$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
132 reviews
I stayed another week.. 100%

I was convinced to stay another week. I was very satisfied with the service and my room. My room... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Nov 26, 2014
I'LL BE BACK !

Check in was flawless. Took only about 15 mn. Marisela Moran and her crew at the "Club Elite" had... See full review

  • G.MAN
  • Nov 18, 2014
Mazatlan hotel with pools, nearby spa and organized beach activities
The El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel allows guests to take advantage of the facilities of all four El Cid hotels in Mazatlan, as well as the nearby El Cid Country Club. The hotel's two freeform pools, comfortable rooms and suites, and high-quality dining provide a vacation that's fun and restorative. To completely unwind, guests walk along the beach or visit the nearby spa. The shopping, bars, restaurants and nightclubs of the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada) are within walking distance of the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with aerobics and wellness classes
  • Two connecting pools with swim-up bar
  • Full-service spa at El Cid Country Club
  • All-inclusive plans available
Rooms
Air conditioning, ceiling fans, tile floors, private balconies, coffee makers, satellite TV, in-room safes, purified water and Wi-Fi Internet access are provided for guests' comfort and convenience at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Each marble bathroom features a shower, bathtub, hair dryer and bath amenities. 
 
Choose from a wide range of room options at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Pool view, ocean view or oceanfront guest rooms include one king or two double beds. In two-bedroom suites, kitchenettes are provided for additional convenience. Each three-bedroom suite includes a kitchenette, Jacuzzi and sauna.
Dining
Start each day at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel with the breakfast buffet at El Campeador restaurant -- and come back in the evening when the restaurant transforms into La Pergola Dinner Theater, with different shows every night of the week.
 
For lunch, stop by the oceanfront La Alhambra or swim up to the Beach Club Snack Bar for a burger or quesadilla. The casual Castilla Lobby Bar overlooks the pool and offers plasma TVs and two pool tables. For a more romantic evening at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, make reservations at El Alcazar for elegant Italian cuisine.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (4.3 mi/7 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (4.4 mi/7 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,000 square feet of function space at El Cid Conference Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Rooms

Pool View Premium All Inclusive
-ROH accommodations at the El Cid Castilla with FREE upgrade to ocean view room and/or Suite, subject to availability upon registration at the hotel. FREE use of all facilities, 6 swimming pools, gym, kids club, etc., at any of the 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan. -Eat and drink at any of the El Cid Restaurants, (concessions not included) -Premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, fine steak cuts, etc., without surcharges. -Domestic & International drinks -ROOM SERVICE. -FREE water sports, kayaks, boogie boards -ACTIVI TIES PROGRAM, day time beach and pool activities -KIDS CLUB, ages 4-11 -FREE use of gym, sauna and steam room at the El Cid Country Club. -FREE shuttle bus available to take you back in our 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan -VIP check in -FREE unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at our El Cid Golf & Country Club, free transportation from hotel lobby. -Tee times reservations required. -FREE wireless connection in the lobby
Pool View Room - All Inclusive with Golf

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Ocean View Room

Each Ocean View room comes with one king or two double beds. Private balcony with ocean view. Located in the tower on floors 5-21. Decorated with bright colors and marble flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Table and two chairs. Separate sitting area. Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone. Ceiling fan. Window opens. Air conditioning. European Plan (no meals).

Pool View Room
Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.
Ocean ViewRoom- AI

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony with ocean view, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Elite Ocean View AI
In addition to the All Inclusive Features you get: accommodations with bathrobes. All meals and house brand drinks at the restaurants of all 4 hotels, including premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, and fine steak cuts.(Concessions not included.) Preferred seating in a la carte restaurants. VIP check in. Room Service (choice from special All Inclusive room service menu). Unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at El Cid Golf & Country Club (equipment not included). Caddy is mandatory and it's not included: one per each cart or one per each golfer walking the course. Additional rounds of golf and tennis reservations or the same day are accepted after finishing the first round of golf or hour of tennis. NOTE: All gratuities at the country club are optional and are not included. None of the package components are refundable.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Alhambra (ocean front)
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily for lunch buffet.
La Pergola Theater
Dinner buffet or set Menu, show and entertainment included: Monday: Italian buffet, Tuesday: seafood buffet, Wednesday: Mexican buffet, Thursday: Oriental Buffet, Friday: Cajun buffet, Saturday: Mayan buffet and Sunday: Tex-Mex Buffet.
El Patio Argentinian
A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Granada Contry Club, opens 6 days a week, reservations required.
Club de Playa
Swim-up bar, A la carte lunch & Snacks.
Lobby Bar
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily from 3pm to 1am.
Sushi Bar
Located at the Country Club opens daily for dinner, reservations required.
La Cascada
Mexican gourmet restaurant, very nicely decorated, featuring the best of the Mexican cuisine located at the pool level, open from 7:00AM to 11:00PM.
El Alcazar
Italian A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, open 6 days a week, reservations required.
El Campeador
Breakfast buffet, located at the El Cid Castilla beach, open daily for breakfast buffet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Denver, CO.
Jul 19, 2011

El Cid Castilla Mazatlan

The hotel customer service was good, however the facilities themselves were not the best. The rooms were average and good if you are looking to just have a place to lay, but if you are looking for a rest and relaxation, they were not the best. The elevators stopped working after a rainstorm the night before and caused a huge inconvenience as we were checking out the same day and carrying luggage. One good thing is the Senor Frogs is right under this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you go visit La Isla de la Roca, do some kayaking, banana boats or boogie boarding! And definitely do not miss out on the parasailing, preferrably do it the last day so you are able to recognize all the different places you've been to from far up in the air :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OC, CA
Jul 6, 2011

El Cid Mazatlan

We did a lot of pool lounging and beach. Bad: too many kids running and splashing, not ideal if you are a couple who doesnt have kids... Pool food and happy hour was great! We never ate at hotel due to $$$, but there are many restaurants walking distance to hotel. We went to Oyster bar which was pretty much a hang out spot on beach, with only $6 cover that included 2 beers so a great deal. Pulmonias are the best way to get around or the local bus if you dont mind taking a bit longer to get there. Must visit the cathedral, stone island and the cliff diving site. Oh and airport only 30 min away $30 cabride! Overall enjoyed my stay at hotel, next time we will do an adult exclusive...love kids but not all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast Ricos is the best, for live music and hang out, Gus & Gus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeany weanny polka dot bikini
Business
alberta,canada
Apr 18, 2011

"Great Vacation"

During our stay we ate, drank and walked the beach. I was not impressed with the hotel staff bringing us straight to the time share desk. We had turned them down and were harrassed a little, but hotel staff did redeem themselves quickly upgrading our room. We went all inclusive and found out that we only got draft beer and the cheaper hard stuff. We did upgrade too elite then got all we wanted plus upgrade too another room. this was worth it because room service. bottled water,coffee,good booze and way better food. this was a great stay, very clean hotel and super staff. Edgar was our bar tender and never let you go thirsty. I would definately go back and would have too be on the elite inclusive. People it is worth the extra money as you will have a better holiday. Make sure you bring golf clubs as this is included on elite and right across the street. La concha restaurant was superb and only available for elite, but all the steak and lobster, plus shrimp you can eat. Very safe and quiet resort. Mazatlan is safe to walk around and well patrolled, never even seen an arguement. Baggage got damaged on U.S. airlines, brand new and ruined. I am not happy with that, but i guess small price too pay for a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

La concha, great food, service and ocean front dining. For elite and time share, never crowded and no reservations required.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sparks, Nevada
Apr 17, 2011

Won't be back!

The pool area on the Moro side was beautiful. The pool was too chilly for me to get in, I would have liked it heated. My daughter loved the slides. She of course loved the swim-up bar. The palapas and beach chairs on the beach were great. I did not like how the security staff at the hotel just let the vendors cross the rope and bug you. Why have a rope if you are not going to enforce any rules. The bar service by the pool was horrible. Since I was not a member, I didn't get waited on very often. They would look at my wrist and keep walking after noticing I was not a member. The staff overall was not friendly whether I was at the pool, in the restaurants, or walking in the hallways. The wait staff expected tips at all times. I am not one to tip at an all-inclusive when it says all the gratuities are inlcuded in my price. The restaurants did not have any kids menus. They should add this to their restaurants. The buffet was not good at all. The food was not replenished often and my daughter had to wait a long time and go back to see if they had replenished food. The desserts were never replenished and the ice cream machine was broken numerous times. They should have the ice cream machine working at all times and should have ice cream available during the daytime for the children. The room was okay. I was traveling with my daughter so it was okay, but it says the room sleeps 4 and it would have been way too small for my family of four had we of all been there. The bed mattress sat on a concrete slab, (there was no boxspring) so the bed was not that comfortable. I was not impressed the for money that I paid. I have stayed at numerous all-inclusive resorts and have been treated much better. I will not be back and I don't recommend going to this hotel. It was a huge dissapointment for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
manhattan beach ca
Apr 10, 2011

very nice

good service, good activities, good amenities, will definitely come back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Latte
Business
Portland, OR
Mar 29, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price!!

Great service, clean rooms and resort. Lots of food choices. Food really good! Fun evening shows. Liked all the pools!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Excellence
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 22, 2011

Excellence

Great overall experience, highly recomend this hotel. Everyone is friendly and respectfull!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heard That
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 21, 2011

Awesome Time

Hotel staff was amazing: The pool staff and bar staff were fantastic. They were constantly bringing drinks even before they were requested!! The rooms are fine, the bed is not very comfortable (but you shouldn't be in your room anyways). Don't eat at the Italian place or the main dining buffet (the food is bland). The Japanese restuarant, Grill restaurant and restuarant adjacent to the pool are fantastic; make reservations right when you get there for each place. We also ate at Panchos and El Casa del Country: both places are a must! We also did the zipline tour- takes a long time to get to but is pretty fun and the food provided is delicious. We did a boat tour that went to the seal island and then to the other islands to snorkel, banana boat rides, and kayaking: all drinks and food included but kind of boring since your not on the boat all that long.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
akozakie
Business
Edmonton ab
Mar 20, 2011

best familly vacation

We love el cid castilla, what makes this hotel great is the pepole. Jose the capitan of the ael Patio treated us very well and the steak was great.I wanted to see the two bedroom appartment that they have on the top floor so is asked and the bell boy took me up.I will be going again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Mar 17, 2011

Spring Break Family Trip/ older kids

This was a family trip with our college and high school age kids. The all inclusive package allowed everyone to eat whenever they wanted. Usually my husband and I would have breakfast and find a spot by the pool and the kids would get up and eat whenever they wanted. We would just make reservations for dinner each night. The buffets had a lot of variety. Typical buffet food, nothing exciting, but the restaurants were nice. The resort is big enough to provide a variety of things to do, but small enough that we could find each other. If you hang out by the pool there are things going on throughout the day that are just silly and fun. I was comfortable letting the kids roam. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top