$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
114 reviews
Amazing hotel

Ive been staying at this hotel for like 10 years now and I have to tell you that it never... See full review

  • David Almeida
  • May 1, 2014
Home away from home.

Hotel Playa Mazatlan is our family's home away from home. The staff is very friendly, and helpful.... See full review

  • Nhsmillermom
  • Feb 20, 2014
Beachfront hotel with great views and a long history in the Zona Dorada
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available

Hotel Map

23.2415 -106.4501
Area served
Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Nearby airports
Rafael Buelna International (30 minute drive).
Area description
Mazatln, Mexico lies just a few miles below the Tropic of Cancer and shares the same latitude as Honolulu, Hawaii. It is due east of the southern tip of the Baja Peninsula, about 720 miles south of the Arizona border.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Playa Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Macklin, Saskatchewan (Canada)
Feb 6, 2011

Stay @ Playa Mazatlan

Overall, we were quite pleased with our stay at the Playa Mazatlan. It is a well kept property and the staff are excellent. It has all the amenities that made our stay enjoyable (e.g. restaurant, pool, hot tub, patio, etc.). It is well positioned near a wonderful stretch of beach. There is one issue. That is, the prices charged for an upgrade to an ocean view room. [...] personnel indicated that there was not an ocean view option. One could only have a garden view. Therefore, our upgrade cost to an ocean room cost us and additional $400. This despite the fact that there was only a 20% occupancy during our stay. Most hotels would upgrade at no or very little cost; especially for customers such as us who have stayed there four consecutive years. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A number of good restaurants are within easy walking distance of the Playa Mazatlan Hotel. Also, one can travel very cheaply to more distant restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunlover
Huntington Beach, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Wouldn't stay anywhere else

I've been staying at the Playa Mazatlan for years. It's not a 5 star hotel but the location is excellent and the rooms are clean. We felt totally safe despite everything published about the crime and drug issues in Mexico. It's location couldn't be better. The ocean view rooms are worth the extra cost. Great beach but the pools are just so so. Check prices often as they vary substantially depending on when you check the prices online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
madeinusa
Da Lang, China
Jan 14, 2011

a nice stay

great time at this hotel. Excellent location, nice staff, good room. Just suggest you upgrade to ocean view if you can afford it. The beach view is fantastic day & night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

jungle juice is a short walk away, great food, great staff & very reasonable prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mazatlan Traveler
Idaho
Jan 10, 2011

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

We were happy with this hotel for the most part as it is clean and in a safe location. We would have preferred to be farther away from the pool areas as they are very loud. We were unable to sleep in due to children playing in the pools right at 8 am and would be playing there until 10 pm everyday. Also were unhappy to see that the hot tub was also closed at 10 pm, which was the only time it was not occupied by tons of kids. We were also sad to find out that the Mexican Fiesta was no longer being offered at the hotel. We did though think that the maids were very great at providing service when asked. Although there was someone removing our do not disturb signs so we would have the maids knocking when we did not want any visitors. We were also not too impressed with the front office staff as they were quite unfriendly. We did however think that the waiters and bellboys were very hospitable to us during our stay. We love the area where the hotel is located, but will more than likely go to another hotel our next stay. But for a new traveler to Mazatlan this is a very good start.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rosslindberg[@]
Longmont, CO
Jan 5, 2011

Great Mazatlan Mexico vacation.....

The Playa Mazatlan Hotel was a great value. The Hotel was clean and services were excellent. The food was very delicious and the breakfast buffet was exceptional. The Hotel Staff was very friendly. Upgraded our room because the "garden" view room we originally booked had no outside view and was very dark. Our only complaint were the rock hard beds. We asked the maid if there was anything that could be done to make the beds softer. She provided additional padding that greatly helped the feel of the mattresses. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who'd like to visit Mazatlan Mexico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The "Panama" Restaurant was very good. The food and service was excellent. It was just 2 blocks from the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
lake Oswego OR
Jan 5, 2011

Hotel Playa Mazatla.

Enjoyed our visit as always at the Playa. Having breakfast with the open view was fantastic. Good food that never made us sick. In the evenings we enjoyed dancing to the live music!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was always delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Nov 3, 2010

Awesome Trip

We had such a wonderful time. Our room at Hotel Playa was great, the ocean view was spectacular. The room was clean, had fresh towels throughout our stay. Did some dancing under the stars right at our hotel. Joe's Oyster bar had great music. The Stone Island tour was the best worth the money. Rigo the bartender hooked us up on drinks, we had a blast. The Sunset cruise not so much. Panama bakery had good food. Mazatlan felt safe, full of Mexican culture. Great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kansas
Nov 1, 2010

great time

We have been to La Playa many times, and love it. They continue to keep it clean and in good shape, and most of the employees have been there for many years. The only good access to the ocean beach from your room in the golden zone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Some Good, Some Not

It was immediately evident how hard the economic downturn has hit this region. While the property appears still well maintained, the service was lacking in nearly all areas. We had dinner at the Hotel our first night and, by far, it was our least favorite meal of a 4-day trip. My food was actually cold - not what you want in a Mexican platter! We didn't eat again at the Hotel. Rooms are basic. Towels were old needed replacing. Pool and beach were a big hit, but again - little service available. We went to the concierge desk every day and only 1 time was someone available to assist us. The Hotel seemed understaffed, perhaps due to its 28% occupancy rate. I wondered if it might have been better another time - but my experience there won't bring me back any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jess & John
Corpus Christi, Texas
Sep 19, 2010

Perfect for the 2nd year in a row

We visited Hotel Playa Mazatalan in September (we visited last year-same time). This is considered the slow season (less tourists) and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. Great restaurants are within walking distance to the hotel (which is usually my Fiancé & I's number one priority when choosing a vacation). This year for resturants tried Panama, Casa Loma, Vitorre, Pura Vida, Mr. Lionso, and Anthony's… just to name a few). We couldn't have asked for a more friendly and professional hotel staff. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, and TV in Mexico is better than in the US. We spent our days mainly on the beach both at the hotel and at Playa Brujas (which is a 10 min bus ride for 6 pesos per person - take the Sabalo-Cerritos bus) The concierge can tell you where to catch it. We will definitely be back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

When arriving at the airport, the cheaper option to get to the hotel would be to ride the shuttle bus, however we learned from a fellow traveler that the bus ride took around 3 hours to arrive at the hotel. We choose the more expensive option - to catch a taxi (air conditioned and very comfortable) for $310 pesos (~$25 USD) and it only took about 25 min to get to the hotel – plus the taxi driver was friendly and a good tour guide. We were very thankful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search