$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2015 Check-out: Sep 24, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
View map of Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
117 reviews
No name bar

I was great. My favorite place to stay in Mazatlan See full review

  • Mrjsky
  • Jul 13, 2015
Awesome vacation

The hotel exceeded our expectations. They originally gave us a room in the party section of the... See full review

  • Bernardo G.
  • May 21, 2015
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Property features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Nearby attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Playa Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

★★★
$82
3.9 / 5 125 reviews
★★★
$62
4.1 / 5 7 reviews
★★★
$67
3.5 / 5 51 reviews
★★★
$47
3.4 / 5 81 reviews
★★★★
$204
4.3 / 5 83 reviews
★★
$55
3.7 / 5 7 reviews
★★★
$71
3.5 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$85
3.7 / 5 29 reviews

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nhsmillermom
Couples
Noblesville, IN
Feb 20, 2014

Home away from home.

Hotel Playa Mazatlan is our family's home away from home. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. We have visited Mazatlan for many years and always choose to come back to this hotel. Very clean and comfortable. This hotel cares very deeply for their customers and that keeps us coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good food offered at reasonable prices

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Almeida
Family
Chihuahua
May 1, 2014

Amazing hotel

Ive been staying at this hotel for like 10 years now and I have to tell you that it never disappoints. Every years there is a new thing, the hotel is very well kept on and it is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gal55
Couples
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Perfect place for relaxation and romance

We have stayed at the Playa Mazatlan many times and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff is courteous and most helpful. The hotel grounds are beautifully kept clean and neat. They now have FREE internet service in the hotel lobby with several computers. The restaurant service was slow, which we found unusual. The location is fantastic. It is close to some really great places within walking distance to eat and drink. We will always continue to stay there, we love the hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Christys-across the street from the Playa Mazatlan. It is new and they have awesome food and english ESPN. Outside dining with televisions on the patio. The staff spoke very good english and service was great. They also have a beautiful wine room and good selections. We went two nights in a row and we noticed everyone who left was really happy and promised to return as we will!!

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skeeter320
Couples
Puyallup, WA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Love this place

We have been coming to the Playa for 8 years now. It only gets better. The staff is very helpful and several know us by name. The food is great, very reasonably priced. The location is perfect for a walk along the beach, parasailing, water activities and close to the Malecon. The only thing I can recommend is that they install an onsite ATM cash machine for fast money instead of having to walk a half mile to one. Other then that we will always stay here, plan on going back in June.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ponchos and Gringo Lingo for some great food.

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
epage
Family
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Oct 13, 2012

A Wonderful Time - Again!

We always love staying at the Playa. The staff - all ranks - are so friendly and helpful and make us feel special and right at home. Can't ask for better service. The food is terrific and we loved being able to eat and drink all day right under our palapa on the beach. We could walk to just about any place we needed/wanted to go. We've been staying there for many, many years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The only glitch, which was a Mother Nature problem, was the mosquitos everywhere - the lobby, rooms, etc. They did not bother me, but the daughter got quite chewed up. Small price to pay and probably everywhere anyway. We truly are at home at the Playa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Judith Sola Gal
Single
San Ramon, Ca.
Nov 5, 2012

enjoyed my 65th birthday. Had a great time. Service was outstanding.

Would like to return in april if weather is good.Also, enjoy this hotel because it's dead center the 7 mile beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Read the newspaper in the lobby, it's in english and has all the imformation that you'll need for the duration of your holiday.

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
catiemom
Couples
seaside oregon
Dec 14, 2012

stayed at La Playa at least 15 times

Friendly and helpful and honest staff Will never stay anywhwere else while visiting Mazatlan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need or want all within walking distance

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Jack
Couples
Seaside, OR 97138, USA
Dec 18, 2012

Great Beach Hotel

We keep coming back to the wonderful Hotel Playa Mazatlan. There just isn't a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Several Bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TKSF
Single
San Francisco
Jan 19, 2013

So good

Room is clean,Staffs are so kind,and good value. First my wifi didn't work but they change the room pretty soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gt16
Family
Santa Ana, California
Jan 26, 2013

Family getaway!!!

Best Hotel in mazatlan, great service,great food and great location. Highly recomended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top