$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Hotel Playa Mazatlan

3 stars
View map of Playa Gaviotas Ave. 202, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
116 reviews
No name bar

I was great. My favorite place to stay in Mazatlan See full review

  • Mrjsky
  • Jul 13, 2015
Awesome vacation

The hotel exceeded our expectations. They originally gave us a room in the party section of the... See full review

  • Bernardo G.
  • May 21, 2015
Ideally located in the heart of Mazatlan's lively Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), the Hotel Playa Mazatlan provides premier service, accommodations and amenities to its guests, many of whom return year after year. A proud pioneer of the Mazatlan tourist scene, the hotel first opened its doors five decades ago and has hosted film stars including John Wayne and Robert Mitchum. Then a quiet, low-key hotel in a virtually unknown area, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan is now a full-service resort stretching more than a quarter-mile of golden beach.
Rooms
Hotel Playa Mazatlan guests choose from garden view, ocean view and family rooms, as well as junior suites. All include a balcony or terrace, Internet access and satellite TV. Superior family rooms and junior suites also include coffee makers, microwaves and refrigerators. For a one-of-a-kind experience, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers boutique rooms and penthouses, some with kitchens and dining areas.
Property features
The Hotel Playa Mazatlan features Colonial-style architecture with rustic Mexican decor, surrounded by lush gardens, pools and waterfalls. Relax under a beachfront palapa or take a dip in one of three pools or two Jacuzzis. Adventure-seeking guests enjoy the hotel's rock climbing walls and zip line.
 
In addition to traditional spa massage therapies, the Hotel Playa Mazatlan offers a Temazcal experience -- a traditional pre-Hispanic natural steam bath and cave pool used to purify the body, mind and soul.
Highlights
  • Temazcal purifying steam bath experience 
  • Live music and dancing during peak seasons
  • "La Original Fiesta Mexicana" dinner show
  • Open-air dining overlooking the three islands
  • Three swimming pools and two Jacuzzis
Nearby attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.3 mi/5.4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (3.4 mi/5.5 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.6 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 23,000 square feet of function space includes event rooms, courtyards and terraces
  • Catering services available
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Playa Mazatlan also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Playa Mazatlan Rooms

Ocean View Room
In the standard Ocean View guest room, you can sit out on your own private balcony or patio and enjoy the wonderful view of the sparkling waters and fiery sunsets. All rooms are furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.
Garden View Room
Garden View rooms are situated amongst the lush and tropical gardens of the Playa Mazatlan, and each room las its own private balcony or patio. There are all furnished with one king or two double beds, terracotta floors and Mexican decor.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

La Original Fiesta Mexicana
Discover the colorful traditions of he distant corners of Mexico in a dinner-show that has been hosted for over 40 years. From the southern state of Veracruz to the northern state of Sinaloa, the show will guide you through the fascinating diversity of Mexico's colorful folk dancing, enchanting performances and an extravagant buffet featuring some of Mexico's most representative cuisine.
La Terraza Restaurant
Indulge. A casual, yet utterly romantic experience. Dine under the stars on a panoramic ocean terrace overlooking Las Tres Islas and the sparkling bay of Mazatlan. Live music and dancing every night of the week, plus a spectacular fireworks show over the beach on Sundays. Savor mouth-watering Mexican specialties like tangy fajitas, spicy carne asada steak, and jumbo shrimp served on a flaming skewer, plus delicious international dishes and the freshest local seafood in town. Serving breakfast (with morning buffet), lunch and dinner.
The Bar
Have a beer at sunset with us - stay for live music and dancing afterwards...Frosty tropical cocktails, domestic beer and an extensive wine list. Say no more.
La Playita Snack Bar
Don't leave your spot in the sun; order from La Playita Snack Bar. Quick, freshly-prepared snacks and luncheon meals, such as hamburgers, nachos, made-to-order pizza, and shrimp cocktail. Icy "buckets of beer," refreshing juices, sodas, ice cream and tropical cocktails. Beach side service beneath the palapas.
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar
Los Tejabanes Caf and Bar offers home-style breakfasts (like stuffed omelets and hot cakes), appetizers and lunch, as well as beer, tropical drinks, and over 20 varieties of freshly-squeezed juice. Servicing the main pool area, with shaded dining. This lovely eatery is run by one of Mazatlan[s most well-known local families and is acclaimed for their outstanding service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
1:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barbara L.
Business
N/A
Jul 23, 2015

Birthday Getaway

The best thing about the Playa is its location. The staff is outstanding, particularly Brandon at the Concierge desk and Christopher and David at La Terraza Restaurant. The Mexican restaurant, Casa Roberto, is a wonderful treat with great food and service. The negative aspect of our stay was that our room faced north onto a beach where extremely loud music played very late into the night. The gals at the spa are excellent. The all-inclusive plan was disappointing in that we could not order something as simple as guacomole and chips. As far as the pool area, the activities were limited, and the water was warm and very salty. It would not be the first hotel that I would recommend, but the staff outweighed some of the negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrjsky
Business
Huntington Beach
Jul 13, 2015

No name bar

I was great. My favorite place to stay in Mazatlan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bernardo G.
Business
N/A
May 21, 2015

Awesome vacation

The hotel exceeded our expectations. They originally gave us a room in the party section of the hotel. When we told them that we wanted to spend a quiet vacation and would prefer a different room, they moved us to an excellent room with a beautiful ocean view on a quiet end of the hotel. Our stay/vacation was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Room with a view
Business
Racine
May 1, 2015

Amazing staff and wonderful stay with the family!

Staff at this hotel are amazing! The bell boy runs laps to get everyone situated as quickly as possible. The reception staff is friendly and the late night guy was cracking jokes as well. We had a large party staying at the Hotel Playa Mazatlan for our wedding, including us. We originally wished to have the reception there too, but the Playa was already booked, so our reception was elsewhere. Still, the staff gave us, the newly weds an upgrade and a better room than the hotel that hosted our reception! Also, some of my family speaks neither English nor Spanish, but they still raved about the friendliness of the staff. And the views, the beach... perfect for lounging and drinking Pacifico/margaritas for adults, playing for kids, and swimming for all. We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Francisco74
Business
Calgary
Apr 21, 2015

Excelent location

Excellent location, walking distance to everything you need. Night clubs, restaurants, convenience stores, pharmacies. People there will provide excellent service, 5+stars!! There is the all inclusive option, but there is a lot to do outside the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julie B.
Business
Grand Ledge
Apr 14, 2015

First stay of many!!!! LOVE IT HERE!

We've stayed at three other resorts in Mazatlan and this was absolutely the BEST! Love the fact that it's privately owned and you are not bothered by time share people on the property!! Also, the beach is set up so the vendors don't have direct access to you...you have to go to them. We felt very welcomed from the minute we arrived. The checkin and out was extremely easy. The bell hops were so friendly. Our rooms were always clean and the cleaning staff was very nice. Love the location. It is so close to so many of our favorite restaurants. While we were here, I posted pics on Facebook and before we left, friends we had made from another state many years ago at a resort farther up the Golden Zone loved our comments. They booked their stay for later in the month. They also fell in love with Hotel Playa Mazatlan. We are already planning our trip back to this resort for next year. Thanks for a fantastic stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mary B.
Business
N/A
Mar 11, 2015

Favorite Hotel in mazatlan

Always stay here and it's consistently good! The Staff is always respectful, helpful and courteous. The breakfast buffet is delicious and the thing that gets me out of my comfy bed everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bruja B.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Super friendly hotel

The staff at Hotel and the area Playa is wonderful--helpful and accommodating. I had a garden view room, and it was spacious and very clean. There were no kitchen facilities, but the hotel does provide free coffee and bottled water. The location is great and the area quite safe. You do have to deal with a lot of beach vendors, but they are not obnoxious. This was my second stay at Playa, and I would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Billyo
Business
Cupertino
Feb 9, 2015

Great Hotel On Nice Beach

We enjoyed our stay at Playa Mazatlan. Food was very good and organized activities are scheduled daily. Beach location is good with choice of water sports available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

When visiting Mazatlan stay in the Golden Zone.

Review of Hotel Playa Mazatlan

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eric c.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Right on the Beach

Really nice hotel, room really good but just a little noisy if u are driving and looking for a peaceful place to rest this is not it.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top