Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
119 reviews
Great location away from tourist traps

Perfect location for enjoying the beach and checking out the town. The staff is wonderful and the... See full review

  • Oceanic14
  • Oct 18, 2014
Amazing hotel

Ive been staying at this hotel for like 10 years now and I have to tell you that it never... See full review

  • David Almeida
  • May 1, 2014
Beachfront hotel with great views and a long history in the Zona Dorada
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

23.2415 -106.4501
Area served
Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Nearby airports
Rafael Buelna International (30 minute drive).
Area description
Mazatln, Mexico lies just a few miles below the Tropic of Cancer and shares the same latitude as Honolulu, Hawaii. It is due east of the southern tip of the Baja Peninsula, about 720 miles south of the Arizona border.

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rosslindberg[@]
Business
Longmont, CO
Jan 5, 2011

Great Mazatlan Mexico vacation.....

The Playa Mazatlan Hotel was a great value. The Hotel was clean and services were excellent. The food was very delicious and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. The Hotel Staff was very friendly. Upgraded our room because the "garden" view room we originally booked had no outside view and was very dark. Our only complaint were the rock hard beds. We asked the maid if there was anything that could be done to make the beds softer. She provided additional padding that greatly helped the feel of the mattresses. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who'd like to visit Mazatlan Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Panama" Restaurant was very good. The food and service was excellent. It was just 2 blocks from the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Nov 3, 2010

Awesome Trip

We had such a wonderful time. Our room at Hotel Playa was great, the ocean view was spectacular. The room was clean, had fresh towels throughout our stay. Did some dancing under the stars right at our hotel. Joe's Oyster bar had great music. The Stone Island tour was the best worth the money. Rigo the bartender hooked us up on drinks, we had a blast. The Sunset cruise not so much. Panama bakery had good food. Mazatlan felt safe, full of Mexican culture. Great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Nov 1, 2010

great time

We have been to La Playa many times, and love it. They continue to keep it clean and in good shape, and most of the employees have been there for many years. The only good access to the ocean beach from your room in the golden zone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Some Good, Some Not

It was immediately evident how hard the economic downturn has hit this region. While the property appears still well maintained, the service was lacking in nearly all areas. We had dinner at the Hotel our first night and, by far, it was our least favorite meal of a 4-day trip. My food was actually cold - not what you want in a Mexican platter! We didn't eat again at the Hotel. Rooms are basic. Towels were old needed replacing. Pool and beach were a big hit, but again - little service available. We went to the concierge desk every day and only 1 time was someone available to assist us. The Hotel seemed understaffed, perhaps due to its 28% occupancy rate. I wondered if it might have been better another time - but my experience there won't bring me back any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess & John
Business
Corpus Christi, Texas
Sep 19, 2010

Perfect for the 2nd year in a row

We visited Hotel Playa Mazatalan in September (we visited last year-same time). This is considered the slow season (less tourists) and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Great restaurants are within walking distance to the hotel (which is usually my Fiancé & I's number one priority when choosing a vacation). This year for resturants tried Panama, Casa Loma, Vitorre, Pura Vida, Mr. Lionso, and Anthony's… just to name a few). We couldn't have asked for a more friendly and professional hotel staff. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and TV in Mexico is better than in the US. We spent our days mainly on the beach both at the hotel and at Playa Brujas (which is a 10 min bus ride for 6 pesos per person - take the Sabalo-Cerritos bus) The concierge can tell you where to catch it. We will definitely be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When arriving at the airport, the cheaper option to get to the hotel would be to ride the shuttle bus, however we learned from a fellow traveler that the bus ride took around 3 hours to arrive at the hotel. We choose the more expensive option - to catch a taxi (air conditioned and very comfortable) for $310 pesos (~$25 USD) and it only took about 25 min to get to the hotel – plus the taxi driver was friendly and a good tour guide. We were very thankful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston TX
Aug 5, 2010

Not very satisfied

Not like it was 10 years ago....now the service is poor. Beach is the best, the palapas are very convenient and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tacorocks
Business
Minnesota
Jul 19, 2010

Location location location

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's right in the zona dorada (golden zone) and restaurants, the bus to the centro historico and shopping are only steps away. We were glad to stay at this hotel for the location and lovely beach. We had an ocean view room with a small balcony. Palapas and chairs and sun bathing beds are available. The pool was surprisingly warm and really nice to swim in. Mazatlan has some delicious restaurants so we did not get anything included in our package. We did look into upgrading but it's quite expensive. We mainly ate at other restaurants but had a couple of drinks in the restaurant. It's an older hotel but they take good care of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneGem
Business
Arkansas
Jul 3, 2010

A Happy Return

This is a repeat stay at Playa Mazatlan. It is very conveniently located in the Golden Zone allowing for an easy stroll through some great shopping. Beautifully maintained property with large rooms and spacious common areas. The beachfront is also beautifully maintained and has plenty of shade, tables and chairs as well as waiters ready to take orders for drinks and snacks (try the ceviche!). Not our first time there, and will not be the last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The exchange rate at the hotel is competitive, so change those USD into pesos for shopping. Buying with pesos (especially instead of a credit card) will save lots of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lacinta Porfavor
Business
Sequim, Wa
Jun 29, 2010

Mexico n Hotel Playa Mazatlan

This Hotel is very friendly, The manager greated us every day! and we even Met the one one the Owners and had Dinner and a Movie with her. We did the Stone Island tour was Great! The only problem we encountered was they were always OUT OF PIE! And yes the PIE was excellent, just didnt make enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Arrla Lulu's restraunt only less the a block away was Great, Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Horseshoe Bay, Tx
Jun 24, 2010

It has been great for the last 22 years

We have stayed at this hotel , every year,for more than 22 years. I was raised in latin america and this hotel embodies all of my experiences while growing up. As far as I am concerned, this hotel will be my home away from home as long as I live.I have tried some of the other hotels ie; El Cid,Pueblo Bonito etc and they do not compare to Playa Mazatlan for the total atmosphere and pleasure!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Pedro & Lolas restaurant in old Mazatlan, or Casa Country, or The Cowboy just down the street from the hotel. Stay away from the "All inclusive" deals, You will miss a great dining experience and will not enjoy the people of Mazatlan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top