$184 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Ave, Paseo de Ixtapa S/N Lote 3-A, Ixtapa Zihuatanejo, 40880

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taninjan
Business
Roseville, CA
Jan 30, 2012

10-days in Paradise

We just got back from 10 days in Paradise. The hotel just recently went all-inclusive so they are still working out a few kinks but we overall had a great time and would go back again. If you go and don't like super hard beds, you can ask for an extra (or 2) egg crate pads to be added. The beach is clean and beautiful and it's a great location for dining, clubs, shopping, etc. Massages on the beach are great and cheap! 2 1-hour massages for 350 pesos, bargain! And if you like your cocktails, they have top shelf alcohol so drink up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emilio's Pizza is great brick oven pizza and nice staff. Frank's Bar & Grill is a fun place to hang out on a Thursday night. He brings in a band in. Frank's shrimp appetizer is delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PattiF
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Apr 3, 2012

Good Adventure with Kids!

Overall, a very fun vacation. Highlights - my son (8)loved (loved) the Explorer's Club. My daughter (10) wanted to be "free" to be in the pool, play volleyball and beach. Awesome that they close at 10:00pm so parents can eat dinner alone. The staff were dynamite!! Restaurants were good with exception of the Italian Restaurant. Husband and I both got really sick. Liked no RSVP, we went early and had no wait. The service is a bit inconsistant - most meals were good to excellent but a couple meals the service was too slow. Food in other restaurants good. Rooms nice, view awesome, parents bed hard and kids bed could have been a bit bigger. Would be nice to have an area where we could have picked up more than 4 bottles of water a day, instead of having to call desk. We were going through it pretty fast. Daily communication sheet was great and very helpful to plan the next day. The transfers for airport too high, should look at cost. Local taxis were $20 cheaper each way. Tipping was a little weird for us. Does the waitstaff, activity staff, housekeeping, etc get compensated when it says includes tips? Better clarification would have been helpful. I would like to see more of the world but if the deal was right we would definiately go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Ixtapa Island and Sailing trip were both fun. Snorkeling is $12/person on Island and $7/person on boat. Bring your own. Other than that both were good experiences.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
party of twelve
Business
Ontario, Canada
Apr 23, 2012

Great get away!

For the most part, this was a great place to vacation. The resort was very nice, very clean, the food and scenery were excellent and the staff went above and beyond. The bed wasn't comfortable. The matress is sitting on a slab of concrete! Kind of got use to it by the end of the week though. The evening entertainment wasn't the greatest but we were a group of 12 and kept ourselves entertained. One other downside would be that on Thursday thru Sunday the locals come for the weekend. The hotel became very busy, the pool was packed and there were lineups at the restaurants. I would definitely recommend the Sunscape Dorado Pacifico and would actually enjoy going there again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We booked a round trip land transfer with a shuttle service because this wasn't included in our package. This cost us $118.00 U.S. Take a taxi if you don't have land transfer included. You can get one right outside the front door of the airport for about $25.00 each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LinsMinnesotaVistor
Business
Minnesota
May 27, 2012

May 2012

The hotel was good, I would recommend it to others. The staff was average, the staff didn't to try to get to know you much, however when you talked to them they were polite. Most of the bar tenders and wait staff were very polite and nice. Two of the entertainment staff were very nice and made sure they talked to us daily. The room was great. The view from the patio was amazing. The pool and ocean area was great, couldnt really ask for better. Night life on the resort was not good, nothing really goes on. Food was poor. No variety. It would be nice to have a better buffet at all time of day with a variety. The drinks were amazing at the bars, but they did not fill your room fridge daily (and the fridge was not cold). You can not get anything but juice before 11 which was not good. It would have been nice to have water and pop available 24/7. The elevator was slow and they pack people on them. Also there was LOTS of kids at the resort, so it is a family place. Overall it was a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Momma norma

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mosquitoes and Bad A La Carte Restaurant
Business
Irvine CA
Jul 31, 2012

FriendlyGreatLocation

This hotel has well trained friendly staff and in a great location. Foods are good, great beach and most important is the great service overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach view from suite is impressive. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryA
Business
Querétaro, Mexico
Nov 24, 2012

Long weekend vacation getaway

We left for long weekend stay, just 3 nights. Rooms where clean but yes the bed was hard, hotel nicely located on the beach, the pool clean and not so small. Food was not bad, but missing varity, If you are looking for weekend gateaway it's perfect for more than 3 nights stay I would only take it if it was a deal. Lastly try the dolphins trip, it's amaizing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dolphins-Delfiniti

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tequila Miguel
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Feb 25, 2013

Overdue Honeymoon

Weather was perfect, Staff very friendly and helpful. All the food was great, except one buffet was a little iffy? Outstanding breakfast buffet, Bluewater Grill, Sushi bar. Very skilled bartenders would make a ton of different fruity drinks or a simple shot with a smile. Beds are HARD, not always comfortable. Hotel is near the center of the beach and restaurants and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the food at the 'Blue shrimp', El Camaron Azul. Very fresh shrimp, done table side, wife had the 1 pound lobster. Very good deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M. Sue
Business
Whittier, CA
Apr 14, 2013

The Good and The Bad

Good: perfect beach, incredible waves. Nightly entertainment was good and the music all over the hotel was pleasant and not too loud. Some resorts have blaring music all day and night. This was not a problem here. The views from room 1911 were amazing. The A la Carte restaurants were very good, we ate in the Oriental restaurant, Oceana, and the grill. The service and the food were outstanding. Not having to make reservations and eating at them any time we wanted to, no limit, was great. Having a specialty restaurant open for lunch as an alternate to the buffet was a great choice. The service everywhere was wonderful. Everyone tried to fix anything that was a problem. The men who kept bringing out chairs and umbrellas and trying to find everyone a place did a very good job. Rene, the concierge, was the most helpful person, which brings us to The Bad: The Bad: NO WIFI INTERNET. The WIFI was supposed to be hotel wide. It did not exist for the 5 days that we were there. My husband works on the internet and had to work everyday. When we explained this to Rene he set up our devices at the concierge desk with the office WIFI. We used this everyday, but it was in the main lobby, not in the comfort of our room. That was a big inconvenience. The room were supposed to have been refurbished, but everything appeared kind of worn out. The shower head was old and we only had lukewarm shower water. The furniture (dresser) was concrete with white baskets for drawers, which did not fit in with a 4 star hotel rating. We only went to a few buffets because the buffets were small and not exceptional. The restaurants made up for the small buffets. Overall, the good outweighed the bad. It was a perfect location with an incredible beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elk Fun
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 31, 2013

A Good All Inclusive

This was our first time to this part of Mexico and know we made the right choice. This All Inclusive was worth it, good food/drink and a good experience - would recommend it to most. We went just before High Season so all the food/drink places were not opened during the week, but what was open was well worth it. This is a good 'family' place, however if you're looking for more adult atmosphere don't go for a weekend experience. On the weekend we planned our sight seeing and left the hotel for the families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to try the different places to eat afternoon and diner. Breakfast/Brunch is the same regardless of which place you choose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LREE
Business
Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
Nov 21, 2013

Food & beberages

The food is very good, particularly at Da Marios restaurante, in the hotel. Too bad beberages aren't at the same level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Da Marios inside the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top