$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
114 reviews
Amazing hotel

Ive been staying at this hotel for like 10 years now and I have to tell you that it never... See full review

  • David Almeida
  • May 1, 2014
Home away from home.

Hotel Playa Mazatlan is our family's home away from home. The staff is very friendly, and helpful.... See full review

  • Nhsmillermom
  • Feb 20, 2014
Beachfront hotel with great views and a long history in the Zona Dorada
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available

Hotel Map

23.2415 -106.4501
Area served
Mazatlan, Sinaloa, Mexico
Nearby airports
Rafael Buelna International (30 minute drive).
Area description
Mazatln, Mexico lies just a few miles below the Tropic of Cancer and shares the same latitude as Honolulu, Hawaii. It is due east of the southern tip of the Baja Peninsula, about 720 miles south of the Arizona border.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Playa Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WINDLEA
WEST VIRGINIA
Nov 29, 2013

COUPLE VACATION GETAWAY

HAVE STAYED AT THE HOTEL PLAYA FOR MANY YEARS AND ENJOYED IT EXCEPT FOR THE LAST VISIT. ADVICE IS DO NOT STAY THERE ON THE WEEKENDS NOW SINCE IT IS TOTALLY INUNDATED WITH SMALL CHILDREN EVERY WEEKEND MAKING THE POOL UNUSABLE FOR ADULTS AND THE REST OF THE HOTEL AREA UNDESIRABLE. WILL NOT STAY THERE AGAIN IN THE FUTURE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PANCHO'S RESTAURANT IS THE BEST IN MAZATLAN AND SHORT WALK FROM THE HOTEL PLAYA

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fjarc
Los Angeles, California
Nov 11, 2013

Great location but…

I arrive to the playa mazatlan hotel, I've waited and waited to check in. It took longer to check in. My key card was handed to me I've walked to my room and I was enjoying what I was seeing, the pool to my right it felt wonderful to be here. I open my door and I saw was a dirty room the bed wasn't done I go to the bathroom and I see hair in the floor and trash can that hasn't been thrown. I leave with disgust I tell the front desk to take care of it when I come back. I go later that night to have a drink with my significant other and we didn't get any service for 20 minutes it wasn't a pleasant feeling after that. I loved the live music…everything else was a big disappointment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iameless
Northern Michigan
May 29, 2013

Great Location on the Beach!

We booked an ocean view room, and got room (356), not sure how we lucked out! King bed, wraparound patio, walk in shower with the BEST pressure that I have ever had anywhere! Our beach day at the Playa was probably my most favorite day of vacation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe's Oyster Bar for lunch! Pancho's further down the beach for dinner!

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stevie D The God Father
Noblesville, Indiana
Mar 2, 2013

Very relaxing place to stay

Mexico is getting a bad rap as far as safety. The Playa Hotel is a very safe and comfortable place to stay. The value is unbeatable and the staff are very, very friendly and helpful. This was over 20 years of visiting the Playa and never had a bad experience .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many very good, inexpensive restaurants with in walking distance.

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gt16
Santa Ana, California
Jan 26, 2013

Family getaway!!!

Best Hotel in mazatlan, great service,great food and great location. Highly recomended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TKSF
San Francisco
Jan 19, 2013

So good

Room is clean,Staffs are so kind,and good value. First my wifi didn't work but they change the room pretty soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
raulr
Business
USA
Jan 15, 2013

Maz13

i have been staying here for 4 decades, and will continue to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kathy and Jack
Seaside, OR 97138, USA
Dec 18, 2012

Great Beach Hotel

We keep coming back to the wonderful Hotel Playa Mazatlan. There just isn't a better place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Several Bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
catiemom
seaside oregon
Dec 14, 2012

stayed at La Playa at least 15 times

Friendly and helpful and honest staff Will never stay anywhwere else while visiting Mazatlan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything you need or want all within walking distance

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Judith Sola Gal
San Ramon, Ca.
Nov 5, 2012

enjoyed my 65th birthday. Had a great time. Service was outstanding.

Would like to return in april if weather is good.Also, enjoy this hotel because it's dead center the 7 mile beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Read the newspaper in the lobby, it's in english and has all the imformation that you'll need for the duration of your holiday.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search