Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

4 stars
View map of Carretera Transpeninsular CSL-SJC, Sector 5km 19.5 a/n, Los Cabos, 23400

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
507 out of 507
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.3

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kelly ka
Business
Richmond BC
Nov 12, 2013

My Experience

I will never stay here again! The front desk is problem #1. We booked this resort with another couple our husband were go to golf and us girls were going to relax. I have a brain injury. When we checked in I was in another building from our friends. My girl friend and I explained to the lady on front desk about my problem that I get confessed. She say she could give us the same building but different floors but in 2 days the convention would be over and she could move us because the resort would be 30% full. We agree to what they had and said we would live out of our suit case for the 2 nights.. The room they gave us was on the first floor we had problem with that. The problem was that the Safe, Fridge, Toilet did not work. We kept going to the front desk to complain to send someone to the toilet problem they would send someone to fix it. We gave up on using it and went to the public toilet.. We knew we were being moved so we were hoping to be moved to a room that everything was working. On the Sunday my girlfriend and I went to the front desk to get the change of rooms. The lady who checked us in was there Ardleena (not sure of spell) she told us we would have to talk to the hotel manager Arturo. That was fine this man was so rude I really don't know were to start. He said my brain injury was not his problem and we where trying to use that excess to get something more than we paid for. All we were asking for were 2 rooms beside each other. In the beginning of all this we said we where willing to pay for an upgrade if that could give us 2 rooms beside each other. This man insulted me I not clue in my friend was so upset she was shaking. This all happen @ 1 pm he tell us the rooms he could give us were not ready and to come back 3pm. My friend went up to the new rooms and talk to the maid the rooms had been cleaned in the morning but she waited till 3 pm to go back to the front desk as we were told to do. I did not accompany her back to the front desk she left me on the lounge at the pool. Arturo was at the front desk talking to someone. He said to my girlfriend to go over there and sit down and wait for me. He finally came over to give her the keys. She told me when she came back to get me she felt like a dog to way he spoke to her. If we had not booked on a package we would have moved to another resort right then. Also I will say that the convention guests seem more important than the resort guests. They say there are 3 restaurants plus a buffet . The only choice you have is 1 restaurant and the buffet the other 2 are closed. In alternated between 2 restaurants each night and 1 of them never did open. The buffet is open air and same with 1 restaurant. I now understand the reviews I read about flies and bugs in the food these restaurants are out doors. Food was alright. In the buffet Marco during the day and Sergio in the evening were fabulous at their job above and beyond. The omelet lady in the morning she was great too always a warm smile so pleasant in the morning. I must say the Staff in the back end of the resort were really hard working. The pool actives were poor they also said they had yoga classes NO YOGA. Another thing the resort said they had not true. We tried to make the best of our vacation and not let the front desk experience ruin it. Still the treatment weighed on my mind and I just wanted to go home. The beach is gravelly but beautiful as you can walk for miles sand it better further along. We walked every morning just wonderful. Resort not so wonderful but it was warm and sunny. Arturo at the golf desk was not very good either all kinds of miss information prices not what he said via our emails before our arrival eg. golf courses and cab fares and time to get there. I still can't get over the fact someone would say I was trying to use my brain injury to get something.This is still very upsetting to me how he could be so hurtful. I can not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Starjilly
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 11, 2013

Beautiful Resort, Property and location

The resort is beautiful. The rooms are comfortable, and very nice. We were lucky enough to have an ocean front room, and it could not have been better - simply paradise. We stayed for 7 nights, and enjoyed the pool for at least 5 of those days, and other days, we took trips into town to join the locals. The pricing is reasonable, and since it's an All Inclusive, we really only paid for gift shop items, etc. The drinks were good, and the staff was amazing. Everything you wanted was given to you with a smile. My ONLY complaint was the food. They had SO much to offer, but for some reason, my stomach, my fiancé's stomach, and one other person we were traveling with had "issues" (and I won't go any further#. The food tasted good, and there was such a beautiful variety, but like I said, it did not agree with us. I can't say it had anything to do with the quality of the food, since I did enjoy it, I think it was just the culture change going from Chicago to Cabo. My system wasn't used to it. Would I recommend it - wholeheartedly, but with my recommendation, I would mention the food, and tell someone what happened with me. All in all - it was a fabulous vacation. I wish I could say I would choose the Melia Cabo Real again, but I'd be just a little hesitant, only because of the food issues I encountered. I have stayed in Mexico many times #mostly Cancun# and haven't had an issue. So wish I could give them my full recommendations, but would feel remiss if I didn't mention that part of my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San San
Business
Las Vegas
Oct 4, 2013

Friends 40th birthday

Our experience was amazing. Everyone was so friendly and they went above and beyond to make our experience so memorable. I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MAX E C
Business
CLEVELAND,OHIO
Sep 29, 2013

Good for budget and Family

Nice hotel, good location, food was Okay. ELEVATOR NOT WORKING, AND HAS BEEN DOWN FOR A WHILE, NOT GOOD!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
harry626
Business
cabo san lucas
Aug 19, 2013

Great place for the family

I stayed at the Melia with my family and we had a great time the location is wonderful, the staff is really nice, and they really make you feel welcome. The wait staff is amazing they work really hard and fast to give great service to everyone and they make your stay more comfortable, the pool is really nice and has an in pool bar. They also have activities like volleyball and dancing. Overall we were really happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sandy8421
Business
New Jersey
Aug 8, 2013

Nice but with some drawbacks

I went on a family vacation for a week and we had a good time. The grounds were nice and very well manicured. The pool was big and the ocean view was beautiful. The food was decent nothing spectacular but definately something for everyone my favorite were their beans. The areas where we had problems with were the little things like I had contacted the resort in advance to let them know we were celebrating a 50th birthday and to please put some balloons or something in the room to welcome my mother (the birthday girl) when we go to our room they didn't do anything for my mom. Instead they left us a letter congratulating us on our anniversary. So that was kind of a dissapointing way to start our vacation. Also when we asked any of the staff for information or help we always got the run around like they weren't sure who could handle it or weren't very helpful at times. For example we booked the transfer through this site and we were supposed to meet with their agent the day after we arrived to book our transfer back and when he never showed up no one at the hotel could figure out how to reach him. They just kept saying to come back the next day to confirm the transfer but we were on vacation it was kind of annoying having to return everyday to book our transer it was an invconvienance and frustrating that on one from the resort could help us. Finally someone from the resort helped us reach our transfer company and confirmed our transfer but it was such a hassle didn't need to be. So in the log run the vacation was a good value and would have been even better if the more attention to detail was given. I would return to Cabo but to another resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the boat tour to see the arch and snorkel it was a highlight of the trip and worth every penny.

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mees
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 2, 2013

Terrible front desk staff

Staff at reception will not move an inch for you. They do not care. Pay extra for wifi, pay extra $12 for a local call, pay extra if you do not bring back your towels, we needed help printing out our boarding passes, and they said we needed to contact our travel agent! Really? It's 2013 people, let me log on and print, five minutes tops! Pay extra for everything! It's unfortunate, because the facility is beautiful, but the front desk staff will not help you at all. You loose your wrist band? Pay extra $25 US dollars and so on....They know, you are paying "all inclusive" so why should they bother to treat you any different right? And on another note, unless you are a heavy drinker, you are best staying at a non inclusive hotel. The two restaurants that they have are terrible! Besides, the awful food and front desk staff, the rest was great. Management needs to step it up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TVGuy157
Business
Illinois
Jun 24, 2013

Front Desk Failure

We have stayed at Melia Properties in the past and have been very satisfied with staff, food, rooms, and amenities. It is for that reason we decided to stay at Melia Cabo Real on our most recent trip. Let me start by saying bell staff, activities staff, restaurant staff, and housekeeping staff were fantastic. They are the reason that our stay was comfortable and fun. The bar staff was not all that personable as they are at other Melia properties but they got the job done. The food was good but there was not as big a variety as in other Melia hotels. The food serving temperature was warm at its best and most times was cool or cold. I was disappointed that it was so Americanized. Not much local fare at any of the five restaurants on the property. The rooms and the property as a whole were well kept and clean. Very pleased. Beware! Some of the buildings DO NOT have elevators but stairs are abundant throughout. The biggest turnoff and disappointment was with the front desk staff up to and including the managers on duty. We had issues from the moment we checked in. The front desk was uncooperative and unwilling to accommodate us at every instance. Maria was by far the worst of the worst. Her attitude was flippant and uncaring. She also outwardly lied to our faces. She said she had taken care of our request for another room (my wife had difficulty with all the stairs), entered it in the system and assured us all was well and we would be accommodated the next day. When we asked if we should come back to see her the next day, Maria said she would not be there. When we returned the next day, no one knew what we were talking about and said they had no record of any requests on our part. Nothing was in the system. To top it off, Maria was at work and tried to hide herself out of view while we were at the desk. We, and others, were continually told that the hotel was full and at capacity. This was a lie as it was obvious that occupancy was at or below 50%. In short, it took 4 days before our needs and requests were satisfied. Throughout the process, the front desk and managers were less than forthcoming with information. They were again, uncaring, rude, unaccommodating, dismissive, disinterested and unconcerned with guest satisfaction. I say this not only because of our experience but because it was the normal way of doing business at Melia Cabo Real. Not a day went by that I was in or near the lobby area when I didn’t see the staff conducting business with other guest in the same manner. During our stay and interaction with other guests, many of them had said they had the same poor experience with the front desk. Maria, Emanuel, Arnaldo being the worst of who we had to deal with. The concierge was also not up to the job description. We were twice told that all restaurants and reservations were full but at no time during those specific days were the restaurants ever full. There was always at least a quarter of the tables empty at any given time. Another disappointment was that unlike other Melia hotels, we were not allowed to book our restaurant reservations for the entire week. It had to be done on a daily basis. By the way, on at least one occasion after we were told reservations were full, another party was given a table after we were informed all was booked. Before I end this review, I want to give mention and thanks for the great service and attention from just a few of the wonderful service staff. It is they who worked hard to please the guest where management had failed. Great work and thanks to: Francisco in activities along with Linda and “Chicken Little”. Marco of the wait staff and Albert of the bellhop staff. All in all, we had a good time despite the front office staff. But it is because of them our next rip to Cabo will be spent at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TVGuy157
Business
Illinois
Jun 10, 2013

Great Property, Great Support Staff, Failed Management

We have stayed at Melia Properties in the past and have been very satisfied with staff, food, rooms, and amenities. It is for that reason we decided to stay at Melia Cabo Real on our most recent trip. Let me start by saying bell staff, activities staff, restaurant staff, and housekeeping staff were fantastic. They are the reason that our stay was comfortable and fun. The bar staff was not all that personable as they are at other Melia properties but they got the job done. The food was good but there was not as big a variety as in other Melia hotels. The food serving temperature was warm at its best and most times was cool or cold. I was disappointed that it was so Americanized. Not much local fare at any of the five restaurants on the property. The rooms and the property as a whole were well kept and clean. Very pleased. Beware! Some of the buildings DO NOT have elevators but stairs are abundant throughout. The biggest turnoff and disappointment was with the front desk staff up to and including the managers on duty. We had issues from the moment we checked in. The front desk was uncooperative and unwilling to accommodate us at every instance. Maria was by far the worst of the worst. Her attitude was flippant and uncaring. She also outwardly lied to our faces. She said she had taken care of our request for another room (my wife had difficulty with all the stairs), entered it in the system and assured us all was well and we would be accommodated the next day. When we asked if we should come back to see her the next day, Maria said she would not be there. When we returned the next day, no one knew what we were talking about and said they had no record of any requests on our part. Nothing was in the system. To top it off, Maria was at work and tried to hide herself out of view while we were at the desk. We, and others, were continually told that the hotel was full and at capacity. This was a lie as it was obvious that occupancy was at or below 50%. In short, it took 4 days before our needs and requests were satisfied. Throughout the process, the front desk and managers were less than forthcoming with information. They were again, uncaring, rude, unaccommodating, dismissive, disinterested and unconcerned with guest satisfaction. I say this not only because of our experience but because it was the normal way of doing business at Melia Cabo Real. Not a day went by that I was in or near the lobby area when I didn’t see the staff conducting business with other guests in the same manner. During our stay and interaction with other guests, many of them had said they had the same poor experience with the front desk. Maria, Emanuel, Arnaldo being the worst of who we had to deal with. The concierge was also not up to the job description. We were twice told that all restaurants and reservations were full but at no time during those specific days were the restaurants ever full. There was always at least a quarter of the tables empty at any given time. Another disappointment was that unlike other Melia hotels, we were not allowed to book our restaurant reservations for the entire week. It had to be done on a daily basis. By the way, on at least one occasion after we were told reservations were full, another party was given a table after we were informed all was booked. Before I end this review, I want to give mention and thanks for the great service and attention from just a few of the wonderful service staff. It is they who worked hard to please the guest where management had failed. Great work and thanks to: Francisco in activities along with Linda and “Chicken Little”. Marco of the wait staff and Albert of the bellhop staff. All in all, we had a good time despite the front office staff. But it is because of them our next rip to Cabo will be spent at another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

San Jose Cabo is more local and intimate.

Review of Melia Cabo Real All Inclusive Beach and Golf Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daedoo
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 11, 2013

Good Staff, Good Food!

My husband and I went to Melia for our hoenymoon. Food was great and the staff was nice. But only thing was the location.. I wish Melia was near the downtown. But overall, It was a great place to relax and eat and drink with all inclusive deals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Try not to go to any presentation about hotels. It's hard to get out of them...

Back to menu Return to top