$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
View map of Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
133 out of 133
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Nov 3, 2010

Awesome Trip

We had such a wonderful time. Our room at Hotel Playa was great, the ocean view was spectacular. The room was clean, had fresh towels throughout our stay. Did some dancing under the stars right at our hotel. Joe's Oyster bar had great music. The Stone Island tour was the best worth the money. Rigo the bartender hooked us up on drinks, we had a blast. The Sunset cruise not so much. Panama bakery had good food. Mazatlan felt safe, full of Mexican culture. Great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Nov 1, 2010

great time

We have been to La Playa many times, and love it. They continue to keep it clean and in good shape, and most of the employees have been there for many years. The only good access to the ocean beach from your room in the golden zone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Some Good, Some Not

It was immediately evident how hard the economic downturn has hit this region. While the property appears still well maintained, the service was lacking in nearly all areas. We had dinner at the Hotel our first night and, by far, it was our least favorite meal of a 4-day trip. My food was actually cold - not what you want in a Mexican platter! We didn't eat again at the Hotel. Rooms are basic. Towels were old needed replacing. Pool and beach were a big hit, but again - little service available. We went to the concierge desk every day and only 1 time was someone available to assist us. The Hotel seemed understaffed, perhaps due to its 28% occupancy rate. I wondered if it might have been better another time - but my experience there won't bring me back any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess & John
Business
Corpus Christi, Texas
Sep 19, 2010

Perfect for the 2nd year in a row

We visited Hotel Playa Mazatalan in September (we visited last year-same time). This is considered the slow season (less tourists) and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Great restaurants are within walking distance to the hotel (which is usually my Fiancé & I's number one priority when choosing a vacation). This year for resturants tried Panama, Casa Loma, Vitorre, Pura Vida, Mr. Lionso, and Anthony's… just to name a few). We couldn't have asked for a more friendly and professional hotel staff. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and TV in Mexico is better than in the US. We spent our days mainly on the beach both at the hotel and at Playa Brujas (which is a 10 min bus ride for 6 pesos per person - take the Sabalo-Cerritos bus) The concierge can tell you where to catch it. We will definitely be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When arriving at the airport, the cheaper option to get to the hotel would be to ride the shuttle bus, however we learned from a fellow traveler that the bus ride took around 3 hours to arrive at the hotel. We choose the more expensive option - to catch a taxi (air conditioned and very comfortable) for $310 pesos (~$25 USD) and it only took about 25 min to get to the hotel – plus the taxi driver was friendly and a good tour guide. We were very thankful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess & John
Business
Corpus Christi, Texas
Sep 19, 2010

Perfect for the 2nd year in a row

We visited Hotel Playa Mazatalan in September (we visited last year-same time). This is considered the slow season (less tourists) and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Great restaurants are within walking distance to the hotel (which is usually my Fiancé & I's number one priority when choosing a vacation). This year for resturants tried Panama, Casa Loma, Vitorre, Pura Vida, Mr. Lionso, and Anthony's… just to name a few). We couldn't have asked for a more friendly and professional hotel staff. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and TV in Mexico is better than in the US. We spent our days mainly on the beach both at the hotel and at Playa Brujas (which is a 10 min bus ride for 6 pesos per person - take the Sabalo-Cerritos bus) The concierge can tell you where to catch it. We will definitely be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When arriving at the airport, the cheaper option to get to the hotel would be to ride the shuttle bus, however we learned from a fellow traveler that the bus ride took around 3 hours to arrive at the hotel. We choose the more expensive option - to catch a taxi (air conditioned and very comfortable) for $310 pesos (~$25 USD) and it only took about 25 min to get to the hotel – plus the taxi driver was friendly and a good tour guide. We were very thankful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston TX
Aug 5, 2010

Not very satisfied

Not like it was 10 years ago....now the service is poor. Beach is the best, the palapas are very convenient and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tacorocks
Business
Minnesota
Jul 19, 2010

Location location location

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's right in the zona dorada (golden zone) and restaurants, the bus to the centro historico and shopping are only steps away. We were glad to stay at this hotel for the location and lovely beach. We had an ocean view room with a small balcony. Palapas and chairs and sun bathing beds are available. The pool was surprisingly warm and really nice to swim in. Mazatlan has some delicious restaurants so we did not get anything included in our package. We did look into upgrading but it's quite expensive. We mainly ate at other restaurants but had a couple of drinks in the restaurant. It's an older hotel but they take good care of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneGem
Business
Arkansas
Jul 3, 2010

A Happy Return

This is a repeat stay at Playa Mazatlan. It is very conveniently located in the Golden Zone allowing for an easy stroll through some great shopping. Beautifully maintained property with large rooms and spacious common areas. The beachfront is also beautifully maintained and has plenty of shade, tables and chairs as well as waiters ready to take orders for drinks and snacks (try the ceviche!). Not our first time there, and will not be the last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The exchange rate at the hotel is competitive, so change those USD into pesos for shopping. Buying with pesos (especially instead of a credit card) will save lots of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lacinta Porfavor
Business
Sequim, Wa
Jun 29, 2010

Mexico n Hotel Playa Mazatlan

This Hotel is very friendly, The manager greated us every day! and we even Met the one one the Owners and had Dinner and a Movie with her. We did the Stone Island tour was Great! The only problem we encountered was they were always OUT OF PIE! And yes the PIE was excellent, just didnt make enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Arrla Lulu's restraunt only less the a block away was Great, Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Horseshoe Bay, Tx
Jun 24, 2010

It has been great for the last 22 years

We have stayed at this hotel , every year,for more than 22 years. I was raised in latin america and this hotel embodies all of my experiences while growing up. As far as I am concerned, this hotel will be my home away from home as long as I live.I have tried some of the other hotels ie; El Cid,Pueblo Bonito etc and they do not compare to Playa Mazatlan for the total atmosphere and pleasure!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Pedro & Lolas restaurant in old Mazatlan, or Casa Country, or The Cowboy just down the street from the hotel. Stay away from the "All inclusive" deals, You will miss a great dining experience and will not enjoy the people of Mazatlan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top