$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 2, 2015 Check-out: Feb 5, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
122 reviews
trip with friends

the value for this hotel was excellent. there was an excellent breakfast everyday. the staff was... See full review

  • warren
  • Jan 28, 2015
Exceptional Vacation Trip

I hadn't been to Mazatlan in over 40 years! The hotel was a wonderful surprise. It's been kept up... See full review

  • Nancy B.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Beachfront hotel with great views and a long history in the Zona Dorada
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Playa Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rutie S.
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Dec 30, 2009

one bad experiece

The holtel is central located right on the beach. The stuff however, is NOT accomodatinting in any way. We did not get the rooms we ordered and were not compancated in any way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dissipointed
Business
seattle
Jan 5, 2010

worst stay ever

I don't know if it was [...] or the playa hotel but one thing is for sure i will not be using either service again. We have been to the playa before and had a good room and time, not this trip. The room we were first given was not an ocean view as reserved, well you could see the ocean from the room so i guesss they thought that qualified. We decided to upgrade to a room at a cost of 42.00 dollars a night. The room had a broken toilet and was right over the band area so every night we got to listen to their low quality band. We decided to upgrade to the all inclusive at a cost of 600.00 for the trip, I have had better food at waffel house. All in all it was a terrible trip. I have taken several trips to Mexico, using other travel services and not had as bad of a time as i did this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tustin
Aug 25, 2008

Smelly room with bugs

We stayed at this hotel from 08/20/08 - 08/25/08. The hotel staffs are friednly and professional. The hotel have 4 pools and fitness room. It has wireless internet inside the room too. The ocean view is stunning from the room balcony but we were so disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. It has an odors and so moist. I have to use a room spary to help with odors. My bed linen has woman's hair on it and you can see little black bugs and ants on the wall. The matress was hard. I also felt uncomfortable with bathroom, everything is old and dark. Overall I was so disappointed with this hotel, wouldn't recommended you to stay in this hotel. This hotel has been there for almost 40+ years. It located in golden zone, many great restaurants and pubs are within distance walk from hotel. We like Mazatlan and we will go back again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Seafood restaurnt 5 mins walk Buffet dinner 5 mins walk Authentic mexican food restaurnt 5 mins walk Panama bakery and breakfast 5 mins walk Senor frog store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fun in Mexico
Business
Minnesota, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Fun in Mexico

The staff are great. The location is great. We did not have hot water the 1st day. We had ants in our bathroom the entire time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Angelo's has great food, entertainment and is very romantic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fjarc
Business
Los Angeles, California
Nov 11, 2013

Great location but…

I arrive to the playa mazatlan hotel, I've waited and waited to check in. It took longer to check in. My key card was handed to me I've walked to my room and I was enjoying what I was seeing, the pool to my right it felt wonderful to be here. I open my door and I saw was a dirty room the bed wasn't done I go to the bathroom and I see hair in the floor and trash can that hasn't been thrown. I leave with disgust I tell the front desk to take care of it when I come back. I go later that night to have a drink with my significant other and we didn't get any service for 20 minutes it wasn't a pleasant feeling after that. I loved the live music…everything else was a big disappointment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston TX
Aug 5, 2010

Not very satisfied

Not like it was 10 years ago....now the service is poor. Beach is the best, the palapas are very convenient and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tacoma, WA
May 30, 2009

"Beautiful Place and excellent service"

This is the second time we go to Playa Mazatlan. We had a great relaxing time, and enjoyed everything except the air conditioner in our room dripped water for three days maintenance did not fix it correctly. My husband called and complaint. Apart from that a great vacation experience. The beach beautiful, the food and the entertaining very good. Although, we had problems with the air conditioner we still plan to come back to Hotel Mazatlan for a third time and many more times in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelingFox66
Business
Phil;a
Feb 23, 2012

Nice older property with great beach location

We went to Mazatlan for the Carvinal Celebration. The event is huge & very well attended by many from all over Mexico. We had stayed at this hotel 28 years ago. The property was well maintained.. The only proublem was the heating & A/C unit was not working while we were there. We have visited the area several times over the years. We were shocked to learn that vistors have stopped visiting the area because of major crime proublems.The streets that use to be filled with tourest were empty! There were many police all over town & in the event area. We feel for the people of Mexico as they fight the drug gangs that haunt Mexico. We will not return to things get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WINDLEA
Business
WEST VIRGINIA
Nov 29, 2013

COUPLE VACATION GETAWAY

HAVE STAYED AT THE HOTEL PLAYA FOR MANY YEARS AND ENJOYED IT EXCEPT FOR THE LAST VISIT. ADVICE IS DO NOT STAY THERE ON THE WEEKENDS NOW SINCE IT IS TOTALLY INUNDATED WITH SMALL CHILDREN EVERY WEEKEND MAKING THE POOL UNUSABLE FOR ADULTS AND THE REST OF THE HOTEL AREA UNDESIRABLE. WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN IN THE FUTURE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PANCHO'S RESTAURANT IS THE BEST IN MAZATLAN AND SHORT WALK FROM THE HOTEL PLAYA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LV Love
Business
Seattle
Dec 6, 2013

Mazatlan A Place To Live

I stayed in a garden view hotel which means from your room you see the pools. It was clean and descent. Purified water through an installed tap was provided. Secured beach front. Very safe & convenient about a block ½ front the main street & business, banks, eateries, and etc. Would have been great to have a frig. & an toaster oven,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the Golden Zone

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top