$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeany weanny polka dot bikini
Business
alberta,canada
Apr 18, 2011

"Great Vacation"

During our stay we ate, drank and walked the beach. I was not impressed with the hotel staff bringing us straight to the time share desk. We had turned them down and were harrassed a little, but hotel staff did redeem themselves quickly upgrading our room. We went all inclusive and found out that we only got draft beer and the cheaper hard stuff. We did upgrade too elite then got all we wanted plus upgrade too another room. this was worth it because room service. bottled water,coffee,good booze and way better food. this was a great stay, very clean hotel and super staff. Edgar was our bar tender and never let you go thirsty. I would definately go back and would have too be on the elite inclusive. People it is worth the extra money as you will have a better holiday. Make sure you bring golf clubs as this is included on elite and right across the street. La concha restaurant was superb and only available for elite, but all the steak and lobster, plus shrimp you can eat. Very safe and quiet resort. Mazatlan is safe to walk around and well patrolled, never even seen an arguement. Baggage got damaged on U.S. airlines, brand new and ruined. I am not happy with that, but i guess small price too pay for a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

La concha, great food, service and ocean front dining. For elite and time share, never crowded and no reservations required.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sparks, Nevada
Apr 17, 2011

Won't be back!

The pool area on the Moro side was beautiful. The pool was too chilly for me to get in, I would have liked it heated. My daughter loved the slides. She of course loved the swim-up bar. The palapas and beach chairs on the beach were great. I did not like how the security staff at the hotel just let the vendors cross the rope and bug you. Why have a rope if you are not going to enforce any rules. The bar service by the pool was horrible. Since I was not a member, I didn't get waited on very often. They would look at my wrist and keep walking after noticing I was not a member. The staff overall was not friendly whether I was at the pool, in the restaurants, or walking in the hallways. The wait staff expected tips at all times. I am not one to tip at an all-inclusive when it says all the gratuities are inlcuded in my price. The restaurants did not have any kids menus. They should add this to their restaurants. The buffet was not good at all. The food was not replenished often and my daughter had to wait a long time and go back to see if they had replenished food. The desserts were never replenished and the ice cream machine was broken numerous times. They should have the ice cream machine working at all times and should have ice cream available during the daytime for the children. The room was okay. I was traveling with my daughter so it was okay, but it says the room sleeps 4 and it would have been way too small for my family of four had we of all been there. The bed mattress sat on a concrete slab, (there was no boxspring) so the bed was not that comfortable. I was not impressed the for money that I paid. I have stayed at numerous all-inclusive resorts and have been treated much better. I will not be back and I don't recommend going to this hotel. It was a huge dissapointment for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
manhattan beach ca
Apr 10, 2011

very nice

good service, good activities, good amenities, will definitely come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latte
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 29, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price!!

Great service, clean rooms and resort. Lots of food choices. Food really good! Fun evening shows. Liked all the pools!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Excellence
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 22, 2011

Excellence

Great overall experience, highly recomend this hotel. Everyone is friendly and respectfull!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heard That
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 21, 2011

Awesome Time

Hotel staff was amazing: The pool staff and bar staff were fantastic. They were constantly bringing drinks even before they were requested!! The rooms are fine, the bed is not very comfortable (but you shouldn't be in your room anyways). Don't eat at the Italian place or the main dining buffet (the food is bland). The Japanese restuarant, Grill restaurant and restuarant adjacent to the pool are fantastic; make reservations right when you get there for each place. We also ate at Panchos and El Casa del Country: both places are a must! We also did the zipline tour- takes a long time to get to but is pretty fun and the food provided is delicious. We did a boat tour that went to the seal island and then to the other islands to snorkel, banana boat rides, and kayaking: all drinks and food included but kind of boring since your not on the boat all that long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
akozakie
Business
Edmonton ab
Mar 20, 2011

best familly vacation

We love el cid castilla, what makes this hotel great is the pepole. Jose the capitan of the ael Patio treated us very well and the steak was great.I wanted to see the two bedroom appartment that they have on the top floor so is asked and the bell boy took me up.I will be going again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Mar 17, 2011

Spring Break Family Trip/ older kids

This was a family trip with our college and high school age kids. The all inclusive package allowed everyone to eat whenever they wanted. Usually my husband and I would have breakfast and find a spot by the pool and the kids would get up and eat whenever they wanted. We would just make reservations for dinner each night. The buffets had a lot of variety. Typical buffet food, nothing exciting, but the restaurants were nice. The resort is big enough to provide a variety of things to do, but small enough that we could find each other. If you hang out by the pool there are things going on throughout the day that are just silly and fun. I was comfortable letting the kids roam. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Mar 6, 2011

Castilla

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

convenient location

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maplewood, mn
Mar 2, 2011

vacationers

very relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff. club elite was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top