Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
182 reviews
Amazing hotel

Ive been staying at this hotel for like 10 years now and I have to tell you that it never... See full review

  • David Almeida
  • May 1, 2014
Home away from home.

Hotel Playa Mazatlan is our family's home away from home. The staff is very friendly, and helpful.... See full review

  • Nhsmillermom
  • Feb 20, 2014
Beachfront hotel with great views and a long history in the Zona Dorada
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

23.2415 -106.4501
Area served
Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Nearby airports
Rafael Buelna International (30 minute drive).
Area description
Mazatln, Mexico lies just a few miles below the Tropic of Cancer and shares the same latitude as Honolulu, Hawaii. It is due east of the southern tip of the Baja Peninsula, about 720 miles south of the Arizona border.

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milford Delaware
Feb 7, 2011

Good central location

The economy is bad in Mexico and few tourists are there. Few restaurants are open,fewer activities are available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Battleford, Sask. (Canada)
Feb 6, 2011

Stay @ Playa Mazatlan

The stay at the Playa was great. The staff are excellent and the Hotel is well maintained. It is well located to an excellent beach and has all the amenities to make one's staff enjoyable. However, an upgrade to an ocean view was costly given that the Hotel only had a 20% occupancy rate. The upgrade cost more than $400. My experience has shown that such upgrades are usually provided for nothing or next to nothing particularly for repeat customers. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance from the Hotel Playa Mazatlan. Alternatively, cheap transportation to restaurants further away is available.

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Battleford, Sask. (Canada)
Feb 6, 2011

Stay @ Playa Mazatlan

The stay at the Playa was great. The staff are excellent and the Hotel is well maintained. It is well located to an excellent beach and has all the amenities to make one's staff enjoyable. However, an upgrade to an ocean view was costly given that the Hotel only had a 20% occupancy rate. The upgrade cost more than $400. My experience has shown that such upgrades are usually provided for nothing or next to nothing particularly for repeat customers. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance from the Hotel Playa Mazatlan. Alternatively, cheap transportation to restaurants further away is available.

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Macklin, Saskatchewan (Canada)
Feb 6, 2011

Stay @ Playa Mazatlan

Overall, we were quite pleased with our stay at the Playa Mazatlan. It is a well kept property and the staff are excellent. It has all the amenities that made our stay enjoyable (e.g. restaurant, pool, hot tub, patio, etc.). It is well positioned near a wonderful stretch of beach. There is one issue. That is, the prices charged for an upgrade to an ocean view room. [...] personnel indicated that there was not an ocean view option. One could only have a garden view. Therefore, our upgrade cost to an ocean room cost us and additional $400. This despite the fact that there was only a 20% occupancy during our stay. Most hotels would upgrade at no or very little cost; especially for customers such as us who have stayed there four consecutive years. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A number of good restaurants are within easy walking distance of the Playa Mazatlan Hotel. Also, one can travel very cheaply to more distant restaurants.

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Macklin, Saskatchewan (Canada)
Feb 6, 2011

Stay @ Playa Mazatlan

Overall, we were quite pleased with our stay at the Playa Mazatlan. It is a well kept property and the staff are excellent. It has all the amenities that made our stay enjoyable (e.g. restaurant, pool, hot tub, patio, etc.). It is well positioned near a wonderful stretch of beach. There is one issue. That is, the prices charged for an upgrade to an ocean view room. [...] personnel indicated that there was not an ocean view option. One could only have a garden view. Therefore, our upgrade cost to an ocean room cost us and additional $400. This despite the fact that there was only a 20% occupancy during our stay. Most hotels would upgrade at no or very little cost; especially for customers such as us who have stayed there four consecutive years. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A number of good restaurants are within easy walking distance of the Playa Mazatlan Hotel. Also, one can travel very cheaply to more distant restaurants.

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunlover
Huntington Beach, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Wouldn't stay anywhere else

I've been staying at the Playa Mazatlan for years. It's not a 5 star hotel but the location is excellent and the rooms are clean. We felt totally safe despite everything published about the crime and drug issues in Mexico. It's location couldn't be better. The ocean view rooms are worth the extra cost. Great beach but the pools are just so so. Check prices often as they vary substantially depending on when you check the prices online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madeinusa
Da Lang, China
Jan 14, 2011

a nice stay

great time at this hotel. Excellent location, nice staff, good room. Just suggest you upgrade to ocean view if you can afford it. The beach view is fantastic day & night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

jungle juice is a short walk away, great food, great staff & very reasonable prices

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madeinusa
Da Lang, China
Jan 14, 2011

a nice stay

great time at this hotel. Excellent location, nice staff, good room. Just suggest you upgrade to ocean view if you can afford it. The beach view is fantastic day & night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

jungle juice is a short walk away, great food, great staff & very reasonable prices

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mazatlan Traveler
Idaho
Jan 10, 2011

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

We were happy with this hotel for the most part as it is clean and in a safe location. We would have preferred to be farther away from the pool areas as they are very loud. We were unable to sleep in due to children playing in the pools right at 8 am and would be playing there until 10 pm everyday. Also were unhappy to see that the hot tub was also closed at 10 pm, which was the only time it was not occupied by tons of kids. We were also sad to find out that the Mexican Fiesta was no longer being offered at the hotel. We did though think that the maids were very great at providing service when asked. Although there was someone removing our do not disturb signs so we would have the maids knocking when we did not want any visitors. We were also not too impressed with the front office staff as they were quite unfriendly. We did however think that the waiters and bellboys were very hospitable to us during our stay. We love the area where the hotel is located, but will more than likely go to another hotel our next stay. But for a new traveler to Mazatlan this is a very good start.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mazatlan Traveler
Idaho
Jan 10, 2011

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

We were happy with this hotel for the most part as it is clean and in a safe location. We would have preferred to be farther away from the pool areas as they are very loud. We were unable to sleep in due to children playing in the pools right at 8 am and would be playing there until 10 pm everyday. Also were unhappy to see that the hot tub was also closed at 10 pm, which was the only time it was not occupied by tons of kids. We were also sad to find out that the Mexican Fiesta was no longer being offered at the hotel. We did though think that the maids were very great at providing service when asked. Although there was someone removing our do not disturb signs so we would have the maids knocking when we did not want any visitors. We were also not too impressed with the front office staff as they were quite unfriendly. We did however think that the waiters and bellboys were very hospitable to us during our stay. We love the area where the hotel is located, but will more than likely go to another hotel our next stay. But for a new traveler to Mazatlan this is a very good start.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top