$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Hotel Costa De Oro

3 stars
Ave. Camaron Sabalo S/N, # 710 Zona Dorada, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
51 reviews
November friends together again

We love the staff at this hotel They always greet us with "welcome home" This hotel needs more... See full review

  • Tomsafloat
  • Jul 19, 2014
Perfect beach & ocean view

I loved the fact that this hotel has shaded areas to relax in because I have a sun allergy. The... See full review

  • Market Junkie
  • Mar 4, 2014
Beachfront hotel in the Zona Dorada with restaurant, shopping and spa
The Hotel Costa De Oro offers comfortable rooms and suites in the heart of the Golden Zone (Zona Dorada), where boutiques, craft markets and gift shops keep visitors busy. Guests also find a beachwear store, Manta Maya apparel store and Rubio Jewelry at the Hotel Costa De Oro. Additional on-site activities include water aerobics, bingo and kids' programs, with water sports and historical attractions nearby. Guest rooms and suites at the Hotel Costa De Oro include air conditioning and cable TV.
Highlights
  • Oceanfront freeform pool with waterfalls
  • Three tennis courts and an on-site tennis pro
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas
  • Adults-only Jacuzzi
  • On-site Adobes restaurant
Rooms
Each gardenside beach section room at the Hotel Costa De Oro features convenient pool access, two double beds, air conditioning, cable TV and a table with two chairs. Coffee makers, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards are available upon request at no additional charge. Superior garden view and oceanfront rooms feature private balconies.
 
For additional space, Hotel Costa De Oro guests choose oceanfront junior suites or ocean view one-bedroom suites, both with private balconies. The one-bedroom suite also includes two daybed sofas in the living area, as well as kitchenettes with microwaves, refrigerators and utensils.
Features
The Hotel Costa De Oro Spa and Beauty Salon offers facial and body treatments, manicures, pedicures, cosmetics rooms, hair cutting and styling, a sauna and a variety of massage therapies for guests' utmost comfort and relaxation.
Dining
Adobes restaurant at the Hotel Costa De Oro serves authentic regional cuisine and fresh seafood for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Try the Swiss chilaquiles, steaks or a wide range of seafood selections such as lobster, octopus and giant shrimp wrapped in bacon and stuffed with cheese. For snacks, beverages and other convenience items, stop by the hotel's Super Market, open from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (13 mi/21 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.8 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (2.3 mi/3.7 km) 
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Plazuela Machado (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (4.2 mi/6.7 km) 
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi in public spaces
  • Business center (fees apply)
  • Meeting and event space for 350 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Costa De Oro also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Costa De Oro Rooms

Super Saver Standard Room
Standard rooms with two double beds located in a four storage building, surrounded by beautiful lush gardens, cascades and patio views. Also includes Cable TV, air conditioning, shower, vanity, table with two chairs and direct dial telephone.
Standard Ocean View Room
These are our brand new Standard Ocean Front Rooms with 2 double beds located on the 1,2,3 or 4 floor. You will only have an Ocean and Islands view, the sound of the waves crushing 30 feet away will be your wake up call. Few steps away and you will be sunbathing in our beautiful pool area or at our grand beach front. Also including, Cable TV, air conditioning, shower, table with 2 chairs and direct dial telephone.
One Bedroom Ocean Balcony Suite
Comfortable and spacious One bedroom suites with 2 double beds with contemporary decoration, full equipped kitchennette and private balcony with Ocean and pool view along with Cable TV, air conditioning, dining area, living area with two single sofa beds, shower and direct dial telephone.
Standard Double Room
This Standard rooms with 2 double beds are located on a low rise building near the pool and beach area with garden or cascade view, walk only a few steps away and you will be sunbathing in our beautiful pool area or at our grand beach front. Also including, Cable TV, air conditioning, shower, table with 2 chairs and direct dial telephone.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Lago Azul Snack Bar
The freshest seafood, snacks and tropical coctails right by the beach side, Opens 10:00AM-05:00PM
KoKo Blue Sports Bar
International Cuisine and Prime Steaks. The perfect, casual, yet elegant ambience. Enjoy your favorite sport while sipping your favorite drink and meeting people, including the locals. Open 02:00PM-01:00AM
Adobes
Delicious Mexican And Seafood, come and enjoy our relaxed atmosphered and enjoy our beautiful sunsets right from your table. Open 07:00AM - 10:00PM

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Room with a capacity for 200 people with air conditioning and sound system.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Costa De Oro

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Costa De Oro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sergio Dentist
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 29, 2014

Weekend getaway

The staff was great, the rooms are a bit old fashioned, pool was excelent, although a week after a major storm that destroyed part of the beachfront and one of the pools, it was functioning ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car, the distances between places of interest are a short drive away an taxis are expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Costa De Oro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomsafloat
Business
NW of Portland, Or
Jul 19, 2014

November friends together again

We love the staff at this hotel They always greet us with "welcome home" This hotel needs more customers but they do a wonderful job with what they have and the rooms we have stayed in have been very good with just a few minor problems And the views are fantastic The pool is the best in town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the restaurants around this hotel, including the hotel, having wonderful food. Don't limit yourself by getting an all-inclusive. Get out and explore what's around the neighborhood - it's all good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Costa De Oro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Market Junkie
Business
Southern Minnesota
Mar 4, 2014

Perfect beach & ocean view

I loved the fact that this hotel has shaded areas to relax in because I have a sun allergy. The tastefully landscaped "jungle" area is so peaceful. I would suggest they add a few benches along that path. The room was sparkling clean & our housekeeper was so cheerful. The beds were firmer than we like but the mattresses were newer and in good shape. We ate many of our breakfasts in the hotel restaurant, especially enjoying the toasted bolillos with pico de gallo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are at least 10 very good dining locations within one block of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Costa De Oro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Little Lady
Business
USA
May 26, 2013

Clean, Friendly, but many loud students and band

Staff is extremely friendly, accommodating, and willing to correct anything requested. Cleanliness is exceptional. There is new padding on some of the lounge chairs that are poolside. The drawbacks are that the air conditioner temperature is controlled and does not go quite low enough and when hoards of students appear at the end of the week, they are allowed to party all night and loud bands play until wee hours of the morning. Be prepared to get little sleep on those nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While in Mazatlan, visit Villa Italia, and Italian restaurant just a short walk from the hotel. Ask for Max. The food, ambiance and service are exceptional.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Costa De Oro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joan the Great
Business
Mpls, MN
Mar 29, 2013

Our Stay at Costa de Oro

We were greeted with very courteous and reliable staff at time of check in. The suite we requested was very accommodating. We heard no noise whatsoever from our suite. Except for a minor fall on wet cement that was not cordoned off or with signage from the hotel to the pool area, we were pleasantly entertained. One of our favorite form of entertainment was feeding the tame pigeons, one of which was very sociable! We ordered lunch at the poolside the first day. Other than that we took our meals to neighboring restaurants. Maid service was exceptional as well. We have stayed at this hotel countless times because of the size of the suite, location, cleanliness, pool/beach area, and overall service. We recommend this hotel. I definitely would recommend this product to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We did most of our shopping within a short distance of the hotel. If any repairs to leather items are needed, save them for your next trip to Mazatlan. What would have cost a fortune in Eagan, MN to put in a handbag zipper, repair a carryon bag shoulder strap, and make repairs to a dog leash, was very inexpensive. I even took another bag for a new zipper, but the sales person worked with it a few minutes, and it did not need replacing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Costa De Oro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fisto
Business
Chihuahua Mexico
Mar 28, 2013

Good experience!

This is a great hotel to stay. Its on a great location, staff is very friendly. Beds are hard. Besides that we really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is really good and delisious dinning all around the place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Costa De Oro

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Moe the Toe
Business
Fremont, OH
Dec 4, 2012

Never to Return Again

The hotel is lacking in amenities that most people take for granted. First, there are no safes in the room. We had money stolen from our room (even using a combination lock suit case as a safe) and money stolen at the pool area. Security lacked any feedback after reporting these incidents. Most US hotels have a refrigerator and even a microwave in the room, which this hotel did not. The beds were not the least bit comfortable, and the bedding was more than slightly overused - thin sheets and ragged comforters. I would never return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do not buy any time share in Mazatlan. Most are frauds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Costa De Oro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
magic K
Business
manhattan bch california
Dec 4, 2012

rooms are not very confortable beds are not good.

Generally ok.. friendly waiters . Need to survive for them makes some waiters hassle more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Costa De Oro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Little Suitcase
Business
Port Orchard, WA
Dec 3, 2012

Beach

Perfect beach area for family. Lots of things to do. Walking the beach is a must.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Poncho's is a wonderful place to eat. Located in the Golden Zone and dining beach side.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Costa De Oro

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Canyoner
Business
San Jose, California
Nov 29, 2012

Costa De Oro has bugs

We got a studio at a good price but found mouse droppings and bed bugs. All of our clothes smelled like that bug spray after only a 1 day stay. I didn't realize the 4 rooms before ours had the front and back doors open both days we were there. (Trying to air out that smell?) I don't think they should rent out rooms that have a problem because it leads to poor reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top