$167 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

4 stars
Camaron Sabalo 2121 Norte, P.O Box 6, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
85 reviews
Love it!

We love pueblo bonito! This is the third time we've stayed there and every time the staff is so... See full review

  • Contractor Nate
  • Feb 27, 2014
Like the Old Days

This hotel remembers what it is like to value return customers and call them by name. Service is... See full review

  • Time to Retire
  • Jan 30, 2014
Playa Sabalo resort with pools, fitness center and numerous restaurants
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan offers lush gardens, fine dining, water sports and easy access to fishing, shopping and culture in the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada). A charming mix of modern amenities and colonial-style touches provide a memorable visit to Mexico's "Pearl of the Pacific." The hotel's two pools, swim-up bar, waterfall, volleyball and outdoor Jacuzzi keep guests busy. Junior and luxury suites provide ample space, ocean views and kitchenettes. Dining at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan ranges from the upscale Angelo's, to poolside snacks.
Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Two large pools with swim-up bars
  • Organized activities such as water aerobics and children's programs
  • Access to facilities at the resort's Emerald Bay sister property
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Rooms
Amenities at the all-suite Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan allow guests to enjoy beachfront living while providing all the comforts of home. For at-home breakfast or a cozy night in, fully-equipped kitchenettes include refrigerators, microwaves, stovetop burners, coffee makers, cookware, dishes, utensils and oceanfront dining space on the balcony or terrace. Both junior and luxury suites include air conditioning, satellite TV, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), in-room safes, hair dryers and purified water.
Dining
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan offers high-quality dining options from gourmet cuisine to casual poolside meals. The cuisine of northern Italy and an extensive wine list are highlights of Angelo's, which also features romantic piano music and one of Mazatlan's most popular singers. Another option is Las Palomas, which serves Mexican and international dishes, a regional breakfast buffet, a la carte menu and dinner theme nights.
 
Al fresco dining, poolside snacks, a deli, coffee shop, swim-up bar and in-room dining also are available. For a change of scenery, take the complimentary shuttle to the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan sister property at Emerald Bay and dine at La Cordeliere or the Emerald Grill.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (14.2 mi/22.8 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Marina Mazatlan (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Plazuela Machado (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Indoor and outdoor function space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Rooms

Luxury Suite Ocean view and Balcony
750 square feet of one bedroom, ocean view, one bath suites. They feature two double beds in the bedroom, living room with a queen sofa bed and chairs in the sitting area, dining room table and chairs, and a fully equipped kitchenette with service for six. Bath has a tub/shower combo. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 6. Rollaway beds not available.
Junior Suite Ocean vew and Balcony
Our ocean view Junior Suites, over 575 square feet, are designed and furnished with casual elegance. This is one large room that has a sitting area with a table and two chairs, two double beds, a fully equipped kitchenette with service for four, bathroom with tub/shower combo, and a private balcony or terrace with two lounge chairs and a small table. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 4. Rollaway beds not available.
Junior Suite
Our Junior Suites, over 575 square feet, are designed and furnished with casual elegance. This is one large room that has a sitting area with a table and two chairs, two double beds, a fully equipped kitchenette with service for four, bathroom with tub/shower combo, and a private balcony or terrace with two lounge chairs and a small table. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 4. Rollaway beds not available.
Luxury Suite
750 square feet of one bedroom, one bath suites. They feature two double beds in the bedroom, living room with a queen sofa bed and chairs in the sitting area, dining room table and chairs, and a fully equipped kitchenette with service for six. Bath has a tub/shower combo. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 6. Rollaway beds not available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Angelo's Gourmet Restaurant
Angelo's offers fine Italian cuisine in the most romantic of settings. Signature dishes include Cioppino, Ossobucco and Gamberoni alla Lucina. Angelo's also features an extensive list of select imported and domestic wines and live piano with vocalist nightly.
Las Alas De Las Palomas
Las Alas de Las Palomas offers the best in Mexican cuisine in either a relaxing outdoor terrace setting or an indoor climate controlled dining room. Guests may choose from an extensive menu featuring delicious traditional Mexican dishes and a variety of fine International cuisines.
Cilantro's
Cilantro's offers sumptuous fare featuring fresh seafood and international cuisine in a soothing oceanfront venue. The restaurant's terrace-style seating with al fresco dining provides a romantic and tranquil setting for guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luxury Traveler Lindsay
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 3, 2011

Beautiful Property, Ugly Service

The hotel is beautiful. The pools are nice, the view is great, the rooms are spacious. However, as soon as we walked in the door there was a 20 minute wait to check in (and we were next in line). They then tried to sell us on 10 different tours, timeshare presentations, and experiences. Then they were rude and completely unhelpful in the lobby and front desk for the rest of the stay. The food and drinks are overpriced (which is pretty normal for a resort). The service by the pool was fine but incredibly slow. While we enjoyed our vacation, I would not go back to Mazatlan to stay here- try a different hotel in the Golden Zone. (The pulmonia rides were fairly long from here also.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
littlemeggie
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 27, 2010

It's not a clean hotel for the price...

My boyfriend and I stayed at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan for his birthday last weekend. I enjoyed the food and drinks and the atmosphere (outdoors) but I couldn't get over how dirty the hotel was. The day the we checked in we arrived in our room and I was sure that the housekeeper had not cleaned the bathroom..there was toothpaste splatter all over the mirror, no tissues in the tissue holder, a dirty bathroom glass, hair, sand and dirt covering the floor. I contacted the front desk to ask for our bathroom to be cleaned..no one ever came to clean it. Over our 8 day stay our room was never properly cleaned. I will not be returning to this place as I don't feel staying in a hotel means you have to wear sandals day and night just to keep your feet clean in your own room. No gracias.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do the time share, you can get up to 400$ in credit for your food and beverage bill! The hotel brings you to their sister hotel for and hour, you get food and drinks then free money! My boyfriend and I got a free tour and 200$ credit for food and drinks. Totally worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The cool guy
Business
Tampico, Mexico
Jun 14, 2014

Not good

The only good thing about this hotel is the food. Excellent food and I really enjoyed eating here. One problem is that at the restaurant, they try everything so you leave tip. Considering that I got all inclusive, it was not cool. Some of them were rude because I did not leave tip after dinner. The rooms are big but very old and humid! We had chance to go to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay(about 15 minutes driving) and boy, what a difference! do not stay at pueblo bonito mazatlan unless you are looking to tour the city. I suggest you to pay a little more and stay at pueblo bonito Emerald Bay. It is 100 times better, the rooms are better, restaurants are better, pools are huge and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle,WA
Aug 2, 2009

Good times and hot days

Hotel,location,friely staff, was a plus The only turn down was when we check in we spect our room as the package reservation but, they don,t have the room at the time, they promes to up grade our room next day and they did but the principle is you allrady have and expectation for the money you paid, the thing is if you have a reservation over a month, and you stand in the front desk staff said sorry and your wife to the other side ready to fight anyway, good time after all good food all the weitress really frienly thanks for the servises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland, CA
Mar 1, 2010

family fishing vaca

great relaxing experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely recommend Pancho's for a great meal. Not cheap but an excellent value for your money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coleone
Business
Salishan, Oregon
Nov 26, 2011

Nice, but not our favorite

We have been going to Mazatlan for 16 years and stayed at a number of resorts. This was our first experience at Pueblo Bonito. Overall, it is a superior hotel for the area and charges on the high end. At check in, the first question was "Do you want an ocean view or pool view?" That's a pretty good start. Then they told us to go see a seniorita in the corner at a desk for our room key. That was not good. She was their time share rep and we got high pressured to go to their resort at Emerald Bay (for $200 food credit). We had already seen EB, but got tired of arguing and wanted to get to our room so took the deal. It's an older hotel that is a colonial style, which we like, but the chipped tiles are showing their age. Everything does work very well - lots of hot water at high pressure, toilet that flushes better than ours at home, and a very functional kitchenette. This is a plus since food and drink prices are relatively high at the resort itself. The beds are extremely comfortable, and the powerful AC drowns out any noise that might make it through very thick walls. The location is at the far north end of the Golden Zone. This is a plus for the beach since it makes it very private, and it's a nice, flat walking beach. However, it is further away from many of our favorite restaurants than we are used to. The bus does stop right in front, which is cheap and a big benefit. The staff was inconsistent. The room was not always done perfectly despite regular tips (maybe they weren't considered big enough). We don't leave a messy room by any means, and finally just started having the room done every other day. The pool waiters seemed a bit unmotivated in many cases. The drinks are $8 plus tip for a plastic cup national drink, so most people seem to wait for the single happy hour at 4 PM and get two-for-one, which is a fairer price. They add on a "donation charge" for each day you stay there, and it appears on your final bill, although they don't point it out to you. It is small and supposedly for charity. The cashier said they take it off if requested (we left it on). It was just a minor irritant that they seem to try to slip an unannounced charge past you - petty for a first class hotel I think. Not a bad two weeks by any means, but we will stay at another resort next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strike 6
Business
Pawleys Island, SC, USA
Jan 27, 2012

Would do it again!!!!

The Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan exceeded our expectations in every way. The facililty was neat, clean and beautifully staffed and maintained. All arrangements, including transportation to and from the airport, were efficient and on-time. After touring the newer Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay, we feel we greatly preferred the 'home-i-ness' of the Mazatlan location. Wait, bell, desk, concierge and maid staffs were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent at reasonable prices. An older property, meticulously maintained: just right for people like us who have modest means and high expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tour guide grandma
Business
Iowa
Mar 5, 2012

relaxing getaway

we had a great time relaxing on the beach and interacting with the beach vendors. Lots of good food in the area. Carnival was an extra bonus, enjoyed the parade especially.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Paraje has great food at reasonable prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
migelito
Business
albuquerque, nm
Jul 3, 2012

still nice after all these years

comfortable, relaxing, and just the right mix of things to do or not do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pancho's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeepst3r
Business
Boise, Idaho
Apr 22, 2013

Nice Stay, Family Friendly

We had a pleasant stay at Pueblo Bonito - Mazatlan, would definately stay there again. The staff takes pride in the service they provide. Things to consider before staying there, getting to downtown, the malcon, restaurants in the heart of the gold zone, MEGA foods and back the transportation gets expensive. The beach area the hotel sits on feels confining only from the stand point of not having a long open beach to walk on, to the north is the natual large out cropping of a small hill that you can't walk around on the beach, to the south are several man made water breaks that you have to cross before getting to wide open beach. Carefully consider if you are going to do the all inculsive, it doesn't appear to be the best deal you can get at the hotel, you are hit with food surcharges often in small print. so that piece of prime rib you just ordered, just know they added $10.00 US to your hotel bill, same with certain other nice meals, oh and we heard guests ordering preium meat cuts only to be told the restaurant was out. We preferred eating at local restaurants and cooking a couple small meals in our room, much more cost effective. Other than the all incusive part, I definately will stay there again. Careful they will try to sell you a timeshare a couple times during your stay. When you check in, they call it a welcome breakfast (aka timeshare pitch)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Internet at pool was suppose to be free, but when we asked about it, we were told it costs $14.00 US per day or $70.00 US per week. Panchos accross the street has free WiFi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top