Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

4 stars
Camaron Sabalo 2121 Norte, P.O Box 6, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
146 reviews
Love it!

We love pueblo bonito! This is the third time we've stayed there and every time the staff is so... See full review

  • Contractor Nate
  • Feb 27, 2014
Like the Old Days

This hotel remembers what it is like to value return customers and call them by name. Service is... See full review

  • Time to Retire
  • Jan 30, 2014
Playa Sabalo resort with pools, fitness center and numerous restaurants
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan offers lush gardens, fine dining, water sports and easy access to fishing, shopping and culture in the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada). A charming mix of modern amenities and colonial-style touches provide a memorable visit to Mexico's "Pearl of the Pacific." The hotel's two pools, swim-up bar, waterfall, volleyball and outdoor Jacuzzi keep guests busy. Junior and luxury suites provide ample space, ocean views and kitchenettes. Dining at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan ranges from the upscale Angelo's, to poolside snacks.
Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Two large pools with swim-up bars
  • Organized activities such as water aerobics and children's programs
  • Access to facilities at the resort's Emerald Bay sister property
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Rooms
Amenities at the all-suite Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan allow guests to enjoy beachfront living while providing all the comforts of home. For at-home breakfast or a cozy night in, fully-equipped kitchenettes include refrigerators, microwaves, stovetop burners, coffee makers, cookware, dishes, utensils and oceanfront dining space on the balcony or terrace. Both junior and luxury suites include air conditioning, satellite TV, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), in-room safes, hair dryers and purified water.
Dining
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan offers high-quality dining options from gourmet cuisine to casual poolside meals. The cuisine of northern Italy and an extensive wine list are highlights of Angelo's, which also features romantic piano music and one of Mazatlan's most popular singers. Another option is Las Palomas, which serves Mexican and international dishes, a regional breakfast buffet, a la carte menu and dinner theme nights.
 
Al fresco dining, poolside snacks, a deli, coffee shop, swim-up bar and in-room dining also are available. For a change of scenery, take the complimentary shuttle to the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan sister property at Emerald Bay and dine at La Cordeliere or the Emerald Grill.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (14.2 mi/22.8 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Marina Mazatlan (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Plazuela Machado (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Indoor and outdoor function space

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Rooms

Junior Suite
Our Junior Suites, over 575 square feet, are designed and furnished with casual elegance. This is one large room that has a sitting area with a table and two chairs, two double beds, a fully equipped kitchenette with service for four, bathroom with tub/shower combo, and a private balcony or terrace with two lounge chairs and a small table. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 4. Rollaway beds not available.
Luxury Suite
750 square feet of one bedroom, one bath suites. They feature two double beds in the bedroom, living room with a queen sofa bed and chairs in the sitting area, dining room table and chairs, and a fully equipped kitchenette with service for six. Bath has a tub/shower combo. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 6. Rollaway beds not available.
Luxury Suite Ocean view and Balcony
750 square feet of one bedroom, ocean view, one bath suites. They feature two double beds in the bedroom, living room with a queen sofa bed and chairs in the sitting area, dining room table and chairs, and a fully equipped kitchenette with service for six. Bath has a tub/shower combo. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 6. Rollaway beds not available.
Junior Suite Ocean vew and Balcony
Our ocean view Junior Suites, over 575 square feet, are designed and furnished with casual elegance. This is one large room that has a sitting area with a table and two chairs, two double beds, a fully equipped kitchenette with service for four, bathroom with tub/shower combo, and a private balcony or terrace with two lounge chairs and a small table. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 4. Rollaway beds not available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

23.264 -106.4656
Area served
Mazatlan, Mexico
Nearby airports
Rafael Buelna International
Area description
Colonial Mountain Towns, shopping in colorful markets, exciting nightlife and Magestic Sierra Madres Mountains.

Dining

Angelo's Gourmet Restaurant
Angelo's offers fine Italian cuisine in the most romantic of settings. Signature dishes include Cioppino, Ossobucco and Gamberoni alla Lucina. Angelo's also features an extensive list of select imported and domestic wines and live piano with vocalist nightly.
Las Alas De Las Palomas
Las Alas de Las Palomas offers the best in Mexican cuisine in either a relaxing outdoor terrace setting or an indoor climate controlled dining room. Guests may choose from an extensive menu featuring delicious traditional Mexican dishes and a variety of fine International cuisines.
Cilantro's
Cilantro's offers sumptuous fare featuring fresh seafood and international cuisine in a soothing oceanfront venue. The restaurant's terrace-style seating with al fresco dining provides a romantic and tranquil setting for guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexwife
austin, tx
May 11, 2010

Great location, Good for the price

My husband and I stayed at this hotel (Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan), and my sister and grandma stayed at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay - so I can give details on both. AREA: PB Mazatlan is 5mins in car from the Golden Zone, and 14mins from Downtown. PB Emerald Bay is the farthest hotel out there; at least 15mins farther away from the city than PBMazatlan. However there are free convenient shuttles departing every hour to and from both hotels, as guests at any PB can enjoy amenities at both - this was very nice! PB Mazatlan has a small shopping area and corner store directly in front of it, and is within walking distance of more small shops, cheaper restaurants, pharmacy. PB Emerald Bay is not in walking distance of ANYTHING! ROOMS/GROUNDS: Both PB have the same room setup with a kitchenette, although PB Mazatlan had little couches. PB Mazatlan is built in an older colonial style, while PB Emerald Bay is built in the Mazatlan/Sinoloan style and has much more grandeur and modern amenities. PB Emerald Bay definitely has the more splendid grounds - gardens, spa, gym, area, and the pools at Emerald Bay are definitely nicer. So if you stay at PB Mazatlan, i recommend taking the shuttle to relax at the PB Emerald Bay pools for a day. The Beach area at both hotels is nice with pros/cons to both: calmer beach and finer sand at Mazatlan, larger beach area and more exclusive surroundings at EmeraldBay. Both PBs have nice restaurants and pool side service - at the same steep prices. TIMESHARE TOUR w/INCENTIVE: if you are above 30yrs old you will be offered to do a 90 min timeshare tour on the PB Emerald Bay grounds for a 200 US credit towards the hotel, and free breakfast. It is definitely worth it as this credit picked up the food and drink bill for our stay. BUT it did NOT last 90mins, it dragged on for 3hrs. When I complained they told me that I should have walked out at 90mins as that was all the time I was required to do - fyi! When your 90mins are up be firm that you want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Historic Center/Centro Historico plaza where there is outside dining, music, and vendors at night. The hotel and taxis will be able to tell you where. Great ambiance and food!

Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexwife
austin, tx
May 11, 2010

Great location, Good for the price

My husband and I stayed at this hotel (Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan), and my sister and grandma stayed at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay - so I can give details on both. AREA: PB Mazatlan is 5mins in car from the Golden Zone, and 14mins from Downtown. PB Emerald Bay is the farthest hotel out there; at least 15mins farther away from the city than PBMazatlan. However there are free convenient shuttles departing every hour to and from both hotels, as guests at any PB can enjoy amenities at both - this was very nice! PB Mazatlan has a small shopping area and corner store directly in front of it, and is within walking distance of more small shops, cheaper restaurants, pharmacy. PB Emerald Bay is not in walking distance of ANYTHING! ROOMS/GROUNDS: Both PB have the same room setup with a kitchenette, although PB Mazatlan had little couches. PB Mazatlan is built in an older colonial style, while PB Emerald Bay is built in the Mazatlan/Sinoloan style and has much more grandeur and modern amenities. PB Emerald Bay definitely has the more splendid grounds - gardens, spa, gym, area, and the pools at Emerald Bay are definitely nicer. So if you stay at PB Mazatlan, i recommend taking the shuttle to relax at the PB Emerald Bay pools for a day. The Beach area at both hotels is nice with pros/cons to both: calmer beach and finer sand at Mazatlan, larger beach area and more exclusive surroundings at EmeraldBay. Both PBs have nice restaurants and pool side service - at the same steep prices. TIMESHARE TOUR w/INCENTIVE: if you are above 30yrs old you will be offered to do a 90 min timeshare tour on the PB Emerald Bay grounds for a 200 US credit towards the hotel, and free breakfast. It is definitely worth it as this credit picked up the food and drink bill for our stay. BUT it did NOT last 90mins, it dragged on for 3hrs. When I complained they told me that I should have walked out at 90mins as that was all the time I was required to do - fyi! When your 90mins are up be firm that you want to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Historic Center/Centro Historico plaza where there is outside dining, music, and vendors at night. The hotel and taxis will be able to tell you where. Great ambiance and food!

Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Graham WA
May 5, 2010

survey

The staff was always friendly and greeted you with a smile. Very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Graham WA
May 5, 2010

survey

The staff was always friendly and greeted you with a smile. Very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 3, 2010

Great getaway

This was our 5th visit to Pueblo Bonito and as always we had a great time. However, on this occasion the pool was very cold. On all previous visits the water was heated and you could just walk right in without cringing. This time it was really cold! There was no explanation when we complained, just a shrug of the shoulders from the maintenance crew. It was just a small detail, but it did affect our vacation somewhat. Everything else was great.... as usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grandslam03
colorado
May 3, 2010

very relaxing week

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grandslam03
colorado
May 3, 2010

very relaxing week

excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 3, 2010

Great getaway

This was our 5th visit to Pueblo Bonito and as always we had a great time. However, on this occasion the pool was very cold. On all previous visits the water was heated and you could just walk right in without cringing. This time it was really cold! There was no explanation when we complained, just a shrug of the shoulders from the maintenance crew. It was just a small detail, but it did affect our vacation somewhat. Everything else was great.... as usual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
littlemeggie
San Francisco, CA
Apr 27, 2010

It's not a clean hotel for the price...

My boyfriend and I stayed at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan for his birthday last weekend. I enjoyed the food and drinks and the atmosphere (outdoors) but I couldn't get over how dirty the hotel was. The day the we checked in we arrived in our room and I was sure that the housekeeper had not cleaned the bathroom..there was toothpaste splatter all over the mirror, no tissues in the tissue holder, a dirty bathroom glass, hair, sand and dirt covering the floor. I contacted the front desk to ask for our bathroom to be cleaned..no one ever came to clean it. Over our 8 day stay our room was never properly cleaned. I will not be returning to this place as I don't feel staying in a hotel means you have to wear sandals day and night just to keep your feet clean in your own room. No gracias.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do the time share, you can get up to 400$ in credit for your food and beverage bill! The hotel brings you to their sister hotel for and hour, you get food and drinks then free money! My boyfriend and I got a free tour and 200$ credit for food and drinks. Totally worth it.

Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
littlemeggie
San Francisco, CA
Apr 27, 2010

It's not a clean hotel for the price...

My boyfriend and I stayed at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan for his birthday last weekend. I enjoyed the food and drinks and the atmosphere (outdoors) but I couldn't get over how dirty the hotel was. The day the we checked in we arrived in our room and I was sure that the housekeeper had not cleaned the bathroom..there was toothpaste splatter all over the mirror, no tissues in the tissue holder, a dirty bathroom glass, hair, sand and dirt covering the floor. I contacted the front desk to ask for our bathroom to be cleaned..no one ever came to clean it. Over our 8 day stay our room was never properly cleaned. I will not be returning to this place as I don't feel staying in a hotel means you have to wear sandals day and night just to keep your feet clean in your own room. No gracias.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do the time share, you can get up to 400$ in credit for your food and beverage bill! The hotel brings you to their sister hotel for and hour, you get food and drinks then free money! My boyfriend and I got a free tour and 200$ credit for food and drinks. Totally worth it.

Back to menu Return to top