Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

2 stars
Calle 59 #636 entre 80 y 82, Merida, 97000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
11 reviews
Old World charm and gracious hospitality

The hotel is a beautifully converted mansion that is full of exquisite tile-work. The staff is... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 29, 2010
Casa de las Columnas, Merida

Casa Columnas is a fairly new boutique hotel west of Merida Centro. It's on Calle 59, one of the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 17, 2010
Casa de Las Columnas Hotel Boutique opened its doors to the public in 2008, keeping in mind the main goal, which is to provide you with warmth through honesty, fine and reliable service earning the clients' preference. A family company, 100% Mexican, full of values, offering customized and exclusive service that manages to transmit to all guests the comfort and warmth that only your home can offer. Whenever you get to stay in hotel you get to experience matchless comfort and relaxation among interior gardens by the swimming pool, lounging in the hotel's deck, or well due to the convenience of the hotel's location, you can tour the amazing historical center enjoying from all the cultural and tourist attractions. Casa de las Columnas Hotel mixes elements of luxury and beauty in rooms, with excellent attention and service so guests get the maximum out of their stay. The hotel features 11 comfortable rooms, split in 4 types according to occupancy. All of the hotel's rooms offer different decoration styles with gorgeous old fashion furniture, which adds a very unique fancy touch. Among the numerous amenities and services, the hotel include swimming pool, safe box, parking lot, housekeeping, continental breakfast, handicraft and antiques shop, boutique, deck, wireless internet service in common areas, dining room, kitchen and facilities prepared for handicapped people. Furthermore, the hotel offers additional services with extra charge such as massages, spa services, laundry and dry cleaning service, tours, airport-hotel-airport transportation and room service among others. The hotel looks forward to welcome you any time soon and deliver you the best of services and facilities. In addition to both unique guestrooms and excellent location, the hotel makes available cozy bar "La Tertulia", where you may enjoy a cold beer during the day or the evening, complemented by delicious wine of selected wine cellar framed by the relaxing sound of the swimming pool waterfall, the beautiful lighting and green environment. The Hotel also provides bar, currency exchange, disabled facilities, doctor on call, wireless internet, laundry service, lobby, non-smoking rooms, reception, room service, safe deposit box, secretarial services, smoke free hotel, spa service, pool, 24 hrs reception and free car parking. Breakfast included.Cancellation for christmas, new year, east season will be charge the 100% total amount stay.

Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas Rooms

Standard One Double Bed
The Room offers 1 double bed with a/c, balcony/terrace, bathroom amenities, internet access, iron/ironing board, room service, safe in room, cable/satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/ private bathroom, laundry service, non-smoking service and telephone.
Standard Two Double Beds
The Room offers 1 double bed a/c, balcony/terrace, bathroom amenities, internet access, iron/ironing board, room service, safe in room, cable/satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/ private bathroom, laundry service, non-smoking service and telephone.
Suite
The Room offers 1 King Size Bed a/c, balcony/terrace, bathroom amenities, internet access, iron/ironing board, room service, safe in room, cable/satellite TV, ceiling fan, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/ private bathroom, laundry service, non-smoking service and telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

20.9708 -89.6363
Area served
Merida.
Nearby airports
Merida International Airport.
Area description
Located in the Santiago district's suburbs, which is part of the Historical Center of Merida, over the main street, few steps away from the main park of Merida city. The international airport is located only 15 minutes away from the hotel, and 30 minutes from the most important beaches in the state.

Dining

Bar La Tertulia
located by the swimming pool and offers a capacity for 25 guests. In our bar you won't only try our wide menu of cocktails and wines, but also our delicious snacks and even your choice eggs and traditional tamales. as part of your lodging from 7:30 to 10:00 in the morning, which includes cereal and oats, milk, orange or tangerine juice, tropical fruits, coffee, sweet bread, toast, jam and different tea options. Our continental breakfast is served buffet style for you to freely choose what you like.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guadalajara
Jul 12, 2011

the good the bad and NOT CLEAN

The hotel has a great location about 9 block from the centre, easy to find from airport and ease of driving to places of interest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The restaurants are wonderful and the service is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
murkablack
Business
Ajijic, Jalisco, Mexico
Jul 12, 2011

Website of this hotel is outdated.

The website for this hotel is very misleading: there is no bar for a "cold beer" or is there a "wine cellar". There is no "arts and crafts boutique". Room service menu consists of toast and eggs. There is no "oat" soap or "honey" insect repellent. Our pillows smelled of mold. The towels are rags. Our air conditioning gave out 3 days before the end of our stay and after numerous complaints about this, it was not fixed. We moved to another hotel our last night there. I am sorry to say, but I have stayed in better youth hostels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to see the flamingoes in Celestun, check first if it is the season for them. We spent 1200 pesos to see maybe 12 flamingoes not the thousands that is advertised.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwestern USA
Apr 27, 2010

Pleasant retreat

Accommodation was adequate, but had no English language TV- CNN in Spanish only and no CD/DVD movie player- no musica! Poor lighting- shaving in dim bathroom lighting. No reading level lighting in the room and no desk for laptop computer. A few mosquitoes for roomates. Searing hot/humid weather puts AC and 1 speed fan under some stress to maintain balanced comfort control. Minimal dining room/food service. No ATM. I did enjoy the staff- Jose, Diego, Gerry, Renaldo, Maria, Michael etc...they were patient and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Isa-ji
Business
Eugene, OR
Mar 26, 2011

good price but long walk to city center

The hotel is nice but we felt it was a bit too far from the city center. We did not mind the walk the first day but we took the taxi all the other days. The room was nice, clean, with high ceiling but had NO windows! The breakfast was just OK, nothing extraordinary and other restaurants were a long walk away. I liked the place and the price but I will probably go somewhere more central next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Treveling in simplicity
Business
Canada
Nov 14, 2012

An excellent hotel and staff

We had visited the hotel last year to suggest to others or for our own future trips and enjoyed spending time having a coffee in their beutiful garden. When suggested the Casa de las Columnas we immediately agreed. The staff are ever present and easy to access, They speak english and even some french as they wish to help their guests feel comfortable. VERY clean, beautiful garden and rooms have touches of old Merida. They have a small continental breakfast and you can order wine, beer or spirits for around the pool. The location is great and only 4 blocks away from Santiago Park with weekly outside bands and ethnic cuisine, next door to a grocery store and pharmacy and a 20 minute walk to Downtown Centro. It is a small and cultural hotel with only 11 rooms. A simple hotel with an excellent atmosphere for a great price. The consistency of the service both trips is a factor we appreciated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

When a touch of our favourite was needed away from the city, we dicovered Thai Flash in Progresso and had an excellent Thai meal. Excellence in food and the personal touch of the owners went beyond. Again simple atmosphere concentrating on what was important.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canton,Michigan
Mar 30, 2011

Great location for the price!

The staff was very friendly and very happy happy to please us. We arrived in late and they offered to order pizza for us. It was very clean but the only complaint I had was the bed was a little stiff but not that uncommon for a hotel bed. It's a beautiful old world colonial with a pool that is out in the sun. Within walking distance to most city attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

High quality for mexican standards,antique furniture galore and nicely decorated.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Secadora Family
Business
Overland Park KS
Jul 6, 2009

Hotel las Columnas

We opted to stay at a small "boutique" hotel away from the masses and were very pleased with our choice. Front desk staff were very fluent in English and extremely helpful to take care of every need or concern. They truly enjoy their work and it shows. Light continental breakfast included great local fruit, cereal and local breads. Rooms are furnished with antique furniture that was pretty but not too elaborate to make you feel as if you were sleeping in a museum. Small dipping pool to cool off. On a busy street (that we couldn't hear) so easy to get bus or taxi. A most relaxing visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silly Sandra
Business
Bournemouth England
Dec 21, 2009

Excellent value for money

Small family run peaceful hotel approximately a 20 minutes walk from the centre of Merida. The owners did all they could to ensure we had a good holiday even giving us a lift to town and the bus station a few times. We travelled by local transport to all the places of interest. Transport is cheap, very efficient and clean. Merida is excellent for shopping. There is free entertainment in the town every night. We used taxis a lot, a ride into town 20 pesos.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the metered taxis. They are cheaper. Make sure the meter is set when you start the journey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Feb 22, 2011

Unbeatable Merida vacation

This Hotel was an oasis in the busy city of Merida. All the rooms open up into the large center courtyard which is relaxing and quiet. You can while away the hot afternoon in this cool, always has a nice breeze, fountain is going and the birds are chirping, location. We walked up to the local market purchased some wine and cheese and spent a wonderful afternoon sitting in the courtyard. There is also a dining area where breakfast is served. The staff is friendly and helpful, available 24 hours, speak both Spanish and English. They will book day trips for you or recommend a local good restaurant. We booked a day trip to Uxmal and it was well organized, we just showed up that morning and had a great day. The location is a short walk into the main plaza and there are always taxis driving by if you do not feel like the walk. The room was spacious and the shower was like a spa. It is old colonial style which is utterly charming. A most enjoyable trip and would definitely go back to this Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Panchos a short walk was a fun restaurant with good quality food. Deco was fun and part of the restaurant is out doors in the garden.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel La Casa de Las Columnas

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Mar 29, 2010

Old World charm and gracious hospitality

The hotel is a beautifully converted mansion that is full of exquisite tile-work. The staff is warm, friendly and very helpful. The best part of the complimentary continental breakfast is the fresh fruit. It is conveniently located about a 20 minute walk from El Centro, but taxis are plentiful and cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Many interesting restaurants downtown in El Centro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top