$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
120 reviews
Great location away from tourist traps

Perfect location for enjoying the beach and checking out the town. The staff is wonderful and the... See full review

  • Oceanic14
  • Oct 18, 2014
Amazing hotel

Ive been staying at this hotel for like 10 years now and I have to tell you that it never... See full review

  • David Almeida
  • May 1, 2014
Beachfront hotel with great views and a long history in the Zona Dorada
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Playa Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 120
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catiemom
Business
N/A
Dec 17, 2014

yearly vacation trip

On June 16th I reserved a garden view room like I always do because we prefer the garden view area......Upon arrival they first tried to put us in a room in th construction area with no view except a roof...they then moved us to a pool side room where the water pipes ran through our ceiling all night.... keeping us awake....I then went to the office to have them look up my room reservation and it was indeed a garden view room...they then moved us to the 4th floor overlooking he pool....bar music all night but a nice room, but decided to stay as I didn't want any trouble, but it was not the room I reserved....We love Playa Mazatlan and would never stay anywhere else but do not understand why we didn't get the room we reserved. It's the only thing that was not right with our trip...I hope it doesn't happen again as we have stayed for 20 years there at least.....no explanation was offered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr know it all
Business
Santa fe NM.
Dec 1, 2014

Love the playa, but very confusing if you do all-inclusive

The Playa Mazatlan is one of Mazatlans oldest, and most respected. We have stayed at the Playa more times than I can count. It is a third generation owned hotel, that is owned by Americans who now live full time in Mexico. They are a very nice family, and have been trying very hard to make their busines work in spite of all the negative coments being told by the american media about the crime and drug wars. (all of which is true, but over reported by our media) Mazatlan in general is a very safe and friendly city. I have always loved the Playa, but I hate how every year the all-inclusive seems to mean something differant. We have been going to the playa for years, and every year they create new rules to the all-inclusive. One year we can do this or that, and this restaurat is included, but the other isn't, and then the next year it is completley differant. Don't get me wrong, I still love the place, but they really need to figure it out. Most of my family doesn't want to go back next year because they don't want their favorite thing to be gone, or have to pay double for something that wasn't charged for last year. The wait staff and the staff in general are wonderful, with the exception of the woman that works at the front desk some times (Fabulosa), who needs to find A new line of work, that makes her happy, so that she doesn't rub off on others, or end up driving all of the patrons away. I would recomend the property in general. The rooms are always clean, and the grounds are well kept. The beds are not the greatest, but in my experience most of the beds in mexico aren't worth writing home about. The staff makes all of the differance. We will probably be back next year, but we will have to see how much they change before we decide to go down again after that. In general, I recomend the Playa Mazatlan, for the grounds, and the personel, but as far as the all-inclusive, the verdict is still out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Playa Mazatlan is close to almost everythong in Mazatlan. It's almost in the middle. a short walk or a short pulmonia (taxi in Mazatlan) and you are almost anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yamel Bau
Business
Durango
Nov 4, 2014

everything Fine only the pool not

The only thing that didnt like was the water pool and one jacuzzi were so cool. The staff kind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Costa marinera restaurant i recommed shrimp ceviche it so delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SoCal Family of 4
Business
Southern California
Jul 7, 2014

Summer Vacation for Family of 4

We are a family of 4, with 3 & 5 year olds. The hotel is VERY average. The rooms are VERY basic. If you are looking for luxury, this is not the hotel for you. The room we were in had 2 full sized beds. As you can imagine, it was a little tight. Perhaps if we were in a suite, then the beds would have been larger. No bathtub in our room. One thing that was not mentioned in the reviews is the dampness in room. It even looked as if mold was on the ceiling. If had the sliding door open for a minute, combined with AC, then room would get super damp. As others mentioned, the lounge chairs at beach are super hard -- and pretty uncomfortable. The food is average... We were mainly at the beach, I was a little grossed out on cleanliness of pools (I put my son's goggles on & wish I hadn't...that was our last outing at the pools). The staff are very friendly & nice people. For the price, we got a good deal. Considering waking up to the view of the ocean every morning & hearing the sound of the waves. We were in the North Tower on the 3rd floor. Walls are super thin so you hear everything! Hotel is clean - except for pools. In need of updating rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Raggio Cucina Casual - they have the BEST Italian food! Get the spaghetti bolognese. Enrique, the owner, is the nicest guy. He even gave our kids dough and a rolling pin to make their own pizza. Food is DELISH!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Almeida
Business
Chihuahua
May 1, 2014

Amazing hotel

Ive been staying at this hotel for like 10 years now and I have to tell you that it never disappoints. Every years there is a new thing, the hotel is very well kept on and it is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fjarc
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 11, 2013

Great location but…

I arrive to the playa mazatlan hotel, I've waited and waited to check in. It took longer to check in. My key card was handed to me I've walked to my room and I was enjoying what I was seeing, the pool to my right it felt wonderful to be here. I open my door and I saw was a dirty room the bed wasn't done I go to the bathroom and I see hair in the floor and trash can that hasn't been thrown. I leave with disgust I tell the front desk to take care of it when I come back. I go later that night to have a drink with my significant other and we didn't get any service for 20 minutes it wasn't a pleasant feeling after that. I loved the live music…everything else was a big disappointment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gt16
Business
Santa Ana, California
Jan 26, 2013

Family getaway!!!

Best Hotel in mazatlan, great service,great food and great location. Highly recomended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
epage
Business
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Oct 13, 2012

A Wonderful Time - Again!

We always love staying at the Playa. The staff - all ranks - are so friendly and helpful and make us feel special and right at home. Can't ask for better service. The food is terrific and we loved being able to eat and drink all day right under our palapa on the beach. We could walk to just about any place we needed/wanted to go. We've been staying there for many, many years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The only glitch, which was a Mother Nature problem, was the mosquitos everywhere - the lobby, rooms, etc. They did not bother me, but the daughter got quite chewed up. Small price to pay and probably everywhere anyway. We truly are at home at the Playa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Looking for Sunshine
Business
Puyallup, WA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Location, location, location

This property was in a great location and had a wonderful beach. There were plenty of lounge chairs and covered cabanas. The hotel staff could not have been any nicer and we felt safe and secure at all times. The food and drinks on the property were reasonable priced and very good. Because the beach was so enjoyable, we never used the pools, but they looked nice. One small complaint was that the beds were extremely hard due to the fact that the mattress sits directly on a cement slab. Regardless I am looking forward to returning again to Hotel Playa Mazatlan....but next time will bring a foam mattress pad! I certainly would recommend this property to anyone traveling to Mazatlan. Accommodations, location, staff and weather made this the perfect spring get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelingFox66
Business
Phil;a
Feb 23, 2012

Nice older property with great beach location

We went to Mazatlan for the Carvinal Celebration. The event is huge & very well attended by many from all over Mexico. We had stayed at this hotel 28 years ago. The property was well maintained.. The only proublem was the heating & A/C unit was not working while we were there. We have visited the area several times over the years. We were shocked to learn that vistors have stopped visiting the area because of major crime proublems.The streets that use to be filled with tourest were empty! There were many police all over town & in the event area. We feel for the people of Mexico as they fight the drug gangs that haunt Mexico. We will not return to things get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top