$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
View map of Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
epage
Business
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Oct 13, 2012

A Wonderful Time - Again!

We always love staying at the Playa. The staff - all ranks - are so friendly and helpful and make us feel special and right at home. Can't ask for better service. The food is terrific and we loved being able to eat and drink all day right under our palapa on the beach. We could walk to just about any place we needed/wanted to go. We've been staying there for many, many years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The only glitch, which was a Mother Nature problem, was the mosquitos everywhere - the lobby, rooms, etc. They did not bother me, but the daughter got quite chewed up. Small price to pay and probably everywhere anyway. We truly are at home at the Playa!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Looking for Sunshine
Business
Puyallup, WA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Location, location, location

This property was in a great location and had a wonderful beach. There were plenty of lounge chairs and covered cabanas. The hotel staff could not have been any nicer and we felt safe and secure at all times. The food and drinks on the property were reasonable priced and very good. Because the beach was so enjoyable, we never used the pools, but they looked nice. One small complaint was that the beds were extremely hard due to the fact that the mattress sits directly on a cement slab. Regardless I am looking forward to returning again to Hotel Playa Mazatlan....but next time will bring a foam mattress pad! I certainly would recommend this property to anyone traveling to Mazatlan. Accommodations, location, staff and weather made this the perfect spring get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy and Jack
Business
Seaside, OR 97138, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Great Beach

Great place to stay and the nicest beach in Mazatlan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several great restaurants and bars within a couple of blocks in either direction from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy and Jack
Business
Seaside, OR 97138, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Mexican beach paradise

Oldest and best Hotel in the Golden Zone. Very convenient to shops and restuarants and bars. We have enjoyed The Hotel Playa Mazatlan for about 18 years, Great staff and location on the best beach in Mazatlan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Accross the street is a new restuarant and sports bar. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TravelingFox66
Business
Phil;a
Feb 23, 2012

Nice older property with great beach location

We went to Mazatlan for the Carvinal Celebration. The event is huge & very well attended by many from all over Mexico. We had stayed at this hotel 28 years ago. The property was well maintained.. The only proublem was the heating & A/C unit was not working while we were there. We have visited the area several times over the years. We were shocked to learn that vistors have stopped visiting the area because of major crime proublems.The streets that use to be filled with tourest were empty! There were many police all over town & in the event area. We feel for the people of Mexico as they fight the drug gangs that haunt Mexico. We will not return to things get better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fun in Mexico
Business
Minnesota, USA
Feb 7, 2012

Fun in Mexico

The staff are great. The location is great. We did not have hot water the 1st day. We had ants in our bathroom the entire time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Angelo's has great food, entertainment and is very romantic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skeeter320
Business
Puyallup, WA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Love this place

We have been coming to the Playa for 8 years now. It only gets better. The staff is very helpful and several know us by name. The food is great, very reasonably priced. The location is perfect for a walk along the beach, parasailing, water activities and close to the Malecon. The only thing I can recommend is that they install an onsite ATM cash machine for fast money instead of having to walk a half mile to one. Other then that we will always stay here, plan on going back in June.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ponchos and Gringo Lingo for some great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paunchos
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 20, 2011

vacation/getaway

Great hotel, one of my favorites. Close to everything, but far enough to not get the noise from the golden zone on the weekends. The ocean view is fantastic, sunsets on the beach are the best. Due to the low occupancy or low interest they canceled the show they have once a week (which we enjoyed). Tile floors are loud with foot traffic wearing anything except tennis shoes. They do charge an extra $30.00 a night for guests (thought it was double occupancy) and $20 a day for visitors (had friends/family from town visit). Never had to pay that at other hotels in Mexico. Christy's across the street and Pauncho's down the street, have excellent food and at a very good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cristiy's, Pauncho's, El Puntinillo (need a cab), Chile's Peppers, all good food with a good price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy and Jack
Business
Seaside, OR 97138, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Best Beach in Mazatlan

We have been going to the Hotel Playa Mazatlan for 17 years, We really love the Hotel and their friendly staff. The beach in front of the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is the best in all of Mazatlan. The Hotel, which dates back to the 1950's does need some upgrading. Times have changed and the Hotel has stayed the same. It is time to upgrade their amenities. I still highly recommend this Hotel for their location and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is the new Christy's restuarant. They have 19 TV's, cold beer and the best food in town at a very reasonable price. Their Rib Eye Steak is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gal55
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Dec 11, 2011

Perfect place for relaxation and romance

We have stayed at the Playa Mazatlan many times and have always enjoyed our stay. The staff is courteous and most helpful. The hotel grounds are beautifully kept clean and neat. They now have FREE internet service in the hotel lobby with several computers. The restaurant service was slow, which we found unusual. The location is fantastic. It is close to some really great places within walking distance to eat and drink. We will always continue to stay there, we love the hotel and staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Christys-across the street from the Playa Mazatlan. It is new and they have awesome food and english ESPN. Outside dining with televisions on the patio. The staff spoke very good english and service was great. They also have a beautiful wine room and good selections. We went two nights in a row and we noticed everyone who left was really happy and promised to return as we will!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top