$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
132 reviews
I stayed another week.. 100%

I was convinced to stay another week. I was very satisfied with the service and my room. My room... See full review

  • Chuck07
  • Nov 26, 2014
I'LL BE BACK !

Check in was flawless. Took only about 15 mn. Marisela Moran and her crew at the "Club Elite" had... See full review

  • G.MAN
  • Nov 18, 2014
Mazatlan hotel with pools, nearby spa and organized beach activities
The El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel allows guests to take advantage of the facilities of all four El Cid hotels in Mazatlan, as well as the nearby El Cid Country Club. The hotel's two freeform pools, comfortable rooms and suites, and high-quality dining provide a vacation that's fun and restorative. To completely unwind, guests walk along the beach or visit the nearby spa. The shopping, bars, restaurants and nightclubs of the popular Golden Zone (Zona Dorada) are within walking distance of the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel.
Highlights
  • Fitness center with aerobics and wellness classes
  • Two connecting pools with swim-up bar
  • Full-service spa at El Cid Country Club
  • All-inclusive plans available
Rooms
Air conditioning, ceiling fans, tile floors, private balconies, coffee makers, satellite TV, in-room safes, purified water and Wi-Fi Internet access are provided for guests' comfort and convenience at El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Each marble bathroom features a shower, bathtub, hair dryer and bath amenities. 
 
Choose from a wide range of room options at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel. Pool view, ocean view or oceanfront guest rooms include one king or two double beds. In two-bedroom suites, kitchenettes are provided for additional convenience. Each three-bedroom suite includes a kitchenette, Jacuzzi and sauna.
Dining
Start each day at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel with the breakfast buffet at El Campeador restaurant -- and come back in the evening when the restaurant transforms into La Pergola Dinner Theater, with different shows every night of the week.
 
For lunch, stop by the oceanfront La Alhambra or swim up to the Beach Club Snack Bar for a burger or quesadilla. The casual Castilla Lobby Bar overlooks the pool and offers plasma TVs and two pool tables. For a more romantic evening at the El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel, make reservations at El Alcazar for elegant Italian cuisine.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (13.2 mi/21.2 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (2.5 mi/4 km) 
  • Plazuela Machado (4.3 mi/7 km) 
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (4.4 mi/7 km) 
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (5.4 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 10,000 square feet of function space at El Cid Conference Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel Rooms

Elite Ocean View AI
In addition to the All Inclusive Features you get: accommodations with bathrobes. All meals and house brand drinks at the restaurants of all 4 hotels, including premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, and fine steak cuts.(Concessions not included.) Preferred seating in a la carte restaurants. VIP check in. Room Service (choice from special All Inclusive room service menu). Unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at El Cid Golf & Country Club (equipment not included). Caddy is mandatory and it's not included: one per each cart or one per each golfer walking the course. Additional rounds of golf and tennis reservations or the same day are accepted after finishing the first round of golf or hour of tennis. NOTE: All gratuities at the country club are optional and are not included. None of the package components are refundable.
Pool View Premium All Inclusive
-ROH accommodations at the El Cid Castilla with FREE upgrade to ocean view room and/or Suite, subject to availability upon registration at the hotel. FREE use of all facilities, 6 swimming pools, gym, kids club, etc., at any of the 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan. -Eat and drink at any of the El Cid Restaurants, (concessions not included) -Premium menu items such as lobster, jumbo shrimp, fine steak cuts, etc., without surcharges. -Domestic & International drinks -ROOM SERVICE. -FREE water sports, kayaks, boogie boards -ACTIVI TIES PROGRAM, day time beach and pool activities -KIDS CLUB, ages 4-11 -FREE use of gym, sauna and steam room at the El Cid Country Club. -FREE shuttle bus available to take you back in our 4 El Cid Resorts in Mazatlan -VIP check in -FREE unlimited green fees and tennis court fees at our El Cid Golf & Country Club, free transportation from hotel lobby. -Tee times reservations required. -FREE wireless connection in the lobby
Pool View Room - All Inclusive with Golf

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Ocean View Room

Each Ocean View room comes with one king or two double beds. Private balcony with ocean view. Located in the tower on floors 5-21. Decorated with bright colors and marble flooring providing a refreshing atmosphere. Table and two chairs. Separate sitting area. Cable/satellite TV. Direct-dial phone. Ceiling fan. Window opens. Air conditioning. European Plan (no meals).

Pool View Room
Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.
Ocean ViewRoom- AI

All Inclusive:

  • Unlimited meals and drinks at any of the restaurants and bars of this hotel: La Alhambra, El Alcazar*; La Cascada*; Club de Playa, La Pergola Theater(Dinner buffet or Set Menu, show and entertainment included); El Campeador; Lobby Bar; (Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature). *Reservations required.
  • Water Sports: kayaks and boogie boards.
  • Daytime beach & pool activity program.
  • Kids Club. Ages 4 to 11.
  • Use of gym, sauna and steam room at the Club House.
  • Taxes and gratuities.
  • Note: Room Service is not an All Inclusive feature.

Amenities: Each Pool View room comes with two double beds or one king-size bed, private balcony with ocean view, air conditioning, and color TV. All units are marbled, providing a refreshing atmosphere. All the rooms have tub and shower.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Alhambra (ocean front)
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily for lunch buffet.
La Pergola Theater
Dinner buffet or set Menu, show and entertainment included: Monday: Italian buffet, Tuesday: seafood buffet, Wednesday: Mexican buffet, Thursday: Oriental Buffet, Friday: Cajun buffet, Saturday: Mayan buffet and Sunday: Tex-Mex Buffet.
El Patio Argentinian
A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Granada Contry Club, opens 6 days a week, reservations required.
Club de Playa
Swim-up bar, A la carte lunch & Snacks.
Lobby Bar
Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, opens daily from 3pm to 1am.
Sushi Bar
Located at the Country Club opens daily for dinner, reservations required.
La Cascada
Mexican gourmet restaurant, very nicely decorated, featuring the best of the Mexican cuisine located at the pool level, open from 7:00AM to 11:00PM.
El Alcazar
Italian A la carte dinner: Located at the El Cid Castilla Beach, open 6 days a week, reservations required.
El Campeador
Breakfast buffet, located at the El Cid Castilla beach, open daily for breakfast buffet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
vacation required
Business
vancouver, british columbia
Jan 1, 2013

disappointing vacation

We had great plans to play tennis each morning only to find there was an additional fee for court usage even though they were empty. Apparently we weren't on "that" all inclusive plan. Fortunately, the gym was quite well supplied and maintained with decent equipment but really, who wants to exercise indoors when you are in Mexico - not me! Next plan, enjoy water aerobics before lunch. The lack of enthusiasm by leaders, lack of variety in routine and poor music selection ended that plan after two days, two days was enough. On a positive note, if you wanted to learn to count in Spanish to 8 forward and back, this was the place to be! Sorry to say the food at the Pergola buffet was food from purgatory and unfortunately, the outdoor lunch buffet was no better. Of course for an extra fee, you could purchase food at the restaurants pool side; there you could even get a can of soda rather than the watered down liquid fountain drinks. No surprise, this option was the "other" all inclusive plan. Really, what does "all inclusive" mean... at this resort there seemed to be an endless number of definitions! After day three a violent bout of food poisoning set the holiday on hold. a bathroom was needed close at hand, no venturing away from the facilities for a couple days. Bring your Imodium. Compared to the many other Mexican all inclusive vacations we have had over the years, and there have been many > 15, this was the least favorite. No plans to ever go back to El Cid or Mazatlan - two thumbs down for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If your "all inclusive" includes the Marina Restaurant, I would suggest taking this in rather than enduring purgatory at the Pergola!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bob510
Business
Omaha, NE
Dec 30, 2012

Fabulous Staff

Our balcony overlooked one of the pools with the ocean in the background. An absolutely beautiful site. The staff at this hotel worked nonstop to make the guests feel welcome and taken care of. They were friendly, helpful, courteous, and hard working. We are already planning our next trip and have decided to go back to the El Cid Castilla again. The only thing I would like to change is the firmness of the bed mattresses. That is the only negative aspect in contrast to the numerous positives we experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The Castilla restaurants were also very enjoyable. I would recommend the all-inclusive option. It's nice to already have the trip paid for when you arrive. We did listen to the time share pitch which was not too bad but not for us. It took about 2 hours but this afforded us a free ride to and from the airport and half price on the two excursions we went on. This amounted to about $500 in savings for my family. You do have to sign up and pay for this in cash at the airport. The Stone Island trip was really fun. A great boat ride with drinks followed by lunch on the island along with horseback riding and kayaking. We rated our host a 15 on a scale of 1-5. He was that good and made the trip so enjoyable for all of us on the ship. We also went on the zip line trip and tour of a tequila farm and distillery. It was also very fun but quite a long day without provisions for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Ralo
Business
monterrey
Jul 30, 2012

Family getaway

The city is beautiful with friendly people, so if this weather is very hot but out of a cold beer everything was excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pink twin
Business
Southern California
Jul 25, 2012

warning: Bed Bugs and Bad Service!

I booked two rooms at the El Cid for 6 days. I took the time to call ahead of time to make sure a baby crib, refrigerator would be available and the two rooms were to be connected because we had two kids in the rooms. We checked in and ask Marisela ( I think that was her name) to make sure we had everything. She said Yes! Well, we got the rooms on the 9th floor and upon opening the door. We found none of our request were fulfilled. Our party with kids then had to go downstairs and after an hour of arguing with the lady they finally moved us. Guess what we got the crib and a refrigerator at no extra cost. They even told me that they were giving me other people rooms. ( That is not my problem, i booked the rooms 6 weeks in advance). If you book here make sure you get everything you request at no extra cost. Other wise, there are other nicer resorts without bed bugs!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck07
Business
Bay Area, Ca.
Apr 20, 2012

El Cid Castilla perfect distance for everything Mazatlan has to offer

Good location. Nice beach, pool, rooms, and buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scottt
Business
los angeles, california
Apr 9, 2012

EL CID MAZATLAN

The hotel was excelent in every way. They allowed us to use the V.I.P. check-in and also all the services of the Elite club lounge which was totally unexpected given the incredibly inexpensive price that was given to us on the all-inclusive package. The service was unbelievable as the staff was so friendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sun Goddess
Business
Canada
Mar 27, 2012

Awesome value, super clean, friendly

The staff at El Cid Castillo Beach House were amazing. They couldn't do enough for us, The whole place is extremely clean and well maintained. Lots to eat, but they could use a couple more A La Carte Restaurants. After 2 weeks, the food choice gets a little boring, but then, we didn't go there to eat! Would definately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom R
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Feb 27, 2012

Friendly Staff

I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The hotel is older but is still pretty nice. Great location and extremely friendly staff. My room was on the 3rd floor but right on the beach. Beautiful sunsets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G.MAN
Business
Cottage Grove, MN, USA
Feb 25, 2012

!!!!!!!!!

Check in and check out were flawless. Staff super friendly ! Room was very clean, and maid service exceptional. Only thing I didn't like about the room was the TV, (very old). Food, (all inclusive plan) in the hotel was good. Really liked the breakfast buffet. Have a omellet custom made by "Sacoro". She is the best ! Would I stay here again ? YES ! This is the 20th year that I've stayed at the El Cid. Always the best. ! Looking forward to another 20 years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Whatever your looking for ask a cabie.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jydie
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 20, 2012

Good Time in Mazatlan

We really enjoyed our time here at El Cid Castilla in Mazatlan. The rooms were clean and the balcony had a wonderful view of the pool and the ocean. The restaurants had tasty food and a good variety each day. The waiter staff was eager to please. The nightly shows at La Pergola were entertaining. We played Bingo ( RIFAS) daily and enjoyed the live music Thursday and Friday in the Lobby bar. Overall this is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Ivan at the Lobby bar goes the extra mile in service. Try their tequila poppers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top