$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

4 stars
Avenida 16 de Septiembre no. 82, Mexico City, 06000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
34 reviews
Gran Hotel is Great (location, style and safe)

I visited Mexico City (MC) for the first time (11/26 to 11/29/2013) and stayed at Gran Hotel Ciudad... See full review

  • RJHChicago
  • Nov 30, 2013
Wonderful time

We had a wonderful time with our stay. There were a couple small issues with the room and they sent... See full review

  • DF Lover
  • Nov 12, 2013
Historic hotel on Plaza de la Constitución in the Mexican capital

Step into a bygone era of luxury and elegance at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. Art Nouveau architecture, a Tiffany stained glass ceiling, ornate chandeliers, and intricately carved furniture combine with modern amenities to offer guests luxury with a contemporary twist. This five-star hotel boasts four restaurants, 24-hour business and fitness centers, 60 guest rooms, including 24 suites, and one of the most spectacular panoramic views to the city's Historic Center.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
Rooms

Accommodations include 36 deluxe double bed and deluxe queen bed rooms, and 12 master suites and 12 junior suites with a king-size bed. All rooms offer flat screen satellite television with cable, complimentary Wi-Fi access, a desk, safe, and mini-bar. Marble bathrooms, equipped with a hairdryer, bath products, bathrobes, and slippers, feature a shower/tub combination.

Features

This architecturally beautiful 19th century hotel offers a blend of the old and the new in one elegant package. A Tiffany stained glass ceiling dating from 1908, panoramic elevators, marble lobby, and Old World charm set the stage for a memorable stay. Located in the heart of Mexico City on the Plaza de la Constitución -- also known as the Zócalo -- it is only steps from where this city's history began.

 

Dining options are varied. Mexico City Café serves breakfast and a la carte international cuisine, while Restaurante Major Plaza features Mexican fare, an extensive wine list, first class service, and overlooks the Zócalo and National Palace from its fourth-floor setting. Terraza Restaurante and Bar, on the hotel's fifth floor, offers views of the Zócalo, Mexican and international cuisine, and Sunday brunch. The Piano Bar provides cocktails, snacks -- including sushi, and live piano music Wednesday through Saturday evenings.

Transportation
  • Benito Juárez International Airport (4.0 mi/6.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic Center (0.1 mi/220 m)
  • Palace of Bellas Artes (0.5 mi/850 m)
  • Anthropology Museum (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Basilica of Guadalupe (3.8 km/6.1 km)
  • Chapultepec Castle (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pyramids of Teotihuacan (26.1mi/42 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with PCs, Internet access, printers, and telephones
  • 12 fully equipped meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico Rooms

Double
Rooms with 2 queen beds include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.
Single
Rooms with queen bed include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • Campo Marte: 4.3 mi
  • Chapultepec: 4.5 mi
  • Plaza México: 4.7 mi
  • Universidad Panamericana: 5.9 mi
  • Film University: 7.3 mi
  • Estadio Azteca: 9.2 mi
  • Universidad Iberoamericana: 9.2 mi
  • Cuicuilco: 9.6 mi
  • Perisur: 9.8 mi
  • Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana: 9.8 mi
  • Six Flags México: 10.4 mi
  • Universidad Intercontinental: 10.8 mi
  • Universidad del Valle de México: 11.2 mi

Dining

Cafe Ciudad de Mexico
Located on the lobby level-traditional Mexican menu. Open from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm, offers a la carte menu of the option of buffet for breakfast and lunch. In the evening you have the opportunity to try the traditional Mexican hot chocolate with -churros or torrejas.
Plaza Mayor Restaurant
Located on the fourth floor with a magnificent vew of Mexico Citys main square, also known as Zocalo. Feature a mexican gourmet menu, where you will find some recipes from the 1920s.
Terra Plaza Mayor
A terrace for 120 people, dominates the best view of the cathedral, presidential offices and its surroundings. Weekends brunch from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 21, 2011

Good hotel...terrible noise !

Gran Hotel is an interesting building in a very convenient location in EL Centro. HOWEVER, the noise is really bad. There are clubs in the neighborhood that play loud music well into the morning. BUT worst of all, the hotel rents to parties. The rooms in the hotel are around an open courtyard. The doors and windows are old and NOT SOUND-PROOF. One night the music from a party was so loud you could hear it in the all rooms until 3 0'clock in the morning. I can take a little noise, I live in a city. But this was UNBEARABLE. I read the same complaints in other reviews. It's a big problem. As much as I would like to stay there again, I WON'T !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Traditionally, Mexicans eat their main meal between 2PM and 5PM....and then snack later in the evening. MANY of the best restaurants close at 6:30 PM. It's a bit of a problem. Also many of the hotel restaurants are closed on the weekends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 11, 2008

Very Loud.

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico, MEXICO CITY, Mexico was very noisy and consistent with many other accounts of the hotel from past travelers. A wedding on saturday night from 10:00 p.m. til 3:00 a.m. with a LIVE band kept us awake all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robtag
Business
Cambridge MA
Aug 28, 2012

Bed bugs?

The hotel is lovely and very well located. It is a lovely art nouveau building, with an extraordinary ceiling. The food is fine, but not great. The rooms are nice and sufficiently large. However, there were two problems with our room, the shower valve handle was broken, and the bathroom door did not close properly. There is also an issue with their WiFi. It does not support the SMTP protocol. I could receive email, but not send it. The speed of service at breakfast was very slow. We were traveling with another family and it looked to me as if their children had been bitten by bed bugs while staying at the hotel. We did not have a problem, nor did the parents who were staying in another room. At any rate, I would not want bugs or whatever they were in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The roof terrace is lovey with a nice view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NM
Apr 25, 2010

Beautiful hotel

The staff were very friendly, but room service was terrible and they weren't helpful and did not inform us on services available, dining places and/sites. Had I been the receptionist, I would have taken the time to inform the customer about the hotel and services offered. I would also inform the customer on what recreational sites/services are close by. We called for room service (ice, my husband ended up going to get it and they scolded him for it, but we waited for over an hour. They forgot to put towels and washcloths in our rooms. I also asked for laundry services and they never picked up my clothes. The hotel restraunt service was excellent. There was lots to see and it was all within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many wonderful sites to see and I felt pretty safe walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
abrahamr
Business
brooklyn new york
Feb 27, 2012

good hotel

Good, not superlative. Pretty art nouveu building.But the rooms need renovation. Staff responsive, but almost nobody spoke English.The staff, consierge, not well informed about city and city events. The hotel is not well located . Overall, the experience was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brenda F
Business
Dubai, UAE
Aug 1, 2012

Great vintage hotel!

Loved the ambiance! Our room was small but comfy. Bathroom was lovely. Hotel lobby is spectacular. Overall great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good value place to eat very close to hotel open 24 hours. Ask staff for El Popular. Once you exit hotel to the right, first right, walk 2 blocks, then left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BA and KA
Business
Whitefish Montana
Jan 1, 2013

Perfect Location, Great place to stay

Right on the Zocalo, perfect location to get that true Mexico City feel.The hotel lobby gives you that 5 star feel......standard room was standard, but very clean, modern.......easily rate as a 3.5/4 in the US. The staff was awesome, they helped us with all of our needs and questions. Just remember you are in Mexico......if you are needy or feel self-important try a 5 star hotel or another country. I've been around the world.......this place hits the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within a mile in any direction of amazing museums and historical sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islandtime84
Business
Atlanta
Jul 12, 2013

Awesome

Second time staying at this hotel. Love it!!! I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The turibus is in the zocalo. Great tour for the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamamabear
Business
seattle, washington
Nov 3, 2013

great hotel

lovely hotel, great location, pleasant staff. could have lived without the hurdy gurdy player on the street, but i'm chalking that noise up to atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
COLM
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Apr 1, 2014

Most friendly Mexico City

GHCM was most welcoming to us and we stayed 5 nights. Staff were helpful and had humour. We were greeted like friends each time we returned. Our room was comfortable and very clean. The only thing which disappointed was dinner buffet in Roof top restaurant - only worth it for the view of the Zocalo. Mexico city is the most amazingly friendly big city we have ever visited. Metro is cheap and efficient. Traditional restaurants are excellent. Museums are amazing. Love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sandborns Casa Azuelegas (House of Tiles); Hosteria Santo Domingho

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top