Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

4 stars
View map of Carretera Transpeninsular CSL-SJC, Sector 5km 19.5 a/n, Los Cabos, 23400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
407 out of 407
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRCOAL
Business
Colorado
Feb 5, 2013

Okay getaway.

It was okay. All inclusive means Cheap liquor. Food wasnt great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car.....

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica the Beach Bum
Business
San Diego, California
Feb 5, 2013

Beautiful, Blissful Beach Vacation

We had an EXCELLENT time!! The location is just beautiful, with views of the ocean from all over. We stayed in a room with an ocean view, but mostly saw the pool and courtyard, which was still pretty. I've stayed in an all-inclusive in Cancun, and the food was definitely nothing to write home about. This food, however, was fantastic! I really have no idea what people are talking about when they say it's not good! Coming from a semi-vegetarian, quite picky eater, I found more than enough to eat and they had delicious, HEALTHY options!! So the dessert was perhaps not the best, but come on, the dessert here should be EYE candy, not cake! The grounds were perfectly kept with staff working day and night to tidy the hotel. The pool was big and nice, but we tended to hang on the beach, which was virtually empty and so peaceful. There are the salespeople trying to sell you jewelry, but they're so sweet and harmless, it really isn't that big of a deal. Just politely decline. One night my boyfriend made secret reservations for us to have a candle light dinner on the beach... very cool and VERY good food for this, but of course it costs extra. The people were SO NICE! The rooms were great and I loved opening the patio door in the morning to beautiful sun. A blow dryer is always a plus for girls as they are hard to pack! Make your dinner reservations for the restaurants early the day of (as in by noon), or you won't be able to get in. BUT, don't worry, you'll be able to find something at the buffet on the palapa. The coolest part of this vacation was that we went during the whale season, and we saw dozens of whales the entire 4 days. They were right off the beach! We rented a jet ski out front and took it out probably 150 yards and came across a giant fin whale and her baby swimming, but we didn't want to get too close and bother them. We went on a snorkel tour one day, recommended by the staff who book activities, that allowed us to see even more whales breaching and playing. So amazing, I highly recommend going in whale season. This is one of the only swimable beaches that has a view of the open ocean. The closer to Cabo San Lucas the more of a harbor view you'll have, which has more boats and no whales. Also, this resort was so peaceful and relaxing. Great for kids, even though we are 26 with no kids. They never bothered us. We felt very safe when we ventured into Cabo San Lucas and the entire stay at the hotel. We LOVED it and cannot wait to go back! We are going to make it an annual trip for whale watching and relaxation. Seriously, I don't think you'll find better value for your money and such a beautiful beach and view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I suggest renting a car. We paid quite a bit for a shuttle to and from the airport and a cab back from the city. You can take the bus, but only during the day is recommended. A car is insanely cheap. Just be a very defensive driver because it's a little crazy out there! The city bus is good to take into or back from the city in daylight and only $2, so if that's all you plan on, just keep in mind the shuttle to and from the airport (a cab is $65, shuttle is $15).

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daniela y Gerardo
Business
Nuevo León Mexico
Feb 5, 2013

Just OK

Didn´t fall in love with this hotel, everything was ok, pretty grounds, good pool, good room size, good drinks, food was average, hard to get a reservation in the restaurants we had to eat at the buffet the hole weekend, hard to get a seat near the pool, not impossible but hard, beach was nice but the shaded area (umbrellas) was way to far from the shore, I guess this is because of the tide. Overall the hotel was average, not bad, but definitely not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you want to eat at any of the restaurants of the hotel make your reservation early on your trip for your hole vacation otherwise you won´t find a table.

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
surfguile
Business
Chino Hills, California
Feb 4, 2013

Excellent Get Away

The resort was great. The accomodations were perfect. All inclusive is definitely the way to go. Staff was friendly, and the food/drinks were good to. It is about a 20 min cab ride from the hotel and if you decide to go into the city, its about a another 15-20 cab ride. If you are there to vacation, this resort is perfect. We are likely going to book this again and go back later this year with the rest of our family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jack179100
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 27, 2013

Great week!

We enjoyed our week at Melia Cabo Real. Great location between Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo. The facilities were nice, but are showing age. Our only real complaint was the beach area...not great for swimming or walking. Overall, a good experience. For the price, it was well worth it. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Easy trip to either town via bus for only a few bucks. Pick up and drop off right in front of the hotel.

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roddmann
Business
denver
Jan 24, 2013

run of the mill

Food was average beds were very hard views were not of the ocean. Television old school poor reception

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

use the city bus

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mommy Ami
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 19, 2013

Awesome Family Vacation

We had a wonderful time at this beautiful hotel. The staff were as nice as can be. We had a garden room and it was large and clean with a patio. My only complaint was the beds were a bit hard. The food was always good. The drinks always easy to get. I do tip because I appreciated their good service. Our 6 year old couldn't wait to go to the Kids Club everyday for a few hours. All the kids made friends and played together. At night the hotel had activies for families like movies, dance parties and a piñata. It was nice to stay somewhere where families can have fun. Those few hours gave my husband and I a little time to relax too. A little chilly in January but we made the best of it. Saw whale pass the hotel everyday. We took the bus into San Jose and Cabo. Busses are safe and cost $2 each person each way. San Jose del Cabo is a cute artsy little old town. Nice shopping and lunch. Cabo was nice by day and we took a glass bottom boat for $10 each to Lovers beach for an hour and swam. I wouldn't recommend snorkeling because of the heavy boat traffic. It really is worth the trip out to the arch though. In town we ate at an amazing seafood restaurant called Mariscos Macambo. We left by late afternoon when it starts getting a bit adult in town. We loved our vacation and will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SCSChicago
Business
Chicago
Jan 7, 2013

More of a three star than a four star

The ocean view rooms are still side-views, but closer to the pool and beach. The beds were VERY hard - and we like firm beds. They seem to not want to accommodate their guests unless they are pushy - they put us in a sub-standard room (we paid for deluxe ocean view) and we had to wait two nights to get a better room with a King bed instead of two double beds. They were going to push it to three nights after we had already packed up to move but we fought hard on it! The "free" wifi in the lobby isn't working most of the time - so don't count on it! The gym is hardly a gym, with only a few working bikes #no treadmills or stair climbers#. No running trails. The spa was not really a spa. You have to get in line at 9am to make reservations for the a la carte restaurants #day of only#. Kind of a pain. But the food was good, the rooms were clean. The grounds were beautiful. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations early (9am) for the Terraza restaurant - it's delicious and fills up fast. And bring lots of small bills for tipping - while not required, the staff expect tips.

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
stuarto
Business
cabo san lucas
Jan 1, 2013

fairly good value

the stay was good except for a couple of issues that should have been rectified by the management. the working staff were quite friendly and trying to please at all times. the food was a little above average-not great but good and plentiful; one of the meals in the terraza restaurant was too long expecially with kids at the table. also the beef was actually tough. the major concern of mine having been in the travel industry was the lack of responsiveness from the management of what i consider a correctible situation. that was the toliet in our room that would not flush properly ad would back up every night and had to be plumbed. they assured us that it was properly fixed but by the morning the backup continued and the procedure was repeated for 5 nights. when we checked out i brought up the problem to the resident manager and they pulled their records and said that the [problem was too much paper in the commode. you can rest assured that we did not cause this and i asked them if they checked the toilets and snaked them every time a guest checked out and they said no. then how could they say the paper problem was caused by us. they were not sensitive to out entreaties,\\ i feel a proper resolution would have been to maybe give us a credit of some sort on our next stay or a refund on the card. having been in the travel industry it is imperative to provide a positive experience to all guests and this was not done. i am not sure i could recommentd the hotel to other patrons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

san jose de cabo

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daddy and Mommy Team
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Dec 20, 2012

Excellent for families with kids

We were extremely pleased with this hotel. Our room was quiet and we didn't hear the guests next door. The pool area is beautiful, the poll is heated, which makes a huge difference in the Winter time, and the pool service staff and bar/restaurant at the pool was also excellent. Nice large Jacuzzi with view of the beach and ocean (and whales). I could easily live without the mid-day pool activities and the associated noise via the speaker, since we can entertain ourselves and it can make it hard to read or relax, but this kind of animation seems to be standard for these all-inclusive resorts. The beach is beautiful and the ocean water is crystal clear. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional, you really get the impression that they enjoy working there. The only real downside was that the toilets don't have a strong flush performance and can easily get clogged. The bathtub in our room was somewhat narrow and the shower head was fixed at the wall, which makes it a little cumbersome to give a child a bath, but no big issue. It would have been nice to have a separate shower, but our room didn't have one. There were some weddings at the pool area at night, but the room A/C noise ensured that we didn't hear the music from the parties and we slept very well. The mattresses are somewhat hard but we liked them. I requested some softer pillows and got some great ones the same day. The gym is ok but nothing fancy. The four restaurants and the food quality are outstanding and truly satisfied our picky taste; except for the fact that they played the same CD over and over (instrumental piano versions of Queen hits - could be worse), but we've noticed this at other resorts too. Not sure why they can't invest in a few more CDs or MP3s. This is not a fancy high-end resort for couples, but really fantastic for young kids. Our 3.5 year old son loved every minute there and can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top