$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
206 reviews
Quality service and fair prices

I have stayed at El Cid Castiila many times. The service at El Cid Castilla meet all my needs. I... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Dec 9, 2013
Great service

Club Elite Staff has great service at your needs. I would recomend El Cid Castilla Club Elite. The... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Nov 1, 2013
Mazatlan hotel with pools, nearby spa and organized beach activities
The El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel allows guests to take advantage of the facilities of all four El Cid hotels in Mazatlan, as well as the nearby El Cid Country Club. The hotel's two freeform pools, comfortable rooms and suites, and high-quality dining provide a vacation that's fun and restorative. To completely unwind, guests walk along the beach or visit the nearby spa. The shopping, bars, restaurants and nightclubs of the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada) are within walking distance of the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with aerobics and wellness classes
  • Two connecting pools with swim-up bar
  • Full-service spa at El Cid Country Club
  • All-inclusive plans available
Rooms
Air conditioning, ceiling fans, tile floors, private balconies, coffee makers, satellite TV, in-room safes, purified water and Wi-Fi Internet access are provided for guests' comfort and convenience at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Each marble bathroom features a shower, bathtub, hair dryer and bath amenities. 
 
Choose from a wide range of room options at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Pool view, ocean view or oceanfront guest rooms include one king or two double beds. In two-bedroom suites, kitchenettes are provided for additional convenience. Each three-bedroom suite includes a kitchenette, Jacuzzi and sauna.
Dining
Start each day at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel with the breakfast buffet at El Campeador restaurant -- and come back in the evening when the restaurant transforms into La Pergola Dinner Theater, with different shows every night of the week.
 
For lunch, stop by the oceanfront La Alhambra or swim up to the Beach Club Snack Bar for a burger or quesadilla. The casual Castilla Lobby Bar overlooks the pool and offers plasma TVs and two pool tables. For a more romantic evening at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, make reservations at El Alcazar for elegant Italian cuisine.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (4.3 mi/7 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (4.4 mi/7 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,000 square feet of function space at El Cid Conference Center

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Rooms

Pool View Premium All Inclusive
-ROH accommodations at the El Cid Castilla with FREE upgrade to ocean view room and/or Suite, subject to availability upon registration at the hotel. FREE use of all facilities, 6 swimming pools, gym, kids club, etc., at any of the 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan. -Eat and drink at any of the El Cid Restaurants, (concessions not included) -Premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, fine steak cuts, etc., without surcharges. -Domestic & International drinks -ROOM SERVICE. -FREE water sports, kayaks, boogie boards -ACTIVI TIES PROGRAM, day time beach and pool activities -KIDS CLUB, ages 4-11 -FREE use of gym, sauna and steam room at the El Cid Country Club. -FREE shuttle bus available to take you back in our 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan -VIP check in -FREE unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at our El Cid Golf & Country Club, free transportation from hotel lobby. -Tee times reservations required. -FREE wireless connection in the lobby
Pool View Room - All Inclusive with Golf

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Ocean View Room

Each Ocean View room comes with one king or two double beds. Private balcony with ocean view. Located in the tower on floors 5-21. Decorated with bright colors and marble flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Table and two chairs. Separate sitting area. Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone. Ceiling fan. Window opens. Air conditioning. European Plan (no meals).

Pool View Room
Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.
Ocean ViewRoom- AI

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony with ocean view, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Elite Ocean View AI
In addition to the All Inclusive Features you get: accommodations with bathrobes. All meals and house brand drinks at the restaurants of all 4 hotels, including premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, and fine steak cuts.(Concessions not included.) Preferred seating in a la carte restaurants. VIP check in. Room Service (choice from special All Inclusive room service menu). Unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at El Cid Golf & Country Club (equipment not included). Caddy is mandatory and it's not included: one per each cart or one per each golfer walking the course. Additional rounds of golf and tennis reservations or the same day are accepted after finishing the first round of golf or hour of tennis. NOTE: All gratuities at the country club are optional and are not included. None of the package components are refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

23.2526 -106.4567
Area served
Mazatlan, Mexico
Nearby airports
Mazatlan International Airport
Area description
The Golden Zone in the main dining, shopping and entertainment district of Mazatlan, located within walking distance from most hotels like El Cid Resort. This area is privileged with its beautiful beaches and three islands located right in front of the golden sand beaches. This is the best area to enjoy the nightlife of Mazatlan.

Dining

La Alhambra (ocean front)
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily for lunch buffet.
La Pergola Theater
Dinner buffet or set Menu, show and entertainment included: Monday: Italian buffet, Tuesday: seafood buffet, Wednesday: Mexican buffet, Thursday: Oriental Buffet, Friday: Cajun buffet, Saturday: Mayan buffet and Sunday: Tex-Mex Buffet.
El Patio Argentinian
A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Granada Contry Club, opens 6 days a week, reservations required.
Club de Playa
Swim-up bar, A la carte lunch & Snacks.
Lobby Bar
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily from 3pm to 1am.
Sushi Bar
Located at the Country Club opens daily for dinner, reservations required.
La Cascada
Mexican gourmet restaurant, very nicely decorated, featuring the best of the Mexican cuisine located at the pool level, open from 7:00AM to 11:00PM.
El Alcazar
Italian A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, open 6 days a week, reservations required.
El Campeador
Breakfast buffet, located at the El Cid Castilla beach, open daily for breakfast buffet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lucien99
MX
Mar 2, 2013

Good hotel

Excellent pools. Good food in restaurants but not the buffet style.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Good if you get a discount

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monica G.
Ciudad Juárez, Chihuahua, Mexico
Aug 29, 2011

Trip Experience

I have been in El Cid Castilla Hotel (Mazatlan) this year; the bedrooms and facilities are good for the price and hotel location. All bedrooms are tottaly clean on time The amenities are not so atractive I have paid All Inclusive but it is not worth it. The open bar is very regular, not much to choose, and food is not atractive at all, is always the same scramble eggs, french fries, burgers and spagetti.. I will recommend this hotel but not the All inclusive, do not waste your money. You can save much money if choose European Plan, there are a lot of restaurants to eat around the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Ralo
monterrey
Jul 30, 2012

Family getaway

The city is beautiful with friendly people, so if this weather is very hot but out of a cold beer everything was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimmy Rimmy
USA
Feb 24, 2013

OK Hotel, nothing special here

I have been coming to Mazatlan for many many years staying at most of the hotels in the golden zone. I had heard so much about El CID that I decided to give it a try. Check in was a breeze, for some reason I got the VIP service. After check in I had to go and see another lady who was supposed to explain more about the resort etc. Instead she was very pushy in trying to get me to go and see the Marina hotel and get a free breakfast (which really means they want to try and sell you a timeshare)., but I had no interest. She was very insistent about this and the only way I could get her to stop was to be be rude to her. This wasn't a good start to the vacation. The hotel was average at best. Nothing really stood out to give me the "wow factor". Service was acceptable, if at some times very slow in the pool area. The food was slightly less than average quality and after a couple of days of all inclusive food, I went to other restaurants in the golden zone to seek a better quality of cuisine. The system of making reservations for the restuarants was not the most user friendly and after several attempts to secure a table at the argentinian restaurant, I finally gave up. The pool was probably the best feature of the hotel, it was heated so there was no cringing when entering like at most of the other hotels in Mazatlan at this time of year. My expectations were high after I had read so many good reviews, but overall it was just an average experience, nothing really special. I would probably stay here again at some point in the future if there was nothing available at my other favorite hotels in Mazatlan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus, it is much cheaper than the pulmonias.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous135
Business
Colorado
Apr 13, 2014

Depends what you're looking for... Work? Or pleasure?

CONS: I went to the cid for a week long work conference. So even though I would have liked to not work at all, I did. I decided to pay the $25 USD for the use of wireless internet (only for one mobile device) and it was awful. It did not work in the hotel room or even in the lobby at any time during the day. The conference rooms were all out of date and amenities in them were almost nonexistant. Several of the rooms smelled like mildew. Activities: I wanted to spend some time at the beach doing fun stuff. There were often not enough boogie boards or kayaks to accommadate the many people that surely want to use them. For the activites the hotel charges for, go 50 feet down the beach and get them cheaper. The hotel offers the island tours for about $50 non-negotiable. If you go out on the beach you can get that from the guy selling it next to the hotel, for around 2 for $50. Also, beware of the people pushing for time share sales. The food: There were plenty of locations at the resort open all day long, but they all basically the same food. If you don't mind not having authentic mexican food or really any food that tastes like anything, then you might like the food. However, with so many choices, one would think they could mix it up a little. Even the "sushi" and "Italian" food was very bland. Location: Since this was a work trip, it was paid for, but I can definitely say that if I had paid for the all-inclusive option myself, I would've been mad. The hotel is not close to the bulk of Mazatlan's shops or food, so going out for every meal was hardly an option. So your choices are either pay all inclusive and eat pretty bad food or pay ridiculous prices for every meal The price for the worst, most crowded, breakfast buffet was about $20 USD/person and went up for lunch and dinner. Pros: The rooms were clean, the hotel seemed to be very safe, the staff was friendly and helpful, they happily refunded the money for the internet that didn't work. the staff spoke either surprisingly good english or good enough to get by. The service at the resturants and on the beach was awesome. The constant flow of drinks was fun. Overall, for some, the service and views might make up for the food, activities, and internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mguel
Business
Canada
Jun 3, 2009

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Good for bussiness Good Busiiness center and internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
john the solo traveler
mn
Mar 14, 2013

Not bad

If you like kids this is the place its a family resort Im used to Adults only resorts nice view from the tower I travel alone if your a solo traveler get out of the resort and walk anyware on central ave it will help lot's of good food!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to marys or any ware on central you will find good food!

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canfield, Ohio
Feb 16, 2011

[...]

[...]El Cid was close to everything and really enjoyable except that it was so cold there in the evenings and I called to ask how I should put the heat on and they said they had no heat; therefore, my husband and I both got sick. I guess the weather was unusual and we just happen to be the people who had bad luck. Our travel back home was a disaster but this didn't have anything to do with you but with Continental. I would book again at this hotel if the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Location is ideal to shopping.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
OC, CA
Jul 6, 2011

El Cid Mazatlan

We did a lot of pool lounging and beach. Bad: too many kids running and splashing, not ideal if you are a couple who doesnt have kids... Pool food and happy hour was great! We never ate at hotel due to $$$, but there are many restaurants walking distance to hotel. We went to Oyster bar which was pretty much a hang out spot on beach, with only $6 cover that included 2 beers so a great deal. Pulmonias are the best way to get around or the local bus if you dont mind taking a bit longer to get there. Must visit the cathedral, stone island and the cliff diving site. Oh and airport only 30 min away $30 cabride! Overall enjoyed my stay at hotel, next time we will do an adult exclusive...love kids but not all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast Ricos is the best, for live music and hang out, Gus & Gus.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Feb 6, 2011

good value golf vacation

3.5 star hotel that's getting a bit dated. We've been there three times now and the golf package is a great value. The all-inclusive food is unremarkable if not even a bit subpar, but isn't all buffet food? The "Ocean elite" food options are significantly better but still a bit lacking. The service is wonderful and attentive especially if you tip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top