$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
132 reviews
I stayed another week.. 100%

I was convinced to stay another week. I was very satisfied with the service and my room. My room... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Nov 26, 2014
I'LL BE BACK !

Check in was flawless. Took only about 15 mn. Marisela Moran and her crew at the "Club Elite" had... See full review

  • G.MAN
  • Nov 18, 2014
Mazatlan hotel with pools, nearby spa and organized beach activities
The El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel allows guests to take advantage of the facilities of all four El Cid hotels in Mazatlan, as well as the nearby El Cid Country Club. The hotel's two freeform pools, comfortable rooms and suites, and high-quality dining provide a vacation that's fun and restorative. To completely unwind, guests walk along the beach or visit the nearby spa. The shopping, bars, restaurants and nightclubs of the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada) are within walking distance of the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with aerobics and wellness classes
  • Two connecting pools with swim-up bar
  • Full-service spa at El Cid Country Club
  • All-inclusive plans available
Rooms
Air conditioning, ceiling fans, tile floors, private balconies, coffee makers, satellite TV, in-room safes, purified water and Wi-Fi Internet access are provided for guests' comfort and convenience at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Each marble bathroom features a shower, bathtub, hair dryer and bath amenities. 
 
Choose from a wide range of room options at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Pool view, ocean view or oceanfront guest rooms include one king or two double beds. In two-bedroom suites, kitchenettes are provided for additional convenience. Each three-bedroom suite includes a kitchenette, Jacuzzi and sauna.
Dining
Start each day at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel with the breakfast buffet at El Campeador restaurant -- and come back in the evening when the restaurant transforms into La Pergola Dinner Theater, with different shows every night of the week.
 
For lunch, stop by the oceanfront La Alhambra or swim up to the Beach Club Snack Bar for a burger or quesadilla. The casual Castilla Lobby Bar overlooks the pool and offers plasma TVs and two pool tables. For a more romantic evening at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, make reservations at El Alcazar for elegant Italian cuisine.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (4.3 mi/7 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (4.4 mi/7 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,000 square feet of function space at El Cid Conference Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Rooms

Elite Ocean View AI
In addition to the All Inclusive Features you get: accommodations with bathrobes. All meals and house brand drinks at the restaurants of all 4 hotels, including premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, and fine steak cuts.(Concessions not included.) Preferred seating in a la carte restaurants. VIP check in. Room Service (choice from special All Inclusive room service menu). Unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at El Cid Golf & Country Club (equipment not included). Caddy is mandatory and it's not included: one per each cart or one per each golfer walking the course. Additional rounds of golf and tennis reservations or the same day are accepted after finishing the first round of golf or hour of tennis. NOTE: All gratuities at the country club are optional and are not included. None of the package components are refundable.
Pool View Premium All Inclusive
-ROH accommodations at the El Cid Castilla with FREE upgrade to ocean view room and/or Suite, subject to availability upon registration at the hotel. FREE use of all facilities, 6 swimming pools, gym, kids club, etc., at any of the 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan. -Eat and drink at any of the El Cid Restaurants, (concessions not included) -Premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, fine steak cuts, etc., without surcharges. -Domestic & International drinks -ROOM SERVICE. -FREE water sports, kayaks, boogie boards -ACTIVI TIES PROGRAM, day time beach and pool activities -KIDS CLUB, ages 4-11 -FREE use of gym, sauna and steam room at the El Cid Country Club. -FREE shuttle bus available to take you back in our 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan -VIP check in -FREE unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at our El Cid Golf & Country Club, free transportation from hotel lobby. -Tee times reservations required. -FREE wireless connection in the lobby
Pool View Room - All Inclusive with Golf

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Ocean View Room

Each Ocean View room comes with one king or two double beds. Private balcony with ocean view. Located in the tower on floors 5-21. Decorated with bright colors and marble flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Table and two chairs. Separate sitting area. Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone. Ceiling fan. Window opens. Air conditioning. European Plan (no meals).

Pool View Room
Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.
Ocean ViewRoom- AI

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony with ocean view, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Alhambra (ocean front)
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily for lunch buffet.
La Pergola Theater
Dinner buffet or set Menu, show and entertainment included: Monday: Italian buffet, Tuesday: seafood buffet, Wednesday: Mexican buffet, Thursday: Oriental Buffet, Friday: Cajun buffet, Saturday: Mayan buffet and Sunday: Tex-Mex Buffet.
El Patio Argentinian
A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Granada Contry Club, opens 6 days a week, reservations required.
Club de Playa
Swim-up bar, A la carte lunch & Snacks.
Lobby Bar
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily from 3pm to 1am.
Sushi Bar
Located at the Country Club opens daily for dinner, reservations required.
La Cascada
Mexican gourmet restaurant, very nicely decorated, featuring the best of the Mexican cuisine located at the pool level, open from 7:00AM to 11:00PM.
El Alcazar
Italian A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, open 6 days a week, reservations required.
El Campeador
Breakfast buffet, located at the El Cid Castilla beach, open daily for breakfast buffet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scottt
los angeles, california
Apr 9, 2012

EL CID MAZATLAN

The hotel was excelent in every way. They allowed us to use the V.I.P. check-in and also all the services of the Elite club lounge which was totally unexpected given the incredibly inexpensive price that was given to us on the all-inclusive package. The service was unbelievable as the staff was so friendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Chavo
Business
Windsor, Canada
Jul 7, 2013

Do not try

Over promised every category. Purchased all inclusuve, then got charged an additional $2,000 for all inclusuve, They charged extra for playing Tennis. All inclusive food did not have variety. STAY AWAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Denver, CO.
Jul 19, 2011

El Cid Castilla Mazatlan

The hotel customer service was good, however the facilities themselves were not the best. The rooms were average and good if you are looking to just have a place to lay, but if you are looking for a rest and relaxation, they were not the best. The elevators stopped working after a rainstorm the night before and caused a huge inconvenience as we were checking out the same day and carrying luggage. One good thing is the Senor Frogs is right under this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you go visit La Isla de la Roca, do some kayaking, banana boats or boogie boarding! And definitely do not miss out on the parasailing, preferrably do it the last day so you are able to recognize all the different places you've been to from far up in the air :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pink twin
Business
Southern California
Jul 25, 2012

warning: Bed Bugs and Bad Service!

I booked two rooms at the El Cid for 6 days. I took the time to call ahead of time to make sure a baby crib, refrigerator would be available and the two rooms were to be connected because we had two kids in the rooms. We checked in and ask Marisela ( I think that was her name) to make sure we had everything. She said Yes! Well, we got the rooms on the 9th floor and upon opening the door. We found none of our request were fulfilled. Our party with kids then had to go downstairs and after an hour of arguing with the lady they finally moved us. Guess what we got the crib and a refrigerator at no extra cost. They even told me that they were giving me other people rooms. ( That is not my problem, i booked the rooms 6 weeks in advance). If you book here make sure you get everything you request at no extra cost. Other wise, there are other nicer resorts without bed bugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vacation required
Business
vancouver, british columbia
Jan 1, 2013

disappointing vacation

We had great plans to play tennis each morning only to find there was an additional fee for court usage even though they were empty. Apparently we weren't on "that" all inclusive plan. Fortunately, the gym was quite well supplied and maintained with decent equipment but really, who wants to exercise indoors when you are in Mexico - not me! Next plan, enjoy water aerobics before lunch. The lack of enthusiasm by leaders, lack of variety in routine and poor music selection ended that plan after two days, two days was enough. On a positive note, if you wanted to learn to count in Spanish to 8 forward and back, this was the place to be! Sorry to say the food at the Pergola buffet was food from purgatory and unfortunately, the outdoor lunch buffet was no better. Of course for an extra fee, you could purchase food at the restaurants pool side; there you could even get a can of soda rather than the watered down liquid fountain drinks. No surprise, this option was the "other" all inclusive plan. Really, what does "all inclusive" mean... at this resort there seemed to be an endless number of definitions! After day three a violent bout of food poisoning set the holiday on hold. a bathroom was needed close at hand, no venturing away from the facilities for a couple days. Bring your Imodium. Compared to the many other Mexican all inclusive vacations we have had over the years, and there have been many > 15, this was the least favorite. No plans to ever go back to El Cid or Mazatlan - two thumbs down for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If your "all inclusive" includes the Marina Restaurant, I would suggest taking this in rather than enduring purgatory at the Pergola!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wmillan
Business
mcallen, texas
Jul 30, 2013

very disapointed

I stayed at El Cid Castilla in July for 4 nights with my family. All infrastructures are little outdated but fully functional and in a very good location right in the middle of everything and close to everything that Mazatlan has to offer. BUT WILL NEVER GO BACK TO EL CID Service is NOT good. LOUD.-They gave me a Room with a pool view; But with a LOUD speaker right outside my balcony. During the day the Entertainer was using it and we were not able to take a NAP during the day. We complained about it 3 times. But they never did anything! DECEPTION.-First 2 days they were Bugging me over the phone to OFFER ME, “FREE GIFTS” . All inclusive treatment for 24 hrs, Free Breakfast or Lunch.- They said that the purpose was to tour me throught all the El Cid installations, like La Marina & Golf club. So that next time I book my vacations I consider the All inclusive option. LIES and MORE LIES!! We decided to go. And the lunch was PITIFUL. If I knew. I would’ve gone to a nicer place with what I really wanted to lunch. Its was a waste of time. While having breakfast we had for the first 10 minutes a guy trying to sell to us a Membership for el Cid. Its when I realized he was trying to sell to me a TIME SHARE!!! He was claiming that famous Mexican singers and actors have stayed there. Seriously WHO CARES!!?? Not me!! After lunch. They took us to a room with computers to show us all the TimeShares PAYMENT options. Wait a minute!! Who said I wanted to buy one, and who said I wanted to BUY something that I HAVENT SEEN!!?? They took straight to the numbers instead of showing me the place. It really made me think. 1. These Guys LIED to me so I can come here! With “free gifts” 2. They gave a pathetic “free lunch” they didn’t even cared to serve something worthy 3. They don’t show you physically what they want to sell 4. They desperately want you to choose and sign right away 5. They even charge for wireless internet ALL OVER THE PLACE. Not 1 single free hotspot Is when I thought that we shouldn’t be there. They gave us the free gifts, but they were not worth it because of the waste of time. I’d rather spend those hours I spent with them on the beach with my family. I complained and the public relations girls they were ashamed, and treated us great. But is not their fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kisse13
Business
Canada
Mar 14, 2014

What is Offered and what you get.

We booked Ocean front King size,in Sept,we rang and confirmed long distance in December,we got there in Feb when The Festival season was on and Guess what,"No Ocean Front King but we can Give you...." When Objected to ,the inevitable ,who did you speak to,we will try tomorrow ,do You a Special Favour... Tomorrow ,we open at 8,at 11 she is at lunch at 4pm ,Oh Ive had no success...when anger and a demand for the Manage became a tact,the room suddenly appeared. Why does one have to Queue Every Morning 8am to get a Booking for dining ala carte..why note do it on line? There is TOO MUCH NOISE here at the Pool,at the Foyer and everywhere...not All of us enjoy uninterrupted Music of any nature. The Tennis Courts are empty,the golf course ,well ..play alone..I went for both ,I had one game of golf. Why do you need Caddies,why can you not take your push cart and clubs,why do...yes we know "must make the buck",it will kill the goose eventually as the season traveller hears more and want value for money..would I go again and recommend this place.."Do I sound like I will?" Why do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican Ala Carte

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Home now frozen
Business
Wi.
Mar 17, 2014

El cid castilla

We have stayed at el cid for several years. (8 plus)For several years we went all inclusive and were disappointed in the service. This year we went non inclusive and had friends that were all inclusive. The waiters would serve me strong drinks with fruit garnish and my friends would get watered down drinks only when I ordered. The waiters would forget to bring back change even though I would tip them every time they would. The waters would avoid them as much as they could and would not bring their drinks when I would get mine! The restaurants were all over priced as well as caned beverages and drinks. It was a nice place to stay for us because we do eat at the many nice restaurants and the local food was great. The management needs to take charge of the service! There were many all inclusive people complaining about the service!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Fish north of hotel has awesome rib eye and tonys on the beach has excellent breakfasts. There are many more to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sparks, Nevada
Apr 17, 2011

Won't be back!

The pool area on the Moro side was beautiful. The pool was too chilly for me to get in, I would have liked it heated. My daughter loved the slides. She of course loved the swim-up bar. The palapas and beach chairs on the beach were great. I did not like how the security staff at the hotel just let the vendors cross the rope and bug you. Why have a rope if you are not going to enforce any rules. The bar service by the pool was horrible. Since I was not a member, I didn't get waited on very often. They would look at my wrist and keep walking after noticing I was not a member. The staff overall was not friendly whether I was at the pool, in the restaurants, or walking in the hallways. The wait staff expected tips at all times. I am not one to tip at an all-inclusive when it says all the gratuities are inlcuded in my price. The restaurants did not have any kids menus. They should add this to their restaurants. The buffet was not good at all. The food was not replenished often and my daughter had to wait a long time and go back to see if they had replenished food. The desserts were never replenished and the ice cream machine was broken numerous times. They should have the ice cream machine working at all times and should have ice cream available during the daytime for the children. The room was okay. I was traveling with my daughter so it was okay, but it says the room sleeps 4 and it would have been way too small for my family of four had we of all been there. The bed mattress sat on a concrete slab, (there was no boxspring) so the bed was not that comfortable. I was not impressed the for money that I paid. I have stayed at numerous all-inclusive resorts and have been treated much better. I will not be back and I don't recommend going to this hotel. It was a huge dissapointment for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, OR
Nov 1, 2009

too large for me

The location of the hotel was good. Very close to a lot of restaurants and shops. We did a lot of sitting by the pools. The main pool was not very relaxing though due to the loud thumping music and the screaming kids. The staff and maid at the hotel were very friendly and did a good job at always greeting us and treating us well. The hotel rooms seemed a bit outdated but in working condition. We had booked an ocean front view at the El Cid Castilla but when we checked in we got "upgraded" to the 8th floor of the El Moro with a kithenette (which had all of the cabinets locked up so we couldn't access anything) and a view of the pool. No use arguing though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The BEST mango margaritas in mazatlan were next door at Los Reales. The have good food as well. Definitely try the garlic octopus appetizer. Really nice owner and great staff. Another good place close by for watching sporting events is the Dugout. They make a good quesadilla.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ca
Oct 26, 2009

fair

some what fair it seems that because you book thru the internet and got a good rate they treat you difrent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top