Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

4 stars
View map of Carretera Transpeninsular CSL-SJC, Sector 5km 19.5 a/n, Los Cabos, 23400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
460 out of 460
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
take back kid
Business
Fairfield, CA
Feb 21, 2013

49th wedding anniversary nightmare

We were in Cabo for our 49th wedding anniversary and a wedding at the Dreams, we were given two beds we ask for a king were promised one that night or the next night later told they couldn't make the change. The bath tub wasn't available for tub bath the stopper didn't work and there was no air ventilation in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cool cube
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Feb 21, 2013

Great hotel with excellent amenities.

This is our second time staying at the Melia resort. The staff at this hotel is wonderful. The all inclusive format is also a good value. The food variety and quality is excellent. Our waiter at the Palapa restaurant, Jesus, provided incredible service. The only thing we did not like was that the beds and pillows were extremely hard. Several other guests mentioned the same problem with their beds. I spoke to the lobby clerk and he mentioned that many guest had the same complaint and that the hotel would be changing the beds. If you go and get a hard bed ask for a matress topper. Unfortunately we found out about the toppers the last night we were at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring bills in small denomination for tips. The hotel will not break a large bill. They will only exchange dollars for pesos but at a very bad rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RT99
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Feb 14, 2013

Another great vacation in Cabo!

Hotel was very clean and beautiful. The staff was exceptional! Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny Wedding
Business
Seattle
Feb 7, 2013

Fantastic family/friends destination wedding experience

Only complaint were a few cranky desk personnel, otrherwise it was fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gemma1
Business
Northern Calif.
Feb 7, 2013

Great trip

Our first visit to the Melia Cabo Real was great. Staff was very helpful, food was good, there was good variety of activities. There were some areas that could be improved upon they were smoking allowed everywhere. Except for the resort rooms guests who smoked could light up in the bars and restaurants. We were forced to move around a lot to get away from the smoke. Music during the day and in the evenings was not age appropriate at times. The average age of the persons around the pool was Probably in the mid 50's yet much of the music was for a younger crowd. Over all we liked the facility and plan on returning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus to Cabo San Jose or to Cabo San Lucus. Bus stops are right outside the resort. Save a bundle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRCOAL
Business
Colorado
Feb 5, 2013

Okay getaway.

It was okay. All inclusive means Cheap liquor. Food wasnt great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica the Beach Bum
Business
San Diego, California
Feb 5, 2013

Beautiful, Blissful Beach Vacation

We had an EXCELLENT time!! The location is just beautiful, with views of the ocean from all over. We stayed in a room with an ocean view, but mostly saw the pool and courtyard, which was still pretty. I've stayed in an all-inclusive in Cancun, and the food was definitely nothing to write home about. This food, however, was fantastic! I really have no idea what people are talking about when they say it's not good! Coming from a semi-vegetarian, quite picky eater, I found more than enough to eat and they had delicious, HEALTHY options!! So the dessert was perhaps not the best, but come on, the dessert here should be EYE candy, not cake! The grounds were perfectly kept with staff working day and night to tidy the hotel. The pool was big and nice, but we tended to hang on the beach, which was virtually empty and so peaceful. There are the salespeople trying to sell you jewelry, but they're so sweet and harmless, it really isn't that big of a deal. Just politely decline. One night my boyfriend made secret reservations for us to have a candle light dinner on the beach... very cool and VERY good food for this, but of course it costs extra. The people were SO NICE! The rooms were great and I loved opening the patio door in the morning to beautiful sun. A blow dryer is always a plus for girls as they are hard to pack! Make your dinner reservations for the restaurants early the day of (as in by noon), or you won't be able to get in. BUT, don't worry, you'll be able to find something at the buffet on the palapa. The coolest part of this vacation was that we went during the whale season, and we saw dozens of whales the entire 4 days. They were right off the beach! We rented a jet ski out front and took it out probably 150 yards and came across a giant fin whale and her baby swimming, but we didn't want to get too close and bother them. We went on a snorkel tour one day, recommended by the staff who book activities, that allowed us to see even more whales breaching and playing. So amazing, I highly recommend going in whale season. This is one of the only swimable beaches that has a view of the open ocean. The closer to Cabo San Lucas the more of a harbor view you'll have, which has more boats and no whales. Also, this resort was so peaceful and relaxing. Great for kids, even though we are 26 with no kids. They never bothered us. We felt very safe when we ventured into Cabo San Lucas and the entire stay at the hotel. We LOVED it and cannot wait to go back! We are going to make it an annual trip for whale watching and relaxation. Seriously, I don't think you'll find better value for your money and such a beautiful beach and view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I suggest renting a car. We paid quite a bit for a shuttle to and from the airport and a cab back from the city. You can take the bus, but only during the day is recommended. A car is insanely cheap. Just be a very defensive driver because it's a little crazy out there! The city bus is good to take into or back from the city in daylight and only $2, so if that's all you plan on, just keep in mind the shuttle to and from the airport (a cab is $65, shuttle is $15).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniela y Gerardo
Business
Nuevo León Mexico
Feb 5, 2013

Just OK

Didn´t fall in love with this hotel, everything was ok, pretty grounds, good pool, good room size, good drinks, food was average, hard to get a reservation in the restaurants we had to eat at the buffet the hole weekend, hard to get a seat near the pool, not impossible but hard, beach was nice but the shaded area (umbrellas) was way to far from the shore, I guess this is because of the tide. Overall the hotel was average, not bad, but definitely not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to eat at any of the restaurants of the hotel make your reservation early on your trip for your hole vacation otherwise you won´t find a table.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
surfguile
Business
Chino Hills, California
Feb 4, 2013

Excellent Get Away

The resort was great. The accomodations were perfect. All inclusive is definitely the way to go. Staff was friendly, and the food/drinks were good to. It is about a 20 min cab ride from the hotel and if you decide to go into the city, its about a another 15-20 cab ride. If you are there to vacation, this resort is perfect. We are likely going to book this again and go back later this year with the rest of our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack179100
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 27, 2013

Great week!

We enjoyed our week at Melia Cabo Real. Great location between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. The facilities were nice, but are showing age. Our only real complaint was the beach area...not great for swimming or walking. Overall, a good experience. For the price, it was well worth it. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Easy trip to either town via bus for only a few bucks. Pick up and drop off right in front of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top