$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strat
Business
Idaho
Oct 7, 2009

Excellent Service

This is my second stay at El Cid. This trip my new husband and I were married on the beach with a group of family and friends. We were at El Cid for 11 days and had a wonderful experience. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strat
Business
Meridian, Idaho
Oct 8, 2009

Great place to vacation

The hotel, pool, and grounds were very nice. The staff was friendly, and the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Unless you are a big drinker, I would not do the all-inclusive option. First of all, all-inclusive is a misnomer at this hotel, since it is not really all-inclusive. They limit you on what foods, restaurants, and specialty drinks are included in their all-inclusive option. We did not do the all-inclusive option, but some of the people we were with did. For the folks who drank a lot it was well worth it. For the folks who did not drink it was pretty frustrating. There were only certain restaurants and menu items included in the "all-inclusive".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katiejoparker
Business
minneapolis, MN
Feb 23, 2011

El Cid Castilla Beach All Inclusiv

Location of hotel is great. Service of entire staff from bellman, to waiters, to customer service was great. REALLY disappointed we couldn't use a hot tub. The massages we got were very poor but also were cheap, $45. Room was okay. The bed quality was poor and the walls were so thin we could hear our next rooms entire conversation as well as the room on the other side of us was getting work done and there was pounding on the walls. Luckily we didn't sleep in too many mornings. Weather was good. Food quality for the Castilla inclusive guests was poor. Drinks were okay but would have liked to have been able to order beer by the bottles/cans. Sunset tour was great, good value. Zipline/Tequila tour was fun. Wanted to go to Stone Island but was canceled due to fog, heard from other guests that it was a lot of fun and well worth it. We felt safe and overall the vacation was a 7 out of 10. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

As a tourist, the waiters at the disco's will try to overprice drinks, knowing you will pay it anyway. Don't pay more than 160 pesos for a bucket of beer, if that's what they say they charge, ask for another waiter. Be strong or you can get taken advantage of. Go to a disco with other tourists you meet, the more of you there are the more fun and less awkward it can be in a sea of locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Jan 26, 2011

One of My Favorites!

I go to Mazatlan to escape at least part of the cold Minnesota winter. This was my third year at this hotel. I love this hotel, especially with its all-inclusive option. The price is right -- fairly reasonable even for single travelers such as myself -- and there are enough restaurants on site everyone can find dishes they like. I have no serious complaints, other than the buffet food is never hot, but it definitely is plentiful. My room was exceptionally clean and the complex is well-maintained. Their Customer Service staff offers excellent service. Best of all, I felt safe there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend not buying from beach vendors. There are plenty of shops in the hotel and/or within a short walking distance to find whatever you need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Man Adventure
Business
Tempe, AZ
Mar 7, 2010

Muy bueno!

I was given a great location for an amazing price on [...]. My spanish is very basic, but this was not an issue with the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buddy Sorrell
Business
Novato, CA
Jan 24, 2011

El Cid Trip

The hotel accomadations were very good. I asked the Concierges for some body lotion, since it was not provided in the room. The request was filled right away. The Concierges were very accomadating & very professional. Kudos to Yuliana, Alejandrina, and Julietta for their great attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restauant at the Marina was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadian family
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jan 15, 2011

Great Family Vacation

This was our first Mexico all-inclusive vacation, and would have to say this is the perfect family holiday with sons 20 & 22. This is really a family style resort, beautiful beach, lots of pools, good food & drinks, service was excellent. Mexicans are very friendly. We liked this style of vacation as much as cruise holidays and is actually more relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed all 4 restaurants, our favourites were El Patio (Argentinian) and Cascada (Mexican or Italian nights)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Utah
Jan 10, 2011

Great Place to Stay

This is a great deal and great place to stay. We purchased the Elite All Inclusive Plan and woudl recommend to anyone. The food was excellent, the services was terrific and the price cant be beat. We played golf everyday and although the course needs a little TLC, we were very pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Mazatlan
Business
MN
Jan 10, 2011

Great as always

Great! Friendly, helpful staff, very accomodating. We have never had a bad experience here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Airport has set minimum taxi requirements, no bargaining for fares and must now buy a ticket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Mar 17, 2011

Spring Break Family Trip/ older kids

This was a family trip with our college and high school age kids. The all inclusive package allowed everyone to eat whenever they wanted. Usually my husband and I would have breakfast and find a spot by the pool and the kids would get up and eat whenever they wanted. We would just make reservations for dinner each night. The buffets had a lot of variety. Typical buffet food, nothing exciting, but the restaurants were nice. The resort is big enough to provide a variety of things to do, but small enough that we could find each other. If you hang out by the pool there are things going on throughout the day that are just silly and fun. I was comfortable letting the kids roam. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top