$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Ave, Paseo de Ixtapa S/N Lote 3-A, Ixtapa Zihuatanejo, 40880
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
25 reviews
best all inclusive in ixtapa!

great. love sun, drinks and volleyball. was able to play beach doubles with the extremely athletic... See full review

  • vbduluth
  • Nov 30, 2014
January 16th - 24th 2014

The hotel is very nice and kept clean. The grounds are beautiful and kept up nicely. We have no... See full review

  • mexlover
  • Jan 28, 2014
Located in the heart of the beautiful beach town of Ixtapa on Mexico's popular Pacific coast, the oceanfront Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa treats couples, singles and families to an Unlimited-Fun getaway, a mere 20 minutes from Ixtapa Zihuatanejo International Airport.
This ultimate sun haven offers the best of both worlds, in one convenient and lively destination. Perfectly situated on a golden sand beach in Ixtapa, a small luxury, world-class resort community, Sunscape Dorado Pacifico is also conveniently located a mere 10 minutes from Zihuatanejo, a laid-back, remote seaside fishing village. Minutes away, guests will find a fantastic array of activities, shopping, nightlife and fine cuisine. 285 guestrooms and suites, located within an 11-story tower, feature a private furnished balcony with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean, daily refreshed mini bar, air conditioning, luxurious bath amenities and flat screen TV.

Eight gourmet restaurants ranging from authentic Mexican to gourmet seafood tantalize the most discerning palates while four lively bars and lounges offer premium international and domestic brand beverages. The brand new Spa (opening November, 2011) will offer an array of indigenous and innovative treatments to relax, refresh and rejuvenate in a tranquil setting. While parents have time for themselves, children of all ages are kept entertained with a variety of supervised activities. The Explorer's Club, for ages 3 to 12, provides kids with daily programs while the Core Zone offers teens, ages 13 to 17, the chance to really cut loose and have the time of their lives.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe partial ocean view room
Offers one king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access (additional fee), iron / ironing board, laundry service (additional fee), mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, radio, 24-Hour Concierge and Front Desk , safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice-mail.

All rooms have a partial ocean view with 2 double beds or a king size bed with private balcony. All rooms have been totally redone with a combination of onyx, wicker and marble. These rooms are equipped with a large flat-screen TV, a clock radio with stereo sound, and features for iPod, iPhone & MP3 players."
Deluxe ocean view
Offers one king bed or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access (additional fee), iron / ironing board, laundry service (additional fee), mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, 24-Hour Concierge and Front Desk, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice-mail.

All rooms have ocean view with 2 double beds or a king bed. These suites have been totally redone with a combination of onyx, wicker and marble. These rooms are equipped with a large LED TV, a clock radio with stereo sound and features for iPod, iPhone and MP3 players. Curtains are new as well as all the furniture, chairs in the room and bathroom. The decor conveys a warm and relaxed style.
Family Ocean front suite
Offers 1King bed and 1Single bed or 2 Double bed and 1 Single bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access (additional fee), iron / ironing board, laundry service (additional fee), mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, 24-Hour Concierge and Front Desk, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice-mail.

"In addition to the amenities listed above, all 20 Family Suites are ocean front with a king bed, 1 sofa bed and 2 balconies, and small living room. All suites have been totally redone with a combination of onyx, wicker and marble. These rooms are equipped with a large flat-screen TV, a clock radio with stereo sound, and features for iPod, iPhone & MP3 players."

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Windows (Renovated venue)
Our main buffet restaurant serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily with a variety of international favorites.
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Breakfast:7 am-11am
Lunch:12:30-3:30 pm
Dinner:6pm-11 pm
Oceana
Poolside open-air restaurant with full bar. Serves regional and international cuisine at lunch and dinnertime.
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Lunch:11:00-5:00 pm
Dinner:6:30 pm-11 pm
Tamarindo Restaurant (Brand new venue)
Specializes in authentic la carte Mexican cuisine .
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Dinner:6pm-11 pm
Bluewater Grill (Renovated venue)
This restaurant is close to the ocean, serving the finest from the ocean, sea food specialty restaurant in a very romantic atmosphere
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Dinner:6pm-11 pm
Da Mario (Renovated venue)
Serving a la carte Mediterranean specialties
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Dinner:6 pm-11 pm
Gohan (Brand new venue)
Open air oriental restaurant, serving Japanese specialties a la carte
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Dinner:6 pm-11 pm
Barefoot Snack Bar (Brand new venue)
Snacks and drinks until the sun goes down. Outdoor seating only.
Dress code: No dress code.
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - 12pm - 5pm
Coco Caf
Start your day enjoying a nice cup of our delicious fresh coffee, homemade pastries and sandwiches.
Dress code: No dress code.
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - 8am - 10pm
Rendezvous Lobby Bar (Renovated venue)
Located in the main lobby, this is the perfect place to relax and sip your favorite cocktail.
Open 9:30 am 1am
Eclipse Lounge Bar (Brand new venue)
Enjoy all sports with a wide variety of refreshing tropical cocktails. Open bar with dance floor and DJ.
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA

Open - 9pm - 1am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sk and dk
Business
Surprise, Arizona
Mar 5, 2012

less than expected all inclusive vacation

room matress felt like you were sleeping on plywood. Water in the bathroom would loose pressure to nothing and you would have to turn off and wait a few minutes for pressure to build up. Room few was good and they keep the room refrigurator stocked up with beer water and pop, but it would not get cold.Food was less than average and many of our group got sick at the Italian restrant. Service very slow for our party of 8 everywhere at the hotel when we were all together. The highlite of the staff was our pool bar waiter he took great care of us. They had a wide selection of drinks and they all seemed great. Only had one brand of beer and it was draft. The activity people around the pool tried very hard, but limited to pool n beach volleybar, bouchee ball, bean bag, water arobics. and a few other games. the bikes for the ride were old and seemed unsafe. but very limited to any other activities. Overall They may be going threw growing pains, since they just went allinclusive. We had 11 couples in our group, many of them have been going for 6 years and all said if it stays allinclusive they will not be back!!!! I know I will not be back. entertainment sub par limited to 2 nites of uneventful stage dancing.Advertised 6 restrants only three open at nite and 1 buffett open for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the dining across the street seemed good. but hurting a little because the hotels are going all inclusive. Try Blue Shimp and Franks a must

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UNHAPPY899
Business
Rochester, MN, USA
May 1, 2012

WATCH YOU CREDIT CARD STATEMENT

Stayed at the Sunscape Dorado in February for 7 days. Our time at the Dorado was ok, however when we arrive home we found charges to our credit card from the Dorado that we never made.The hotel cannot explain the charges and has been unhelpfull in resolving the issue. The hotel manager claims it was a technical error and we should work with our bank to try to get a refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LG disappointed Traveler
Business
Yorba Linda, Ca
Aug 20, 2012

Horrible Vacation!!!

We stayed at this hotel because of the 4 Star rating and location and since we were traveling with our adult kids we thought it would be nice for them as well since they advertise a night club ( what a joke!!)We made reservation THREE months in advance to make sure we were able to get outr THREE rooms at least in the same floor and even hoping we could get rooms that are comunicated. Well uppon arrival we were were booked on three rooms that were on three diffrent floors. After arguing and them lying about not having anything else available we were given 2 rooms on one floor and 1 room on another. After a few hours of 90+ temperature we realized that the A/C on two of our three rooms did not function properly . I called and talked to someone in recpetion and they advised that they had nothing available and to try and call the next morning to see if any rooms became available (Remeber this is supposed to be a 4 Star Hotel!!!) well to make a shorter story after there night of misery in a hot and muggy room and arguing with Room manager Jorge (in front of other guests that were also upset about A/C in their room) we were given three rooms in the same floor with A/C's that worked. Its'a shame that my family and I spent one year anticipating this trip only to find and experience what we did. We will stay at Melia Azul Next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Camel99
Business
White North
Jan 2, 2013

Smokers Book Elsewhere

You can not smoke on the balconies at this property, and you won't know that until you check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gaddis
Business
chicago
Dec 30, 2011

NEEDS SOMETHING

The hotel in now all-inclusive - The food is not that good for the price you pay - We liked it before it bacame all inclusive - Now its way overpriced and we won't go back there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mosquitoes and Bad A La Carte Restaurant
Business
Irvine CA
Aug 2, 2012

Hard bed and limited night life

The bed was hard and the nightlife was limited or nonexistent after 10PM. Food was great but limited variety and choice of fruits. Staff is polite and friendly. Across the street, there are many bars and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining is across the street. Beach is great to swim.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
000435
Business
Houston
Aug 20, 2012

Average

This hotel does not have night shows or nightly entertainment and when they did it ended at around 10 or 1030pm. The food for breakfast needs a little bit more variety but all of the other courses like lunch and dinner the varieties that they had were pretty good. Everyone is really friendly. The rooms were clean and nice, you have a good view if you had any room from 10-18 on any floor. We will not be returning to this hotel. This does not compare to the stays we have previously had in Cancun or Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The little shops across the street are more convinient and a little bit less expensive if you are shopping for souveniers and other things, we did go to the shops that is called "el mercado" downtown but they dont try to negociate with you there. But it is fun to go and walk around. We also took a sunset cruise and that was great it was well worth it. We also went to a refugee for animals but it was that great but they do have some intresting stuff if you go there were bug spray...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HopingForMore
Business
California
Aug 25, 2013

Not For Those Looking For Laid-Back, Romantic Vacay

This hotel caters to local "weekender" families. Thursday thru Tuesday, pools, restaurants and beaches full of children-when noted the abundance of munchkins in the pool, was told by staff they were from another resort...I don't think so. Not the laid back romantic week I was hoping for... Also, if you are nervous about heights, the interior atrium elevators are glass and not in the best condition-after entering in lobby, pushed floor 10 (actually first floor of rooms), and shot up to 21st floor (11 floors above) twice. Second time, elevator stuck on 21st floor and call button did not work and we were trapped for several terrifying minutes before hubby was able to pry doors open then we walked down 13 flights of an unlighted stairwell. Never again will I stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taninjan
Business
Roseville, CA
Jan 30, 2012

10-days in Paradise

We just got back from 10 days in Paradise. The hotel just recently went all-inclusive so they are still working out a few kinks but we overall had a great time and would go back again. If you go and don't like super hard beds, you can ask for an extra (or 2) egg crate pads to be added. The beach is clean and beautiful and it's a great location for dining, clubs, shopping, etc. Massages on the beach are great and cheap! 2 1-hour massages for 350 pesos, bargain! And if you like your cocktails, they have top shelf alcohol so drink up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emilio's Pizza is great brick oven pizza and nice staff. Frank's Bar & Grill is a fun place to hang out on a Thursday night. He brings in a band in. Frank's shrimp appetizer is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PattiF
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Apr 3, 2012

Good Adventure with Kids!

Overall, a very fun vacation. Highlights - my son (8)loved (loved) the Explorer's Club. My daughter (10) wanted to be "free" to be in the pool, play volleyball and beach. Awesome that they close at 10:00pm so parents can eat dinner alone. The staff were dynamite!! Restaurants were good with exception of the Italian Restaurant. Husband and I both got really sick. Liked no RSVP, we went early and had no wait. The service is a bit inconsistant - most meals were good to excellent but a couple meals the service was too slow. Food in other restaurants good. Rooms nice, view awesome, parents bed hard and kids bed could have been a bit bigger. Would be nice to have an area where we could have picked up more than 4 bottles of water a day, instead of having to call desk. We were going through it pretty fast. Daily communication sheet was great and very helpful to plan the next day. The transfers for airport too high, should look at cost. Local taxis were $20 cheaper each way. Tipping was a little weird for us. Does the waitstaff, activity staff, housekeeping, etc get compensated when it says includes tips? Better clarification would have been helpful. I would like to see more of the world but if the deal was right we would definiately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ixtapa Island and Sailing trip were both fun. Snorkeling is $12/person on Island and $7/person on boat. Bring your own. Other than that both were good experiences.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top