Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
Ave, Paseo de Ixtapa S/N Lote 3-A, Ixtapa Zihuatanejo, 40880
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
24 reviews
Great treat!

The staff was simply amazing! My partner and I were so happy to stay at a hotel where they treated... See full review

  • Juanma Van Law
  • Apr 11, 2013
January 16th - 24th 2014

The hotel is very nice and kept clean. The grounds are beautiful and kept up nicely. We have no... See full review

  • mexlover
  • Jan 28, 2014
Located in the heart of the beautiful beach town of Ixtapa on Mexico's popular Pacific coast, the oceanfront Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa treats couples, singles and families to an Unlimited-Fun getaway, a mere 20 minutes from Ixtapa Zihuatanejo International Airport.
This ultimate sun haven offers the best of both worlds, in one convenient and lively destination. Perfectly situated on a golden sand beach in Ixtapa, a small luxury, world-class resort community, Sunscape Dorado Pacifico is also conveniently located a mere 10 minutes from Zihuatanejo, a laid-back, remote seaside fishing village. Minutes away, guests will find a fantastic array of activities, shopping, nightlife and fine cuisine. 285 guestrooms and suites, located within an 11-story tower, feature a private furnished balcony with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean, daily refreshed mini bar, air conditioning, luxurious bath amenities and flat screen TV.

Eight gourmet restaurants ranging from authentic Mexican to gourmet seafood tantalize the most discerning palates while four lively bars and lounges offer premium international and domestic brand beverages. The brand new Spa (opening November, 2011) will offer an array of indigenous and innovative treatments to relax, refresh and rejuvenate in a tranquil setting. While parents have time for themselves, children of all ages are kept entertained with a variety of supervised activities. The Explorer's Club, for ages 3 to 12, provides kids with daily programs while the Core Zone offers teens, ages 13 to 17, the chance to really cut loose and have the time of their lives.

Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe partial ocean view room
Offers one king bed or two double beds with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access (additional fee), iron / ironing board, laundry service (additional fee), mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, pay-per-view movies, radio, 24-Hour Concierge and Front Desk , safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice-mail.

All rooms have a partial ocean view with 2 double beds or a king size bed with private balcony. All rooms have been totally redone with a combination of onyx, wicker and marble. These rooms are equipped with a large flat-screen TV, a clock radio with stereo sound, and features for iPod, iPhone & MP3 players."
Deluxe ocean view
Offers one king bed or two double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access (additional fee), iron / ironing board, laundry service (additional fee), mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, 24-Hour Concierge and Front Desk, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice-mail.

All rooms have ocean view with 2 double beds or a king bed. These suites have been totally redone with a combination of onyx, wicker and marble. These rooms are equipped with a large LED TV, a clock radio with stereo sound and features for iPod, iPhone and MP3 players. Curtains are new as well as all the furniture, chairs in the room and bathroom. The decor conveys a warm and relaxed style.
Family Ocean front suite
Offers 1King bed and 1Single bed or 2 Double bed and 1 Single bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, ceiling fan, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, internet access (additional fee), iron / ironing board, laundry service (additional fee), mini bar, non-smoking rooms, pay-per-view movies, radio, 24-Hour Concierge and Front Desk, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities, telephone and voice-mail.

"In addition to the amenities listed above, all 20 Family Suites are ocean front with a king bed, 1 sofa bed and 2 balconies, and small living room. All suites have been totally redone with a combination of onyx, wicker and marble. These rooms are equipped with a large flat-screen TV, a clock radio with stereo sound, and features for iPod, iPhone & MP3 players."

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

17.6608 -101.6042
Area served
Ixtapa Zihuatanejo.
Nearby airports
Ixtapa/Zihuatanejo, Internacional airport (ZIH).
Area description
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa is located 20 minutes/ 20 km / 12.5 miles from Ixtapa Zihuatanejo International Airport.

Dining

Windows (Renovated venue)
Our main buffet restaurant serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily with a variety of international favorites.
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Breakfast:7 am-11am
Lunch:12:30-3:30 pm
Dinner:6pm-11 pm
Oceana
Poolside open-air restaurant with full bar. Serves regional and international cuisine at lunch and dinnertime.
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Lunch:11:00-5:00 pm
Dinner:6:30 pm-11 pm
Tamarindo Restaurant (Brand new venue)
Specializes in authentic la carte Mexican cuisine .
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Dinner:6pm-11 pm
Bluewater Grill (Renovated venue)
This restaurant is close to the ocean, serving the finest from the ocean, sea food specialty restaurant in a very romantic atmosphere
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Dinner:6pm-11 pm
Da Mario (Renovated venue)
Serving a la carte Mediterranean specialties
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Dinner:6 pm-11 pm
Gohan (Brand new venue)
Open air oriental restaurant, serving Japanese specialties a la carte
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - Dinner:6 pm-11 pm
Barefoot Snack Bar (Brand new venue)
Snacks and drinks until the sun goes down. Outdoor seating only.
Dress code: No dress code.
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - 12pm - 5pm
Coco Caf
Start your day enjoying a nice cup of our delicious fresh coffee, homemade pastries and sandwiches.
Dress code: No dress code.
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - 8am - 10pm
Rendezvous Lobby Bar (Renovated venue)
Located in the main lobby, this is the perfect place to relax and sip your favorite cocktail.
Open 9:30 am 1am
Eclipse Lounge Bar (Brand new venue)
Enjoy all sports with a wide variety of refreshing tropical cocktails. Open bar with dance floor and DJ.
Dress code: Casual
Approximate seating capacity - NA

Open - 9pm - 1am
Manatees Swim up Bar (renovated)
Don't miss the chance to enjoy a cold drink while having fun with your family in the pool.
Dress code: No dress code.
Hours - 10 am-5pm
Barracuda (renovated)
Don't miss the chance to enjoy a cold drink while having fun with your family by the pool.
Dress code: No dress code.
Approximate seating capacity - NA
Hours - 10 am - 5pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul T Dad
Detroit Lakes, MN
Jan 27, 2014

Clean room and friendly staff.

The hotel was 100% full when we arrived. They promise a 3pm check in but our room was not ready until 4:30 which was not that big of a deal. The rooms were not fancy but they were clean and comfortable. The pool area is very nice though they do not seem to have enough chairs for when the resort is as full as it was. You have to get down early in the morning (before 7) and pick out your chairs. Don't throw a book down on them and leave or the staff will remove your personal item and then someone else will grab your chairs. You practically need to wait with your chairs until you can get the hotel towels at 7 am and then put the towels on your chairs and you'll be fine. Food was average to slightly above average. If you eat dinners at the resort and order off the menu, we had to wait a LONG time to get food. The restaurant staff was very friendly, just very overwhelmed with the number of people. They probably needed 25% more staff. The buffet food was average at best. We would usually go out to dinner in the evening. Overall, the Dorado was a clean and comfortable with friendly, but overwhelmed staff. I'm sure the service is much better when they are not so full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great dining right across the street at a fair price. We went to the marina one night; it was overpriced and the food was very average (which is probably why there was no one there except us)!

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mosquitoes and Bad A La Carte Restaurant
Irvine CA
Jul 31, 2012

FriendlyGreatLocation

This hotel has well trained friendly staff and in a great location. Foods are good, great beach and most important is the great service overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Beach view from suite is impressive. Highly recommended.

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elk Fun
Sacramento, CA
Oct 31, 2013

A Good All Inclusive

This was our first time to this part of Mexico and know we made the right choice. This All Inclusive was worth it, good food/drink and a good experience - would recommend it to most. We went just before High Season so all the food/drink places were not opened during the week, but what was open was well worth it. This is a good 'family' place, however if you're looking for more adult atmosphere don't go for a weekend experience. On the weekend we planned our sight seeing and left the hotel for the families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to try the different places to eat afternoon and diner. Breakfast/Brunch is the same regardless of which place you choose.

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M. Sue
Whittier, CA
Apr 14, 2013

The Good and The Bad

Good: perfect beach, incredible waves. Nightly entertainment was good and the music all over the hotel was pleasant and not too loud. Some resorts have blaring music all day and night. This was not a problem here. The views from room 1911 were amazing. The A la Carte restaurants were very good, we ate in the Oriental restaurant, Oceana, and the grill. The service and the food were outstanding. Not having to make reservations and eating at them any time we wanted to, no limit, was great. Having a specialty restaurant open for lunch as an alternate to the buffet was a great choice. The service everywhere was wonderful. Everyone tried to fix anything that was a problem. The men who kept bringing out chairs and umbrellas and trying to find everyone a place did a very good job. Rene, the concierge, was the most helpful person, which brings us to The Bad: The Bad: NO WIFI INTERNET. The WIFI was supposed to be hotel wide. It did not exist for the 5 days that we were there. My husband works on the internet and had to work everyday. When we explained this to Rene he set up our devices at the concierge desk with the office WIFI. We used this everyday, but it was in the main lobby, not in the comfort of our room. That was a big inconvenience. The room were supposed to have been refurbished, but everything appeared kind of worn out. The shower head was old and we only had lukewarm shower water. The furniture (dresser) was concrete with white baskets for drawers, which did not fit in with a 4 star hotel rating. We only went to a few buffets because the buffets were small and not exceptional. The restaurants made up for the small buffets. Overall, the good outweighed the bad. It was a perfect location with an incredible beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LinsMinnesotaVistor
Minnesota
May 27, 2012

May 2012

The hotel was good, I would recommend it to others. The staff was average, the staff didn't to try to get to know you much, however when you talked to them they were polite. Most of the bar tenders and wait staff were very polite and nice. Two of the entertainment staff were very nice and made sure they talked to us daily. The room was great. The view from the patio was amazing. The pool and ocean area was great, couldnt really ask for better. Night life on the resort was not good, nothing really goes on. Food was poor. No variety. It would be nice to have a better buffet at all time of day with a variety. The drinks were amazing at the bars, but they did not fill your room fridge daily (and the fridge was not cold). You can not get anything but juice before 11 which was not good. It would have been nice to have water and pop available 24/7. The elevator was slow and they pack people on them. Also there was LOTS of kids at the resort, so it is a family place. Overall it was a great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Momma norma

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmmaSue
Oshkosh, WI
Jan 25, 2014

Wonderful week

The Sunscape is a great hotel and I would highly recommend it. It was extremely clean and staff were very friendly and quite attentive. Excellent location with easy access to local shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While in Ixtapa, stop in at the Generals Sports Bar. Very friendly staff and the General is a hoot !

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mosquitoes and Bad A La Carte Restaurant
Irvine CA
Aug 2, 2012

Hard bed and limited night life

The bed was hard and the nightlife was limited or nonexistent after 10PM. Food was great but limited variety and choice of fruits. Staff is polite and friendly. Across the street, there are many bars and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining is across the street. Beach is great to swim.

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gaddis
chicago
Dec 30, 2011

NEEDS SOMETHING

The hotel in now all-inclusive - The food is not that good for the price you pay - We liked it before it bacame all inclusive - Now its way overpriced and we won't go back there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
000435
Houston
Aug 20, 2012

Average

This hotel does not have night shows or nightly entertainment and when they did it ended at around 10 or 1030pm. The food for breakfast needs a little bit more variety but all of the other courses like lunch and dinner the varieties that they had were pretty good. Everyone is really friendly. The rooms were clean and nice, you have a good view if you had any room from 10-18 on any floor. We will not be returning to this hotel. This does not compare to the stays we have previously had in Cancun or Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The little shops across the street are more convinient and a little bit less expensive if you are shopping for souveniers and other things, we did go to the shops that is called "el mercado" downtown but they dont try to negociate with you there. But it is fun to go and walk around. We also took a sunset cruise and that was great it was well worth it. We also went to a refugee for animals but it was that great but they do have some intresting stuff if you go there were bug spray...

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HopingForMore
California
Aug 25, 2013

Not For Those Looking For Laid-Back, Romantic Vacay

This hotel caters to local "weekender" families. Thursday thru Tuesday, pools, restaurants and beaches full of children-when noted the abundance of munchkins in the pool, was told by staff they were from another resort...I don't think so. Not the laid back romantic week I was hoping for... Also, if you are nervous about heights, the interior atrium elevators are glass and not in the best condition-after entering in lobby, pushed floor 10 (actually first floor of rooms), and shot up to 21st floor (11 floors above) twice. Second time, elevator stuck on 21st floor and call button did not work and we were trapped for several terrifying minutes before hubby was able to pry doors open then we walked down 13 flights of an unlighted stairwell. Never again will I stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top