$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Blvd Ixtapa S/N Ixtpa, Ixtapa, 40880

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
57 reviews
Excellent Vacation!

This was my third stay at the Tesoro in as many years. Just can't say enough about this place!... See full review

  • Terry C.
  • Mar 26, 2015
Awesome trip

This is a great hotel, it is a great value for the money, good food, great service, great location!... See full review

  • pakfan
  • Feb 19, 2015
Family-friendly all-inclusive resort with three restaurants and a pool
The beachfront Tesoro Ixtapa resort on Playa del Palmar provides the ideal balance between beach fun and relaxing moments for a refreshing vacation experience. Swimming with dolphins, with an exhilarating belly ride or foot push, provides a memorable experience at the Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium near the all-inclusive Tesoro Ixtapa. Take a bike ride along a five-mile trail leading through the jungle by a bird sanctuary and ending at Playa Linda near a crocodile reserve. Or while away the afternoon napping in the sun.
Highlights
  • Recently renovated pool
  • Jacuzzi suites available
  • Three restaurants and three bars
  • Kids’ club
  • Las Vegas-style revues
Rooms
All 203 deluxe rooms and junior suites at the all-inclusive Tesoro Ixtapa offer views of the Pacific Ocean or resort gardens and the tropical Sierra Madre del Sur mountains. One king or two double beds, private balconies, air conditioning, in-room safes, satellite TV, hair dryers and stocked mini-bars are included.

 

Features
Childcare professionals at the all-inclusive Tesoro Ixtapa Corsarios Kids Club make each day special for children ages four to 12. With water aerobics, water basketball, mask making, bingo, treasure hunts, movie nights and more, kids love their daily roster of all-inclusive Tesoro Ixtapa activities as much as the grown-ups enjoy lounging by the pool.
 
Adults find plenty to keep them busy as well, with dance lessons, beach volleyball and water polo among some of the organized activities designed specially for them. A range of nightly entertainment at the all-inclusive Tesoro Ixtapa includes Mexican music and dance, Las Vegas-style revues, karaoke and trivia games.
Transportation
  • Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo International Airport (10.2 mi/16.3 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 200 (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Zihuatanejo bus station (Central de Autobuses Estrella Blanca) (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Mexican Federal Highway 134 (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
Attractions
  • Adjacent to Delfiniti Ixtapa dolphinarium
  • Magic World water park (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Plaza las Fuentes (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Marina Ixtapa Golf Club (0.9 mi/1.5 km) 
  • Campo de Golf Ixtapa (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Isla Ixtapa (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • La Costa Grande Archaeological Museum (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
Business
  • Meeting and event space available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive Rooms

Studio Garden View
Studio Garden View feature 1 double bed with, air conditioninDirect dial telephone, Satellite TV, Refreshment center, Bathroom with walk-in shower,Radio alarm clock, In-room safe deposit box, Hairdryer and Iron/board at request.
Deluxe Partial Ocean View with Balcony
Deluxe Partial Ocean View with Balcony 1 King or 2 Double beds Ocean or garden balcony views with, Air conditioning, Direct dial telephone, Satellite TV, Refreshment center restocked every other day, Bathroom with walk-in shower, Radio alarm clock, In-room safe deposit box, Hairdryer, and Iron/board at request.
Deluxe Garden View with Balcony
Deluxe feature king size or two double beds, air conditioning, in room safety deposit box, minibar stocked with water, beer and pop, cable TV, direct dial telephone and voice mail, bathroom with shower, hairdryer, and balcony or terrace.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Tesoro Ixtapa offer a small meeting room equipped with the lates technology.

Dining

EL MESON/RESTAURANTE
Traditional dishes of Mexico play a starring role at Tesoros specialty restaurant, where guest are treated to the authentic atmosphere and cuisine of a typical mexican hacienda. dine a la carte on a wide selection of authentic regional dishes and complement any meal with fine wines from our cellar.
Arrecifes / Grill
Kick back on your lounge chair at Arrecifess our casual poolside grill restaurant where Tesoros friendly waiters will treat you like the king of the sea, whether youre in the mood for a refreshing cocktail, col cerveza, plateful of nachos or sandwich with french fries.
LA MAR/RESTAURANTE
Soak up friendly atmosphere of this bright, spacious and inviting restaurant overlooking the beautiful pacific ocean. Dine on a wide variety of internatinal buffet and a la carte sit down meals in the relaxing surroundings with attentive and amiable service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ixtapabum
Business
N/A
Apr 7, 2015

Feb 2015

21st year in Ixtapa so we like the weather and the area. (first time at Tesoro) Hotel is just what other reviews say (some good some bad) good staff buffet is OK (not as good as some others) sit down dinner very good (but we eat out at local and Zihu restaurants most nights) drinks not top shelf liquor, many people on weekends some rooms have been upgraded, ours was old and needed upgrading but bed was comfortable. If you're looking for a 3.5 star and above don't go there. If you can get a good rate and top notch food or drink is a must then it's OK. If the rate was great (like we had this year) we could put up with it again but we'll shop around next winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Salmn8tr
Business
Menasha
Apr 6, 2015

2nd year at Tesoro

We spent two weeks at the Tesoro from Feb. 6th to Feb 21st. I think the staff at the hotel is amazing especially Patsy and Andrades in the dining room. Our room was on the 4th floor with a beautiful view. However this year we were next to a privately owned condo and they were smokers. Our room always smelled of smoke and that was not good as both my husband and I have sinus issues. I think the hotel was way too crowded this year and there was absolutely nothing quiet about the hotel grounds. The swimming pool should not be open as early as the start of breakfast or as late as the supper hour. There were screaming kids from sun up to sun down and no quiet ever. Also there was smoking allowed every where you walked outside on the grounds although the hotel said it was non smoking. Finally on the next to last day they made the smokers go to the farthest end of the pool after we smelled the smoke from early breakfast and lunch and supper every day. Our first year was defineately quieter and there wasn't nearly the smokers. I would suggest that the smoking issue be taken care of and also a break in the action at the pool. The locals and their children were polite most of the time but their was never a quiet moment. There was never a time to sit at the pool or use the pool due to at least 100 people and screaming children all the time. The best part of our stay this year was the view and the staff who are the best we have found in Ixtapa so far. Even though we are going to a hotel next year that is not all inclusive I would still recommend the Tesoro based on the value, the location and their wonderful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Terry C.
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Excellent Vacation!

This was my third stay at the Tesoro in as many years. Just can't say enough about this place! Perfect location, outstanding service, best food of any AI I have stayed at in my 10 plus visits to Mexico. All of the staff is amazing, so friendly and attentive, they genuinely care about you and your stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Manuel M.
Business
N/A
Mar 12, 2015

Ixtapa

Food was bad, No A/C in the lobby area, pool overcrowded, rooms remind me of a cheap motel in California, the only place we enjoyed was Las Gatas beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TwoforMexico
Business
Wauwatosa
Feb 24, 2015

Bare Bones and Less

First stay at this hotel - 16th in Ixtapa. Purchased package July 2014 @ deep discount. Arrived 2:00 p.m., got room key at 3:00 - 2nd floor room, direct view to the ocean, no towels in room, couldn't get safe key to work. Call to help resulted in towels immediately, but longer for someone to show us safe operation. Also connecting door not locked, but told "no problem" as supposedly adjoining side was blocked off. We expect a somewhat musty smell when staying at a beach hotel but this was SEVERE and continued for about 10 days into our stay. Wife finally stopped sneezing, as she must be allergic to mildew. Room freshly painted but air ducts very dirty. Furnishings old and very basic, bed was actually pretty good. Fridge held 2 bottles of water and 3 sodas. We did ask for diet soda and received it most days. Only one outlet in room for charging phone, iPad, etc. and had to unplug clock to use it! No ice machines anywhere in hotel - had to go to bar or restaurant for ice. Grounds/décor very bland - everything beige, not inviting. Food and bar selections exceptionally limited - low-cost liquor and food ingredients. No availability of select brands. Lobby bar open at 6 p.m. very basic - pinas, margaritas, beer, tequila, generic wine, very few other drinks available - e.g. no cosmo, martini, etc. Glasses everywhere and plates in buffet very small - deliberately designed to limit consumption? Or costs? or Waste? Bar staff and setup - only one bartender outside for walk-up service, where lines sometimes 20-25 deep waitstaff for pool & beach limited to 2, making service sometimes slow. All appeared to work hard, though. Overcrowding is extreme - pool area severely limited in size - not providing enough seating for customers. Unlimited day passes bring large numbers of people (and many children) who hang out at the pool but rarely leave for sanitary reasons. Early morning availability of lounge chairs is only way to obtain seating condo owners also reserve pool loungers all day and some seldom in the chairs. Layout not conducive to mingling, walking pool or grounds. To make an attempt at reducing unused chairs, security issues a "ticket" to some patrons indicating that if you leave your chair for one hour or more your possessions may be removed. You're required to sign, indicating you understand the rule. But it is inconsistent - we got tickets about 4-5 times in 14 days, others got them daily. Lots of tickets issued but no removal that we saw in two weeks. Towels are numbered and you need to return the towel that was assigned to you each day - can be a problem with larger groups where people switch chairs etc. Typically if you take 2 towels and return 2 towels you are okay, but the number system caused some complaints that we heard. Information about dinner themes, entertainment never available - no boards or announcement. Food choices somewhat limited due to size of dining room. WIFI at hotel, although free, was very unreliable/inconsistent - kicked you off frequently, not high speed, was frustrating. There is no concierge to ask questions, much of the staff spoke limited English, but bellmen were a good source of answers. Enforcement of poolside rules was random, selective, and sometimes whimsical. For example - no eating at pool loungers - must sit at tables reserved for eating. Except you'd have to sit on someone's lap because those tables were always occupied ALL DAY by people who could not find seats around the pool! Other times, people ate around the pool all day. Initiated a non smoking policy on about day 10 of our trip - only allowed on your balcony, just outside the bar, or on the beach - no public areas (pool area, open bar, etc.) BOTTOM LINE: Overall the place was just okay and a very low price compared to other options. The staff was relatively friendly and our room was kept very clean. But it's not for me - I want a more comfortable experience with better conditions and less work to enjoy my vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rita S.
Business
Clarksgrove
Feb 24, 2015

Winter vacation

I have been to this hotel the last 5 years and this was the worst. The hotel was 100 booked and they let the locals in on day passes made the pool so crowded that no one could find chairs. It took 15 min in the bar line to get a drink and there was no place to sit when you got food but they would not let you sit in your lounger at the pool. In the middle of our 2 weeks the rules changed and the smoking area moved from around the pool to out in the hot sand this was because of 1 person that owns one of the condos. I love the staff and most of the condo owners that are there are great. I know that my husband said he will never go back to the Tesoro however we love Ixtapa and will return there. I have several friends that will never book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pakfan
Business
N/A
Feb 19, 2015

Awesome trip

This is a great hotel, it is a great value for the money, good food, great service, great location! great beach, we have stayed here 9 or 10 times, we will go back again, love it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Andrew C.
Business
N/A
Jan 26, 2015

Good hotel for the money

The rooms are nice, but my first one had many maintenance issues. Changed rooms without hassle and my stay was much better afterwards. Food is ok, there are some tasty items in the buffet- but mostly average tasting. Freshly made food is worth the wait. Had my worst margarita and best margarita on this trip- find Bernardo...he is the best bartender at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PepeTono
Business
San Luis Potosi
Jul 7, 2014

less than expected

The hotel is in the process of remodeling for damage caused by an earthquake in the past month so it looks very deteiorado and neglected. There are many noises and limited areas due to the same remodeling. limited services, personal dining animation without the intention to entertain the guests. overall it was not the best place to vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

take a bike tour, follow the cycle path to beautiful beach that is a fantastic ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tesoro Ixtapa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lorabelle
Business
Minnesota
Mar 31, 2014

2014 Ixtapa Trip

We had a wonderful experience. The Staff are so helpful, kind and happy! Very FUN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The nighttime shows are entertaining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top