$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

4 stars
View map of Avenida 16 de Septiembre no. 82, Mexico City, 06000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ququi
Business
Rockville, MD, USA
May 14, 2014

Great, plan to stay again

The hotel experience was wonderful, especially the staff. My wife and I are seniors, and we enjoyed our stay. This was our first time to Mexico City, and hopefully we will visit again and we plan to stay at your hotel. We very much enjoyed our breakfasts, and the service of Estafen, a most gracious waiter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No more that one mile

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prufrock
Business
Chicago area
Apr 2, 2014

Grand Hotel & Great Location

The Gran Hotel was recommended by a friend because of its history and proximity to the Zocalo. Within a few minutes, my family was able to walk to the magnificent Mexico City Cathedral, the archeological site & museum at Templo Mayor, & the murals of Diego Rivera at the National Palace. The staff at the hotel was exceedingly helpful, especially Roberto, who patiently answered all of our questions and provided sage advice. The terrace restaurant offers a breathtaking view of the Zocalo and surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Without a doubt, after a day of sightseeing, when coming back to the hotel, it was a nice respite to take the elevator to the top floor and dine at the terrace restaurant. If you give just a short notice, a reservation can be made at the front desk, ensuring a table overlooking the Zocalo.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RJHChicago
Business
Chicago Illinois USA
Nov 30, 2013

Gran Hotel is Great (location, style and safe)

I visited Mexico City (MC) for the first time (11/26 to 11/29/2013) and stayed at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. Excellent location in the Zocalo, the historical center (plaza/square) of MC where the city's main Cathedral (Assumption of Mary), National Palace (version of US Capital Hill/White House), some ruins (Templo Mayor), shopping, subway stop are located. Each day, the army raises (8am) & lowers (6pm) the flag in the square - very grand to see (good photo op). Walking distance to two art museums. Hotel is very grand, old world & beautiful with stained glass lobby ceiling and marble floor (awesome). I went to MC along and felt very safe in area/hotel (lots of police due to Zocalo/main tourist spot). Open air Terrace restaurant on hotel roof has awesome view of Zocalo plaza and food is good. Other restaurant is in lobby and more reasonable in price. My room (#218) is huge & beautifully decorated with a "fake" courtyard view (interior room). Its really the view of a roof but roof is beautifully decorated to make the roof resemble a courtyard (an excellent idea)!! It would be nice if hotel could build a door to the "courtyard" roof from the room as an extra bonus. However, lights in room were dim. Room was immaculately clean. Service was great and staff very helpful & responsive. Water is purified (hooray) and water pressure is great (good hot water too). Has mini fridge and coffee maker in room. TV is good but needs more English tv cable stations (only two, CNN and Warner). Hotel reception & restaurant staff are so friendly & speak English which is great!! Starbucks coffee across the street!! No ATM or gift shop in hotel but banks, stores and fast food restaurants on street. I did not bring my laptop so can't comment on WIFI service but I believe its free. I did bring my cell phone & got good phone reception in room, lobby and restaurant. Menus in Spanish and English. Has English worded digital alarm clock (great). Has a little notepad - front page has hotel logo, address, phone on front and blank back page to write on. This is good since you can tear a page to carry with you if you get lost. However, my room had no pen (needs a pen in the room, I had my own pen but should be included in room). Hotel lobby bar only on Wed night thru weekend (its a piano bar which is nice). Room has individual temperature control (good). There are 2 modern European style (means small) elevators for daily use which is good and fast. FYI - 2 antique elevators only used when you first arrive which is understandable (too difficult to maintain if broke but nice welcoming touch). Nice amenities (free toothbrush, toothpaste, razor, shaving cream, mouth wash, moisturizer and soaps) which is great!! A piece of chocolate left on bed each night & first night get a little treat (doll and history of hotel - great personal touch)!!! I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here on next visit to MC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DF Lover
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 12, 2013

Wonderful time

We had a wonderful time with our stay. There were a couple small issues with the room and they sent someone right away to correct it. The staff was friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mamamabear
Business
seattle, washington
Nov 3, 2013

great hotel

lovely hotel, great location, pleasant staff. could have lived without the hurdy gurdy player on the street, but i'm chalking that noise up to atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islandtime84
Business
Atlanta
Jul 12, 2013

Awesome

Second time staying at this hotel. Love it!!! I would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The turibus is in the zocalo. Great tour for the money.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mtrock
Business
Tucson, AZ, USA
Jun 9, 2013

Excellent stay in Mexico City

This was a beautiful hotel and we had a wonderful stay in Mexico City. The hotel's location couldn't been better, the staff was very accommodating and the room was just wonderful. I would highly recommend this classic hotel to anyone staying in Mexico city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a walking tour with Alejandro thru Hostel Amigo

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
robtag
Business
Cambridge MA
Aug 28, 2012

Bed bugs?

The hotel is lovely and very well located. It is a lovely art nouveau building, with an extraordinary ceiling. The food is fine, but not great. The rooms are nice and sufficiently large. However, there were two problems with our room, the shower valve handle was broken, and the bathroom door did not close properly. There is also an issue with their WiFi. It does not support the SMTP protocol. I could receive email, but not send it. The speed of service at breakfast was very slow. We were traveling with another family and it looked to me as if their children had been bitten by bed bugs while staying at the hotel. We did not have a problem, nor did the parents who were staying in another room. At any rate, I would not want bugs or whatever they were in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The roof terrace is lovey with a nice view.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gustavoooooo
Business
san francisco , California
Aug 9, 2012

location location location

great location, every person that work there was super attentive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wrjh431
Business
Dallas, Texas
Aug 3, 2012

Beautiful Architecture in the Heart of Mexico City

This is great hotel for those visiting Mexico City, especially for tourism. It is beautifully decorated, has a wonderful view, and has helpful and friendly staff. The most impressive feature is the interior architecture. A stained glass skylight covers the entire lobby and the rooms are decorated with an old style colonial decore. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting the many sites of the Centro Historico district of Meixco City. The best thing about the rooms are the enormous full size windows which stretch all the way to the vaulted ceilings. The interiors are decorated with Victorian era furniture. Bathrooms have modern fixtures with good waterflow. The beds are older and could be due for upgraded matresses, but are otherwise okay. Hotel staff were helpful and very accomodating. Staff were able to assist us with our 12 am check in. They were able to move us to a room overlooking the Zocalo (Central Square) when requested it at the time of check in. The staff was always pleasant and had positive attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Saturday evenings the area is filled with pedestrians and the shops are all open. Walk around the Centro Historico to visit the sites and interact with the locals.

Back to menu Return to top