$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

3 stars
Avenida 16 de Septiembre no. 82, Mexico City, 06000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
50 reviews
Gran Hotel is Great (location, style and safe)

I visited Mexico City (MC) for the first time (11/26 to 11/29/2013) and stayed at Gran Hotel Ciudad... See full review

  • RJHChicago
  • Nov 30, 2013
Wonderful time

We had a wonderful time with our stay. There were a couple small issues with the room and they sent... See full review

  • DF Lover
  • Nov 12, 2013
Historic hotel on Plaza de la Constitución in the Mexican capital

Step into a bygone era of luxury and elegance at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. Art Nouveau architecture, a Tiffany stained glass ceiling, ornate chandeliers, and intricately carved furniture combine with modern amenities to offer guests luxury with a contemporary twist. This five-star hotel boasts four restaurants, 24-hour business and fitness centers, 60 guest rooms, including 24 suites, and one of the most spectacular panoramic views to the city's Historic Center.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
Rooms

Accommodations include 36 deluxe double bed and deluxe queen bed rooms, and 12 master suites and 12 junior suites with a king-size bed. All rooms offer flat screen satellite television with cable, complimentary Wi-Fi access, a desk, safe, and mini-bar. Marble bathrooms, equipped with a hairdryer, bath products, bathrobes, and slippers, feature a shower/tub combination.

Features

This architecturally beautiful 19th century hotel offers a blend of the old and the new in one elegant package. A Tiffany stained glass ceiling dating from 1908, panoramic elevators, marble lobby, and Old World charm set the stage for a memorable stay. Located in the heart of Mexico City on the Plaza de la Constitución -- also known as the Zócalo -- it is only steps from where this city's history began.

 

Dining options are varied. Mexico City Café serves breakfast and a la carte international cuisine, while Restaurante Major Plaza features Mexican fare, an extensive wine list, first class service, and overlooks the Zócalo and National Palace from its fourth-floor setting. Terraza Restaurante and Bar, on the hotel's fifth floor, offers views of the Zócalo, Mexican and international cuisine, and Sunday brunch. The Piano Bar provides cocktails, snacks -- including sushi, and live piano music Wednesday through Saturday evenings.

Transportation
  • Benito Juárez International Airport (4.0 mi/6.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic Center (0.1 mi/220 m)
  • Palace of Bellas Artes (0.5 mi/850 m)
  • Anthropology Museum (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Basilica of Guadalupe (3.8 km/6.1 km)
  • Chapultepec Castle (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pyramids of Teotihuacan (26.1mi/42 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with PCs, Internet access, printers, and telephones
  • 12 fully equipped meeting rooms

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico Rooms

Double
Rooms with 2 queen beds include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.
Single
Rooms with queen bed include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.4321 -99.1348
Area served
Mexico City
Nearby airports
MEX-Mexico City Airport
Area description
Across the street of Mexico Citys main square or Zocalo.

Nearby points of interest

  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • Campo Marte: 4.3 mi
  • Chapultepec: 4.5 mi
  • Plaza México: 4.7 mi
  • Universidad Panamericana: 5.9 mi
  • Film University: 7.3 mi
  • Estadio Azteca: 9.2 mi
  • Universidad Iberoamericana: 9.2 mi
  • Cuicuilco: 9.6 mi
  • Perisur: 9.8 mi
  • Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana: 9.8 mi
  • Six Flags México: 10.4 mi
  • Universidad Intercontinental: 10.8 mi
  • Universidad del Valle de México: 11.2 mi

Dining

Cafe Ciudad de Mexico
Located on the lobby level-traditional Mexican menu. Open from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm, offers a la carte menu of the option of buffet for breakfast and lunch. In the evening you have the opportunity to try the traditional Mexican hot chocolate with -churros or torrejas.
Plaza Mayor Restaurant
Located on the fourth floor with a magnificent vew of Mexico Citys main square, also known as Zocalo. Feature a mexican gourmet menu, where you will find some recipes from the 1920s.
Terra Plaza Mayor
A terrace for 120 people, dominates the best view of the cathedral, presidential offices and its surroundings. Weekends brunch from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Feb 21, 2011

Good hotel...terrible noise !

Gran Hotel is an interesting building in a very convenient location in EL Centro. HOWEVER, the noise is really bad. There are clubs in the neighborhood that play loud music well into the morning. BUT worst of all, the hotel rents to parties. The rooms in the hotel are around an open courtyard. The doors and windows are old and NOT SOUND-PROOF. One night the music from a party was so loud you could hear it in the all rooms until 3 0'clock in the morning. I can take a little noise, I live in a city. But this was UNBEARABLE. I read the same complaints in other reviews. It's a big problem. As much as I would like to stay there again, I WON'T !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Traditionally, Mexicans eat their main meal between 2PM and 5PM....and then snack later in the evening. MANY of the best restaurants close at 6:30 PM. It's a bit of a problem. Also many of the hotel restaurants are closed on the weekends.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Feb 21, 2011

Good hotel...terrible noise !

Gran Hotel is an interesting building in a very convenient location in EL Centro. HOWEVER, the noise is really bad. There are clubs in the neighborhood that play loud music well into the morning. BUT worst of all, the hotel rents to parties. The rooms in the hotel are around an open courtyard. The doors and windows are old and NOT SOUND-PROOF. One night the music from a party was so loud you could hear it in the all rooms until 3 0'clock in the morning. I can take a little noise, I live in a city. But this was UNBEARABLE. I read the same complaints in other reviews. It's a big problem. As much as I would like to stay there again, I WON'T !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Traditionally, Mexicans eat their main meal between 2PM and 5PM....and then snack later in the evening. MANY of the best restaurants close at 6:30 PM. It's a bit of a problem. Also many of the hotel restaurants are closed on the weekends.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Feb 11, 2008

Very Loud.

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, MEXICO CITY, Mexico was very noisy and consistent with many other accounts of the hotel from past travelers. A wedding on saturday night from 10:00 p.m. til 3:00 a.m. with a LIVE band kept us awake all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Feb 11, 2008

Very Loud.

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, MEXICO CITY, Mexico was very noisy and consistent with many other accounts of the hotel from past travelers. A wedding on saturday night from 10:00 p.m. til 3:00 a.m. with a LIVE band kept us awake all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NM
Apr 25, 2010

Beautiful hotel

The staff were very friendly, but room service was terrible and they weren't helpful and did not inform us on services available, dining places and/sites. Had I been the receptionist, I would have taken the time to inform the customer about the hotel and services offered. I would also inform the customer on what recreational sites/services are close by. We called for room service (ice, my husband ended up going to get it and they scolded him for it, but we waited for over an hour. They forgot to put towels and washcloths in our rooms. I also asked for laundry services and they never picked up my clothes. The hotel restraunt service was excellent. There was lots to see and it was all within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many wonderful sites to see and I felt pretty safe walking.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robtag
Cambridge MA
Aug 28, 2012

Bed bugs?

The hotel is lovely and very well located. It is a lovely art nouveau building, with an extraordinary ceiling. The food is fine, but not great. The rooms are nice and sufficiently large. However, there were two problems with our room, the shower valve handle was broken, and the bathroom door did not close properly. There is also an issue with their WiFi. It does not support the SMTP protocol. I could receive email, but not send it. The speed of service at breakfast was very slow. We were traveling with another family and it looked to me as if their children had been bitten by bed bugs while staying at the hotel. We did not have a problem, nor did the parents who were staying in another room. At any rate, I would not want bugs or whatever they were in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The roof terrace is lovey with a nice view.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NM
Apr 25, 2010

Beautiful hotel

The staff were very friendly, but room service was terrible and they weren't helpful and did not inform us on services available, dining places and/sites. Had I been the receptionist, I would have taken the time to inform the customer about the hotel and services offered. I would also inform the customer on what recreational sites/services are close by. We called for room service (ice, my husband ended up going to get it and they scolded him for it, but we waited for over an hour. They forgot to put towels and washcloths in our rooms. I also asked for laundry services and they never picked up my clothes. The hotel restraunt service was excellent. There was lots to see and it was all within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many wonderful sites to see and I felt pretty safe walking.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenda F
Dubai, UAE
Aug 1, 2012

Great vintage hotel!

Loved the ambiance! Our room was small but comfy. Bathroom was lovely. Hotel lobby is spectacular. Overall great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value place to eat very close to hotel open 24 hours. Ask staff for El Popular. Once you exit hotel to the right, first right, walk 2 blocks, then left.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nice single lady.
Business
Washington D.C.
Apr 5, 2011

Gorgeous Hotel

Business trip. I just walked around the city a little bit because I didn't have much time. I was there only for the weekend in a business trip. No, that was very nice place to stay. This has been a better hotel than a previous one I visited last year. I will chose this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I will recomend this hotel to anyone who is looking for convenient location to get around mexico city and restfull loadging. I really appreciate that housekeeping is done early so when I came back for a rest or nap my room was nice and clean, beautiful. Loved the mornings singing birds.Fantastic.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BA and KA
Whitefish Montana
Jan 1, 2013

Perfect Location, Great place to stay

Right on the Zocalo, perfect location to get that true Mexico City feel.The hotel lobby gives you that 5 star feel......standard room was standard, but very clean, modern.......easily rate as a 3.5/4 in the US. The staff was awesome, they helped us with all of our needs and questions. Just remember you are in Mexico......if you are needy or feel self-important try a 5 star hotel or another country. I've been around the world.......this place hits the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within a mile in any direction of amazing museums and historical sites.

Back to menu Return to top