$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 18, 2015

Luna Palace

3 stars
View map of Ave. Camaron Sabalo 2601, Zona Dorada, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
54 reviews
Great location, great staff, great concierge

The people are great, the view is awesome, the grounds are outstanding. The rooms are not new but... See full review

  • 2xexb
  • Dec 14, 2013
Excellent smaller hotel.

The Luna Palace is located right on the beach and all rooms give a beautiful view of the ocean and... See full review

  • Coleone
  • May 5, 2015
Ocean view suites with fully-equipped kitchenettes in the Zona Dorada
The beachfront Luna Palace provides the comforts of home in condominium-style junior and one-bedroom suites. All rooms include a private balcony or terrace, kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi Internet access. The Eclipse Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner at indoor and terrace dining areas with ocean views. Enjoy a cocktail at the poolside swim-up bar, open daily. Poolside waiter service also is available. The bars, restaurants, nightclubs and shopping of the Zona Dorada are within walking distance of Luna Palace.
Highlights
  • Freeform pool with swim-up bar
  • Recently refreshed rooms with contemporary style
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
  • Beachfront restaurant
  • Water slides
Rooms
Each of the 71 Luna Palace suites features a private balcony or terrace with views of the Pacific Ocean and three islands. Air conditioning, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi, hair dryers and in-room safes are included, along with one king or two double beds. Kitchenettes include microwaves, refrigerators, stovetop burners, utensils and dining space for four.
 
One-bedroom suites feature divided sleeping and living areas, sofa sleeper and an additional bathroom and TV. Recently refreshed style in Luna Palace suites add a touch of tropical sophistication, with crisp white bedding, warm earth tones and flat-panel TVs.
Features
Visit the Eclipse Restaurant or the swim-up bar for meals and drinks with ocean and sunset views, or choose in-room dining. The Luna Palace pool, surrounded by lounge and patio seating and shaded by palm trees, features waterfalls, water slides and a foot bridge.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (14 mi/22.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
Attractions
  • Marina Mazatlan (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (3.4 mi/5.4 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (5.1 mi/8.2 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Plazuela Machado (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
Business
  • Copy and fax services available
  • Event and meeting space

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Luna Palace also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Luna Palace Rooms

Junior Suite
Jr. Suites with 2 double beds, private bath with tub/shower combo and bath amenities and hair dryer. The Jr suites have ocean view with balcony, and have a fully equipped kitchenette, air conditioning, color TV, dining area, free in-room safe and FREE wireless internet.
One Bedroom Suite
The one bedroom Suite offers a private balcony with ocean view, private sleeping area with 2 double beds and a private bathroom with tub/shower combination, hair dryer and bath amenities. Adjoining is the living area with a fully equipped kitchenette,a sofa bed, dinning table for 4, air conditioning, color TV, telephone, and an additional complete bathrooms with tub/shower combo, hair dryer and bath amenities. Other services include FREE in-room safe and FREE wireless internet
Honeymoon Package
Room with ocean view, American breakfast, flowers in the room, bottle of wine and a Romantic dinner in the room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Eclipse Restaurant
Enjoy the unique Eclipse Restaurant's buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner while also enjoying beautiful views and listening to the crushing surf as you have your meals. You can always find a variety of mouth-watering entrees and always-delicious tropical fruit.
Sunset Bar
Swim by the oceanfront pool bar while enjoying the ocean breeze, gather with your friends or family to watch spectacular beautiful sunsets with your favorite tropical drink.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
At las Ventanas ballroom you will enjoy an spectacular ocean view, great for weddings and private events.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Luna Palace

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Luna Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coleone
Business
N/A
May 5, 2015

Excellent smaller hotel.

The Luna Palace is located right on the beach and all rooms give a beautiful view of the ocean and in some cases the pool area as well. The beach is the best in Mazatlan with a long, flat very walkable section. All rooms have a kitchenette so you can cook some meals and make drinks easily. Also all offer a nice balcony with chairs and a table. We have been going to Mazatlan for 20 years and stayed in much more expensive hotels in the past, but this hotel is equal or better at a fraction of the price. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Not all speak English fluently, which is a great opportunity to practice your Spanish, which was a goal of ours. They will all work with you to ensure communication, and fulfill any request. This hotel was a complete and pleasant surprise for us, and we will be returning often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luna Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
La Quinta Helena
Business
Cut Bank
Dec 23, 2014

Hawk the adventure

Was actually very pleased with our stay at the Luna. The beach was AWESOME. Rooms were comfortable but dated. Staff was very accommodating and amenities very good. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Pretty far from anything, but a nice walk down the beach will get you where you need to be.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luna Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missouri Bud
Business
Springfield, MO
Sep 16, 2014

couple vacation

We were able to walk to shopping,eating etc so we saved on transportation costs. The restaurant and daytime front desk employees were super nice and helpful, all in all a good value for our money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luna Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mazfanpuyallup2
Business
Puyallup Washington
Feb 27, 2014

Stayed again in 2014

This is our second year at the Luna Palace and I am pretty sure I will stay there again next year. I have to say that the front desk staff was not as fluent in English (I know, why don't we learn some Spanish??) as it was last year. Communication was sometimes difficult especially when the water pipe broke in our room!! Our hotel reservation included a 15% discount on all food and drinks. They do not provide a card or anything, we just have to tell each server about it and hope for the best. I know I was not the only one with this complaint, I heard another guest expressing their frustration about the same thing when I was checking out. Since the prices around the pool bar did not seem consistent, you were never sure if you got the discount or not. With the exception of Jorge and one other man by the pool, the service was not that great. You were lucky to have anyone ask you if you needed anything while they were seen standing by the restaurant door. I also had a discussion with another guest about the service or at time, lack of it. Again, Jorge is TERRIFIC. The pool was chilly the first couple of days and then it was fantastic, loved it!! The cleaning ladies we had were wonderful, Gloria and Bertha the ones that took care of the 7th floor both did a very nice job. All said and done, I am sure we will stay there again. The value is good and the location if near most anything you would need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at THE PLACE, just 1/2 block north and the same side of the road is a great value, Carlos and Damon are fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luna Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alan C
Business
Tacoma, Washington
Feb 22, 2014

Very good hotel for the money

Luna Palace is located just south of the Pueblo Bonito Mazatlan so the location if very good. Not too far from the Gold Zone, and pretty quiet. The hotel has great views of the ocean from every room. Our room was on the second floor so the view was blocked a little by trees but this also made it shady. The place is older and needs some attention but the room we had was large with a kitchenette that had some pots pans utensils plates cups and such. The bed was great in Mexico standards King size pillow top. The shower was wonderful plenty of hot water and strong water pressure. The pool was crystal clear. The wait staff were incrediblely nice, especially a man named George who helped me through a sick day by bringing me chicken soup. I would definitively go back, and I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luna Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geo Travel
Business
Mexico
Jan 22, 2014

Nice pool area

This hotel had a nice pool área and is beachfront. The rooms are not the best, and the staff does very Little to make one feel welcome. Be sure to ask for the room you want at booking, including a King bed, etc. The best rooms are at the ends of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is out of the way for the main Zona Dorada.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luna Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RichH
Business
California
Dec 26, 2013

Very nice and comfortable

We stayed here for a month and were impressed by the wonderful staff. They all went far above what many other places promise. Room was very clean, comfortable, and well-stocked with towels and toiletries. The location is good, but we usually like to be closer to downtown area. This is no complaint. The only complaint we had, which we kept to ourselves, was one night they rented out the courtyard to a group who blasted music until 2:00 a.m. Our tv would not produce volume to hear over the noise, and we were kept awake due to this. This does occur at many other places, so also not really something to stop us from returning. Did not try restaurant so cannot comment there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luna Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2xexb
Business
San Antonio, TX
Dec 14, 2013

Great location, great staff, great concierge

The people are great, the view is awesome, the grounds are outstanding. The rooms are not new but the beds are great. Tony, the travel guy who works with the concierge is awesome. If you don't want to deal the timeshare bodysnatchers on the street, see Tony--good tours and no flim flam. If you want to catch some fish he can arrange that too--We caught more big pompano than we could eat! Good place, good value, but not the Taj Mahal! If you want the TAJ Mahal and want to spend all your time in one place, spend more money. BYT the Fish Market Restaurant and Pancho's, just a short walk away are superb--Pancho's for breakfast and the Fish Market for supper! Use the cabs--don't bother to rent a car. Driving in Mazatlan is not fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luna Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coronas
Business
oregon
Nov 4, 2013

fall getaway

the luna is a somewhat older "moderate" hotel. pretty well maintained, rooms are clean and "grounds" are well maintained. pool is very nice with lots of lounge chairs. right on beach with palapas for shade. gorgeous ocean views. lots of small grocery stores, restaurants, shopping close by. staff is friendly, helpful. have stayed at luna maybe 6 times over past several years and all stays have been great. rooms have an in-room safe for your valuables. all rooms have a good to excellent view of the ocean and offshore island-some of the lower floors, your view can be partially blocked by coconut trees. wife and i will definitely return to the luna on our next mazatlan trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

if you stay later on in may or into june, you can have a stinging jellyfish problem for ocean activities. the jellyfish can be quite numerous and the "sting" is quite painful. however, the pool provides a great alternative at those times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Luna Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ljasso
Business
San Pedro, Ca.
May 3, 2013

GREAT PLACE!!

VERY NICE PLACE, EXCELLENT LOCATION, VERY CLEAN, VERY COMFORTABLE, REALLY NICE STAFF, WE WILL BE BACK SOON!! NICE POOL, BIG ROOM, GREAT MATTRESS, GOOD FOOD IN THE RESTAURANT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top