$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

4 stars
Camaron Sabalo 2121 Norte, P.O Box 6, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
85 reviews
Love it!

We love pueblo bonito! This is the third time we've stayed there and every time the staff is so... See full review

  • Contractor Nate
  • Feb 27, 2014
Like the Old Days

This hotel remembers what it is like to value return customers and call them by name. Service is... See full review

  • Time to Retire
  • Jan 30, 2014
Playa Sabalo resort with pools, fitness center and numerous restaurants
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan offers lush gardens, fine dining, water sports and easy access to fishing, shopping and culture in the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada). A charming mix of modern amenities and colonial-style touches provide a memorable visit to Mexico's "Pearl of the Pacific." The hotel's two pools, swim-up bar, waterfall, volleyball and outdoor Jacuzzi keep guests busy. Junior and luxury suites provide ample space, ocean views and kitchenettes. Dining at Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan ranges from the upscale Angelo's, to poolside snacks.
Highlights
  • Fitness center
  • Two large pools with swim-up bars
  • Organized activities such as water aerobics and children's programs
  • Access to facilities at the resort's Emerald Bay sister property
  • Fully-equipped kitchenettes
Rooms
Amenities at the all-suite Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan allow guests to enjoy beachfront living while providing all the comforts of home. For at-home breakfast or a cozy night in, fully-equipped kitchenettes include refrigerators, microwaves, stovetop burners, coffee makers, cookware, dishes, utensils and oceanfront dining space on the balcony or terrace. Both junior and luxury suites include air conditioning, satellite TV, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), in-room safes, hair dryers and purified water.
Dining
Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan offers high-quality dining options from gourmet cuisine to casual poolside meals. The cuisine of northern Italy and an extensive wine list are highlights of Angelo's, which also features romantic piano music and one of Mazatlan's most popular singers. Another option is Las Palomas, which serves Mexican and international dishes, a regional breakfast buffet, a la carte menu and dinner theme nights.
 
Al fresco dining, poolside snacks, a deli, coffee shop, swim-up bar and in-room dining also are available. For a change of scenery, take the complimentary shuttle to the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan sister property at Emerald Bay and dine at La Cordeliere or the Emerald Grill.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (14.2 mi/22.8 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (3.2 mi/5.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Airport shuttle available (fees apply)
Attractions
  • Marina Mazatlan (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (3.6 mi/5.8 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Plazuela Machado (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (6.6 mi/10.6 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Indoor and outdoor function space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan Rooms

Junior Suite
Our Junior Suites, over 575 square feet, are designed and furnished with casual elegance. This is one large room that has a sitting area with a table and two chairs, two double beds, a fully equipped kitchenette with service for four, bathroom with tub/shower combo, and a private balcony or terrace with two lounge chairs and a small table. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 4. Rollaway beds not available.
Luxury Suite
750 square feet of one bedroom, one bath suites. They feature two double beds in the bedroom, living room with a queen sofa bed and chairs in the sitting area, dining room table and chairs, and a fully equipped kitchenette with service for six. Bath has a tub/shower combo. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 6. Rollaway beds not available.
Luxury Suite Ocean view and Balcony
750 square feet of one bedroom, ocean view, one bath suites. They feature two double beds in the bedroom, living room with a queen sofa bed and chairs in the sitting area, dining room table and chairs, and a fully equipped kitchenette with service for six. Bath has a tub/shower combo. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 6. Rollaway beds not available.
Junior Suite Ocean vew and Balcony
Our ocean view Junior Suites, over 575 square feet, are designed and furnished with casual elegance. This is one large room that has a sitting area with a table and two chairs, two double beds, a fully equipped kitchenette with service for four, bathroom with tub/shower combo, and a private balcony or terrace with two lounge chairs and a small table. Rates are based on 2 adults and up to 2 children age 12 or under. Additional adults or children will be charged an extra person fee. Maximum number of persons in room regardless of age is 4. Rollaway beds not available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Angelo's Gourmet Restaurant
Angelo's offers fine Italian cuisine in the most romantic of settings. Signature dishes include Cioppino, Ossobucco and Gamberoni alla Lucina. Angelo's also features an extensive list of select imported and domestic wines and live piano with vocalist nightly.
Las Alas De Las Palomas
Las Alas de Las Palomas offers the best in Mexican cuisine in either a relaxing outdoor terrace setting or an indoor climate controlled dining room. Guests may choose from an extensive menu featuring delicious traditional Mexican dishes and a variety of fine International cuisines.
Cilantro's
Cilantro's offers sumptuous fare featuring fresh seafood and international cuisine in a soothing oceanfront venue. The restaurant's terrace-style seating with al fresco dining provides a romantic and tranquil setting for guests.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vashon
Business
Seattle WA
Feb 7, 2011

Fun getaway

The hotel and the staff were great. Everything was clean and the wait staff were fantastic. However most of the drinks we ordered tasted like there was no booze in them. We resorted to ordering juice or soda and then a shot of something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

One warning: DO NOT GO ON THE 90 minute timeshare expedition. After 3 hrs of which I clearly stated in the beginning; I would not make a decision today, I and my friends had enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luxury Traveler Lindsay
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Feb 3, 2011

Beautiful Property, Ugly Service

The hotel is beautiful. The pools are nice, the view is great, the rooms are spacious. However, as soon as we walked in the door there was a 20 minute wait to check in (and we were next in line). They then tried to sell us on 10 different tours, timeshare presentations, and experiences. Then they were rude and completely unhelpful in the lobby and front desk for the rest of the stay. The food and drinks are overpriced (which is pretty normal for a resort). The service by the pool was fine but incredibly slow. While we enjoyed our vacation, I would not go back to Mazatlan to stay here- try a different hotel in the Golden Zone. (The pulmonia rides were fairly long from here also.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jan 23, 2011

A Week away

A Few of the days the hot tub was cold. Fixed and then was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to eat within a few blocks. Many just across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grey Goose
Business
Fremont, CA
Jan 5, 2011

Ditto on

The view was breath taking as our room faced the ocean and the sunsets were spectacular. The room was ok, probably could have used some deep cleaning as the airconditioning vent was visably very dirty. There was an empty spot where it looked like a smoke detector was to go, but it was missing. The water never got really hot. The way the room was situated, and it was good sized, they either needed to move the location of the tv or have 2 as the only place to watch tv was in bed. So the sitting area was just that and could have been the prime spot for the tv. The spa/hot tub, closed at 8:00 pm instead of 10:00 like the pool. So when you went out for a normal time dinner and wanted to come back to the hotel for a relazing sit in the spa, IT WAS CLOSED!! And during the day, you could never get into the spa because all the children were in it. So we never touched that warm water. There is no night life at the hotel with no bar area with music or video streaming or even a tv. In our opionion the hotel had no night life or wanted it and therefore they lost a lot of money we went and spent elsewhere for drinks and all meals. The last thing was apparently someone "important" decided to vacation at the PB the same time we were there. So 5 out of 7 days a helicopter would fly over the beach and blow around the poor people relaxing in that area, it would land in an emply lot next to the hotel and then those people were brought to the hotel. Along with them were the police and the army and lots of drawn guns. They were in the parking lot, lots of them, everynight and at times during the day. It was VERY scary and put a bad light on our the hotel and our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food in Mazatlan was great. There was reasonably priced places in walking distance of our hotel as well at 4-5 miles downtown. The food at the hotel was pricey, but we did do the daily two for one drinks and have poolside snacks which were fabulous. We also ate at the daily breakfast buffet twice which was good. Otherwise we ate all our other meals anywhere else but the hotel. The other thing was bring enough books and reading material with you as there is no place at the hotel to purchase any reading material in english. In fact we went many other places as well as the local Mega and could find nothing in english to purchase to read.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HSTECHTEACHR
Business
Highlands Ranch, CO
Dec 22, 2010

Awesome resort, poor beds

This is our third trip to Mazatlan, second to Pueblo Bonito. PB is a great resort in a good location. We stared the first day hangin on the beach. We walked down the beach and PB has the best beach in town! Great service by the waiters who will bring you drinks and food right to you on the beach. The prices are a little expensive but there is a grocery store right across the street where you can get drinks and snacks. Another way to cut the cost is attend the time share breakfast. We have done this on both trips and got $200 towards drinks and food. Which paid for all of it for the 5 days we were there. We ate breakfast at the hotel every morning, lunch and drinks at the beach and usually ate dinner out somewhere else. We found a great find of a restaurant only about a block from the hotel, its called the El Fish Market. FRESH SEAFOOD taco, and more, SO GOOD!! We went several times! Coldest beer I've ever had and the prices are so cheap! We found the rooms nice, but not USA nice. They are a little outdated but not horrible. We like the room locations as you are close to the ocean, so you can hear the ocean with your patio door open. The beds this trip were horrible. Very hard.... but we had such a great time at the beach we napped during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El Fish Market for lunch or dinner! SO GOOD!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mexico novío
Business
Portland,OR
Nov 28, 2010

viva mexico

Great location,clean rooms & very friendly staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Great area for jet skiing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rich and Chyrl
Business
Colorado Springs,Co.
Nov 19, 2010

Great hotel for adults

One of the best places we have stayed in Mazatlan.Very polite employees.One thing we didn't like was that they had time share people working at desks in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you agree to go on a time share to Pueblo Bonito at Emerald Bay tell them that you want 200.00 in cash.Do not let them give you a credit allowance because you cannot put tips on it.They will hit you up for the tips when you settle up your bill.They do not mention this when they make this offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
grandslam03
Business
colorado
Nov 15, 2010

we will be back

One of the most relaxing vacations we have ever found. One woman boarding the elevator just kept saying PARADISE. We can't wait to return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

try CHILI PEPPERS on the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Hills, Ca.
Nov 1, 2010

Another Great Vacation at Pueblo Bonito

A beautiful place with a friendly staff. The activities staff is great and will make sure you have lots to do around the pool. Waiters around the pool are very friendly and quick with your orders. We will come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go to Poncho's for dinner! There is no better place in Mazatlan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa FL
Oct 21, 2010

Low Key but very good experience

Shuttle to hotel was a good experience. Check in was early. Located near the gold zone for shopping if required. Plenty of retires stay at this resort. Staff was very kind and helpful. Only stayed for one night therefore I did not attempt to use the internet. Rooms were very large with a view of the ocean. Stayed in full size beds (-).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy food and drinks for from the hotel store and take them to the beach and pool to save money if desired.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top