$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
View map of Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Repeat Guest
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 3, 2011

It Doesn't Get Any Better!-repeat guest

I always go back to the same property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at all of the local restaurants was incredible!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weiner
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Feb 23, 2011

Nice

The hotel was beautiful and located right on the beach. It was clean and the hotel staff was very nice and accomodating. The only thing I didn't like was the super hard beds and the rock hard pillows. I think they spend so much on the outkeep of the hotel that they don't invest much on the inside of the rooms. While we were there, we ate, drank, sat on the beach and shopped. I was so excited to go hang out on the beach and relax but all of the vendors made it so stressful!! That was the worse part of the whole vacation. I came to relax but went back just as stressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The sunset cruise was the best part of my vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. James, Mn.
Feb 21, 2011

Had a great time

Laid on the beach and enjoyed the service and sun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Groupie Travelers
Business
Noblesville, IN
Feb 17, 2011

One of our favorite places!!

Always greeted by the most wonderful staff. Place is always sparkling clean. The new updates to the rooms are a great addition. We have been staying there for 10 years now, and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Mazatlan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Panama's is a great place to visit for dessert!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
edmonton traveler
Business
edmonton alberta
Feb 13, 2011

clean and friendly

hotel was very clean and staff were very friendly personal safe made me comfortable beds were not very comfortable but i am told that most beds in mazatlan are like this, well worth the cost of the room. if you can afford it stay at either a ground level looking at the beach or if you have kids looking inside at the pools and sit at your own patio and watch them swim

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We really enjoyed eating several times at a restaurant called Chilys pepper the waiters were awesome special thanks to [...] and [...] most enjoyable dining experience of our 11 days

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diestro
Business
Sacramento
Feb 9, 2011

Friendly, all smiles,and willing to help

I visited friends, and took advantage of time to do some business. Enjoyed the food and beach. Did some dancing. I liked the security personal

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel provided all I needed. this is my fourth time there. I also know the area and you get to know people

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford Delaware
Feb 7, 2011

Good central location

The economy is bad in Mexico and few tourists are there. Few restaurants are open,fewer activities are available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macklin, Saskatchewan (Canada)
Feb 6, 2011

Stay @ Playa Mazatlan

Overall, we were quite pleased with our stay at the Playa Mazatlan. It is a well kept property and the staff are excellent. It has all the amenities that made our stay enjoyable (e.g. restaurant, pool, hot tub, patio, etc.). It is well positioned near a wonderful stretch of beach. There is one issue. That is, the prices charged for an upgrade to an ocean view room. [...] personnel indicated that there was not an ocean view option. One could only have a garden view. Therefore, our upgrade cost to an ocean room cost us and additional $400. This despite the fact that there was only a 20% occupancy during our stay. Most hotels would upgrade at no or very little cost; especially for customers such as us who have stayed there four consecutive years. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A number of good restaurants are within easy walking distance of the Playa Mazatlan Hotel. Also, one can travel very cheaply to more distant restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Battleford, Sask. (Canada)
Feb 6, 2011

Stay @ Playa Mazatlan

The stay at the Playa was great. The staff are excellent and the Hotel is well maintained. It is well located to an excellent beach and has all the amenities to make one's staff enjoyable. However, an upgrade to an ocean view was costly given that the Hotel only had a 20% occupancy rate. The upgrade cost more than $400. My experience has shown that such upgrades are usually provided for nothing or next to nothing particularly for repeat customers. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance from the Hotel Playa Mazatlan. Alternatively, cheap transportation to restaurants further away is available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunlover
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Wouldn't stay anywhere else

I've been staying at the Playa Mazatlan for years. It's not a 5 star hotel but the location is excellent and the rooms are clean. We felt totally safe despite everything published about the crime and drug issues in Mexico. It's location couldn't be better. The ocean view rooms are worth the extra cost. Great beach but the pools are just so so. Check prices often as they vary substantially depending on when you check the prices online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top