$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

4 stars
Camaron Sabalo 2121 Norte, P.O Box 6, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
85 reviews
Love it!

We love pueblo bonito! This is the third time we've stayed there and every time the staff is so... See full review

  • Contractor Nate
  • Feb 27, 2014
Like the Old Days

This hotel remembers what it is like to value return customers and call them by name. Service is... See full review

  • Time to Retire
  • Jan 30, 2014
Playa Sabalo resort with pools, fitness center and numerous restaurants
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan offers lush gardens, fine dining, water sports and easy access to fishing, shopping and culture in the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada). A charming mix of modern amenities and colonial-style touches provide a memorable visit to Mexico's "Pearl of the Pacific." The hotel's two pools, swim-up bar, waterfall, volleyball and outdoor Jacuzzi keep guests busy. Junior and luxury suites provide ample space, ocean views and kitchenettes. Dining at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan ranges from the upscale Angelo's, to poolside snacks.
Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Two large pools with swim-up bars
  • Organized activities such as water aerobics and children's programs
  • Access to facilities at the resort's Emerald Bay sister property
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Rooms
Amenities at the all-suite Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan allow guests to enjoy beachfront living while providing all the comforts of home. For at-home breakfast or a cozy night in, fully-equipped kitchenettes include refrigerators, microwaves, stovetop burners, coffee makers, cookware, dishes, utensils and oceanfront dining space on the balcony or terrace. Both junior and luxury suites include air conditioning, satellite TV, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), in-room safes, hair dryers and purified water.
Dining
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan offers high-quality dining options from gourmet cuisine to casual poolside meals. The cuisine of northern Italy and an extensive wine list are highlights of Angelo's, which also features romantic piano music and one of Mazatlan's most popular singers. Another option is Las Palomas, which serves Mexican and international dishes, a regional breakfast buffet, a la carte menu and dinner theme nights.
 
Al fresco dining, poolside snacks, a deli, coffee shop, swim-up bar and in-room dining also are available. For a change of scenery, take the complimentary shuttle to the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan sister property at Emerald Bay and dine at La Cordeliere or the Emerald Grill.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (14.2 mi/22.8 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Marina Mazatlan (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Plazuela Machado (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Indoor and outdoor function space

Hotel Map

23.264 -106.4656
Area served
Mazatlan, Mexico
Nearby airports
Rafael Buelna International
Area description
Colonial Mountain Towns, shopping in colorful markets, exciting nightlife and Magestic Sierra Madres Mountains.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Rooms

Junior Suite
Our Junior Suites, over 575 square feet, are designed and furnished with casual elegance. This is one large room that has a sitting area with a table and two chairs, two double beds, a fully equipped kitchenette with service for four, bathroom with tub/shower combo, and a private balcony or terrace with two lounge chairs and a small table. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 4. Rollaway beds not available.
Luxury Suite
750 square feet of one bedroom, one bath suites. They feature two double beds in the bedroom, living room with a queen sofa bed and chairs in the sitting area, dining room table and chairs, and a fully equipped kitchenette with service for six. Bath has a tub/shower combo. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 6. Rollaway beds not available.
Luxury Suite Ocean view and Balcony
750 square feet of one bedroom, ocean view, one bath suites. They feature two double beds in the bedroom, living room with a queen sofa bed and chairs in the sitting area, dining room table and chairs, and a fully equipped kitchenette with service for six. Bath has a tub/shower combo. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 6. Rollaway beds not available.
Junior Suite Ocean vew and Balcony
Our ocean view Junior Suites, over 575 square feet, are designed and furnished with casual elegance. This is one large room that has a sitting area with a table and two chairs, two double beds, a fully equipped kitchenette with service for four, bathroom with tub/shower combo, and a private balcony or terrace with two lounge chairs and a small table. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 4. Rollaway beds not available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Angelo's Gourmet Restaurant
Angelo's offers fine Italian cuisine in the most romantic of settings. Signature dishes include Cioppino, Ossobucco and Gamberoni alla Lucina. Angelo's also features an extensive list of select imported and domestic wines and live piano with vocalist nightly.
Las Alas De Las Palomas
Las Alas de Las Palomas offers the best in Mexican cuisine in either a relaxing outdoor terrace setting or an indoor climate controlled dining room. Guests may choose from an extensive menu featuring delicious traditional Mexican dishes and a variety of fine International cuisines.
Cilantro's
Cilantro's offers sumptuous fare featuring fresh seafood and international cuisine in a soothing oceanfront venue. The restaurant's terrace-style seating with al fresco dining provides a romantic and tranquil setting for guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coleone
Salishan, Oregon
Nov 26, 2011

Nice, but not our favorite

We have been going to Mazatlan for 16 years and stayed at a number of resorts. This was our first experience at Pueblo Bonito. Overall, it is a superior hotel for the area and charges on the high end. At check in, the first question was "Do you want an ocean view or pool view?" That's a pretty good start. Then they told us to go see a seniorita in the corner at a desk for our room key. That was not good. She was their time share rep and we got high pressured to go to their resort at Emerald Bay (for $200 food credit). We had already seen EB, but got tired of arguing and wanted to get to our room so took the deal. It's an older hotel that is a colonial style, which we like, but the chipped tiles are showing their age. Everything does work very well - lots of hot water at high pressure, toilet that flushes better than ours at home, and a very functional kitchenette. This is a plus since food and drink prices are relatively high at the resort itself. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the powerful AC drowns out any noise that might make it through very thick walls. The location is at the far north end of the Golden Zone. This is a plus for the beach since it makes it very private, and it's a nice, flat walking beach. However, it is further away from many of our favorite restaurants than we are used to. The bus does stop right in front, which is cheap and a big benefit. The staff was inconsistent. The room was not always done perfectly despite regular tips (maybe they weren't considered big enough). We don't leave a messy room by any means, and finally just started having the room done every other day. The pool waiters seemed a bit unmotivated in many cases. The drinks are $8 plus tip for a plastic cup national drink, so most people seem to wait for the single happy hour at 4 PM and get two-for-one, which is a fairer price. They add on a "donation charge" for each day you stay there, and it appears on your final bill, although they don't point it out to you. It is small and supposedly for charity. The cashier said they take it off if requested (we left it on). It was just a minor irritant that they seem to try to slip an unannounced charge past you - petty for a first class hotel I think. Not a bad two weeks by any means, but we will stay at another resort next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sandpoint, id
Mar 27, 2011

Great Honeymoon

Loved everything and would stay there again !! Just a few small things beds were not that comfortable, but great people very nice and made it a very nice stay !!!! Also restaraunts are all the same no real variety!!!! All in all loved it and will be staying there again !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the grocery store in the Golden Zone and buy your food there and prepare it in your room much cheaper and gives you more variety !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HSTECHTEACHR
Highlands Ranch, CO
Dec 22, 2010

Awesome resort, poor beds

This is our third trip to Mazatlan, second to Pueblo Bonito. PB is a great resort in a good location. We stared the first day hangin on the beach. We walked down the beach and PB has the best beach in town! Great service by the waiters who will bring you drinks and food right to you on the beach. The prices are a little expensive but there is a grocery store right across the street where you can get drinks and snacks. Another way to cut the cost is attend the time share breakfast. We have done this on both trips and got $200 towards drinks and food. Which paid for all of it for the 5 days we were there. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning, lunch and drinks at the beach and usually ate dinner out somewhere else. We found a great find of a restaurant only about a block from the hotel, its called the El Fish Market. FRESH SEAFOOD taco, and more, SO GOOD!! We went several times! Coldest beer I've ever had and the prices are so cheap! We found the rooms nice, but not USA nice. They are a little outdated but not horrible. We like the room locations as you are close to the ocean, so you can hear the ocean with your patio door open. The beds this trip were horrible. Very hard.... but we had such a great time at the beach we napped during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Fish Market for lunch or dinner! SO GOOD!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strike 6
Pawleys Island, SC, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Would do it again!!!!

The Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan exceeded our expectations in every way. The facililty was neat, clean and beautifully staffed and maintained. All arrangements, including transportation to and from the airport, were efficient and on-time. After touring the newer Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, we feel we greatly preferred the 'home-i-ness' of the Mazatlan location. Wait, bell, desk, concierge and maid staffs were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent at reasonable prices. An older property, meticulously maintained: just right for people like us who have modest means and high expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodland, CA
Mar 1, 2010

family fishing vaca

great relaxing experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely recommend Pancho's for a great meal. Not cheap but an excellent value for your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2009

Best Place in Mazatlan!

We loved this resort! Everything was just as described. Dining was great and the staff was super. The 2 pools are both great. Mazatlan is a very friendly city and easy to get around in. The only thing that we did not appreciate was the "time-share" push at the hotel by the staff. We were ambushed when we checked in and were told that our room wasn't ready and then again when we were eating dinner on the property later in the week. They also left messages on our room phone. They just couldn't take NO for an answer. Otherwise we loved the hotel and would consider going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 3, 2010

Great getaway

This was our 5th visit to Pueblo Bonito and as always we had a great time. However, on this occasion the pool was very cold. On all previous visits the water was heated and you could just walk right in without cringing. This time it was really cold! There was no explanation when we complained, just a shrug of the shoulders from the maintenance crew. It was just a small detail, but it did affect our vacation somewhat. Everything else was great.... as usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nellyaimee
Los Angeles, Cakifornia
Apr 23, 2014

Good but could've been better

Most of the staff was very friendly & accommodating. The pool was too cold. The bar & restaurants are all on the opposite side of where our room was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Acer
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 14, 2011

Great hotel and great experience

We chose to stay at this resort while visiting Mexico for the first time and it did not disappoint. The hotel itself was gorgeous and the location could not be anymore perfect. The ground of the hotel and well maintained and look beautiful and it is perfectly situated right along the beach. The view was amazing since every room has an ocean view. Although the weather is pretty hot and extremely humid during this time of year, the pool and ocean are more than able to cool you off. The staff was a bit unpredictable. They came across nice but sometimes it did appear it was very insincere or sarcastic almost. But we didnt let that bother us. The food at the hotel was delicious, although not as cheap as you may have thought. The rooms are very spacious and clean. Although the furniture may be up to date, its doesnt make the experience any less exciting. Basically, this hotel was amazing and if we go back to Mazatlan, I would definitely love to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hop on a Pulmonilla and ask the driver to take you to the Mercado/Marketplace that is by the newly-renovated Cathedral. Thats a wonderful place to go and visit to experience a more "locals" spot. Its very reminiscent of Downtown LA, but a good place to explore. It is also a great place to purchase some souvenirs, which is cheaper than the stores throughout the Golden Zone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeepst3r
Boise, Idaho
Apr 22, 2013

Nice Stay, Family Friendly

We had a pleasant stay at Pueblo Bonito - Mazatlan, would definately stay there again. The staff takes pride in the service they provide. Things to consider before staying there, getting to downtown, the malcon, restaurants in the heart of the gold zone, MEGA foods and back the transportation gets expensive. The beach area the hotel sits on feels confining only from the stand point of not having a long open beach to walk on, to the north is the natual large out cropping of a small hill that you can't walk around on the beach, to the south are several man made water breaks that you have to cross before getting to wide open beach. Carefully consider if you are going to do the all inculsive, it doesn't appear to be the best deal you can get at the hotel, you are hit with food surcharges often in small print. so that piece of prime rib you just ordered, just know they added $10.00 US to your hotel bill, same with certain other nice meals, oh and we heard guests ordering preium meat cuts only to be told the restaurant was out. We preferred eating at local restaurants and cooking a couple small meals in our room, much more cost effective. Other than the all incusive part, I definately will stay there again. Careful they will try to sell you a timeshare a couple times during your stay. When you check in, they call it a welcome breakfast (aka timeshare pitch)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Internet at pool was suppose to be free, but when we asked about it, we were told it costs $14.00 US per day or $70.00 US per week. Panchos accross the street has free WiFi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top