$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

4 stars
Camaron Sabalo 2121 Norte, P.O Box 6, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
146 reviews
Love it!

We love pueblo bonito! This is the third time we've stayed there and every time the staff is so... See full review

  • Contractor Nate
  • Feb 27, 2014
Like the Old Days

This hotel remembers what it is like to value return customers and call them by name. Service is... See full review

  • Time to Retire
  • Jan 30, 2014
Playa Sabalo resort with pools, fitness center and numerous restaurants
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan offers lush gardens, fine dining, water sports and easy access to fishing, shopping and culture in the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada). A charming mix of modern amenities and colonial-style touches provide a memorable visit to Mexico's "Pearl of the Pacific." The hotel's two pools, swim-up bar, waterfall, volleyball and outdoor Jacuzzi keep guests busy. Junior and luxury suites provide ample space, ocean views and kitchenettes. Dining at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan ranges from the upscale Angelo's, to poolside snacks.
Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Two large pools with swim-up bars
  • Organized activities such as water aerobics and children's programs
  • Access to facilities at the resort's Emerald Bay sister property
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Rooms
Amenities at the all-suite Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan allow guests to enjoy beachfront living while providing all the comforts of home. For at-home breakfast or a cozy night in, fully-equipped kitchenettes include refrigerators, microwaves, stovetop burners, coffee makers, cookware, dishes, utensils and oceanfront dining space on the balcony or terrace. Both junior and luxury suites include air conditioning, satellite TV, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), in-room safes, hair dryers and purified water.
Dining
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan offers high-quality dining options from gourmet cuisine to casual poolside meals. The cuisine of northern Italy and an extensive wine list are highlights of Angelo's, which also features romantic piano music and one of Mazatlan's most popular singers. Another option is Las Palomas, which serves Mexican and international dishes, a regional breakfast buffet, a la carte menu and dinner theme nights.
 
Al fresco dining, poolside snacks, a deli, coffee shop, swim-up bar and in-room dining also are available. For a change of scenery, take the complimentary shuttle to the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan sister property at Emerald Bay and dine at La Cordeliere or the Emerald Grill.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (14.2 mi/22.8 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Marina Mazatlan (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Plazuela Machado (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Indoor and outdoor function space

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Rooms

Junior Suite
Our Junior Suites, over 575 square feet, are designed and furnished with casual elegance. This is one large room that has a sitting area with a table and two chairs, two double beds, a fully equipped kitchenette with service for four, bathroom with tub/shower combo, and a private balcony or terrace with two lounge chairs and a small table. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 4. Rollaway beds not available.
Luxury Suite
750 square feet of one bedroom, one bath suites. They feature two double beds in the bedroom, living room with a queen sofa bed and chairs in the sitting area, dining room table and chairs, and a fully equipped kitchenette with service for six. Bath has a tub/shower combo. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 6. Rollaway beds not available.
Luxury Suite Ocean view and Balcony
750 square feet of one bedroom, ocean view, one bath suites. They feature two double beds in the bedroom, living room with a queen sofa bed and chairs in the sitting area, dining room table and chairs, and a fully equipped kitchenette with service for six. Bath has a tub/shower combo. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 6. Rollaway beds not available.
Junior Suite Ocean vew and Balcony
Our ocean view Junior Suites, over 575 square feet, are designed and furnished with casual elegance. This is one large room that has a sitting area with a table and two chairs, two double beds, a fully equipped kitchenette with service for four, bathroom with tub/shower combo, and a private balcony or terrace with two lounge chairs and a small table. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 4. Rollaway beds not available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

23.264 -106.4656
Area served
Mazatlan, Mexico
Nearby airports
Rafael Buelna International
Area description
Colonial Mountain Towns, shopping in colorful markets, exciting nightlife and Magestic Sierra Madres Mountains.

Dining

Angelo's Gourmet Restaurant
Angelo's offers fine Italian cuisine in the most romantic of settings. Signature dishes include Cioppino, Ossobucco and Gamberoni alla Lucina. Angelo's also features an extensive list of select imported and domestic wines and live piano with vocalist nightly.
Las Alas De Las Palomas
Las Alas de Las Palomas offers the best in Mexican cuisine in either a relaxing outdoor terrace setting or an indoor climate controlled dining room. Guests may choose from an extensive menu featuring delicious traditional Mexican dishes and a variety of fine International cuisines.
Cilantro's
Cilantro's offers sumptuous fare featuring fresh seafood and international cuisine in a soothing oceanfront venue. The restaurant's terrace-style seating with al fresco dining provides a romantic and tranquil setting for guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South El Monte, CA
Jul 15, 2008

great pool but too many problems

The Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan has been very nice to stay at in the past but this time it was a mess. Our bathroom was too small and the toilet overflowed twice. There was a leak in the roof coming from the bathroom upstairs so every morning there was a puddle of water around the toilet and in the bathtub. The remote control to the tv was broken,the toaster and phone did not work and at night an odor coming through the air conditioning vents smelled like someone was cooking in our room-literally. Because our room had too many problems we were asked to move to a different room,which took up half of our day because we had to wait for a room to become available. All in all it was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Entertainment in the hotel was good. They had activities for the family and a fireworks display.

Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South El Monte, CA
Jul 15, 2008

great pool but too many problems

The Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan has been very nice to stay at in the past but this time it was a mess. Our bathroom was too small and the toilet overflowed twice. There was a leak in the roof coming from the bathroom upstairs so every morning there was a puddle of water around the toilet and in the bathtub. The remote control to the tv was broken,the toaster and phone did not work and at night an odor coming through the air conditioning vents smelled like someone was cooking in our room-literally. Because our room had too many problems we were asked to move to a different room,which took up half of our day because we had to wait for a room to become available. All in all it was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Entertainment in the hotel was good. They had activities for the family and a fireworks display.

Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Jul 6, 2008

We prefer other Mazatlan Hotels

We've stayed in Mazatlan 5-6 times in the last 12 years, and another 15-20 Mexico stays (Cancun, PV, Acapulco, etc.) during that period. We have stayed at hotels that are more beautiful than this one, and hotels that are less beautiful than this one, but until this hotel we had never seen a roach on the property. On the 3rd day of our 8-day anniversary stay, a very, very large roach almost crawled across my foot at the crowded pool area. Although my husband killed it, he had to request pool personnel to clean it up. They scooped up the body, but left the rest behind. Ewwww! I asked hotel staff to move us to the other Pueblo Bonito in Mazatlan because I could not enjoy the pool, nor eat at the hotel restaurants/bars after the experience. They refused, saying that booking online excludes that kind of customer service. Another problem that was obvious from day we arrived was that the (limited) fitness center was closed from 11am - 1pm. Unless one wanted to get up early and rush to workout, it was unavailable until mid-afternoon. Mazatlan is beautiful and the weather is generally great, but choose a different hotel. (In 2004 we stayed at the other Pueblo Bonito at Emerald Bay, which is absolutely lovely, but FYI food and drinks are pricey.) If you're in the Zona Dorada check out Chili's Pepper for food and a view. It's hidden so you'll need to ask around. Also, La Casa Country is a great steakhouse, which we enjoyed thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RoadTripTraveler
Houston, Texas, EEUU
Aug 3, 2012

Feels Old

The beach, the location and the staff were Ok but the room the beds and the furniture in general seemed old and for the price I paid, it was not good, I chose a Delux Suite, but I was not at all something that I can tell it was a suite, the experience overall was good but next time I will choose some other place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Jul 6, 2008

We prefer other Mazatlan Hotels

We've stayed in Mazatlan 5-6 times in the last 12 years, and another 15-20 Mexico stays (Cancun, PV, Acapulco, etc.) during that period. We have stayed at hotels that are more beautiful than this one, and hotels that are less beautiful than this one, but until this hotel we had never seen a roach on the property. On the 3rd day of our 8-day anniversary stay, a very, very large roach almost crawled across my foot at the crowded pool area. Although my husband killed it, he had to request pool personnel to clean it up. They scooped up the body, but left the rest behind. Ewwww! I asked hotel staff to move us to the other Pueblo Bonito in Mazatlan because I could not enjoy the pool, nor eat at the hotel restaurants/bars after the experience. They refused, saying that booking online excludes that kind of customer service. Another problem that was obvious from day we arrived was that the (limited) fitness center was closed from 11am - 1pm. Unless one wanted to get up early and rush to workout, it was unavailable until mid-afternoon. Mazatlan is beautiful and the weather is generally great, but choose a different hotel. (In 2004 we stayed at the other Pueblo Bonito at Emerald Bay, which is absolutely lovely, but FYI food and drinks are pricey.) If you're in the Zona Dorada check out Chili's Pepper for food and a view. It's hidden so you'll need to ask around. Also, La Casa Country is a great steakhouse, which we enjoyed thoroughly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nurse lawyer
Fremont, CA
May 29, 2014

Clean, comfortable and time share oriented

Staff were courteous and friendly. Rooms clean but do not get the junior suite. The bedroom is isolated from the rest of the suite and the only window opens to the public hallway. Therefore the bedroom is very dark. The smaller suite is much brighter and lighter, and not much smaller. Public transportation easily accessible. Too many approaches to attend the time share presentations. We were on vacation!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

MUST EXPERIENCE STONE ISLAND.

Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa FL
Oct 21, 2010

Low Key but very good experience

Shuttle to hotel was a good experience. Check in was early. Located near the gold zone for shopping if required. Plenty of retires stay at this resort. Staff was very kind and helpful. Only stayed for one night therefore I did not attempt to use the internet. Rooms were very large with a view of the ocean. Stayed in full size beds (-).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy food and drinks for from the hotel store and take them to the beach and pool to save money if desired.

Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
littlemeggie
San Francisco, CA
Apr 27, 2010

It's not a clean hotel for the price...

My boyfriend and I stayed at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan for his birthday last weekend. I enjoyed the food and drinks and the atmosphere (outdoors) but I couldn't get over how dirty the hotel was. The day the we checked in we arrived in our room and I was sure that the housekeeper had not cleaned the bathroom..there was toothpaste splatter all over the mirror, no tissues in the tissue holder, a dirty bathroom glass, hair, sand and dirt covering the floor. I contacted the front desk to ask for our bathroom to be cleaned..no one ever came to clean it. Over our 8 day stay our room was never properly cleaned. I will not be returning to this place as I don't feel staying in a hotel means you have to wear sandals day and night just to keep your feet clean in your own room. No gracias.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do the time share, you can get up to 400$ in credit for your food and beverage bill! The hotel brings you to their sister hotel for and hour, you get food and drinks then free money! My boyfriend and I got a free tour and 200$ credit for food and drinks. Totally worth it.

Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luxury Traveler Lindsay
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 3, 2011

Beautiful Property, Ugly Service

The hotel is beautiful. The pools are nice, the view is great, the rooms are spacious. However, as soon as we walked in the door there was a 20 minute wait to check in (and we were next in line). They then tried to sell us on 10 different tours, timeshare presentations, and experiences. Then they were rude and completely unhelpful in the lobby and front desk for the rest of the stay. The food and drinks are overpriced (which is pretty normal for a resort). The service by the pool was fine but incredibly slow. While we enjoyed our vacation, I would not go back to Mazatlan to stay here- try a different hotel in the Golden Zone. (The pulmonia rides were fairly long from here also.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lk Stevens, WA
Jul 27, 2010

Shoulda, coulda

We stayed chose the PB Mazatlan over Emerald Bay. Wish we had that choice to make again. Reviews made it sound like Emerald Bay was at the end of the earth. In reality it's a 10 minute free shuttle ride or a $9 taxi. So we stayed at Mazatlan, closer to town. The hotel is nice, the staff was professional but not overly friendly. The restaurants were pretty good to. The grounds and pool were small and packed with kids. The pool was basically unusable, of course we went at a terrible time of year as all the local families were on vacation. The pool bar was interesting...with 3-7 year olds jumping off the stools and making that unusable too. If you have little ones and don't mind the constant noise and cannon balls... this might be your place. For us, the PB Emerald Bay saved our vacation. Their main pool is huge making it more usable in the crowd, but the cool thing for us is they have an adults only pool w/swim up bar in a seperate area of the grounds...and they inforce it. We were able to hang out her and meet some neat people. The grounds, pools, spa, just about everything is much nicer than PB Mazatlan. It is the best property in Mazatlan. Just two downsides...it is a little farther from town, and the beach is not as swimable due to rocks out in the water. But that didn't matter at the time because the jelly fish migration pretty much made all the beaches unswimable during our visit anyway. All in all, the PB Mazatlan doesn't compare to Emerald Bay in facility...and a 10 minute ride doesn't change that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

When you get tired of Mexican food every night....try the Italian place at PB Mazatlan. It's a little pricy, but it was the best two meals we had in our ten days.

Back to menu Return to top