$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
144 reviews
Exceeded our expectations

We loved the country tour, the guide was informative, the food fantastic, and the cost was... See full review

  • Larry S.
  • Apr 19, 2015
Family Trip back again for 10th time

I have stayed at Hotel El Cid Castilla Many many times. I chose Hotel El Cid Castilla Club Elite... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Dec 29, 2014
Mazatlan hotel with pools, nearby spa and organized beach activities
The El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel allows guests to take advantage of the facilities of all four El Cid hotels in Mazatlan, as well as the nearby El Cid Country Club. The hotel's two freeform pools, comfortable rooms and suites, and high-quality dining provide a vacation that's fun and restorative. To completely unwind, guests walk along the beach or visit the nearby spa. The shopping, bars, restaurants and nightclubs of the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada) are within walking distance of the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with aerobics and wellness classes
  • Two connecting pools with swim-up bar
  • Full-service spa at El Cid Country Club
  • All-inclusive plans available
Rooms
Air conditioning, ceiling fans, tile floors, private balconies, coffee makers, satellite TV, in-room safes, purified water and Wi-Fi Internet access are provided for guests' comfort and convenience at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Each marble bathroom features a shower, bathtub, hair dryer and bath amenities. 
 
Choose from a wide range of room options at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Pool view, ocean view or oceanfront guest rooms include one king or two double beds. In two-bedroom suites, kitchenettes are provided for additional convenience. Each three-bedroom suite includes a kitchenette, Jacuzzi and sauna.
Dining
Start each day at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel with the breakfast buffet at El Campeador restaurant -- and come back in the evening when the restaurant transforms into La Pergola Dinner Theater, with different shows every night of the week.
 
For lunch, stop by the oceanfront La Alhambra or swim up to the Beach Club Snack Bar for a burger or quesadilla. The casual Castilla Lobby Bar overlooks the pool and offers plasma TVs and two pool tables. For a more romantic evening at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, make reservations at El Alcazar for elegant Italian cuisine.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (4.3 mi/7 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (4.4 mi/7 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,000 square feet of function space at El Cid Conference Center

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Rooms

Pool View Premium All Inclusive
-ROH accommodations at the El Cid Castilla with FREE upgrade to ocean view room and/or Suite, subject to availability upon registration at the hotel. FREE use of all facilities, 6 swimming pools, gym, kids club, etc., at any of the 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan. -Eat and drink at any of the El Cid Restaurants, (concessions not included) -Premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, fine steak cuts, etc., without surcharges. -Domestic & International drinks -ROOM SERVICE. -FREE water sports, kayaks, boogie boards -ACTIVI TIES PROGRAM, day time beach and pool activities -KIDS CLUB, ages 4-11 -FREE use of gym, sauna and steam room at the El Cid Country Club. -FREE shuttle bus available to take you back in our 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan -VIP check in -FREE unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at our El Cid Golf & Country Club, free transportation from hotel lobby. -Tee times reservations required. -FREE wireless connection in the lobby
Pool View Room - All Inclusive with Golf

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Ocean View Room

Each Ocean View room comes with one king or two double beds. Private balcony with ocean view. Located in the tower on floors 5-21. Decorated with bright colors and marble flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Table and two chairs. Separate sitting area. Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone. Ceiling fan. Window opens. Air conditioning. European Plan (no meals).

Pool View Room
Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.
Ocean ViewRoom- AI

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony with ocean view, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Elite Ocean View AI
In addition to the All Inclusive Features you get: accommodations with bathrobes. All meals and house brand drinks at the restaurants of all 4 hotels, including premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, and fine steak cuts.(Concessions not included.) Preferred seating in a la carte restaurants. VIP check in. Room Service (choice from special All Inclusive room service menu). Unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at El Cid Golf & Country Club (equipment not included). Caddy is mandatory and it's not included: one per each cart or one per each golfer walking the course. Additional rounds of golf and tennis reservations or the same day are accepted after finishing the first round of golf or hour of tennis. NOTE: All gratuities at the country club are optional and are not included. None of the package components are refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Alhambra (ocean front)
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily for lunch buffet.
La Pergola Theater
Dinner buffet or set Menu, show and entertainment included: Monday: Italian buffet, Tuesday: seafood buffet, Wednesday: Mexican buffet, Thursday: Oriental Buffet, Friday: Cajun buffet, Saturday: Mayan buffet and Sunday: Tex-Mex Buffet.
El Patio Argentinian
A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Granada Contry Club, opens 6 days a week, reservations required.
Club de Playa
Swim-up bar, A la carte lunch & Snacks.
Lobby Bar
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily from 3pm to 1am.
Sushi Bar
Located at the Country Club opens daily for dinner, reservations required.
La Cascada
Mexican gourmet restaurant, very nicely decorated, featuring the best of the Mexican cuisine located at the pool level, open from 7:00AM to 11:00PM.
El Alcazar
Italian A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, open 6 days a week, reservations required.
El Campeador
Breakfast buffet, located at the El Cid Castilla beach, open daily for breakfast buffet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 144
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kisse13
Business
Canada
Mar 14, 2014

What is Offered and what you get.

We booked Ocean front King size,in Sept,we rang and confirmed long distance in December,we got there in Feb when The Festival season was on and Guess what,"No Ocean Front King but we can Give you...." When Objected to ,the inevitable ,who did you speak to,we will try tomorrow ,do You a Special Favour... Tomorrow ,we open at 8,at 11 she is at lunch at 4pm ,Oh Ive had no success...when anger and a demand for the Manage became a tact,the room suddenly appeared. Why does one have to Queue Every Morning 8am to get a Booking for dining ala carte..why note do it on line? There is TOO MUCH NOISE here at the Pool,at the Foyer and everywhere...not All of us enjoy uninterrupted Music of any nature. The Tennis Courts are empty,the golf course ,well ..play alone..I went for both ,I had one game of golf. Why do you need Caddies,why can you not take your push cart and clubs,why do...yes we know "must make the buck",it will kill the goose eventually as the season traveller hears more and want value for money..would I go again and recommend this place.."Do I sound like I will?" Why do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican Ala Carte

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vacation required
Business
vancouver, british columbia
Jan 1, 2013

disappointing vacation

We had great plans to play tennis each morning only to find there was an additional fee for court usage even though they were empty. Apparently we weren't on "that" all inclusive plan. Fortunately, the gym was quite well supplied and maintained with decent equipment but really, who wants to exercise indoors when you are in Mexico - not me! Next plan, enjoy water aerobics before lunch. The lack of enthusiasm by leaders, lack of variety in routine and poor music selection ended that plan after two days, two days was enough. On a positive note, if you wanted to learn to count in Spanish to 8 forward and back, this was the place to be! Sorry to say the food at the Pergola buffet was food from purgatory and unfortunately, the outdoor lunch buffet was no better. Of course for an extra fee, you could purchase food at the restaurants pool side; there you could even get a can of soda rather than the watered down liquid fountain drinks. No surprise, this option was the "other" all inclusive plan. Really, what does "all inclusive" mean... at this resort there seemed to be an endless number of definitions! After day three a violent bout of food poisoning set the holiday on hold. a bathroom was needed close at hand, no venturing away from the facilities for a couple days. Bring your Imodium. Compared to the many other Mexican all inclusive vacations we have had over the years, and there have been many > 15, this was the least favorite. No plans to ever go back to El Cid or Mazatlan - two thumbs down for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If your "all inclusive" includes the Marina Restaurant, I would suggest taking this in rather than enduring purgatory at the Pergola!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Nov 1, 2009

too large for me

The location of the hotel was good. Very close to a lot of restaurants and shops. We did a lot of sitting by the pools. The main pool was not very relaxing though due to the loud thumping music and the screaming kids. The staff and maid at the hotel were very friendly and did a good job at always greeting us and treating us well. The hotel rooms seemed a bit outdated but in working condition. We had booked an ocean front view at the El Cid Castilla but when we checked in we got "upgraded" to the 8th floor of the El Moro with a kithenette (which had all of the cabinets locked up so we couldn't access anything) and a view of the pool. No use arguing though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The BEST mango margaritas in mazatlan were next door at Los Reales. The have good food as well. Definitely try the garlic octopus appetizer. Really nice owner and great staff. Another good place close by for watching sporting events is the Dugout. They make a good quesadilla.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bruisers mom
Business
minneapolis, MN
Feb 1, 2010

NOT a 4 star hotel by any stretch

we thought we booked a king, non smoking, pool view...we got a double bed, smoking room with a view of a stucco wall and a teensy sliver view of one pool. NOT what we anticipated. Hotel was old, food was awful and staff was not accommadating or friendly. Plus, the beds were ROCK hard!!! We booked this for us and another couple, it was really pretty bad and we will NOT return. The exception is the pool, which was heated, to our delight. Dont waste your time or money on the "el squid-castilla"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try eating at FAT FISH & don't miss dinner and views at Pancho's..excellent, also, great place for breakfast is Panama

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
awesomw couple
Business
Pasco, WA
Jun 30, 2014

awesome couple

The online reviews were much better than the hotel itself. I went to Mazatlan to visit family and the hotel would not allow my family to park in the parking lot, wait in the lobby for me, or access the ocean from the hotel or use any amenities unless I paid for them to stay in the room There should be a daily pass or something for visitors. They also charge for local phone calls and WiFi in which you have to pay for each device. I did get the all inclusive plan which turned out not to be worth it even if you drink allot. They were out of water half the time and you can only have a specific beer. The buffett taste and looks like prison food. If you want to eat better food you have to make reservations which are very limited for all-inclusive and who wants to have to be somewhere at a certain time on vacation. There are plenty of places to eat and drink down from the hotel. I did eat at the Italian restaurant which the service and food were very good. The pool service is hit and miss but if you tip them a little they will keep your drinks coming. The pool bar is only open from 12pm-5pm then there is only one bar with one line for the entire hotel which was very long from Thurs-sat night. It is very rare that you come across someone that speaks English. Visit the boardwalk and the further you get away from the hotel the better deals you get. Everything up for negotiation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Tony's Terranza Joe's Oyster Bar Plaza by cathedral has a square they shut down full of bars and restaurants Tons of bars & restaurants up boardwalk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The lovers
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 26, 2009

Disaster

The experience was Ok. I was under the impression that I had paid for a full service and it turn out that we had to pay for food and drinks separate. I would appretiate a reinversement. We were in Cabo San Lucas 5 weeks ago and for less money we got a better hotel and everything included. I really got a bad surpplise this time. I want an answer from you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom R
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Feb 27, 2012

Friendly Staff

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The hotel is older but is still pretty nice. Great location and extremely friendly staff. My room was on the 3rd floor but right on the beach. Beautiful sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lucien99
Business
MX
Mar 2, 2013

Good hotel

Excellent pools. Good food in restaurants but not the buffet style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Good if you get a discount

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
unsilentdreamer
Business
MN, USA
Mar 6, 2013

Average

-I advise to go all inclusive and tip the waiters or you will be ignored. -Take as many tours as you can, but keep your schedule open for changes. - Beds are super hard. Good Luck with that. - Shower was broken. Check room before you settle in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sajahi
Business
Chula Vista, CA
Nov 13, 2013

Great Location

Great Hotel Location, First time in Mazatlan, Nice clean room, Wont probably stay here anymore as I saw many more other placer for under $30 bucks a night and they looked fairly good in comparison to $90 a night. Oh well live and learn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top