$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
207 reviews
Quality service and fair prices

I have stayed at El Cid Castiila many times. The service at El Cid Castilla meet all my needs. I... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Dec 9, 2013
Great service

Club Elite Staff has great service at your needs. I would recomend El Cid Castilla Club Elite. The... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Nov 1, 2013
Mazatlan hotel with pools, nearby spa and organized beach activities
The El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel allows guests to take advantage of the facilities of all four El Cid hotels in Mazatlan, as well as the nearby El Cid Country Club. The hotel's two freeform pools, comfortable rooms and suites, and high-quality dining provide a vacation that's fun and restorative. To completely unwind, guests walk along the beach or visit the nearby spa. The shopping, bars, restaurants and nightclubs of the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada) are within walking distance of the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with aerobics and wellness classes
  • Two connecting pools with swim-up bar
  • Full-service spa at El Cid Country Club
  • All-inclusive plans available
Rooms
Air conditioning, ceiling fans, tile floors, private balconies, coffee makers, satellite TV, in-room safes, purified water and Wi-Fi Internet access are provided for guests' comfort and convenience at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Each marble bathroom features a shower, bathtub, hair dryer and bath amenities. 
 
Choose from a wide range of room options at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Pool view, ocean view or oceanfront guest rooms include one king or two double beds. In two-bedroom suites, kitchenettes are provided for additional convenience. Each three-bedroom suite includes a kitchenette, Jacuzzi and sauna.
Dining
Start each day at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel with the breakfast buffet at El Campeador restaurant -- and come back in the evening when the restaurant transforms into La Pergola Dinner Theater, with different shows every night of the week.
 
For lunch, stop by the oceanfront La Alhambra or swim up to the Beach Club Snack Bar for a burger or quesadilla. The casual Castilla Lobby Bar overlooks the pool and offers plasma TVs and two pool tables. For a more romantic evening at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, make reservations at El Alcazar for elegant Italian cuisine.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (4.3 mi/7 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (4.4 mi/7 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,000 square feet of function space at El Cid Conference Center

Hotel Map

23.2526 -106.4567
Area served
Mazatlan, Mexico
Nearby airports
Mazatlan International Airport
Area description
The Golden Zone in the main dining, shopping and entertainment district of Mazatlan, located within walking distance from most hotels like El Cid Resort. This area is privileged with its beautiful beaches and three islands located right in front of the golden sand beaches. This is the best area to enjoy the nightlife of Mazatlan.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Rooms

Pool View Premium All Inclusive
-ROH accommodations at the El Cid Castilla with FREE upgrade to ocean view room and/or Suite, subject to availability upon registration at the hotel. FREE use of all facilities, 6 swimming pools, gym, kids club, etc., at any of the 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan. -Eat and drink at any of the El Cid Restaurants, (concessions not included) -Premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, fine steak cuts, etc., without surcharges. -Domestic & International drinks -ROOM SERVICE. -FREE water sports, kayaks, boogie boards -ACTIVI TIES PROGRAM, day time beach and pool activities -KIDS CLUB, ages 4-11 -FREE use of gym, sauna and steam room at the El Cid Country Club. -FREE shuttle bus available to take you back in our 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan -VIP check in -FREE unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at our El Cid Golf & Country Club, free transportation from hotel lobby. -Tee times reservations required. -FREE wireless connection in the lobby
Pool View Room - All Inclusive with Golf

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Ocean View Room

Each Ocean View room comes with one king or two double beds. Private balcony with ocean view. Located in the tower on floors 5-21. Decorated with bright colors and marble flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Table and two chairs. Separate sitting area. Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone. Ceiling fan. Window opens. Air conditioning. European Plan (no meals).

Pool View Room
Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.
Ocean ViewRoom- AI

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony with ocean view, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Elite Ocean View AI
In addition to the All Inclusive Features you get: accommodations with bathrobes. All meals and house brand drinks at the restaurants of all 4 hotels, including premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, and fine steak cuts.(Concessions not included.) Preferred seating in a la carte restaurants. VIP check in. Room Service (choice from special All Inclusive room service menu). Unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at El Cid Golf & Country Club (equipment not included). Caddy is mandatory and it's not included: one per each cart or one per each golfer walking the course. Additional rounds of golf and tennis reservations or the same day are accepted after finishing the first round of golf or hour of tennis. NOTE: All gratuities at the country club are optional and are not included. None of the package components are refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Alhambra (ocean front)
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily for lunch buffet.
La Pergola Theater
Dinner buffet or set Menu, show and entertainment included: Monday: Italian buffet, Tuesday: seafood buffet, Wednesday: Mexican buffet, Thursday: Oriental Buffet, Friday: Cajun buffet, Saturday: Mayan buffet and Sunday: Tex-Mex Buffet.
El Patio Argentinian
A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Granada Contry Club, opens 6 days a week, reservations required.
Club de Playa
Swim-up bar, A la carte lunch & Snacks.
Lobby Bar
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily from 3pm to 1am.
Sushi Bar
Located at the Country Club opens daily for dinner, reservations required.
La Cascada
Mexican gourmet restaurant, very nicely decorated, featuring the best of the Mexican cuisine located at the pool level, open from 7:00AM to 11:00PM.
El Alcazar
Italian A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, open 6 days a week, reservations required.
El Campeador
Breakfast buffet, located at the El Cid Castilla beach, open daily for breakfast buffet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K. V.
Mn.
Jan 23, 2014

Great getaway

We had a great time just relaxing in the sun. The food was good and the service even better the staff was friendly and always trying to do what they could for you. My only complaint would be the vendors on the beach were pest.Over all a very nice hotel and we had a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargin don't pay what they ask

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ROSITAS REST RANCH
EDMONTON ALBERTA CANADA
Feb 21, 2010

WEATHER AND STAFF GREAT

GREAT STAFF,VERY FRIENDLY AND KNOWLEDGEABLE OF AREA .AND HOTEL PROPERTY

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

BE PREPARED IF YOU LEAVE THE HOTEL PROPERTYTO BE ABLE TO SAY NO MANY REALESTATE NAD TIME SHARE PROMOTERS

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Twin Cities, MN
Jan 26, 2011

One of My Favorites!

I go to Mazatlan to escape at least part of the cold Minnesota winter. This was my third year at this hotel. I love this hotel, especially with its all-inclusive option. The price is right -- fairly reasonable even for single travelers such as myself -- and there are enough restaurants on site everyone can find dishes they like. I have no serious complaints, other than the buffet food is never hot, but it definitely is plentiful. My room was exceptionally clean and the complex is well-maintained. Their Customer Service staff offers excellent service. Best of all, I felt safe there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend not buying from beach vendors. There are plenty of shops in the hotel and/or within a short walking distance to find whatever you need.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Garland, TX
Apr 25, 2010

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

We have vacationed in Mexico 22 times, however it was our first time in Mazatlan. Over time, we realized that all inclusive is the only way for us. Therefore, our only choices was El Cid or the Riu Emerald Bay. So glad we chose El Cid Castilla. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We took 2 great tours: the City Tour, which included the cliff divers, and the Copala Tour, which showed us 3 real Mexican villages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

By all means, see the cliff divers.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colorado Springs, CO
Jul 1, 2010

Much Needed Relaxation

I had not had a vacation in several years and this break was much needed. Time seemed to slow down for me. As soon as we got to the hotel we were offered a cool, refreshing drink. Not sure what it was called, but it tasted great on the hot day. We asked for a king bed room since it was just the two of us and were quickly upgraded to the tower. We had the pleasure of enjoying a beautiful sunset from the balcony our first night. All-Inclusive (AI) is the way to go!!!!!! The staff goes out of their way to serve you. Just ask and they will get it for you. With the AI, we had a great choice of places to eat. We took advantage of the Argentinian Grill and Italian (Alcazar) restaurants at night and Al Cascada for breakfast and lunch. If we need to get something quick at lunch, we just went to the buffet at the pool. It is a 3-4 star hotel so expect that in the rooms. One morning we did not have any hot water first thing but it eventually returned. Though they say your tip is included in the AI package, tip anyways. The servers appreciate it and will take care of you. I even tipped housekeeping and would come back to the room with swan shaped towels and sometimes a candy bar. My only complaint would have to be the vendors on the beach that seemed to be everywhere and a little annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Blue Agave tour and the Mazatlan City tour. Talk to Pronatours, they are great!!!!

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester,mn
Feb 4, 2011

Great price

Great food!!! Staff was helpful. We enjoyed our time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to old town and shop the market prices are less.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katiejoparker
minneapolis, MN
Feb 23, 2011

El Cid Castilla Beach All Inclusiv

Location of hotel is great. Service of entire staff from bellman, to waiters, to customer service was great. REALLY disappointed we couldn't use a hot tub. The massages we got were very poor but also were cheap, $45. Room was okay. The bed quality was poor and the walls were so thin we could hear our next rooms entire conversation as well as the room on the other side of us was getting work done and there was pounding on the walls. Luckily we didn't sleep in too many mornings. Weather was good. Food quality for the Castilla inclusive guests was poor. Drinks were okay but would have liked to have been able to order beer by the bottles/cans. Sunset tour was great, good value. Zipline/Tequila tour was fun. Wanted to go to Stone Island but was canceled due to fog, heard from other guests that it was a lot of fun and well worth it. We felt safe and overall the vacation was a 7 out of 10. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

As a tourist, the waiters at the disco's will try to overprice drinks, knowing you will pay it anyway. Don't pay more than 160 pesos for a bucket of beer, if that's what they say they charge, ask for another waiter. Be strong or you can get taken advantage of. Go to a disco with other tourists you meet, the more of you there are the more fun and less awkward it can be in a sea of locals.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deb R
el cid castilla beach
Feb 18, 2014

great vacation

good value good staff very helpful all-inclusive good food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

nice jewelry stores

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodland, Ca
Mar 16, 2010

Great times

We had quiet walks on the beach, and enjoyed some incredible night life. Great time. We'll be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

enjoy the local eateries and casinos

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strat
Meridian, Idaho
Oct 8, 2009

Great place to vacation

The hotel, pool, and grounds were very nice. The staff was friendly, and the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Unless you are a big drinker, I would not do the all-inclusive option. First of all, all-inclusive is a misnomer at this hotel, since it is not really all-inclusive. They limit you on what foods, restaurants, and specialty drinks are included in their all-inclusive option. We did not do the all-inclusive option, but some of the people we were with did. For the folks who drank a lot it was well worth it. For the folks who did not drink it was pretty frustrating. There were only certain restaurants and menu items included in the "all-inclusive".

Back to menu Return to top