$254 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 11, 2015 Check-out: Apr 12, 2015

Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Ave, Paseo de Ixtapa S/N Lote 3-A, Ixtapa Zihuatanejo, 40880

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mosquitoes and Bad A La Carte Restaurant
Business
Irvine CA
Jul 31, 2012

FriendlyGreatLocation

This hotel has well trained friendly staff and in a great location. Foods are good, great beach and most important is the great service overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach view from suite is impressive. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryA
Business
Querétaro, Mexico
Nov 24, 2012

Long weekend vacation getaway

We left for long weekend stay, just 3 nights. Rooms where clean but yes the bed was hard, hotel nicely located on the beach, the pool clean and not so small. Food was not bad, but missing varity, If you are looking for weekend gateaway it's perfect for more than 3 nights stay I would only take it if it was a deal. Lastly try the dolphins trip, it's amaizing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dolphins-Delfiniti

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tequila Miguel
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Feb 25, 2013

Overdue Honeymoon

Weather was perfect, Staff very friendly and helpful. All the food was great, except one buffet was a little iffy? Outstanding breakfast buffet, Bluewater Grill, Sushi bar. Very skilled bartenders would make a ton of different fruity drinks or a simple shot with a smile. Beds are HARD, not always comfortable. Hotel is near the center of the beach and restaurants and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the food at the 'Blue shrimp', El Camaron Azul. Very fresh shrimp, done table side, wife had the 1 pound lobster. Very good deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M. Sue
Business
Whittier, CA
Apr 14, 2013

The Good and The Bad

Good: perfect beach, incredible waves. Nightly entertainment was good and the music all over the hotel was pleasant and not too loud. Some resorts have blaring music all day and night. This was not a problem here. The views from room 1911 were amazing. The A la Carte restaurants were very good, we ate in the Oriental restaurant, Oceana, and the grill. The service and the food were outstanding. Not having to make reservations and eating at them any time we wanted to, no limit, was great. Having a specialty restaurant open for lunch as an alternate to the buffet was a great choice. The service everywhere was wonderful. Everyone tried to fix anything that was a problem. The men who kept bringing out chairs and umbrellas and trying to find everyone a place did a very good job. Rene, the concierge, was the most helpful person, which brings us to The Bad: The Bad: NO WIFI INTERNET. The WIFI was supposed to be hotel wide. It did not exist for the 5 days that we were there. My husband works on the internet and had to work everyday. When we explained this to Rene he set up our devices at the concierge desk with the office WIFI. We used this everyday, but it was in the main lobby, not in the comfort of our room. That was a big inconvenience. The room were supposed to have been refurbished, but everything appeared kind of worn out. The shower head was old and we only had lukewarm shower water. The furniture (dresser) was concrete with white baskets for drawers, which did not fit in with a 4 star hotel rating. We only went to a few buffets because the buffets were small and not exceptional. The restaurants made up for the small buffets. Overall, the good outweighed the bad. It was a perfect location with an incredible beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elk Fun
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 31, 2013

A Good All Inclusive

This was our first time to this part of Mexico and know we made the right choice. This All Inclusive was worth it, good food/drink and a good experience - would recommend it to most. We went just before High Season so all the food/drink places were not opened during the week, but what was open was well worth it. This is a good 'family' place, however if you're looking for more adult atmosphere don't go for a weekend experience. On the weekend we planned our sight seeing and left the hotel for the families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to try the different places to eat afternoon and diner. Breakfast/Brunch is the same regardless of which place you choose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LREE
Business
Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
Nov 21, 2013

Food & beberages

The food is very good, particularly at Da Marios restaurante, in the hotel. Too bad beberages aren't at the same level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Da Marios inside the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmmaSue
Business
Oshkosh, WI
Jan 25, 2014

Wonderful week

The Sunscape is a great hotel and I would highly recommend it. It was extremely clean and staff were very friendly and quite attentive. Excellent location with easy access to local shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While in Ixtapa, stop in at the Generals Sports Bar. Very friendly staff and the General is a hoot !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mexlover
Business
MN
Jan 28, 2014

January 16th - 24th 2014

The hotel is very nice and kept clean. The grounds are beautiful and kept up nicely. We have no complaints except on the food. We thought the food at the buffet restaraunts could be better. Salads were luke warm and I like mine very cold and fresh tasting. The items that should be served hot were warm at best. The ala cart restaraunts were not as good as we usually have had at other all inclusive places. I do love not having to wear a wristband and also not having to make reservations. Older Kids should be allowed in the Italian restaraunt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street there are some terrific restaraunts to check out. We highly recommend Mamma Norma and Deborahs!! Fabulous every time we've gone!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul T Dad
Business
Detroit Lakes, MN
Jan 27, 2014

Clean room and friendly staff.

The hotel was 100% full when we arrived. They promise a 3pm check in but our room was not ready until 4:30 which was not that big of a deal. The rooms were not fancy but they were clean and comfortable. The pool area is very nice though they do not seem to have enough chairs for when the resort is as full as it was. You have to get down early in the morning (before 7) and pick out your chairs. Don't throw a book down on them and leave or the staff will remove your personal item and then someone else will grab your chairs. You practically need to wait with your chairs until you can get the hotel towels at 7 am and then put the towels on your chairs and you'll be fine. Food was average to slightly above average. If you eat dinners at the resort and order off the menu, we had to wait a LONG time to get food. The restaurant staff was very friendly, just very overwhelmed with the number of people. They probably needed 25% more staff. The buffet food was average at best. We would usually go out to dinner in the evening. Overall, the Dorado was a clean and comfortable with friendly, but overwhelmed staff. I'm sure the service is much better when they are not so full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great dining right across the street at a fair price. We went to the marina one night; it was overpriced and the food was very average (which is probably why there was no one there except us)!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gaddis
Business
chicago
Dec 30, 2011

NEEDS SOMETHING

The hotel in now all-inclusive - The food is not that good for the price you pay - We liked it before it bacame all inclusive - Now its way overpriced and we won't go back there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top