$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

4 stars
View map of Avenida 16 de Septiembre no. 82, Mexico City, 06000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LLPS
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Beautiful, Historic, Worth it

This hotel is beautiful! If you want to know what the hotel looks like inside, watch the Frida Kahlo movie and look for the scenes when she is in Paris. The hotel is right next to the Zocalo. It is in a great location. My issues were the bed and mosquitoes. The beds were hard and there were mosquitoes in the restroom and I was bite every night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small cafe next door, when you exit the hotel, to your right. It has better prices than the hotel restaurant.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 5, 2011

Gran Hotel Mexico City

This gorgeous hotel is centrally located in the historic center of town. The rooms vary in size but all are very nicely decorated with a great bathtub! We had a room facing the Zocolo and I would suggest that for the awesome view! The service here is amazing and everyone was very helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vero Beach FL
Jul 1, 2011

Fantastic family gataway

walk around visit the zocalo, Palacio de Bellas Artes. I wish I had more time to spend in this great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pomona, CA
May 1, 2011

Mexico City 05-01-2011

Clean, efficient, friendly and beautiful. Great location for first trip to D.F. and for Historic Center, but its location works against it if you're traveling to other parts of the city, as getting back to the hotel can be difficult and time consuming because of traffic. Hotel restaurant staff needs more training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're traveling outside the center, get out early (before 9:30 AM) to avoid rush hour traffic. Best time to use the Metro: 10:00AM - 2:00PM

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nice single lady.
Business
Washington D.C.
Apr 5, 2011

Gorgeous Hotel

Business trip. I just walked around the city a little bit because I didn't have much time. I was there only for the weekend in a business trip. No, that was very nice place to stay. This has been a better hotel than a previous one I visited last year. I will chose this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I will recomend this hotel to anyone who is looking for convenient location to get around mexico city and restfull loadging. I really appreciate that housekeeping is done early so when I came back for a rest or nap my room was nice and clean, beautiful. Loved the mornings singing birds.Fantastic.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 21, 2011

Good hotel...terrible noise !

Gran Hotel is an interesting building in a very convenient location in EL Centro. HOWEVER, the noise is really bad. There are clubs in the neighborhood that play loud music well into the morning. BUT worst of all, the hotel rents to parties. The rooms in the hotel are around an open courtyard. The doors and windows are old and NOT SOUND-PROOF. One night the music from a party was so loud you could hear it in the all rooms until 3 0'clock in the morning. I can take a little noise, I live in a city. But this was UNBEARABLE. I read the same complaints in other reviews. It's a big problem. As much as I would like to stay there again, I WON'T !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Traditionally, Mexicans eat their main meal between 2PM and 5PM....and then snack later in the evening. MANY of the best restaurants close at 6:30 PM. It's a bit of a problem. Also many of the hotel restaurants are closed on the weekends.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indio, Ca.
Jan 18, 2011

Perfect cultural HoneyMoon

Arriving to the hotel is stepping back into time where elegance, service and culture were the focus to customers. Service was great and amenities were perfect. Would recommend El Gran Hotel de la Ciudad de Mexico to Any one that wants to have a romantic or cultural stay in Mexico City. Planning my next trip and staying there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michoacán
Sep 13, 2010

good hotel, great location few food

The location and facilites are excellent. The restaurant "La terraza" is beatifull, its panoramic and has a great view(Centro Histórico). Our complainment was that the restaurants and room services are time limited, so if you need something too early or late, you need to get food from outside, its not 24 hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Cardenal. Great mexican breakfast, just at two blocks fron the hotel.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fortholden
Business
Fort Worth
Jul 26, 2010

Great Hotel

Great hotel, well-furnished, pleasant staff who speak English, rooms are large, good closets, TV with a couple of English channels,hotel itself is quiet but adjacent to Zocalo so can be noisy at times but also great center for tourists. Restaurant never rises to level of hotel, not bad, just not as good as it should be, stick with standard plates and it's fine, avoid ordering anything challenging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FR Jay Dee
Business
Arlington Texas
May 8, 2010

Mexico Pilgramage

I really enjoyed this Hotel and I will be using it again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If your not picky, there is a VIPS (like Denny's) across the street. The food is good

Back to menu Return to top