$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
View map of Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jan 1, 2010

Overall pleasant, well located

Well located in Golden Zone, walking distance from Malecon (beachfront promenade). Best not to choose a first floor beach side room as you have no privacy from beachgoers. Balconies on upper floors facing beach are very pleasant. Disco noise from Joes Oyster Bar next door can interfere with sound sleep so try to avoid a room near Joes. All shops and restaurants are very close and they organized a great New Years party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rutie S.
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Dec 30, 2009

one bad experiece

The holtel is central located right on the beach. The stuff however, is NOT accomodatinting in any way. We did not get the rooms we ordered and were not compancated in any way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Estes Park, Colorado
Dec 8, 2009

Nice Place

Rooms were nice. Originally booked an ocean view in "quite" area. Upgraded upon arrival to "deluxe" ocean view. Put in noisy area. Complained and was given a suite in the "quite" area at no extra charge. Quite commendable. Hotel pretty big and therefore not the personal service of a smaller place. Food was OK. Nothing great. Would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Nov 24, 2009

Great Location

I own two timeshares in Mazatlan, but decided to stay in the heart of the Golden Zone this time. Area and staff was excellent, however I missed having a refrigerator to keep cold drinks in. It was a $10.00 a day extra charge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kentucky
Nov 23, 2009

Playa Hotel

The Hotel booked parties that had live bands playing until 4:00 am. It was impossible to sleep. It is crazy to allow this to go on when you have guests that are trying to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
loved the veiw
Business
W Bloomfield MI
Nov 19, 2009

nice hotel but VERY slo service!

Overall I enjoyed the hotel I would stay there again. Its just the check in and out was very SLOW. it took 35mins due to 1 desk person to check in sevral guest, when there were clearly 4 persons behind the counter!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MOJOEHILO
Business
PUERTO VALLARTA
Aug 18, 2009

Great Beach

BEACH & RELAXATION

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MOJOEHILO
Business
KEAAU, HAWAII
Aug 17, 2009

CLEAN & COMFORTABLE ON THE BEACH!

we were traveling through mexico and needed a few days r & r and this place was perfect! we were concerned about parking, since our car was loaded, but security at this hotel, from the parking lot to the beach, was excellent. the staff was friendly and helpful. almost every night we would take a taxi into "el centro" for a more authentic feel and have dinner and walk around. the beach was the best! clean, safe and lots of activity. this is our 2nd stay here, and would come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

ALWAYS BOOK ON-LINE!

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, Texas
May 20, 2009

Great place to stay

I have stayed at this hotel at least half a dozen times and I have never been disappointed. Great live music is provided every evening. The music is for the mature traveler, not the modern loud music so popular with teenagers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Saturday Noche Ranchera

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veteran Mexico traveler
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 30, 2009

Classic Mazatlan Location

Playa Mazatlan is a wonderful old style Mexican Hotel that is continually improving - upgrading - maintaining their Hotel - Gracious employees and wonderful room locations to the Beach, pools, other restaurants and some shopping. I go back year after year and have yet to be disappointed in any way. Not the new high-rise glitzy type Mexico for Americans Hotel. Charming and clean rooms-good food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top