$192 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Ave, Paseo de Ixtapa S/N Lote 3-A, Ixtapa Zihuatanejo, 40880

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LREE
Business
Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
Nov 21, 2013

Food & beberages

The food is very good, particularly at Da Marios restaurante, in the hotel. Too bad beberages aren't at the same level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Da Marios inside the hotel

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elk Fun
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 31, 2013

A Good All Inclusive

This was our first time to this part of Mexico and know we made the right choice. This All Inclusive was worth it, good food/drink and a good experience - would recommend it to most. We went just before High Season so all the food/drink places were not opened during the week, but what was open was well worth it. This is a good 'family' place, however if you're looking for more adult atmosphere don't go for a weekend experience. On the weekend we planned our sight seeing and left the hotel for the families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to try the different places to eat afternoon and diner. Breakfast/Brunch is the same regardless of which place you choose.

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HopingForMore
Business
California
Aug 25, 2013

Not For Those Looking For Laid-Back, Romantic Vacay

This hotel caters to local "weekender" families. Thursday thru Tuesday, pools, restaurants and beaches full of children-when noted the abundance of munchkins in the pool, was told by staff they were from another resort...I don't think so. Not the laid back romantic week I was hoping for... Also, if you are nervous about heights, the interior atrium elevators are glass and not in the best condition-after entering in lobby, pushed floor 10 (actually first floor of rooms), and shot up to 21st floor (11 floors above) twice. Second time, elevator stuck on 21st floor and call button did not work and we were trapped for several terrifying minutes before hubby was able to pry doors open then we walked down 13 flights of an unlighted stairwell. Never again will I stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M. Sue
Business
Whittier, CA
Apr 14, 2013

The Good and The Bad

Good: perfect beach, incredible waves. Nightly entertainment was good and the music all over the hotel was pleasant and not too loud. Some resorts have blaring music all day and night. This was not a problem here. The views from room 1911 were amazing. The A la Carte restaurants were very good, we ate in the Oriental restaurant, Oceana, and the grill. The service and the food were outstanding. Not having to make reservations and eating at them any time we wanted to, no limit, was great. Having a specialty restaurant open for lunch as an alternate to the buffet was a great choice. The service everywhere was wonderful. Everyone tried to fix anything that was a problem. The men who kept bringing out chairs and umbrellas and trying to find everyone a place did a very good job. Rene, the concierge, was the most helpful person, which brings us to The Bad: The Bad: NO WIFI INTERNET. The WIFI was supposed to be hotel wide. It did not exist for the 5 days that we were there. My husband works on the internet and had to work everyday. When we explained this to Rene he set up our devices at the concierge desk with the office WIFI. We used this everyday, but it was in the main lobby, not in the comfort of our room. That was a big inconvenience. The room were supposed to have been refurbished, but everything appeared kind of worn out. The shower head was old and we only had lukewarm shower water. The furniture (dresser) was concrete with white baskets for drawers, which did not fit in with a 4 star hotel rating. We only went to a few buffets because the buffets were small and not exceptional. The restaurants made up for the small buffets. Overall, the good outweighed the bad. It was a perfect location with an incredible beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juanma Van Law
Business
Guanajuato, México
Apr 11, 2013

Great treat!

The staff was simply amazing! My partner and I were so happy to stay at a hotel where they treated us wonderfully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tequila Miguel
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Feb 25, 2013

Overdue Honeymoon

Weather was perfect, Staff very friendly and helpful. All the food was great, except one buffet was a little iffy? Outstanding breakfast buffet, Bluewater Grill, Sushi bar. Very skilled bartenders would make a ton of different fruity drinks or a simple shot with a smile. Beds are HARD, not always comfortable. Hotel is near the center of the beach and restaurants and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loved the food at the 'Blue shrimp', El Camaron Azul. Very fresh shrimp, done table side, wife had the 1 pound lobster. Very good deal!

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Camel99
Business
White North
Jan 2, 2013

Smokers Book Elsewhere

You can not smoke on the balconies at this property, and you won't know that until you check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryA
Business
Querétaro, Mexico
Nov 24, 2012

Long weekend vacation getaway

We left for long weekend stay, just 3 nights. Rooms where clean but yes the bed was hard, hotel nicely located on the beach, the pool clean and not so small. Food was not bad, but missing varity, If you are looking for weekend gateaway it's perfect for more than 3 nights stay I would only take it if it was a deal. Lastly try the dolphins trip, it's amaizing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dolphins-Delfiniti

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LG disappointed Traveler
Business
Yorba Linda, Ca
Aug 20, 2012

Horrible Vacation!!!

We stayed at this hotel because of the 4 Star rating and location and since we were traveling with our adult kids we thought it would be nice for them as well since they advertise a night club ( what a joke!!)We made reservation THREE months in advance to make sure we were able to get outr THREE rooms at least in the same floor and even hoping we could get rooms that are comunicated. Well uppon arrival we were were booked on three rooms that were on three diffrent floors. After arguing and them lying about not having anything else available we were given 2 rooms on one floor and 1 room on another. After a few hours of 90+ temperature we realized that the A/C on two of our three rooms did not function properly . I called and talked to someone in recpetion and they advised that they had nothing available and to try and call the next morning to see if any rooms became available (Remeber this is supposed to be a 4 Star Hotel!!!) well to make a shorter story after there night of misery in a hot and muggy room and arguing with Room manager Jorge (in front of other guests that were also upset about A/C in their room) we were given three rooms in the same floor with A/C's that worked. Its'a shame that my family and I spent one year anticipating this trip only to find and experience what we did. We will stay at Melia Azul Next time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa Resort & Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
000435
Business
Houston
Aug 20, 2012

Average

This hotel does not have night shows or nightly entertainment and when they did it ended at around 10 or 1030pm. The food for breakfast needs a little bit more variety but all of the other courses like lunch and dinner the varieties that they had were pretty good. Everyone is really friendly. The rooms were clean and nice, you have a good view if you had any room from 10-18 on any floor. We will not be returning to this hotel. This does not compare to the stays we have previously had in Cancun or Puerto Vallarta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The little shops across the street are more convinient and a little bit less expensive if you are shopping for souveniers and other things, we did go to the shops that is called "el mercado" downtown but they dont try to negociate with you there. But it is fun to go and walk around. We also took a sunset cruise and that was great it was well worth it. We also went to a refugee for animals but it was that great but they do have some intresting stuff if you go there were bug spray...

Back to menu Return to top