$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Azteca Inn

2 stars
Av Playa Gaviotas No. 307 Zona Dorada, Mazatlan, 82110
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
32 reviews
Amazing

Such a great experience, everybody Was so helpful and the location Was perfect See full review

  • David Almeida
  • Jan 2, 2014
Azteca Stay

Located in the Zonadorada just off the beach, AZTECA INN is central to all he restaurants and beach... See full review

  • EdOrbitz
  • Mar 14, 2014
Mazatlan hotel with an outdoor pool and Jacuzzi in a central courtyard
A sunny outdoor courtyard at the Azteca Inn features a pool, Jacuzzi and sun deck with lounge and patio seating shaded by palm trees. Think clean, functional and good value at this exterior corridor hotel that also features a restaurant in the city's Golden Zone (Zona Dorada). One block from the Azteca Inn, a vast selection of sea shells and sea shell art are available for purchase at Sea Shell City Museum. Playa Las Gaviotas is steps away. The Mazatlan Aquarium and Mazagua water park also are located near the Azteca Inn.
Highlights
  • Free on-site parking
  • Pet-friendly hotel
  • Pool and Jacuzzi surrounded by tropical landscaping
  • On-site La Terraza Restaurant and La Capilla Sports Bar
Rooms
Guest rooms at the Azteca Inn in Mazatlan feature one king or two double beds, Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply), air conditioning, alarm clock radios, cable TV, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards. Some rooms are recently refreshed with black, sleek furnishings and exposed brick, providing the hotel with a contemporary feel.
Features
The Azteca Inn provides easy access to the boutiques, craft markets, gift shops, bars, restaurants and nightclubs of Mazatlan's Golden Zone (Zona Dorada). A few miles from the hotel, downtown Mazatlan provides plenty of sightseeing, with the historic Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, Plazuela Machado, Teatro Angela Peralta and lighthouse (El Faro). Hotel staff help make arrangements for any kind of outing, including city and country tours, golf, fishing and scuba diving.
 
At the Azteca Inn, relax by the pool in the hotel's private courtyard and enjoy traditional Mexican cuisine at La Terraza Restaurant and La Capilla Sports Bar. In-room dining is available.
Transportation
  • General Rafael Buelna International Airport (12.5 mi/20.1 km)
  • Central de Autobuses (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 15 (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Attractions
  • Bullring (Plaza de Toros) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Mazatlan Aquarium (1.7 mi/2.7 km)   
  • City and State Tourism Office (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception (3.4 mi/5.4 km)  
  • Museo Arqueologico de Mazatlan (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Plazuela Machado (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Teatro Angela Peralta (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Lighthouse (El Faro) (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Estrella del Mar golf course (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access (fees apply)

Hotel Map

23.2421 -106.4503
Area served
At the Golden Zone in Mazatlan.
Nearby airports
Rafael Buelna International Airport.
Area description
International Airport “Rafael Buelna”, 4 miles from downtown, across the street from the beach, in the hearth of the GOLDEN ZONE, the exclusive tourist zone of Mazatlan, a few steps away from one of the most popular beach in Mazatlan “Playa Gaviotas”.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Azteca Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Azteca Inn Rooms

Standard
The room offers 2 Double Beds with air conditioning, color TV, cable TV, telephone, wireless internet, Hair Dryer, radio-alarm clock, room service, ceiling fan, 1 bathroom, electronic locks.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

La Terraza Restaurant
La Terraza Restaurant is well known as the place with exquisite Mexican and regional cuisine flavor, open from 7:00 am to 11:00 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Azteca Inn

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 32
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Azteca Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EdOrbitz
SFBayarea
Mar 14, 2014

Azteca Stay

Located in the Zonadorada just off the beach, AZTECA INN is central to all he restaurants and beach activities. Pleasant, simple accomodations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lucky B's restaurant is one block north on beach side of road. Noisy, very popular, great food; everything from tasty lobster thermador, to shrimp plates, taco salads, and great hamburgers. Good food at reasonable prices.

Review of Azteca Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elizabeth Young Couple
Hartford, Connecticut
Apr 26, 2013

Don't waste your money.

This hotel is not worth any amount of money. We had an awful experience and left early. The hotel was full of locals who drank all day and night in the halls and pool area. There was no way to sleep. I called the front desk several times and it was like they were scard to say anything to them. There was no control. The room was not well maintained and the bathroom was a disgrace. The gentlemen at the front desk said we had the best room in the entire motel, even though I called and said the toilet wouldn't flush. It was a awful experience and I would recommend spending more money at another establishment to feel secure and able to rest at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Azteca Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Advntr 2012
Los Angeles, California
Feb 27, 2012

mzt carnaval 2012

This was our 2nd stay @ Azteca Inn. We decided to stay here for Carnaval because it was away from Playa Olas Altas (where the festivities are held) but close to the Malecon for the parades. The only reason that I did not rate this as a 5 star is because during our 8 day stay, there were about 15-20 kids in the pool and jacuzzi as early as 7am (daily). We could not sleep in (not even once ) during our vacation. Our room was located on the first floor adjacent to the pool area. I was highly disappointed that the staff did not control the noise level nor that the parents respected the other guest and pool hours. Besides that I would probably stay @ Azteca Inn again simply for the price, service and location which you can not beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

do not purchase suveniors in the Golden Zone, buy them in El Centro (downtown) where you can always bargain and get a great deal.

Review of Azteca Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CozmicBomb
Tempe, AZ, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Good and Cheap

We enjoy this place every time we come. It's clean, convenient and cheap. Great location to the beach and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Azteca Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
BC Caqnada
Feb 24, 2011

As Good as Ever

A clean, well-maintained economical hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant has good basic meals and is popular with the local business people for meetings over breakfast or lunch. The location at the south end of the "Golden Zone" isconvenient to many excellent restaurants and across the street from the beach. The best testimonial is the number of repeat visitors we meet every year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Try and avoid shopping for anything on cruise ship days-shops are busy and prices are higher.

Review of Azteca Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
BC Caqnada
Feb 24, 2011

As Good as Ever

A clean, well-maintained economical hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant has good basic meals and is popular with the local business people for meetings over breakfast or lunch. The location at the south end of the "Golden Zone" isconvenient to many excellent restaurants and across the street from the beach. The best testimonial is the number of repeat visitors we meet every year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Try and avoid shopping for anything on cruise ship days-shops are busy and prices are higher.

Review of Azteca Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 27, 2010

Great Location & Inexpensive

This hotel is located in the golden zone, within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and the beach. If you are looking for luxury don't book this hotel, all we really wanted was a decent place to relax. The hotel has a pool, jacuzzi, restaurant and bar. Transportation was no problem since we had our options of Pulmonias which are always in front of the hotel. Pancho's restaurant has good food & drinks. If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean place to stay during your trip, then i highly recommend this hotel. I would have to say the only downside are the hard beds, but this is very common in any part of Mexico. Beware of those time-share people they will do anything to get you to attend the 90 minute meeting, they will go as far as calling you to your hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to ride the Pulmonias (open taxi) if you do not want to use the public transportation. Ask for [...], he will get you around Mazatlan and it's surroundings with out ripping you off. He is a great guy with wonderful stories, he took us on a private tour of the city for sight seeing that would have cost us a lot more had we opted to take a guided tour purchased at the hotel. He always made us feel safe and watched out for us along with giving us great ideas for shopping, restaurants and sight seeing. Make sure to ask for him, you wont be disapointed.

Review of Azteca Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 27, 2010

Great Location & Inexpensive

This hotel is located in the golden zone, within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and the beach. If you are looking for luxury don't book this hotel, all we really wanted was a decent place to relax. The hotel has a pool, jacuzzi, restaurant and bar. Transportation was no problem since we had our options of Pulmonias which are always in front of the hotel. Pancho's restaurant has good food & drinks. If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean place to stay during your trip, then i highly recommend this hotel. I would have to say the only downside are the hard beds, but this is very common in any part of Mexico. Beware of those time-share people they will do anything to get you to attend the 90 minute meeting, they will go as far as calling you to your hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to ride the Pulmonias (open taxi) if you do not want to use the public transportation. Ask for [...], he will get you around Mazatlan and it's surroundings with out ripping you off. He is a great guy with wonderful stories, he took us on a private tour of the city for sight seeing that would have cost us a lot more had we opted to take a guided tour purchased at the hotel. He always made us feel safe and watched out for us along with giving us great ideas for shopping, restaurants and sight seeing. Make sure to ask for him, you wont be disapointed.

Review of Azteca Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, MB
Dec 21, 2010

Azteca Inn

We loved this hotel. The staff were great, the hotel clean and it was close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

For the price this hotel is a bargin

Review of Azteca Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, MB
Dec 21, 2010

Azteca Inn

We loved this hotel. The staff were great, the hotel clean and it was close to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

For the price this hotel is a bargin

Back to menu Return to top