$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 17, 2015 Check-out: Jun 20, 2015

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

4 stars
View map of Avenida 16 de Septiembre no. 82, Mexico City, 06000

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
44 reviews
Mexico City for a Week

I was extremely happy with our stay here. First, for the entire week we experienced world-class... See full review

  • Couple from Brooklyn
  • May 19, 2015
Excellent family trip

Very comfortable and large room, posh bathroom, beautiful and upscale interior, superb location... See full review

  • Ocean lover Westchester
  • Apr 6, 2015
Historic hotel on Plaza de la Constitución in the Mexican capital

Step into a bygone era of luxury and elegance at Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico. Art Nouveau architecture, a Tiffany stained glass ceiling, ornate chandeliers, and intricately carved furniture combine with modern amenities to offer guests luxury with a contemporary twist. This five-star hotel boasts four restaurants, 24-hour business and fitness centers, 60 guest rooms, including 24 suites, and one of the most spectacular panoramic views to the city's Historic Center.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • Complimentary 24-hour business center
  • Complimentary 24-hour fitness center
  • 24-hour room service
Rooms

Accommodations include 36 deluxe double bed and deluxe queen bed rooms, and 12 master suites and 12 junior suites with a king-size bed. All rooms offer flat screen satellite television with cable, complimentary Wi-Fi access, a desk, safe, and mini-bar. Marble bathrooms, equipped with a hairdryer, bath products, bathrobes, and slippers, feature a shower/tub combination.

Features

This architecturally beautiful 19th century hotel offers a blend of the old and the new in one elegant package. A Tiffany stained glass ceiling dating from 1908, panoramic elevators, marble lobby, and Old World charm set the stage for a memorable stay. Located in the heart of Mexico City on the Plaza de la Constitución -- also known as the Zócalo -- it is only steps from where this city's history began.

 

Dining options are varied. Mexico City Café serves breakfast and a la carte international cuisine, while Restaurante Major Plaza features Mexican fare, an extensive wine list, first class service, and overlooks the Zócalo and National Palace from its fourth-floor setting. Terraza Restaurante and Bar, on the hotel's fifth floor, offers views of the Zócalo, Mexican and international cuisine, and Sunday brunch. The Piano Bar provides cocktails, snacks -- including sushi, and live piano music Wednesday through Saturday evenings.

Transportation
  • Benito Juárez International Airport (4.0 mi/6.5 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Historic Center (0.1 mi/220 m)
  • Palace of Bellas Artes (0.5 mi/850 m)
  • Anthropology Museum (3.3 mi/ 5.3 km)
  • Basilica of Guadalupe (3.8 km/6.1 km)
  • Chapultepec Castle (4.0 mi/6.4 km)
  • Pyramids of Teotihuacan (26.1mi/42 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center with PCs, Internet access, printers, and telephones
  • 12 fully equipped meeting rooms

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico Rooms

Double
Rooms with 2 queen beds include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.
Single
Rooms with queen bed include 2-line telephone, minibar, iron & ironing board, security box, bathrobes, hairdryer, alarm clock, plasma TV, cable TV, AC and a message system.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • El Zocalo: 0.1 mi
  • Constitution Square: 0.1 mi
  • Zócalo: 0.3 mi
  • Torre Latinoamericana: 0.4 mi
  • Templo Mayor: 0.6 mi
  • Palacio de Bellas Artes: 0.6 mi
  • Teatro Metropólitan: 1 mi
  • Arena México: 1.3 mi
  • Nacional Monte de Piedad: 1.7 mi
  • El Ángel: 2.3 mi
  • Parque España: 2.4 mi
  • Palacio de los Deportes: 2.7 mi
  • Parque México: 2.8 mi
  • Foro Sol: 3.2 mi
  • IPADE: 3.6 mi
  • Campo Marte: 4.3 mi
  • Chapultepec: 4.5 mi
  • Plaza México: 4.7 mi
  • Universidad Panamericana: 5.9 mi
  • Film University: 7.3 mi
  • Estadio Azteca: 9.2 mi
  • Universidad Iberoamericana: 9.2 mi
  • Cuicuilco: 9.6 mi
  • Perisur: 9.8 mi
  • Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana: 9.8 mi
  • Six Flags México: 10.4 mi
  • Universidad Intercontinental: 10.8 mi
  • Universidad del Valle de México: 11.2 mi

Dining

Cafe Ciudad de Mexico
Located on the lobby level-traditional Mexican menu. Open from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm, offers a la carte menu of the option of buffet for breakfast and lunch. In the evening you have the opportunity to try the traditional Mexican hot chocolate with -churros or torrejas.
Plaza Mayor Restaurant
Located on the fourth floor with a magnificent vew of Mexico Citys main square, also known as Zocalo. Feature a mexican gourmet menu, where you will find some recipes from the 1920s.
Terra Plaza Mayor
A terrace for 120 people, dominates the best view of the cathedral, presidential offices and its surroundings. Weekends brunch from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wrjh431
Dallas, Texas
Aug 3, 2012

Beautiful Architecture in the Heart of Mexico City

This is great hotel for those visiting Mexico City, especially for tourism. It is beautifully decorated, has a wonderful view, and has helpful and friendly staff. The most impressive feature is the interior architecture. A stained glass skylight covers the entire lobby and the rooms are decorated with an old style colonial decore. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting the many sites of the Centro Historico district of Meixco City. The best thing about the rooms are the enormous full size windows which stretch all the way to the vaulted ceilings. The interiors are decorated with Victorian era furniture. Bathrooms have modern fixtures with good waterflow. The beds are older and could be due for upgraded matresses, but are otherwise okay. Hotel staff were helpful and very accomodating. Staff were able to assist us with our 12 am check in. They were able to move us to a room overlooking the Zocalo (Central Square) when requested it at the time of check in. The staff was always pleasant and had positive attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Saturday evenings the area is filled with pedestrians and the shops are all open. Walk around the Centro Historico to visit the sites and interact with the locals.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple from Brooklyn
Business
N/A
May 19, 2015

Mexico City for a Week

I was extremely happy with our stay here. First, for the entire week we experienced world-class customer service. The staff couldn't be nicer. Very helpful, friendly, and caring. It helped that most were bi-lingual (since my Spanish isn't very good). The terrace restaurant afforded a 5-star view and we found the food and bar pretty good, and again, that wonderful view of the Zocalo. This great view cannot be highlighted enough! The room was comfortable, very clean, and well-maintained. Also, the lobby is spectacular. Even on day seven, I found myself staring up at the fantastic Tiffany stained glass ceiling. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ocean lover Westchester
Business
Croton on Hudson
Apr 6, 2015

Excellent family trip

Very comfortable and large room, posh bathroom, beautiful and upscale interior, superb location (right next to zocalo). No swimming pool though. We did not try the food. Excellent price for the room and lower than nearby American chain hotels. They were also very relaxed about having two children in the room, which was not a trivial requirement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dapla
Business
Somerville
Mar 26, 2015

Enjoyable stay in the Centro Historico

This is a wonderful luxury hotel in a former opulent department store reminiscent of the Galeries Lafayatte in Paris. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Many of them speak English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leslie
Business
N/A
Mar 2, 2015

Superb Hotel

The hotel met every expectation and then more. It is a beautiful place in a wonderful location. Every one, from front desk to waiter, were kind and accommodating. The bathroom, while charming, could use updating and the terrace dining would benefit from a bit more light in the evening. Overall, however, my wife and I were delighted with our choice of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patricia R.
Business
San Antonio
Mar 2, 2015

Excellent

The staff is very helpful always in a good mood, hotel is beautiful, you feel safe

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Beautiful hotel in a great location

Beautiful old style hotel in the centre of the historic zone of Mexico City. Perfect to explore the city sites. Great variety of places to eat in and around the hotel. Great breakfast. All the staff were friendly and helpful. English was spoken by the staff which was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita
Business
Deeping St James, UK
Jan 5, 2015

Great Hotel

Had a great stay and just loved the hotel.... Friendly staff and helpful.... We did the right choice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DougEIII
Business
Santee
Dec 21, 2014

Great trip to Mexico City

This hotel was great. The staff was fantastic (loved the hats everyone wore). Gave us great recommendations for restaurants and did a great job arranging tours and taxi service. Our room was comfortable except for the air conditioning. The temperature seemed to swing +/- 10 degrees. The cafe, bar and rooftop restaurant were all great. Our particular room didn't have much of view but this wasn't important to us. The free wifi throughout the hotel was great! We had just come from a resort in Puerto Vallarta which promised free wifi throughout but it only worked in a few locations in the lobby and restaurant so it was a pleasant change to be able to get online so easily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We visited the Freida Kahlo museum and really enjoyed it. It is a little ways away from the hotel. We took the metro from the Zocalo to Viveros and walked the rest of the way.

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gareth W.
Business
Surrey
Dec 16, 2014

Like living in a big mansion

One word — WOW! Everything about this hotel was grand! I was first swooned by the ceiling. If you've seen some photos, you'll get what I mean but once you're under it, it's just spectacular. The birds in the lobby also add to the ambiance. Once I got into my room (two queens), My jaw just dropped! It was massive! The bathroom was nice too, with fancy curtains and a phone by the toilet (convenient). They also left me a sweet treat on my bed every day. The hotel itself has a great location. It's right at the Zocalo (where you can find Templo Mayor, the Cathedral, etc.) and super close to the metro. Shopping and food around the area is pretty good too! If you're looking for good real Mexican food, head over to Sanborns Azul. Lots of shoe stores around here as well. The staff are amazing! Really friendly security and bell boys. The receptionists are always very helpful and know a lot of English. Jessica, one of the receptionists, was super helpful when I left my mobile phone in one of the tour vans. I got it back because of all her help. They also change US$ to MXN which is awesome! Will definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Ciudad de Mexico

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ququi
Business
Rockville, MD, USA
May 14, 2014

Great, plan to stay again

The hotel experience was wonderful, especially the staff. My wife and I are seniors, and we enjoyed our stay. This was our first time to Mexico City, and hopefully we will visit again and we plan to stay at your hotel. We very much enjoyed our breakfasts, and the service of Estafen, a most gracious waiter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

No more that one mile

Back to menu Return to top