$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
120 reviews
Great location away from tourist traps

Perfect location for enjoying the beach and checking out the town. The staff is wonderful and the... See full review

  • Oceanic14
  • Oct 18, 2014
Amazing hotel

Ive been staying at this hotel for like 10 years now and I have to tell you that it never... See full review

  • David Almeida
  • May 1, 2014
Beachfront hotel with great views and a long history in the Zona Dorada
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Playa Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
120 out of 120
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Groupie Travelers
Business
Noblesville, IN
Feb 17, 2010

Home away from Home

We absolutely love it at Hotel Playa, it is like our home away from home. Everyone there has become like a part of our family over the years. The only thing we don't like about it is that the beds are very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Plain Joe
Business
LA, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Older hotel on gold zone. Plenty of shops and resturants close by. Great beach. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Feb 15, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The resturant here is the worst I have ever experienced. With only 8 patrons & 12 waitstaff, service can only be defined as: "we really don't need your money, sit there as we walk by doing nothing, let's see how many times we can screw up your order, how old, cold & dry we can make it & of course, we expect over 20% tip or we'll really give you bad service". Get the point yet?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian resturant across the street & about 1 block down is fabulous, less money than hotel, great service but not open for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BamBam42
Business
Olympia, WA
Feb 7, 2010

Gorgeous older hotel

It is a real nice huge old hotel, so remember the word old. Don't expect the hewest Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of small business's around in a one mile area. Good level walking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hugonite
Business
novato ca.
Feb 7, 2010

hotel mazatlan

enjoy it very much.shops are close by.lot to see and buy, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macklin, Saskatchewan (Canada)
Jan 27, 2010

Unbeatable Location for the Price

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. This was my third stay and I have never been disappointed. The people at the Playa work hard to satisfy their customers. No hotel works harder to keep everything up to date and in excellent shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hire a pulmonia driver by the name of Humberto Velazquez to give you a tour of the countryside or the city. This is a first class experience worth the money. The trip is very personalized and will unfold according to your wishes. [...] used his personal van. It was very comfortable. [...]'s Cell # is (669)1224102. [...] is a great host who has a great deal of experience providing tours to cruise ship clients.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool from Cali
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jan 5, 2010

Great time in Mazatlan

Hotel Mazatlan was in a great location where we were able to go to the beach everyday or we could go to a great pool. We were able to walk to really good restaurants to eat at or take a quick taxi ride into town. The staff was very friendly and quick to answer any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking to the Mega grocery store for cheap food, drinks was something we did 3 times while we were there. They have the best price for breads, sweets, food, drinks and it was only a 10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dissipointed
Business
seattle
Jan 5, 2010

worst stay ever

I don't know if it was [...] or the playa hotel but one thing is for sure i will not be using either service again. We have been to the playa before and had a good room and time, not this trip. The room we were first given was not an ocean view as reserved, well you could see the ocean from the room so i guesss they thought that qualified. We decided to upgrade to a room at a cost of 42.00 dollars a night. The room had a broken toilet and was right over the band area so every night we got to listen to their low quality band. We decided to upgrade to the all inclusive at a cost of 600.00 for the trip, I have had better food at waffel house. All in all it was a terrible trip. I have taken several trips to Mexico, using other travel services and not had as bad of a time as i did this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B Paley
Business
Houston TX
Jan 4, 2010

Fantastic get away. Couldn't be better

Place was recommended by family who lives there and has brunch there on Sundays. They were right. A perfect place to rest. The hote is beautiful and the service is fantastic. I am coming back to the same hotel no doubt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 1, 2010

Overall pleasant, well located

Well located in Golden Zone, walking distance from Malecon (beachfront promenade). Best not to choose a first floor beach side room as you have no privacy from beachgoers. Balconies on upper floors facing beach are very pleasant. Disco noise from Joes Oyster Bar next door can interfere with sound sleep so try to avoid a room near Joes. All shops and restaurants are very close and they organized a great New Years party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top