$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

4 stars
View map of Avenida 16 de Septiembre no. 82, Mexico City, 06000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prufrock
Business
Chicago area
Apr 2, 2014

Grand Hotel & Great Location

The Gran Hotel was recommended by a friend because of its history and proximity to the Zocalo. Within a few minutes, my family was able to walk to the magnificent Mexico City Cathedral, the archeological site & museum at Templo Mayor, & the murals of Diego Rivera at the National Palace. The staff at the hotel was exceedingly helpful, especially Roberto, who patiently answered all of our questions and provided sage advice. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking view of the Zocalo and surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Without a doubt, after a day of sightseeing, when coming back to the hotel, it was a nice respite to take the elevator to the top floor and dine at the terrace restaurant. If you give just a short notice, a reservation can be made at the front desk, ensuring a table overlooking the Zocalo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
COLM
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Apr 1, 2014

Most friendly Mexico City

GHCM was most welcoming to us and we stayed 5 nights. Staff were helpful and had humour. We were greeted like friends each time we returned. Our room was comfortable and very clean. The only thing which disappointed was dinner buffet in Roof top restaurant - only worth it for the view of the Zocalo. Mexico city is the most amazingly friendly big city we have ever visited. Metro is cheap and efficient. Traditional restaurants are excellent. Museums are amazing. Love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sandborns Casa Azuelegas (House of Tiles); Hosteria Santo Domingho

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJHChicago
Business
Chicago Illinois USA
Nov 30, 2013

Gran Hotel is Great (location, style and safe)

I visited Mexico City (MC) for the first time (11/26 to 11/29/2013) and stayed at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. Excellent location in the Zocalo, the historical center (plaza/square) of MC where the city's main Cathedral (Assumption of Mary), National Palace (version of US Capital Hill/White House), some ruins (Templo Mayor), shopping, subway stop are located. Each day, the army raises (8am) & lowers (6pm) the flag in the square - very grand to see (good photo op). Walking distance to two art museums. Hotel is very grand, old world & beautiful with stained glass lobby ceiling and marble floor (awesome). I went to MC along and felt very safe in area/hotel (lots of police due to Zocalo/main tourist spot). Open air Terrace restaurant on hotel roof has awesome view of Zocalo plaza and food is good. Other restaurant is in lobby and more reasonable in price. My room (#218) is huge & beautifully decorated with a "fake" courtyard view (interior room). Its really the view of a roof but roof is beautifully decorated to make the roof resemble a courtyard (an excellent idea)!! It would be nice if hotel could build a door to the "courtyard" roof from the room as an extra bonus. However, lights in room were dim. Room was immaculately clean. Service was great and staff very helpful & responsive. Water is purified (hooray) and water pressure is great (good hot water too). Has mini fridge and coffee maker in room. TV is good but needs more English tv cable stations (only two, CNN and Warner). Hotel reception & restaurant staff are so friendly & speak English which is great!! Starbucks coffee across the street!! No ATM or gift shop in hotel but banks, stores and fast food restaurants on street. I did not bring my laptop so can't comment on WIFI service but I believe its free. I did bring my cell phone & got good phone reception in room, lobby and restaurant. Menus in Spanish and English. Has English worded digital alarm clock (great). Has a little notepad - front page has hotel logo, address, phone on front and blank back page to write on. This is good since you can tear a page to carry with you if you get lost. However, my room had no pen (needs a pen in the room, I had my own pen but should be included in room). Hotel lobby bar only on Wed night thru weekend (its a piano bar which is nice). Room has individual temperature control (good). There are 2 modern European style (means small) elevators for daily use which is good and fast. FYI - 2 antique elevators only used when you first arrive which is understandable (too difficult to maintain if broke but nice welcoming touch). Nice amenities (free toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, shaving cream, mouth wash, moisturizer and soaps) which is great!! A piece of chocolate left on bed each night & first night get a little treat (doll and history of hotel - great personal touch)!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here on next visit to MC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DF Lover
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 12, 2013

Wonderful time

We had a wonderful time with our stay. There were a couple small issues with the room and they sent someone right away to correct it. The staff was friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamamabear
Business
seattle, washington
Nov 3, 2013

great hotel

lovely hotel, great location, pleasant staff. could have lived without the hurdy gurdy player on the street, but i'm chalking that noise up to atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islandtime84
Business
Atlanta
Jul 12, 2013

Awesome

Second time staying at this hotel. Love it!!! I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The turibus is in the zocalo. Great tour for the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mtrock
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Jun 9, 2013

Excellent stay in Mexico City

This was a beautiful hotel and we had a wonderful stay in Mexico City. The hotel's location couldn't been better, the staff was very accommodating and the room was just wonderful. I would highly recommend this classic hotel to anyone staying in Mexico city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a walking tour with Alejandro thru Hostel Amigo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BA and KA
Business
Whitefish Montana
Jan 1, 2013

Perfect Location, Great place to stay

Right on the Zocalo, perfect location to get that true Mexico City feel.The hotel lobby gives you that 5 star feel......standard room was standard, but very clean, modern.......easily rate as a 3.5/4 in the US. The staff was awesome, they helped us with all of our needs and questions. Just remember you are in Mexico......if you are needy or feel self-important try a 5 star hotel or another country. I've been around the world.......this place hits the mark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are within a mile in any direction of amazing museums and historical sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robtag
Business
Cambridge MA
Aug 28, 2012

Bed bugs?

The hotel is lovely and very well located. It is a lovely art nouveau building, with an extraordinary ceiling. The food is fine, but not great. The rooms are nice and sufficiently large. However, there were two problems with our room, the shower valve handle was broken, and the bathroom door did not close properly. There is also an issue with their WiFi. It does not support the SMTP protocol. I could receive email, but not send it. The speed of service at breakfast was very slow. We were traveling with another family and it looked to me as if their children had been bitten by bed bugs while staying at the hotel. We did not have a problem, nor did the parents who were staying in another room. At any rate, I would not want bugs or whatever they were in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The roof terrace is lovey with a nice view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gustavoooooo
Business
san francisco , California
Aug 9, 2012

location location location

great location, every person that work there was super attentive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top