$155 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
206 reviews
Quality service and fair prices

I have stayed at El Cid Castiila many times. The service at El Cid Castilla meet all my needs. I... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Dec 9, 2013
Great service

Club Elite Staff has great service at your needs. I would recomend El Cid Castilla Club Elite. The... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Nov 1, 2013
Mazatlan hotel with pools, nearby spa and organized beach activities
The El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel allows guests to take advantage of the facilities of all four El Cid hotels in Mazatlan, as well as the nearby El Cid Country Club. The hotel's two freeform pools, comfortable rooms and suites, and high-quality dining provide a vacation that's fun and restorative. To completely unwind, guests walk along the beach or visit the nearby spa. The shopping, bars, restaurants and nightclubs of the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada) are within walking distance of the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with aerobics and wellness classes
  • Two connecting pools with swim-up bar
  • Full-service spa at El Cid Country Club
  • All-inclusive plans available
Rooms
Air conditioning, ceiling fans, tile floors, private balconies, coffee makers, satellite TV, in-room safes, purified water and Wi-Fi Internet access are provided for guests' comfort and convenience at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Each marble bathroom features a shower, bathtub, hair dryer and bath amenities. 
 
Choose from a wide range of room options at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Pool view, ocean view or oceanfront guest rooms include one king or two double beds. In two-bedroom suites, kitchenettes are provided for additional convenience. Each three-bedroom suite includes a kitchenette, Jacuzzi and sauna.
Dining
Start each day at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel with the breakfast buffet at El Campeador restaurant -- and come back in the evening when the restaurant transforms into La Pergola Dinner Theater, with different shows every night of the week.
 
For lunch, stop by the oceanfront La Alhambra or swim up to the Beach Club Snack Bar for a burger or quesadilla. The casual Castilla Lobby Bar overlooks the pool and offers plasma TVs and two pool tables. For a more romantic evening at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, make reservations at El Alcazar for elegant Italian cuisine.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (4.3 mi/7 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (4.4 mi/7 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,000 square feet of function space at El Cid Conference Center

Hotel Map

23.2526 -106.4567
Area served
Mazatlan, Mexico
Nearby airports
Mazatlan International Airport
Area description
The Golden Zone in the main dining, shopping and entertainment district of Mazatlan, located within walking distance from most hotels like El Cid Resort. This area is privileged with its beautiful beaches and three islands located right in front of the golden sand beaches. This is the best area to enjoy the nightlife of Mazatlan.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Rooms

Pool View Premium All Inclusive
-ROH accommodations at the El Cid Castilla with FREE upgrade to ocean view room and/or Suite, subject to availability upon registration at the hotel. FREE use of all facilities, 6 swimming pools, gym, kids club, etc., at any of the 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan. -Eat and drink at any of the El Cid Restaurants, (concessions not included) -Premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, fine steak cuts, etc., without surcharges. -Domestic & International drinks -ROOM SERVICE. -FREE water sports, kayaks, boogie boards -ACTIVI TIES PROGRAM, day time beach and pool activities -KIDS CLUB, ages 4-11 -FREE use of gym, sauna and steam room at the El Cid Country Club. -FREE shuttle bus available to take you back in our 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan -VIP check in -FREE unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at our El Cid Golf & Country Club, free transportation from hotel lobby. -Tee times reservations required. -FREE wireless connection in the lobby
Pool View Room - All Inclusive with Golf

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Ocean View Room

Each Ocean View room comes with one king or two double beds. Private balcony with ocean view. Located in the tower on floors 5-21. Decorated with bright colors and marble flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Table and two chairs. Separate sitting area. Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone. Ceiling fan. Window opens. Air conditioning. European Plan (no meals).

Pool View Room
Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.
Ocean ViewRoom- AI

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony with ocean view, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Elite Ocean View AI
In addition to the All Inclusive Features you get: accommodations with bathrobes. All meals and house brand drinks at the restaurants of all 4 hotels, including premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, and fine steak cuts.(Concessions not included.) Preferred seating in a la carte restaurants. VIP check in. Room Service (choice from special All Inclusive room service menu). Unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at El Cid Golf & Country Club (equipment not included). Caddy is mandatory and it's not included: one per each cart or one per each golfer walking the course. Additional rounds of golf and tennis reservations or the same day are accepted after finishing the first round of golf or hour of tennis. NOTE: All gratuities at the country club are optional and are not included. None of the package components are refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Alhambra (ocean front)
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily for lunch buffet.
La Pergola Theater
Dinner buffet or set Menu, show and entertainment included: Monday: Italian buffet, Tuesday: seafood buffet, Wednesday: Mexican buffet, Thursday: Oriental Buffet, Friday: Cajun buffet, Saturday: Mayan buffet and Sunday: Tex-Mex Buffet.
El Patio Argentinian
A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Granada Contry Club, opens 6 days a week, reservations required.
Club de Playa
Swim-up bar, A la carte lunch & Snacks.
Lobby Bar
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily from 3pm to 1am.
Sushi Bar
Located at the Country Club opens daily for dinner, reservations required.
La Cascada
Mexican gourmet restaurant, very nicely decorated, featuring the best of the Mexican cuisine located at the pool level, open from 7:00AM to 11:00PM.
El Alcazar
Italian A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, open 6 days a week, reservations required.
El Campeador
Breakfast buffet, located at the El Cid Castilla beach, open daily for breakfast buffet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
awesomw couple
Pasco, WA
Jun 30, 2014

awesome couple

The online reviews were much better than the hotel itself. I went to Mazatlan to visit family and the hotel would not allow my family to park in the parking lot, wait in the lobby for me, or access the ocean from the hotel or use any amenities unless I paid for them to stay in the room There should be a daily pass or something for visitors. They also charge for local phone calls and WiFi in which you have to pay for each device. I did get the all inclusive plan which turned out not to be worth it even if you drink allot. They were out of water half the time and you can only have a specific beer. The buffett taste and looks like prison food. If you want to eat better food you have to make reservations which are very limited for all-inclusive and who wants to have to be somewhere at a certain time on vacation. There are plenty of places to eat and drink down from the hotel. I did eat at the Italian restaurant which the service and food were very good. The pool service is hit and miss but if you tip them a little they will keep your drinks coming. The pool bar is only open from 12pm-5pm then there is only one bar with one line for the entire hotel which was very long from Thurs-sat night. It is very rare that you come across someone that speaks English. Visit the boardwalk and the further you get away from the hotel the better deals you get. Everything up for negotiation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Tony's Terranza Joe's Oyster Bar Plaza by cathedral has a square they shut down full of bars and restaurants Tons of bars & restaurants up boardwalk

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rick the guy
atwater california
Apr 22, 2014

El Cid Castilla

Awesome and beautiful hotel, the pool is amazing and the room service is like no other, even when i was in the room for a large part of the day i would leave for an hour or two and return to a clean room, it is like they knew when i was stepping out. great experince.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wayne208
Chico
Apr 16, 2014

El Cid A Good Spot in Mazatlan

The Staff was very good overall . The food a is above average but so is the Price . I am glad I did not do the all Inclusive plan . If You do the all inclusive plan You miss on Mazatlan . I liked the food at El Cid but and his is a big But .. Try La Casa Country or Panchoe's cafe . Both Highly recommended by Me . On the flight down and back a couple I had met paid for the Priority Seats . Big Mistake and a waste of Money . .. They flew down when I did and Not once did US Airways Call out for them to board with the First class Passenger''s ? What a waste of Money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Casa Country just North of the El Cid . Great Food Try the Imperial Shrimp and the Filet . Both Great

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous135
Business
Colorado
Apr 13, 2014

Depends what you're looking for... Work? Or pleasure?

CONS: I went to the cid for a week long work conference. So even though I would have liked to not work at all, I did. I decided to pay the $25 USD for the use of wireless internet (only for one mobile device) and it was awful. It did not work in the hotel room or even in the lobby at any time during the day. The conference rooms were all out of date and amenities in them were almost nonexistant. Several of the rooms smelled like mildew. Activities: I wanted to spend some time at the beach doing fun stuff. There were often not enough boogie boards or kayaks to accommadate the many people that surely want to use them. For the activites the hotel charges for, go 50 feet down the beach and get them cheaper. The hotel offers the island tours for about $50 non-negotiable. If you go out on the beach you can get that from the guy selling it next to the hotel, for around 2 for $50. Also, beware of the people pushing for time share sales. The food: There were plenty of locations at the resort open all day long, but they all basically the same food. If you don't mind not having authentic mexican food or really any food that tastes like anything, then you might like the food. However, with so many choices, one would think they could mix it up a little. Even the "sushi" and "Italian" food was very bland. Location: Since this was a work trip, it was paid for, but I can definitely say that if I had paid for the all-inclusive option myself, I would've been mad. The hotel is not close to the bulk of Mazatlan's shops or food, so going out for every meal was hardly an option. So your choices are either pay all inclusive and eat pretty bad food or pay ridiculous prices for every meal The price for the worst, most crowded, breakfast buffet was about $20 USD/person and went up for lunch and dinner. Pros: The rooms were clean, the hotel seemed to be very safe, the staff was friendly and helpful, they happily refunded the money for the internet that didn't work. the staff spoke either surprisingly good english or good enough to get by. The service at the resturants and on the beach was awesome. The constant flow of drinks was fun. Overall, for some, the service and views might make up for the food, activities, and internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deborah and Stephen
Liberty Twp, Ohio
Apr 1, 2014

Excellent service

Our stay at El Cid was very comfortable and relaxing. Our room was on the third floor which was the worst part about our stay especially since the elevator and restaurants are on the other end of the building. I have M.S. but I am still quite mobile but the steps leading to the pool area have no hand rails. The food on the buffet was average. I was expecting and hoping for Mexican food but it seemed like they served mostly northern food. The staff at El Cid went out of their way to help us have a great vacation. I would definitely stay here again. The beach vendors are sometimes annoying but overall they are very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Home now frozen
Wi.
Mar 17, 2014

El cid castilla

We have stayed at el cid for several years. (8 plus)For several years we went all inclusive and were disappointed in the service. This year we went non inclusive and had friends that were all inclusive. The waiters would serve me strong drinks with fruit garnish and my friends would get watered down drinks only when I ordered. The waiters would forget to bring back change even though I would tip them every time they would. The waters would avoid them as much as they could and would not bring their drinks when I would get mine! The restaurants were all over priced as well as caned beverages and drinks. It was a nice place to stay for us because we do eat at the many nice restaurants and the local food was great. The management needs to take charge of the service! There were many all inclusive people complaining about the service!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Fish north of hotel has awesome rib eye and tonys on the beach has excellent breakfasts. There are many more to.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kisse13
Canada
Mar 14, 2014

What is Offered and what you get.

We booked Ocean front King size,in Sept,we rang and confirmed long distance in December,we got there in Feb when The Festival season was on and Guess what,"No Ocean Front King but we can Give you...." When Objected to ,the inevitable ,who did you speak to,we will try tomorrow ,do You a Special Favour... Tomorrow ,we open at 8,at 11 she is at lunch at 4pm ,Oh Ive had no success...when anger and a demand for the Manage became a tact,the room suddenly appeared. Why does one have to Queue Every Morning 8am to get a Booking for dining ala carte..why note do it on line? There is TOO MUCH NOISE here at the Pool,at the Foyer and everywhere...not All of us enjoy uninterrupted Music of any nature. The Tennis Courts are empty,the golf course ,well ..play alone..I went for both ,I had one game of golf. Why do you need Caddies,why can you not take your push cart and clubs,why do...yes we know "must make the buck",it will kill the goose eventually as the season traveller hears more and want value for money..would I go again and recommend this place.."Do I sound like I will?" Why do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican Ala Carte

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deb R
el cid castilla beach
Feb 18, 2014

great vacation

good value good staff very helpful all-inclusive good food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

nice jewelry stores

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K. V.
Mn.
Jan 23, 2014

Great getaway

We had a great time just relaxing in the sun. The food was good and the service even better the staff was friendly and always trying to do what they could for you. My only complaint would be the vendors on the beach were pest.Over all a very nice hotel and we had a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargin don't pay what they ask

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brink Family
Necedah, WI
Dec 29, 2013

Family Fun

The pools were spectacular. We loved the value of the resort. Awesome foods especially at El Patio. Very glad we went all inclusive. It was the perfect family getaway. We traveled with our 5 year old and 18 month old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

A small extra tip goes a long way for impeccable service at the next meal. We had a lot of fun getting to know our waiters.

Back to menu Return to top