$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

El Cid Granada Country Club

2 stars
Ave Camaron Sabalo S/N, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
14 reviews
Great hotel

Kids just love this hotel. Food and drinks are not expensive. See full review

  • MAHONEY G
  • Apr 21, 2014
Great for the Price (watch out for timeshare)

This place was exactly what it should be. Was pretty inexpensive. The rooms were fine. Pretty clean... See full review

  • scofiel9
  • Mar 3, 2014
Zona Dorada hotel with two restaurants and access to sister properties
The El Cid Granada Country Club hotel is built around gorgeous gardens and provides a quiet retreat near the bustling Golden Zone (Zona Dorada). Spend a relaxing afternoon at the garden pool or venture out for shopping or strolling the Malecon (boardwalk). Guests enjoy facilities at adjacent El Cid properties, including golf, tennis, pools and dining. Rich colors in El Cid Granada Country Club studios and one-bedroom suites evoke the surrounding tropics, while contemporary accents add a touch of sophistication.
Highlights
  • All-inclusive options available
  • Fitness center access
  • Scuba diving, snorkeling and deep sea fishing nearby
  • Outdoor pool with tropical landscaping, stone arches and statues for rustic, Old World charm
  • Access to sister properties
Rooms
One-bedroom suites feature wall-to-wall marble flooring and separate living and sleeping areas with one king bed and two double beds. Studio rooms at El Cid Granada Country Club also provide ample space for long or short stays, with two double beds and tropical garden views from each room's private balcony or patio. Kitchenettes include coffee makers, ovens, refrigerators, cooking and eating utensils, and dining space. Air conditioning, in-room safes, satellite TV and purified water are included.
Features
After a relaxing swim, play a round of golf or get a massage across the street at El Cid Country Club. El Cid Granada Country Club guests also take advantage of the restaurants, beach and pools at the adjacent El Cid Castilla Beach and El Cid El Moro Beach hotels -- the properties are linked by a convenient sky bridge.
Dining
Breakfast, al fresco lunch and Argentinean a la carte dinners are highlights of El Patio at El Cid Granada Country Club. For pasta and brick oven pizza in a romantic atmosphere, try Villa Italian Ristorante Italiano. For a change of scenery, stroll over to El Cid Country Club to try their sushi bar or steak house.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (4.3 mi/7 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (4.4 mi/7 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • Business center at adjacent sister property
  • 10,000 square feet of function space at El Cid Conference Center

El Cid Granada Country Club Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
These guest rooms are located on the first through the third floors. Guest rooms have one king size bed in bedroom and two double beds in living area, two bathrooms with tub, balcony or terrace, kitchenette, garden view and air conditioning.
Studio with kitchenette
These guest rooms are located on the first through the third floors. Guest rooms have two double beds with garden view and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cid Granada Country Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

23.2525 -106.4559
Area served
Mazatlan
Nearby airports
Mazatlan International, twelve miles
Area description
Bull ring, Golden Zone, Cathedral, Pino Suarez Market (open market), El Faro (The Lighthouse), Paseo del Centenario (sightseeing), Turtle Hatchery, Stone Island, Deer Island, Space Bowling, La Gran Plaza Mall, Aquarium, Baseball Stadium.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Sixteen meeting rooms, capacity of 4,500

Dining

El Patio Argentinian
A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Granada Contry Club, next to the pool, opens 6 days a week, reservations required.
The Prime Rib House Restaurant
A must in Mazatlan, is located a few steps from this hotel, at El Cid Country Club; opens from 7:00 AM to 10:30 PM daily.
Villa Italia Italian Restaurant
On the street level. Opens from 1:00 PM to 11:00 PM. This restaurant bakes the best old-fashioned pizza in town, in brick & mud oven, using special firewood.
Sushi Bar
Located at the Country Club, is open from 12:00 Noon to 11:00 PM, reservations required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Granada Country Club

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San diego ca
Jan 31, 2011

Work

Great hotel but needs more friendly skills

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wetcat
Renton, WA
Mar 17, 2014

Not bad but not great.

The Granada is an older hotel and its age is showing in some areas. Some of the rooms had been upgraded but not ours. The cleaning staff worked hard but some stains and wear and tear were impossible to remove. I like a room with two beds but the double beds in our room seemed shorter than normal. The buffet restaurant, La Pergola was dissapointing. I have visited over a dozen other all inclusive resorts in Mexico and I do not consider myself a picky eater but there is room for improvement here. Some El Cid resorts require you to sign the check for every drink or meal but that was not required at La Pergola. The food was much better at the El Patio and the La Cascada a la carte restaurants. The pool at the Granada was very nice. The water was almost as warm as bath water and the setting in a private courtyard was very inviting. The Granada is priced much lower than other resorts in the area so I would recommend it to someone on a limited budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San diego ca
Jan 31, 2011

Work

Great hotel but needs more friendly skills

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Aug 11, 2009

Nice hotel in the Golden Zone

Overall, a very nice hotel in the Golden Zone. This hotel would appeal to the traveller that is seeking quiet time and relaxation. If you are looking for non stop action, then you need to look at the Castilla or Moro properties. Friendly service at front desk upon check in and check out. I don't think the maid understood the concept of reusing the bath towels, as we always hung them up; however, when we would return to our room we would find fresh towels in the bathroom. A couple of negative comments about the hotel include that at night time you can hear the guests talking while walking down the hallway. Also, you could hear some noise from the window as well. Our room overlooked the garden. The noise itself did not last a long time, but when it did you could definitely hear it. I felt that they try to push their time share presentation a little too hard with their guests. We booked a European Plan room and this worked out great for us, as we had tours lined up every day that we were there for a week. There are plenty of good restaurants in Mazatlan and we were not disappointed at all. The hotel itself offers easy access to public transportation and within a matter of minutes you would find yourself on the opposite end of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

While in Mazatlan, definitely consider doing any of the following tours. A city tour, parasailing, a bay cruise, the Copala Mountian tour is a definite must to anyone that is looking to get away from the city! Also worth doing is the horseback ride on Stone Island.

Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, Texas
Aug 11, 2009

Nice hotel in the Golden Zone

Overall, a very nice hotel in the Golden Zone. This hotel would appeal to the traveller that is seeking quiet time and relaxation. If you are looking for non stop action, then you need to look at the Castilla or Moro properties. Friendly service at front desk upon check in and check out. I don't think the maid understood the concept of reusing the bath towels, as we always hung them up; however, when we would return to our room we would find fresh towels in the bathroom. A couple of negative comments about the hotel include that at night time you can hear the guests talking while walking down the hallway. Also, you could hear some noise from the window as well. Our room overlooked the garden. The noise itself did not last a long time, but when it did you could definitely hear it. I felt that they try to push their time share presentation a little too hard with their guests. We booked a European Plan room and this worked out great for us, as we had tours lined up every day that we were there for a week. There are plenty of good restaurants in Mazatlan and we were not disappointed at all. The hotel itself offers easy access to public transportation and within a matter of minutes you would find yourself on the opposite end of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

While in Mazatlan, definitely consider doing any of the following tours. A city tour, parasailing, a bay cruise, the Copala Mountian tour is a definite must to anyone that is looking to get away from the city! Also worth doing is the horseback ride on Stone Island.

Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie and Di
Newport Beach, CA
Apr 5, 2011

Great Food and hospitaity.

I have been traveling to Mexico since I was nine, but it has been over 30 years since my wife and I have been back to Mazatlan. The recent U.S. press regarding the violence is SO overblown. I spoke to a number of U.S. and Canadian citizens and they felt the same way. El CID Granada is being converted into the corporate HQ for all of the El CID properties, so we were moved to the Castila across the street. Our rooms were comfortable and class to all of our dining choices, since we were on the all-inclusive program. This allowed us to eat on the run in the two buffet restaurants or take our time dining at the theme ( Argentine, marisco, or Italian ) restaurants. All of the staff were polite, attentive and respectful. You need 24 hour notice at theme restaurants. Golf, spa and tennis was also available for an extra fee. The security force, both in- house and in the city were highly visable. I can't wait to return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

All of the buffets had wonderful fresh fruit and produce. The service was always polite and attentive to the customers needs. I managed restaurants for 10 years and I found the staff well trained. The Italian restaurant was our favorite.

Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enjoyed Mazatlan
British Columbia, Canada
Jan 31, 2012

Hard to beat!

Friendly staff & quality service. Excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The El Cid Granada Hotel had a restaurant that provides an A La Carte breakfast menu. It was great to not have to do the breakfast buffet.

Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roster
Tustin, CA, USA
Mar 6, 2012

NICE AND QUIET

Relaxing and friendly people not to close to downtown area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zbreezes
Houston, Texas
Nov 26, 2012

Awesome Relaxing Vacation

My arrival and check in at the El-Cid Granada was fast and easy I was greeted in the lobby and assisted very quickly, I was given a welcome gift upon check-in by the friendly staff. After check in I was escorted to a desk where I was given information about my hotel and the other El Cid resorts, then I was presented with an offer to take a time share tour, I kindly declined (this part of check in should be eliminated). I was in room 1025 which is located on the first floor just steps away from El Patio resturant and the pool, the room had a kitchenette in it which was GREAT, the room was always cleaned very good by housekeeping. The only negative thing I have to say about the room is on several occassions I guess this comes from being on the first floor, I could smell through the a/c vent fumes from El Patio, and chemical smells I guess from work that was being done within and around the hotel. I think ceiling fans should be added to the rooms. Yes this is an older hotel but it met my expectations, when I return to Mazatlan I would definitely stay here again. The internet service is $90 pesos a day, I used the service the last three days of my stay, it was fast and I was able to use it in my room which is very conveinent. Being a travel agent I was vey satisfied with my stay and I will refer clients.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

ride the area buses, saves you a lot of money on taxis

Review of El Cid Granada Country Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lottacash
Surrey, BC, Canada
Jan 25, 2010

Great service, reasonable food

The staff moved me at no charge to the more expensive and highly rated El Cid Castilla when they realized I'd have problems with my mobility scooter and the Granada elevator.The all-inclusive buffet food was reasonably good and we enjoyed all the a la carte restaurants. My husband especially liked the green nopal (cactus) and beet juices served at breakfast. I preferred the papaya.The entertainment was generally from an OK level to poor (the Broadway show consists of lip synching and dancing), so we tended to avoid it altogether.Beware the "Information" desks are for the resort's timeshare component. You can get rid of them easily though.The El Cid hotels are well-located in the middle of the Golden Zone (except for the Marina El Cid) and are kept scrupulously clean. The pools are heated and the ocean is right beside the Castilla and El Moro hotels. Staying at any one of them allows you to use the facilities of the others.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The all-inclusive saves you money, especially if you like to eat and drink alcoholic beverages a lot.

Back to menu Return to top