$67 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
116 reviews
Great location away from tourist traps

Perfect location for enjoying the beach and checking out the town. The staff is wonderful and the... See full review

  • Oceanic14
  • Oct 18, 2014
Amazing hotel

Ive been staying at this hotel for like 10 years now and I have to tell you that it never... See full review

  • David Almeida
  • May 1, 2014
Beachfront hotel with great views and a long history in the Zona Dorada
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available

Hotel Map

23.2415 -106.4501
Area served
Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Nearby airports
Rafael Buelna International (30 minute drive).
Area description
Mazatln, Mexico lies just a few miles below the Tropic of Cancer and shares the same latitude as Honolulu, Hawaii. It is due east of the southern tip of the Baja Peninsula, about 720 miles south of the Arizona border.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Playa Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Some Good, Some Not

It was immediately evident how hard the economic downturn has hit this region. While the property appears still well maintained, the service was lacking in nearly all areas. We had dinner at the Hotel our first night and, by far, it was our least favorite meal of a 4-day trip. My food was actually cold - not what you want in a Mexican platter! We didn't eat again at the Hotel. Rooms are basic. Towels were old needed replacing. Pool and beach were a big hit, but again - little service available. We went to the concierge desk every day and only 1 time was someone available to assist us. The Hotel seemed understaffed, perhaps due to its 28% occupancy rate. I wondered if it might have been better another time - but my experience there won't bring me back any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess & John
Business
Corpus Christi, Texas
Sep 19, 2010

Perfect for the 2nd year in a row

We visited Hotel Playa Mazatalan in September (we visited last year-same time). This is considered the slow season (less tourists) and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Great restaurants are within walking distance to the hotel (which is usually my Fiancé & I's number one priority when choosing a vacation). This year for resturants tried Panama, Casa Loma, Vitorre, Pura Vida, Mr. Lionso, and Anthony's… just to name a few). We couldn't have asked for a more friendly and professional hotel staff. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and TV in Mexico is better than in the US. We spent our days mainly on the beach both at the hotel and at Playa Brujas (which is a 10 min bus ride for 6 pesos per person - take the Sabalo-Cerritos bus) The concierge can tell you where to catch it. We will definitely be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When arriving at the airport, the cheaper option to get to the hotel would be to ride the shuttle bus, however we learned from a fellow traveler that the bus ride took around 3 hours to arrive at the hotel. We choose the more expensive option - to catch a taxi (air conditioned and very comfortable) for $310 pesos (~$25 USD) and it only took about 25 min to get to the hotel – plus the taxi driver was friendly and a good tour guide. We were very thankful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston TX
Aug 5, 2010

Not very satisfied

Not like it was 10 years ago....now the service is poor. Beach is the best, the palapas are very convenient and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tacorocks
Business
Minnesota
Jul 19, 2010

Location location location

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's right in the zona dorada (golden zone) and restaurants, the bus to the centro historico and shopping are only steps away. We were glad to stay at this hotel for the location and lovely beach. We had an ocean view room with a small balcony. Palapas and chairs and sun bathing beds are available. The pool was surprisingly warm and really nice to swim in. Mazatlan has some delicious restaurants so we did not get anything included in our package. We did look into upgrading but it's quite expensive. We mainly ate at other restaurants but had a couple of drinks in the restaurant. It's an older hotel but they take good care of it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JuneGem
Business
Arkansas
Jul 3, 2010

A Happy Return

This is a repeat stay at Playa Mazatlan. It is very conveniently located in the Golden Zone allowing for an easy stroll through some great shopping. Beautifully maintained property with large rooms and spacious common areas. The beachfront is also beautifully maintained and has plenty of shade, tables and chairs as well as waiters ready to take orders for drinks and snacks (try the ceviche!). Not our first time there, and will not be the last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The exchange rate at the hotel is competitive, so change those USD into pesos for shopping. Buying with pesos (especially instead of a credit card) will save lots of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lacinta Porfavor
Business
Sequim, Wa
Jun 29, 2010

Mexico n Hotel Playa Mazatlan

This Hotel is very friendly, The manager greated us every day! and we even Met the one one the Owners and had Dinner and a Movie with her. We did the Stone Island tour was Great! The only problem we encountered was they were always OUT OF PIE! And yes the PIE was excellent, just didnt make enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Arrla Lulu's restraunt only less the a block away was Great, Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Horseshoe Bay, Tx
Jun 24, 2010

It has been great for the last 22 years

We have stayed at this hotel , every year,for more than 22 years. I was raised in latin america and this hotel embodies all of my experiences while growing up. As far as I am concerned, this hotel will be my home away from home as long as I live.I have tried some of the other hotels ie; El Cid,Pueblo Bonito etc and they do not compare to Playa Mazatlan for the total atmosphere and pleasure!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Pedro & Lolas restaurant in old Mazatlan, or Casa Country, or The Cowboy just down the street from the hotel. Stay away from the "All inclusive" deals, You will miss a great dining experience and will not enjoy the people of Mazatlan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gocart
Business
Olympia, WA
Jun 8, 2010

Sunny Mazatlan Mexico

We having been staying at the Playa Mazatlan for 13 years. We were there for 12 days this year. This year, there was no welcome margarita, the bar was closed, no fiesta, and the beach was not cleaned daily, as it had been in the past. In previous years, in the evenings we always enjoyed having a beverage from the bar and sitting on the beach listening to the band. Unfortunatly, that wasn't an option this year. If you wanted a beverage in the evening you had to go to the restarant and they only had music on the weekends. We had a great room with a fantastic view. The room was kept spotless. Most days were spent relaxing on the beach. In the evening we would go to various resaurants. The food in Mazatlan is great. We would then walk around enjoying all of the sights and sounds and shops that are in the area. The staff at the Playa are great. Hopefully, things are back to normal next year. Maybe all of the changes at the Playa are due to the economy. We hope so as we do love the location, the beach and the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi from the airport. You won't have to deal with timeshare salesman and you don't end up dropping other folks off at various hotels.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, CO
Jun 3, 2010

Traditional Charm

The Playa Mazatlan was one of the first beach hotels in the area so it's not glitzy. But it is very well maintained with beautiful gardens and built on a fantastic stretch of beach with great views of Deer Island. All rooms have terraces, plenty of palapa huts and beach chairs are available and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Even if you're not staying at the Hotel Playa Mazatlan, stop by for a drink or a meal at the beachfront restaurant and stroll the grounds. It is well worth the visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruce And Christine
Business
Kirkland,Wa.
May 2, 2010

Another Great Stay

On the best beach in Mazatlan and best location.A very user friendly hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Have dinner at Topolo Restaurant in old Mazatlan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top