar 2, 2015

Excellent

The staff is very helpful always in a good mood, hotel is beautiful, you feel safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita
Couples
Deeping St James, UK
Jan 5, 2015

Great Hotel

Had a great stay and just loved the hotel.... Friendly staff and helpful.... We did the right choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DougEIII
Couples
Santee
Dec 21, 2014

Great trip to Mexico City

This hotel was great. The staff was fantastic (loved the hats everyone wore). Gave us great recommendations for restaurants and did a great job arranging tours and taxi service. Our room was comfortable except for the air conditioning. The temperature seemed to swing +/- 10 degrees. The cafe, bar and rooftop restaurant were all great. Our particular room didn't have much of view but this wasn't important to us. The free wifi throughout the hotel was great! We had just come from a resort in Puerto Vallarta which promised free wifi throughout but it only worked in a few locations in the lobby and restaurant so it was a pleasant change to be able to get online so easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We visited the Freida Kahlo museum and really enjoyed it. It is a little ways away from the hotel. We took the metro from the Zocalo to Viveros and walked the rest of the way.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ququi
Couples
Rockville, MD, USA
May 14, 2014

Great, plan to stay again

The hotel experience was wonderful, especially the staff. My wife and I are seniors, and we enjoyed our stay. This was our first time to Mexico City, and hopefully we will visit again and we plan to stay at your hotel. We very much enjoyed our breakfasts, and the service of Estafen, a most gracious waiter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No more that one mile

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DF Lover
Couples
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 12, 2013

Wonderful time

We had a wonderful time with our stay. There were a couple small issues with the room and they sent someone right away to correct it. The staff was friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamamabear
Couples
seattle, washington
Nov 3, 2013

great hotel

lovely hotel, great location, pleasant staff. could have lived without the hurdy gurdy player on the street, but i'm chalking that noise up to atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mtrock
Couples
Tucson, AZ, USA
Jun 9, 2013

Excellent stay in Mexico City

This was a beautiful hotel and we had a wonderful stay in Mexico City. The hotel's location couldn't been better, the staff was very accommodating and the room was just wonderful. I would highly recommend this classic hotel to anyone staying in Mexico city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a walking tour with Alejandro thru Hostel Amigo

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gustavoooooo
Couples
san francisco , California
Aug 9, 2012

location location location

great location, every person that work there was super attentive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top