$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
View map of Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Feb 27, 2010

Great place to stay.

The hotel itself was just wonderful but the "thump, thump, thump" of the music beat from a nearby disco (I think that's where it came from) went on until 3:00 a.m. We could've closed the doors to the balcony but then wouldn't have been able to hear the ocean waves. Then again, we're elderly and not up to the same kind of entertainment the younger crowd enjoys. Again, the hotel was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Groupie Travelers
Business
Noblesville, IN
Feb 17, 2010

Home away from Home

We absolutely love it at Hotel Playa, it is like our home away from home. Everyone there has become like a part of our family over the years. The only thing we don't like about it is that the beds are very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Feb 15, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

The resturant here is the worst I have ever experienced. With only 8 patrons & 12 waitstaff, service can only be defined as: "we really don't need your money, sit there as we walk by doing nothing, let's see how many times we can screw up your order, how old, cold & dry we can make it & of course, we expect over 20% tip or we'll really give you bad service". Get the point yet?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian resturant across the street & about 1 block down is fabulous, less money than hotel, great service but not open for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just Plain Joe
Business
LA, CA
Feb 15, 2010

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Older hotel on gold zone. Plenty of shops and resturants close by. Great beach. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BamBam42
Business
Olympia, WA
Feb 7, 2010

Gorgeous older hotel

It is a real nice huge old hotel, so remember the word old. Don't expect the hewest Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of small business's around in a one mile area. Good level walking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hugonite
Business
novato ca.
Feb 7, 2010

hotel mazatlan

enjoy it very much.shops are close by.lot to see and buy, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Macklin, Saskatchewan (Canada)
Jan 27, 2010

Unbeatable Location for the Price

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. This was my third stay and I have never been disappointed. The people at the Playa work hard to satisfy their customers. No hotel works harder to keep everything up to date and in excellent shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Hire a pulmonia driver by the name of Humberto Velazquez to give you a tour of the countryside or the city. This is a first class experience worth the money. The trip is very personalized and will unfold according to your wishes. [...] used his personal van. It was very comfortable. [...]'s Cell # is (669)1224102. [...] is a great host who has a great deal of experience providing tours to cruise ship clients.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool from Cali
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jan 5, 2010

Great time in Mazatlan

Hotel Mazatlan was in a great location where we were able to go to the beach everyday or we could go to a great pool. We were able to walk to really good restaurants to eat at or take a quick taxi ride into town. The staff was very friendly and quick to answer any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking to the Mega grocery store for cheap food, drinks was something we did 3 times while we were there. They have the best price for breads, sweets, food, drinks and it was only a 10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dissipointed
Business
seattle
Jan 5, 2010

worst stay ever

I don't know if it was [...] or the playa hotel but one thing is for sure i will not be using either service again. We have been to the playa before and had a good room and time, not this trip. The room we were first given was not an ocean view as reserved, well you could see the ocean from the room so i guesss they thought that qualified. We decided to upgrade to a room at a cost of 42.00 dollars a night. The room had a broken toilet and was right over the band area so every night we got to listen to their low quality band. We decided to upgrade to the all inclusive at a cost of 600.00 for the trip, I have had better food at waffel house. All in all it was a terrible trip. I have taken several trips to Mexico, using other travel services and not had as bad of a time as i did this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cool from Cali
Business
Santa Barbara, CA
Jan 5, 2010

Great time in Mazatlan

Hotel Mazatlan was in a great location where we were able to go to the beach everyday or we could go to a great pool. We were able to walk to really good restaurants to eat at or take a quick taxi ride into town. The staff was very friendly and quick to answer any questions we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking to the Mega grocery store for cheap food, drinks was something we did 3 times while we were there. They have the best price for breads, sweets, food, drinks and it was only a 10 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top