$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
206 reviews
Quality service and fair prices

I have stayed at El Cid Castiila many times. The service at El Cid Castilla meet all my needs. I... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Dec 9, 2013
Great service

Club Elite Staff has great service at your needs. I would recomend El Cid Castilla Club Elite. The... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Nov 1, 2013
Mazatlan hotel with pools, nearby spa and organized beach activities
The El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel allows guests to take advantage of the facilities of all four El Cid hotels in Mazatlan, as well as the nearby El Cid Country Club. The hotel's two freeform pools, comfortable rooms and suites, and high-quality dining provide a vacation that's fun and restorative. To completely unwind, guests walk along the beach or visit the nearby spa. The shopping, bars, restaurants and nightclubs of the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada) are within walking distance of the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with aerobics and wellness classes
  • Two connecting pools with swim-up bar
  • Full-service spa at El Cid Country Club
  • All-inclusive plans available
Rooms
Air conditioning, ceiling fans, tile floors, private balconies, coffee makers, satellite TV, in-room safes, purified water and Wi-Fi Internet access are provided for guests' comfort and convenience at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Each marble bathroom features a shower, bathtub, hair dryer and bath amenities. 
 
Choose from a wide range of room options at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Pool view, ocean view or oceanfront guest rooms include one king or two double beds. In two-bedroom suites, kitchenettes are provided for additional convenience. Each three-bedroom suite includes a kitchenette, Jacuzzi and sauna.
Dining
Start each day at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel with the breakfast buffet at El Campeador restaurant -- and come back in the evening when the restaurant transforms into La Pergola Dinner Theater, with different shows every night of the week.
 
For lunch, stop by the oceanfront La Alhambra or swim up to the Beach Club Snack Bar for a burger or quesadilla. The casual Castilla Lobby Bar overlooks the pool and offers plasma TVs and two pool tables. For a more romantic evening at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, make reservations at El Alcazar for elegant Italian cuisine.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (4.3 mi/7 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (4.4 mi/7 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,000 square feet of function space at El Cid Conference Center

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Rooms

Pool View Premium All Inclusive
-ROH accommodations at the El Cid Castilla with FREE upgrade to ocean view room and/or Suite, subject to availability upon registration at the hotel. FREE use of all facilities, 6 swimming pools, gym, kids club, etc., at any of the 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan. -Eat and drink at any of the El Cid Restaurants, (concessions not included) -Premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, fine steak cuts, etc., without surcharges. -Domestic & International drinks -ROOM SERVICE. -FREE water sports, kayaks, boogie boards -ACTIVI TIES PROGRAM, day time beach and pool activities -KIDS CLUB, ages 4-11 -FREE use of gym, sauna and steam room at the El Cid Country Club. -FREE shuttle bus available to take you back in our 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan -VIP check in -FREE unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at our El Cid Golf & Country Club, free transportation from hotel lobby. -Tee times reservations required. -FREE wireless connection in the lobby
Pool View Room - All Inclusive with Golf

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Ocean View Room

Each Ocean View room comes with one king or two double beds. Private balcony with ocean view. Located in the tower on floors 5-21. Decorated with bright colors and marble flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Table and two chairs. Separate sitting area. Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone. Ceiling fan. Window opens. Air conditioning. European Plan (no meals).

Pool View Room
Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.
Ocean ViewRoom- AI

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony with ocean view, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Elite Ocean View AI
In addition to the All Inclusive Features you get: accommodations with bathrobes. All meals and house brand drinks at the restaurants of all 4 hotels, including premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, and fine steak cuts.(Concessions not included.) Preferred seating in a la carte restaurants. VIP check in. Room Service (choice from special All Inclusive room service menu). Unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at El Cid Golf & Country Club (equipment not included). Caddy is mandatory and it's not included: one per each cart or one per each golfer walking the course. Additional rounds of golf and tennis reservations or the same day are accepted after finishing the first round of golf or hour of tennis. NOTE: All gratuities at the country club are optional and are not included. None of the package components are refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

23.2526 -106.4567
Area served
Mazatlan, Mexico
Nearby airports
Mazatlan International Airport
Area description
The Golden Zone in the main dining, shopping and entertainment district of Mazatlan, located within walking distance from most hotels like El Cid Resort. This area is privileged with its beautiful beaches and three islands located right in front of the golden sand beaches. This is the best area to enjoy the nightlife of Mazatlan.

Dining

La Alhambra (ocean front)
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily for lunch buffet.
La Pergola Theater
Dinner buffet or set Menu, show and entertainment included: Monday: Italian buffet, Tuesday: seafood buffet, Wednesday: Mexican buffet, Thursday: Oriental Buffet, Friday: Cajun buffet, Saturday: Mayan buffet and Sunday: Tex-Mex Buffet.
El Patio Argentinian
A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Granada Contry Club, opens 6 days a week, reservations required.
Club de Playa
Swim-up bar, A la carte lunch & Snacks.
Lobby Bar
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily from 3pm to 1am.
Sushi Bar
Located at the Country Club opens daily for dinner, reservations required.
La Cascada
Mexican gourmet restaurant, very nicely decorated, featuring the best of the Mexican cuisine located at the pool level, open from 7:00AM to 11:00PM.
El Alcazar
Italian A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, open 6 days a week, reservations required.
El Campeador
Breakfast buffet, located at the El Cid Castilla beach, open daily for breakfast buffet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (206)

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
206 out of 206
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
El Chavo
Windsor, Canada
Jul 7, 2013

Do not try

Over promised every category. Purchased all inclusuve, then got charged an additional $2,000 for all inclusuve, They charged extra for playing Tennis. All inclusive food did not have variety. STAY AWAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Home now frozen
Wi.
Mar 17, 2014

El cid castilla

We have stayed at el cid for several years. (8 plus)For several years we went all inclusive and were disappointed in the service. This year we went non inclusive and had friends that were all inclusive. The waiters would serve me strong drinks with fruit garnish and my friends would get watered down drinks only when I ordered. The waiters would forget to bring back change even though I would tip them every time they would. The waters would avoid them as much as they could and would not bring their drinks when I would get mine! The restaurants were all over priced as well as caned beverages and drinks. It was a nice place to stay for us because we do eat at the many nice restaurants and the local food was great. The management needs to take charge of the service! There were many all inclusive people complaining about the service!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Fish north of hotel has awesome rib eye and tonys on the beach has excellent breakfasts. There are many more to.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Nov 1, 2009

too large for me

The location of the hotel was good. Very close to a lot of restaurants and shops. We did a lot of sitting by the pools. The main pool was not very relaxing though due to the loud thumping music and the screaming kids. The staff and maid at the hotel were very friendly and did a good job at always greeting us and treating us well. The hotel rooms seemed a bit outdated but in working condition. We had booked an ocean front view at the El Cid Castilla but when we checked in we got "upgraded" to the 8th floor of the El Moro with a kithenette (which had all of the cabinets locked up so we couldn't access anything) and a view of the pool. No use arguing though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The BEST mango margaritas in mazatlan were next door at Los Reales. The have good food as well. Definitely try the garlic octopus appetizer. Really nice owner and great staff. Another good place close by for watching sporting events is the Dugout. They make a good quesadilla.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pink twin
Southern California
Jul 25, 2012

warning: Bed Bugs and Bad Service!

I booked two rooms at the El Cid for 6 days. I took the time to call ahead of time to make sure a baby crib, refrigerator would be available and the two rooms were to be connected because we had two kids in the rooms. We checked in and ask Marisela ( I think that was her name) to make sure we had everything. She said Yes! Well, we got the rooms on the 9th floor and upon opening the door. We found none of our request were fulfilled. Our party with kids then had to go downstairs and after an hour of arguing with the lady they finally moved us. Guess what we got the crib and a refrigerator at no extra cost. They even told me that they were giving me other people rooms. ( That is not my problem, i booked the rooms 6 weeks in advance). If you book here make sure you get everything you request at no extra cost. Other wise, there are other nicer resorts without bed bugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
awesomw couple
Pasco, WA
Jun 30, 2014

awesome couple

The online reviews were much better than the hotel itself. I went to Mazatlan to visit family and the hotel would not allow my family to park in the parking lot, wait in the lobby for me, or access the ocean from the hotel or use any amenities unless I paid for them to stay in the room There should be a daily pass or something for visitors. They also charge for local phone calls and WiFi in which you have to pay for each device. I did get the all inclusive plan which turned out not to be worth it even if you drink allot. They were out of water half the time and you can only have a specific beer. The buffett taste and looks like prison food. If you want to eat better food you have to make reservations which are very limited for all-inclusive and who wants to have to be somewhere at a certain time on vacation. There are plenty of places to eat and drink down from the hotel. I did eat at the Italian restaurant which the service and food were very good. The pool service is hit and miss but if you tip them a little they will keep your drinks coming. The pool bar is only open from 12pm-5pm then there is only one bar with one line for the entire hotel which was very long from Thurs-sat night. It is very rare that you come across someone that speaks English. Visit the boardwalk and the further you get away from the hotel the better deals you get. Everything up for negotiation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Tony's Terranza Joe's Oyster Bar Plaza by cathedral has a square they shut down full of bars and restaurants Tons of bars & restaurants up boardwalk

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sparks, Nevada
Apr 17, 2011

Won't be back!

The pool area on the Moro side was beautiful. The pool was too chilly for me to get in, I would have liked it heated. My daughter loved the slides. She of course loved the swim-up bar. The palapas and beach chairs on the beach were great. I did not like how the security staff at the hotel just let the vendors cross the rope and bug you. Why have a rope if you are not going to enforce any rules. The bar service by the pool was horrible. Since I was not a member, I didn't get waited on very often. They would look at my wrist and keep walking after noticing I was not a member. The staff overall was not friendly whether I was at the pool, in the restaurants, or walking in the hallways. The wait staff expected tips at all times. I am not one to tip at an all-inclusive when it says all the gratuities are inlcuded in my price. The restaurants did not have any kids menus. They should add this to their restaurants. The buffet was not good at all. The food was not replenished often and my daughter had to wait a long time and go back to see if they had replenished food. The desserts were never replenished and the ice cream machine was broken numerous times. They should have the ice cream machine working at all times and should have ice cream available during the daytime for the children. The room was okay. I was traveling with my daughter so it was okay, but it says the room sleeps 4 and it would have been way too small for my family of four had we of all been there. The bed mattress sat on a concrete slab, (there was no boxspring) so the bed was not that comfortable. I was not impressed the for money that I paid. I have stayed at numerous all-inclusive resorts and have been treated much better. I will not be back and I don't recommend going to this hotel. It was a huge dissapointment for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sparks, Nevada
Apr 17, 2011

Won't be back!

The pool area on the Moro side was beautiful. The pool was too chilly for me to get in, I would have liked it heated. My daughter loved the slides. She of course loved the swim-up bar. The palapas and beach chairs on the beach were great. I did not like how the security staff at the hotel just let the vendors cross the rope and bug you. Why have a rope if you are not going to enforce any rules. The bar service by the pool was horrible. Since I was not a member, I didn't get waited on very often. They would look at my wrist and keep walking after noticing I was not a member. The staff overall was not friendly whether I was at the pool, in the restaurants, or walking in the hallways. The wait staff expected tips at all times. I am not one to tip at an all-inclusive when it says all the gratuities are inlcuded in my price. The restaurants did not have any kids menus. They should add this to their restaurants. The buffet was not good at all. The food was not replenished often and my daughter had to wait a long time and go back to see if they had replenished food. The desserts were never replenished and the ice cream machine was broken numerous times. They should have the ice cream machine working at all times and should have ice cream available during the daytime for the children. The room was okay. I was traveling with my daughter so it was okay, but it says the room sleeps 4 and it would have been way too small for my family of four had we of all been there. The bed mattress sat on a concrete slab, (there was no boxspring) so the bed was not that comfortable. I was not impressed the for money that I paid. I have stayed at numerous all-inclusive resorts and have been treated much better. I will not be back and I don't recommend going to this hotel. It was a huge dissapointment for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vacation required
vancouver, british columbia
Jan 1, 2013

disappointing vacation

We had great plans to play tennis each morning only to find there was an additional fee for court usage even though they were empty. Apparently we weren't on "that" all inclusive plan. Fortunately, the gym was quite well supplied and maintained with decent equipment but really, who wants to exercise indoors when you are in Mexico - not me! Next plan, enjoy water aerobics before lunch. The lack of enthusiasm by leaders, lack of variety in routine and poor music selection ended that plan after two days, two days was enough. On a positive note, if you wanted to learn to count in Spanish to 8 forward and back, this was the place to be! Sorry to say the food at the Pergola buffet was food from purgatory and unfortunately, the outdoor lunch buffet was no better. Of course for an extra fee, you could purchase food at the restaurants pool side; there you could even get a can of soda rather than the watered down liquid fountain drinks. No surprise, this option was the "other" all inclusive plan. Really, what does "all inclusive" mean... at this resort there seemed to be an endless number of definitions! After day three a violent bout of food poisoning set the holiday on hold. a bathroom was needed close at hand, no venturing away from the facilities for a couple days. Bring your Imodium. Compared to the many other Mexican all inclusive vacations we have had over the years, and there have been many > 15, this was the least favorite. No plans to ever go back to El Cid or Mazatlan - two thumbs down for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If your "all inclusive" includes the Marina Restaurant, I would suggest taking this in rather than enduring purgatory at the Pergola!

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bruisers mom
minneapolis, MN
Feb 1, 2010

NOT a 4 star hotel by any stretch

we thought we booked a king, non smoking, pool view...we got a double bed, smoking room with a view of a stucco wall and a teensy sliver view of one pool. NOT what we anticipated. Hotel was old, food was awful and staff was not accommadating or friendly. Plus, the beds were ROCK hard!!! We booked this for us and another couple, it was really pretty bad and we will NOT return. The exception is the pool, which was heated, to our delight. Dont waste your time or money on the "el squid-castilla"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try eating at FAT FISH & don't miss dinner and views at Pancho's..excellent, also, great place for breakfast is Panama

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
ca
Oct 26, 2009

fair

some what fair it seems that because you book thru the internet and got a good rate they treat you difrent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top