$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

3 stars
View map of Ave Camaron Sabalo S/n, Golden Zone, Mazatlan, 82110

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wayne208
Business
Chico
Apr 16, 2014

El Cid A Good Spot in Mazatlan

The Staff was very good overall . The food a is above average but so is the Price . I am glad I did not do the all Inclusive plan . If You do the all inclusive plan You miss on Mazatlan . I liked the food at El Cid but and his is a big But .. Try La Casa Country or Panchoe's cafe . Both Highly recommended by Me . On the flight down and back a couple I had met paid for the Priority Seats . Big Mistake and a waste of Money . .. They flew down when I did and Not once did US Airways Call out for them to board with the First class Passenger''s ? What a waste of Money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Casa Country just North of the El Cid . Great Food Try the Imperial Shrimp and the Filet . Both Great

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous135
Business
Colorado
Apr 13, 2014

Depends what you're looking for... Work? Or pleasure?

CONS: I went to the cid for a week long work conference. So even though I would have liked to not work at all, I did. I decided to pay the $25 USD for the use of wireless internet (only for one mobile device) and it was awful. It did not work in the hotel room or even in the lobby at any time during the day. The conference rooms were all out of date and amenities in them were almost nonexistant. Several of the rooms smelled like mildew. Activities: I wanted to spend some time at the beach doing fun stuff. There were often not enough boogie boards or kayaks to accommadate the many people that surely want to use them. For the activites the hotel charges for, go 50 feet down the beach and get them cheaper. The hotel offers the island tours for about $50 non-negotiable. If you go out on the beach you can get that from the guy selling it next to the hotel, for around 2 for $50. Also, beware of the people pushing for time share sales. The food: There were plenty of locations at the resort open all day long, but they all basically the same food. If you don't mind not having authentic mexican food or really any food that tastes like anything, then you might like the food. However, with so many choices, one would think they could mix it up a little. Even the "sushi" and "Italian" food was very bland. Location: Since this was a work trip, it was paid for, but I can definitely say that if I had paid for the all-inclusive option myself, I would've been mad. The hotel is not close to the bulk of Mazatlan's shops or food, so going out for every meal was hardly an option. So your choices are either pay all inclusive and eat pretty bad food or pay ridiculous prices for every meal The price for the worst, most crowded, breakfast buffet was about $20 USD/person and went up for lunch and dinner. Pros: The rooms were clean, the hotel seemed to be very safe, the staff was friendly and helpful, they happily refunded the money for the internet that didn't work. the staff spoke either surprisingly good english or good enough to get by. The service at the resturants and on the beach was awesome. The constant flow of drinks was fun. Overall, for some, the service and views might make up for the food, activities, and internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deborah and Stephen
Business
Liberty Twp, Ohio
Apr 1, 2014

Excellent service

Our stay at El Cid was very comfortable and relaxing. Our room was on the third floor which was the worst part about our stay especially since the elevator and restaurants are on the other end of the building. I have M.S. but I am still quite mobile but the steps leading to the pool area have no hand rails. The food on the buffet was average. I was expecting and hoping for Mexican food but it seemed like they served mostly northern food. The staff at El Cid went out of their way to help us have a great vacation. I would definitely stay here again. The beach vendors are sometimes annoying but overall they are very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Home now frozen
Business
Wi.
Mar 17, 2014

El cid castilla

We have stayed at el cid for several years. (8 plus)For several years we went all inclusive and were disappointed in the service. This year we went non inclusive and had friends that were all inclusive. The waiters would serve me strong drinks with fruit garnish and my friends would get watered down drinks only when I ordered. The waiters would forget to bring back change even though I would tip them every time they would. The waters would avoid them as much as they could and would not bring their drinks when I would get mine! The restaurants were all over priced as well as caned beverages and drinks. It was a nice place to stay for us because we do eat at the many nice restaurants and the local food was great. The management needs to take charge of the service! There were many all inclusive people complaining about the service!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fat Fish north of hotel has awesome rib eye and tonys on the beach has excellent breakfasts. There are many more to.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
kisse13
Business
Canada
Mar 14, 2014

What is Offered and what you get.

We booked Ocean front King size,in Sept,we rang and confirmed long distance in December,we got there in Feb when The Festival season was on and Guess what,"No Ocean Front King but we can Give you...." When Objected to ,the inevitable ,who did you speak to,we will try tomorrow ,do You a Special Favour... Tomorrow ,we open at 8,at 11 she is at lunch at 4pm ,Oh Ive had no success...when anger and a demand for the Manage became a tact,the room suddenly appeared. Why does one have to Queue Every Morning 8am to get a Booking for dining ala carte..why note do it on line? There is TOO MUCH NOISE here at the Pool,at the Foyer and everywhere...not All of us enjoy uninterrupted Music of any nature. The Tennis Courts are empty,the golf course ,well ..play alone..I went for both ,I had one game of golf. Why do you need Caddies,why can you not take your push cart and clubs,why do...yes we know "must make the buck",it will kill the goose eventually as the season traveller hears more and want value for money..would I go again and recommend this place.."Do I sound like I will?" Why do

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Mexican Ala Carte

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K. V.
Business
Mn.
Jan 23, 2014

Great getaway

We had a great time just relaxing in the sun. The food was good and the service even better the staff was friendly and always trying to do what they could for you. My only complaint would be the vendors on the beach were pest.Over all a very nice hotel and we had a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargin don't pay what they ask

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brink Family
Business
Necedah, WI
Dec 29, 2013

Family Fun

The pools were spectacular. We loved the value of the resort. Awesome foods especially at El Patio. Very glad we went all inclusive. It was the perfect family getaway. We traveled with our 5 year old and 18 month old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A small extra tip goes a long way for impeccable service at the next meal. We had a lot of fun getting to know our waiters.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck07
Business
Bay Area, Ca.
Dec 9, 2013

Quality service and fair prices

I have stayed at El Cid Castiila many times. The service at El Cid Castilla meet all my needs. I always buy the all inclusive package and is recommended. It takes the guess work on how much every meal cost. Bar service included. I would l like to thank the Girls at Club Elite Mariela, Nidia, Stephanie, and Karla for the excellent service. They have always have been helpful during my stay at El Cid Castilla. I also would like to say the Castilla bar staff Bony, Letecia, and Lupita for their great service. Rooms at Castilla are always clean and food is good when you buy the all inclusive package. Save money and buy the all inclusive package. Location is one of the best qualities of El Cid. Short distance from key locations in Mazatlán.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Just do it !

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck07
Business
Bay Area, Ca.
Nov 1, 2013

I am back again for the great service.

Again Club Elite staff has taken care of me again. My needs were granted again before i even arrived. All you do is call or email Club Elite Staff and your needs will be granted. Rooms are clean and smell good no cigarette smoke like other hotels in the area. Dining in the hotel is all you need. All 9 dining restaraunts come with the All Inclusive Package. The all Inclusive package is worth your money. You save 40% of meal cost by buying the all inclusive package. The All inclusive Ocean view package is the best. I have stayed at this hotel 8 times with great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All types of food you want from Japanese to Argetine food.

Review of El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck07
Business
Bay Area, Ca.
Nov 1, 2013

Great service

Club Elite Staff has great service at your needs. I would recomend El Cid Castilla Club Elite. The hotel is at your hands with Club Elite. Any help you need Club Elite will assist your needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to all of all Mazatlan. Save with local taxis

Back to menu Return to top