$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
View map of Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mazatlan Traveler
Business
Idaho
Jan 10, 2011

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

We were happy with this hotel for the most part as it is clean and in a safe location. We would have preferred to be farther away from the pool areas as they are very loud. We were unable to sleep in due to children playing in the pools right at 8 am and would be playing there until 10 pm everyday. Also were unhappy to see that the hot tub was also closed at 10 pm, which was the only time it was not occupied by tons of kids. We were also sad to find out that the Mexican Fiesta was no longer being offered at the hotel. We did though think that the maids were very great at providing service when asked. Although there was someone removing our do not disturb signs so we would have the maids knocking when we did not want any visitors. We were also not too impressed with the front office staff as they were quite unfriendly. We did however think that the waiters and bellboys were very hospitable to us during our stay. We love the area where the hotel is located, but will more than likely go to another hotel our next stay. But for a new traveler to Mazatlan this is a very good start.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lake Oswego OR
Jan 5, 2011

Hotel Playa Mazatla.

Enjoyed our visit as always at the Playa. Having breakfast with the open view was fantastic. Good food that never made us sick. In the evenings we enjoyed dancing to the live music!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was always delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rosslindberg[@]
Business
Longmont, CO
Jan 5, 2011

Great Mazatlan Mexico vacation.....

The Playa Mazatlan Hotel was a great value. The Hotel was clean and services were excellent. The food was very delicious and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. The Hotel Staff was very friendly. Upgraded our room because the "garden" view room we originally booked had no outside view and was very dark. Our only complaint were the rock hard beds. We asked the maid if there was anything that could be done to make the beds softer. She provided additional padding that greatly helped the feel of the mattresses. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who'd like to visit Mazatlan Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Panama" Restaurant was very good. The food and service was excellent. It was just 2 blocks from the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Nov 3, 2010

Awesome Trip

We had such a wonderful time. Our room at Hotel Playa was great, the ocean view was spectacular. The room was clean, had fresh towels throughout our stay. Did some dancing under the stars right at our hotel. Joe's Oyster bar had great music. The Stone Island tour was the best worth the money. Rigo the bartender hooked us up on drinks, we had a blast. The Sunset cruise not so much. Panama bakery had good food. Mazatlan felt safe, full of Mexican culture. Great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Nov 1, 2010

great time

We have been to La Playa many times, and love it. They continue to keep it clean and in good shape, and most of the employees have been there for many years. The only good access to the ocean beach from your room in the golden zone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Some Good, Some Not

It was immediately evident how hard the economic downturn has hit this region. While the property appears still well maintained, the service was lacking in nearly all areas. We had dinner at the Hotel our first night and, by far, it was our least favorite meal of a 4-day trip. My food was actually cold - not what you want in a Mexican platter! We didn't eat again at the Hotel. Rooms are basic. Towels were old needed replacing. Pool and beach were a big hit, but again - little service available. We went to the concierge desk every day and only 1 time was someone available to assist us. The Hotel seemed understaffed, perhaps due to its 28% occupancy rate. I wondered if it might have been better another time - but my experience there won't bring me back any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess & John
Business
Corpus Christi, Texas
Sep 19, 2010

Perfect for the 2nd year in a row

We visited Hotel Playa Mazatalan in September (we visited last year-same time). This is considered the slow season (less tourists) and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Great restaurants are within walking distance to the hotel (which is usually my Fiancé & I's number one priority when choosing a vacation). This year for resturants tried Panama, Casa Loma, Vitorre, Pura Vida, Mr. Lionso, and Anthony's… just to name a few). We couldn't have asked for a more friendly and professional hotel staff. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and TV in Mexico is better than in the US. We spent our days mainly on the beach both at the hotel and at Playa Brujas (which is a 10 min bus ride for 6 pesos per person - take the Sabalo-Cerritos bus) The concierge can tell you where to catch it. We will definitely be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When arriving at the airport, the cheaper option to get to the hotel would be to ride the shuttle bus, however we learned from a fellow traveler that the bus ride took around 3 hours to arrive at the hotel. We choose the more expensive option - to catch a taxi (air conditioned and very comfortable) for $310 pesos (~$25 USD) and it only took about 25 min to get to the hotel – plus the taxi driver was friendly and a good tour guide. We were very thankful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston TX
Aug 5, 2010

Not very satisfied

Not like it was 10 years ago....now the service is poor. Beach is the best, the palapas are very convenient and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tacorocks
Business
Minnesota
Jul 19, 2010

Location location location

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's right in the zona dorada (golden zone) and restaurants, the bus to the centro historico and shopping are only steps away. We were glad to stay at this hotel for the location and lovely beach. We had an ocean view room with a small balcony. Palapas and chairs and sun bathing beds are available. The pool was surprisingly warm and really nice to swim in. Mazatlan has some delicious restaurants so we did not get anything included in our package. We did look into upgrading but it's quite expensive. We mainly ate at other restaurants but had a couple of drinks in the restaurant. It's an older hotel but they take good care of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneGem
Business
Arkansas
Jul 3, 2010

A Happy Return

This is a repeat stay at Playa Mazatlan. It is very conveniently located in the Golden Zone allowing for an easy stroll through some great shopping. Beautifully maintained property with large rooms and spacious common areas. The beachfront is also beautifully maintained and has plenty of shade, tables and chairs as well as waiters ready to take orders for drinks and snacks (try the ceviche!). Not our first time there, and will not be the last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The exchange rate at the hotel is competitive, so change those USD into pesos for shopping. Buying with pesos (especially instead of a credit card) will save lots of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top