Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

4 stars
View map of Carretera Transpeninsular CSL-SJC, Sector 5km 19.5 a/n, Los Cabos, 23400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
460 out of 460
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MAX E C
Business
CLEVELAND,OHIO
Sep 29, 2013

Good for budget and Family

Nice hotel, good location, food was Okay. ELEVATOR NOT WORKING, AND HAS BEEN DOWN FOR A WHILE, NOT GOOD!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
harry626
Business
cabo san lucas
Aug 19, 2013

Great place for the family

I stayed at the Melia with my family and we had a great time the location is wonderful, the staff is really nice, and they really make you feel welcome. The wait staff is amazing they work really hard and fast to give great service to everyone and they make your stay more comfortable, the pool is really nice and has an in pool bar. They also have activities like volleyball and dancing. Overall we were really happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandy8421
Business
New Jersey
Aug 8, 2013

Nice but with some drawbacks

I went on a family vacation for a week and we had a good time. The grounds were nice and very well manicured. The pool was big and the ocean view was beautiful. The food was decent nothing spectacular but definately something for everyone my favorite were their beans. The areas where we had problems with were the little things like I had contacted the resort in advance to let them know we were celebrating a 50th birthday and to please put some balloons or something in the room to welcome my mother (the birthday girl) when we go to our room they didn't do anything for my mom. Instead they left us a letter congratulating us on our anniversary. So that was kind of a dissapointing way to start our vacation. Also when we asked any of the staff for information or help we always got the run around like they weren't sure who could handle it or weren't very helpful at times. For example we booked the transfer through this site and we were supposed to meet with their agent the day after we arrived to book our transfer back and when he never showed up no one at the hotel could figure out how to reach him. They just kept saying to come back the next day to confirm the transfer but we were on vacation it was kind of annoying having to return everyday to book our transer it was an invconvienance and frustrating that on one from the resort could help us. Finally someone from the resort helped us reach our transfer company and confirmed our transfer but it was such a hassle didn't need to be. So in the log run the vacation was a good value and would have been even better if the more attention to detail was given. I would return to Cabo but to another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the boat tour to see the arch and snorkel it was a highlight of the trip and worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mees
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 2, 2013

Terrible front desk staff

Staff at reception will not move an inch for you. They do not care. Pay extra for wifi, pay extra $12 for a local call, pay extra if you do not bring back your towels, we needed help printing out our boarding passes, and they said we needed to contact our travel agent! Really? It's 2013 people, let me log on and print, five minutes tops! Pay extra for everything! It's unfortunate, because the facility is beautiful, but the front desk staff will not help you at all. You loose your wrist band? Pay extra $25 US dollars and so on....They know, you are paying "all inclusive" so why should they bother to treat you any different right? And on another note, unless you are a heavy drinker, you are best staying at a non inclusive hotel. The two restaurants that they have are terrible! Besides, the awful food and front desk staff, the rest was great. Management needs to step it up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TVGuy157
Business
Illinois
Jun 24, 2013

Front Desk Failure

We have stayed at Melia Properties in the past and have been very satisfied with staff, food, rooms, and amenities. It is for that reason we decided to stay at Melia Cabo Real on our most recent trip. Let me start by saying bell staff, activities staff, restaurant staff, and housekeeping staff were fantastic. They are the reason that our stay was comfortable and fun. The bar staff was not all that personable as they are at other Melia properties but they got the job done. The food was good but there was not as big a variety as in other Melia hotels. The food serving temperature was warm at its best and most times was cool or cold. I was disappointed that it was so Americanized. Not much local fare at any of the five restaurants on the property. The rooms and the property as a whole were well kept and clean. Very pleased. Beware! Some of the buildings DO NOT have elevators but stairs are abundant throughout. The biggest turnoff and disappointment was with the front desk staff up to and including the managers on duty. We had issues from the moment we checked in. The front desk was uncooperative and unwilling to accommodate us at every instance. Maria was by far the worst of the worst. Her attitude was flippant and uncaring. She also outwardly lied to our faces. She said she had taken care of our request for another room (my wife had difficulty with all the stairs), entered it in the system and assured us all was well and we would be accommodated the next day. When we asked if we should come back to see her the next day, Maria said she would not be there. When we returned the next day, no one knew what we were talking about and said they had no record of any requests on our part. Nothing was in the system. To top it off, Maria was at work and tried to hide herself out of view while we were at the desk. We, and others, were continually told that the hotel was full and at capacity. This was a lie as it was obvious that occupancy was at or below 50%. In short, it took 4 days before our needs and requests were satisfied. Throughout the process, the front desk and managers were less than forthcoming with information. They were again, uncaring, rude, unaccommodating, dismissive, disinterested and unconcerned with guest satisfaction. I say this not only because of our experience but because it was the normal way of doing business at Melia Cabo Real. Not a day went by that I was in or near the lobby area when I didn’t see the staff conducting business with other guest in the same manner. During our stay and interaction with other guests, many of them had said they had the same poor experience with the front desk. Maria, Emanuel, Arnaldo being the worst of who we had to deal with. The concierge was also not up to the job description. We were twice told that all restaurants and reservations were full but at no time during those specific days were the restaurants ever full. There was always at least a quarter of the tables empty at any given time. Another disappointment was that unlike other Melia hotels, we were not allowed to book our restaurant reservations for the entire week. It had to be done on a daily basis. By the way, on at least one occasion after we were told reservations were full, another party was given a table after we were informed all was booked. Before I end this review, I want to give mention and thanks for the great service and attention from just a few of the wonderful service staff. It is they who worked hard to please the guest where management had failed. Great work and thanks to: Francisco in activities along with Linda and “Chicken Little”. Marco of the wait staff and Albert of the bellhop staff. All in all, we had a good time despite the front office staff. But it is because of them our next rip to Cabo will be spent at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TVGuy157
Business
Illinois
Jun 10, 2013

Great Property, Great Support Staff, Failed Management

We have stayed at Melia Properties in the past and have been very satisfied with staff, food, rooms, and amenities. It is for that reason we decided to stay at Melia Cabo Real on our most recent trip. Let me start by saying bell staff, activities staff, restaurant staff, and housekeeping staff were fantastic. They are the reason that our stay was comfortable and fun. The bar staff was not all that personable as they are at other Melia properties but they got the job done. The food was good but there was not as big a variety as in other Melia hotels. The food serving temperature was warm at its best and most times was cool or cold. I was disappointed that it was so Americanized. Not much local fare at any of the five restaurants on the property. The rooms and the property as a whole were well kept and clean. Very pleased. Beware! Some of the buildings DO NOT have elevators but stairs are abundant throughout. The biggest turnoff and disappointment was with the front desk staff up to and including the managers on duty. We had issues from the moment we checked in. The front desk was uncooperative and unwilling to accommodate us at every instance. Maria was by far the worst of the worst. Her attitude was flippant and uncaring. She also outwardly lied to our faces. She said she had taken care of our request for another room (my wife had difficulty with all the stairs), entered it in the system and assured us all was well and we would be accommodated the next day. When we asked if we should come back to see her the next day, Maria said she would not be there. When we returned the next day, no one knew what we were talking about and said they had no record of any requests on our part. Nothing was in the system. To top it off, Maria was at work and tried to hide herself out of view while we were at the desk. We, and others, were continually told that the hotel was full and at capacity. This was a lie as it was obvious that occupancy was at or below 50%. In short, it took 4 days before our needs and requests were satisfied. Throughout the process, the front desk and managers were less than forthcoming with information. They were again, uncaring, rude, unaccommodating, dismissive, disinterested and unconcerned with guest satisfaction. I say this not only because of our experience but because it was the normal way of doing business at Melia Cabo Real. Not a day went by that I was in or near the lobby area when I didn’t see the staff conducting business with other guests in the same manner. During our stay and interaction with other guests, many of them had said they had the same poor experience with the front desk. Maria, Emanuel, Arnaldo being the worst of who we had to deal with. The concierge was also not up to the job description. We were twice told that all restaurants and reservations were full but at no time during those specific days were the restaurants ever full. There was always at least a quarter of the tables empty at any given time. Another disappointment was that unlike other Melia hotels, we were not allowed to book our restaurant reservations for the entire week. It had to be done on a daily basis. By the way, on at least one occasion after we were told reservations were full, another party was given a table after we were informed all was booked. Before I end this review, I want to give mention and thanks for the great service and attention from just a few of the wonderful service staff. It is they who worked hard to please the guest where management had failed. Great work and thanks to: Francisco in activities along with Linda and “Chicken Little”. Marco of the wait staff and Albert of the bellhop staff. All in all, we had a good time despite the front office staff. But it is because of them our next rip to Cabo will be spent at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

San Jose Cabo is more local and intimate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daedoo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 11, 2013

Good Staff, Good Food!

My husband and I went to Melia for our hoenymoon. Food was great and the staff was nice. But only thing was the location.. I wish Melia was near the downtown. But overall, It was a great place to relax and eat and drink with all inclusive deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Try not to go to any presentation about hotels. It's hard to get out of them...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
prabakar9
Business
san diego
Apr 30, 2013

Great value for the money.

Our family stay was enjoyable. Overall the location and amenities are decent. The pool is amazing! We spent all our time there. The only complaint I would have is that we did not get a king size bed when we had originally reserved one. They were very limited in selection. Stay at rooms on top floors than the first couple floors as the rooms are a little musky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

One tip on dinner. Make your reservations for the restaurants early. We did not know that there were restaurants on site that needed reservations. We got tired of eating at the same place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
roxy2002
Business
Washington
Apr 29, 2013

Spring Break escape

0ur stay at the Melia was great. We arrived 3 1/2 hours before check in but got in a room right away. The staff was very helpful. There was a good variety of food available at the buffet and we had great meals both times we ate at the restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nyjean
Business
San Jose del Cabo
Apr 23, 2013

Friends getaway

The waiters and bartenders very nice, the front desk seemed too busy to pay attention to me. I got a partial ocean view room, it faced the golf course and the trees blocked the ocean. I told them I wanted to be moved because I upgraded my room I was left on hold a really long time, I had to call back and they said they would move me the next day, which they did not nor call back. My view was no better than the people who paid less. I finally gave up. I should have been at least compensated in some form. We went out to the East Cape to crossroads country club where they had live bands, which was great. They built a hotel there called Vida Soul which is gorgeous. Well worth the drive out there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Not such a short drive because the roads aren't great but the food and entertainment at the Crossroads Country Club/ Vida Soul on the east cape was fantastic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top