$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 7, 2015 Check-out: Mar 8, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
View map of Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
126 reviews
Great Hotel On Nice Beach

We enjoyed our stay at Playa Mazatlan. Food was very good and organized activities are scheduled... See full review

  • Billyo
  • Feb 9, 2015
trip with friends

the value for this hotel was excellent. there was an excellent breakfast everyday. the staff was... See full review

  • warren
  • Jan 28, 2015
Beachfront hotel with great views and a long history in the Zona Dorada
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Playa Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (126)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TKSF
San Francisco
Jan 19, 2013

So good

Room is clean,Staffs are so kind,and good value. First my wifi didn't work but they change the room pretty soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Arlene B.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Vacation nightmare

Love the location. Off the beaten path and close to all, but that is all I loved. Had to wear and display arm bands at all times. Had friends stop by and had to pay if wanted to sit at beach with us! Just did not like the feeling of being monitored at all times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Billyo
Business
Cupertino
Feb 9, 2015

Great Hotel On Nice Beach

We enjoyed our stay at Playa Mazatlan. Food was very good and organized activities are scheduled daily. Beach location is good with choice of water sports available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

When visiting Mazatlan stay in the Golden Zone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
warren
Business
N/A
Jan 28, 2015

trip with friends

the value for this hotel was excellent. there was an excellent breakfast everyday. the staff was very helpful and efficient. I had to exchange some documents with the united states and the staff was very helpful. I will definitely stay at this hotel again. also all the employees went out of their way to make us comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

roam the area around the hotel for some excellent restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eric c.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Right on the Beach

Really nice hotel, room really good but just a little noisy if u are driving and looking for a peaceful place to rest this is not it.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy B.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Exceptional Vacation Trip

I hadn't been to Mazatlan in over 40 years! The hotel was a wonderful surprise. It's been kept up so well after all these years. I was there with family and friends for a wedding at the hotel. The most beautiful of locations, the best service and overall a wonderful and memorable experience. I'm already planning our next vacation back to Mazatlan and back to the wonderful Hotel Playa!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was very good as well as the service. If you treat the waiters with respect they go above and beyond providing excellent service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catiemom
Business
N/A
Dec 17, 2014

yearly vacation trip

On June 16th I reserved a garden view room like I always do because we prefer the garden view area......Upon arrival they first tried to put us in a room in th construction area with no view except a roof...they then moved us to a pool side room where the water pipes ran through our ceiling all night.... keeping us awake....I then went to the office to have them look up my room reservation and it was indeed a garden view room...they then moved us to the 4th floor overlooking he pool....bar music all night but a nice room, but decided to stay as I didn't want any trouble, but it was not the room I reserved....We love Playa Mazatlan and would never stay anywhere else but do not understand why we didn't get the room we reserved. It's the only thing that was not right with our trip...I hope it doesn't happen again as we have stayed for 20 years there at least.....no explanation was offered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr know it all
Business
Santa fe NM.
Dec 1, 2014

Love the playa, but very confusing if you do all-inclusive

The Playa Mazatlan is one of Mazatlans oldest, and most respected. We have stayed at the Playa more times than I can count. It is a third generation owned hotel, that is owned by Americans who now live full time in Mexico. They are a very nice family, and have been trying very hard to make their busines work in spite of all the negative coments being told by the american media about the crime and drug wars. (all of which is true, but over reported by our media) Mazatlan in general is a very safe and friendly city. I have always loved the Playa, but I hate how every year the all-inclusive seems to mean something differant. We have been going to the playa for years, and every year they create new rules to the all-inclusive. One year we can do this or that, and this restaurat is included, but the other isn't, and then the next year it is completley differant. Don't get me wrong, I still love the place, but they really need to figure it out. Most of my family doesn't want to go back next year because they don't want their favorite thing to be gone, or have to pay double for something that wasn't charged for last year. The wait staff and the staff in general are wonderful, with the exception of the woman that works at the front desk some times (Fabulosa), who needs to find A new line of work, that makes her happy, so that she doesn't rub off on others, or end up driving all of the patrons away. I would recomend the property in general. The rooms are always clean, and the grounds are well kept. The beds are not the greatest, but in my experience most of the beds in mexico aren't worth writing home about. The staff makes all of the differance. We will probably be back next year, but we will have to see how much they change before we decide to go down again after that. In general, I recomend the Playa Mazatlan, for the grounds, and the personel, but as far as the all-inclusive, the verdict is still out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Playa Mazatlan is close to almost everythong in Mazatlan. It's almost in the middle. a short walk or a short pulmonia (taxi in Mazatlan) and you are almost anywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrjsky
Business
Durango Durango mx
Nov 27, 2014

The place to stay in Mazatlan

Location and Service. What more can you ask for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MarieMb
Business
kansas
Nov 21, 2014

Great location, great value and great breakfast!

Definitely a place to relax and enjoy the golden zone atmosphere due to its location. Great breakfast buffet by the ocean and friendly service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yamel Bau
Business
Durango
Nov 4, 2014

everything Fine only the pool not

The only thing that didnt like was the water pool and one jacuzzi were so cool. The staff kind

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Costa marinera restaurant i recommed shrimp ceviche it so delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top